Past #26: Tarryn Thomas - Roo until end '24

True but public image and PR in general play a huge role in securing funding and the political backing itself in this unequal and unfair environment.

This is a problem, and not a good thing.

We get the AFLW development coin and we are set anyway. Good riddance to off field politics from that point onwards.

So does that mean if the proposals are accepted, that if Tarryn got bidded on in the top 30, North Melbourne couldnt select him?

I very much doubt they will change anything this year.

From the The Huddles Strategy and Action Plan 2016-2018

FOREWORD
Our diverse and dynamic generation of young Australians is a significant resource. But to reach their full potential, they need to be prepared for new opportunities and empowered to lead a changing world.

Our future lies with a generation who can create an equitable and prosperous future for all. To rise to this challenge, young people need the confidence and skills to be enterprising and innovative and to be linked into local and global networks.

We must invest in our future by preparing young people to be change-makers; leaders who can overcome societal challenges, solve problems through critical thinking and build connected and united communities. Most importantly, we need to support them to believe in themselves.

The Huddle was born out of the role and value of sport – specifically the North Melbourne Football Club – to reach, engage and empower young people; to build on their strengths; increase their ability to participate in society; and contribute to more socially inclusive communities.

Over the past five years, we have witnessed the passion and commitment of individuals, families, volunteers and organisations, working to strengthen self-esteem and belief and share their knowledge and experiences so our young people can learn, grow and feel they belong.

During this time, The Huddle has grown to support tens of thousands of people, taking innovative approaches to build social inclusion. The Huddle is now extending its reach and impact to support more young people across Victoria and Tasmania.

We look ahead with enthusiasm and optimism as we work with our partners to harness the energy and passion of youth and support them to develop their ideas, gain experiences and skills, and grow their networks, to equip them for a strong future.

OUR ORIGIN

From its foundation in 1869, there has always been something unifying and powerful about the culture of the North Melbourne Football Club. For almost 150 years, the club and its community have shared a strong and unique connection. This close bond dates back to the local workers and families from surrounding areas gathering at Arden Street in North Melbourne every weekend to support their beloved team. It was tribal. It was passionate. It was local pride. It was life.

That same passion continues today, and extends far beyond our playing fields.

Born out of the value of sport and the role played by Australian Rules Football in connecting people of different ages, genders and cultures, The Huddle was established in 2010 as a not-for-profit, initiative of the North Melbourne Football Club, the Scanlon Foundation and the Australian Multicultural Foundation. It was created to engage, support and empower young people to build on their strengths, increase their ability to participate in society and contribute to more socially inclusive communities.

The Huddle’s programs have engaged more than 50,000 young people from low socio-economic communities. Our focus has been on supporting people from culturally diverse backgrounds in North Melbourne, Flemington, Kensington and West Melbourne. More recently, The Huddle’s programs have grown to support youth in more of Victoria’s western suburbs – some of Australia’s fastest growing and culturally diverse communities.

The Huddle’s work has been recognised as innovative and best practice, evidenced by numerous awards, including: 2012 Victorian Premier’s Award for Community Harmony; 2013 National Migration and Settlement Awards for Leadership; and 2014 Victorian Community Sport and Recreation Minister’s Award.

The Huddle is governed by an independent Board and informed by an Advisory Committee consisting of senior leaders from the not-for-profit, corporate, government and philanthropic sectors as well as members of the North Melbourne Football Club’s Board, Executive and senior football leadership team.

That's some of the finest most contrived bullshit I have ever read about our club.

It's basically revisionism.

This is a problem, and not a good thing.

I agree. But without pokies (watch me get shot) or other legal revenue streams we have to employ these measures.

Note: I don't play or like pokies nor think they would now be a smart strategic move for the club. However they are a key revenue stream for all other Vic clubs. If they all abandon them at the same time none will cop any long term negative PR tarnishing from ever having them. And they'll all get to keep the loot..

I agree. But without pokies (watch me get shot) or other legal revenue streams we have to employ these measures.

Note: I don't play or like pokies nor think they would now be a smart strategic move for the club. However they are a key revenue stream for all other Vic clubs. If they all abandon them at the same time none will cop any long term negative PR tarnishing from ever having them. And they'll all get to keep the loot..

We needed to play the game for infrastructure coin, and that is now basically done.

Virtue signalling about gambling is neither here nor there to me.

It's money. They (other Vic clubs) receive it, we don't.

We have find other ways to get it as a result. For right or wrong.

It will all go the way of the dodo soon enough, and from what I can gather our players don't go without and we post annual profits.

Once the AFLW coin pays for VFL home matches we will have another revenue stream and be sitting comfortably. Out Docklands deal is going to get better also.

It will all go the way of the dodo soon enough, and from what I can gather our players don't go without and we post annual profits.

Once the AFLW coin pays for VFL home matches we will have another revenue stream and be sitting comfortably. Out Docklands deal is going to get better also.
Cant sit idle, we need to keep increasing revenue. Hiring aboriginal trackers to go out to find all the kids being hidden in the North of WA is going to cost us a heap.

Question for the enlightened:

Aren't the acadamies run and more importantly, funded, by the individual clubs themselves?

And if they are, why would they want to continue doing that if it was for the benefit of basically everybody?

Question for the enlightened:

Aren't the acadamies run and more importantly, funded, by the individual clubs themselves?

And if they are, why would they want to continue doing that if it was for the benefit of basically everybody?

Because they then get access to the whole state. They will be laughing all the way to the trade table. Will get absolute guns at a bargain basement price.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Because they then get access to the whole state. They will be laughing all the way to the trade table. Will get absolute guns at a bargain basement price.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
The implementation of the new academy's (that they will have to set up) will be interesting to see.

I guess the AFL will be tipping in quite a lot of coin.

A free hit at a top 30 talent is probably not a bad pay off for the rest of the clubs and if it gives some disadvantaged kids a chance at a leg up in life, then all good.

Tarryn narrows focus
Mitchell Jones June 26, 2018 10:20 AM

http://www.nmfc.com.au/news/2018-06-26/tarryn-narrows-focus

260618_ThomasLarge.jpg

It can be easy for a young draft prospect to get caught-up in the hype, especially when he's touted as a Top Ten pick, but young Tasmanian sensation Tarryn Thomas, is refusing to get swept up.

As a highly rated midfielder, there’s plenty of discussion about Thomas’ potential draft position, but with over five months between now and November, he’s doing his best to avoid all the noise.

“Yeah I hear people talking about me, my mates keep a close eye on the draft and they keep telling me the latest, all of that, but I try to block it out, mostly,” Thomas told The Mercury.

“I’m not thinking too much about it, I’m just keeping my mind on the job, I just want to play good footy, that’s it.”

North Melbourne will have priority over the prodigious talent because he's a member of its Next Generation Academy. Thomas has already trained at Arden Street on multiple occasions.

“Playing AFL has always been a goal, a dream,” Thomas said.

“It’s still a long way off, I’m not there yet.

“I’ve been training with North Melbourne for a while now, I’m getting used to that level of training.

“It’s heaps different from what I’m used to, it’s intense, but I like it.”

A North Tasmania resident, Thomas avoids the ‘footy bubble’ that is Melbourne, and he believes it helps him lead a relatively normal teenage life.

“I need to get my head out of it sometimes, everyone asks me about it all the time,” he said.

“I have other interests and hobbies, just stuff like any other teenager, I guess.

“Spending time with my family, watching movies, fishing in the summer, hanging with my mates.

“Rhyan Mansell [another Tasmanian hopeful playing in the Allies squad] is a cousin and I like going to a quiet place, spending some time with him, and we can both just talk about anything other than footy.

“He understands how important it is, he’s in a similar situation.”

Part of achieving a down-to-earth lifestyle is focusing on his education.

“You need to have a job outside of footy,” he stated.

“If you can’t play for some reason or get injured, you need to have something else, a career.

“I’m studying English, maths and two sports subjects at school.

“I’m looking at maybe doing personal training as a career. I like to be doing something physical and active all the time.”

Football isn’t completely absent from the midfielder’s mind however, evident by his pursuit to add to his tall, lean frame.

“They keep telling me I need to put on weight,” he laughed.

“Because I’m quite tall, I need to be heavier, but I just can’t do it. I’m trying.

“All I do is eat and try to build muscle bulk but I can’t seem to do it. I’ll keep trying.”

“Because I’m quite tall, I need to be heavier, but I just can’t do it. I’m trying.

“All I do is eat and try to build muscle bulk but I can’t seem to do it. I’ll keep trying.”

Is this concerning or just an outcome of his recent growth spurt?

We needed to play the game for infrastructure coin, and that is now basically done.

Virtue signalling about gambling is neither here nor there to me.
I don't think you can accuse north as virtue signalling when they have been a consistent leader in that field.

This isn't some social media reactive response.

Is this concerning or just an outcome of his recent growth spurt?
His body type, takes some time.

Look at this pic of Adam Goodes at same age and same height (apart from his man beard).
Goodes-young-e1390958409543-760x438.jpg

So does that mean if the proposals are accepted, that if Tarryn got bidded on in the top 30, North Melbourne couldnt select him?

Well, we wouldn't be able to get a discount, we would have to beat any nominated bid within the top 30 and they are going to allow clubs to trade picks within the father-son/academy period.

Ie, if team X bid pick 10 when we have pick 12 then we might be able to trade for pick 9 from team Y, this bidding trading can only involve picks, not players, but I think they will allow future pick trading as well.

AFL should just take over all academies and all players go into the draft, the amount of bullshittery going on just dilutes the effectiveness of the draft as being a mechanism for balancing the distribution of talent to where it is most needed.

Well, we wouldn't be able to get a discount, we would have to beat any nominated bid within the top 30 and they are going to allow clubs to trade picks within the father-son/academy period.

Ie, if team X bid pick 10 when we have pick 12 then we might be able to trade for pick 9 from team Y, this bidding trading can only involve picks, not players, but I think they will allow future pick trading as well.

AFL should just take over all academies and all players go into the draft, the amount of bullshittery going on just dilutes the effectiveness of the draft as being a mechanism for balancing the distribution of talent to where it is most needed.

I think that we're on a path to the ablution of all draft concessions including Father Son.

it doesn't make it clear if the rules will be for all regions or just the WA/SA regions. But it certainly wont be adapted for this year.
Why is that? It very well could be adopted. Looming discrimination case etc. AFL could change it when they want to change it. They make the rules, draft has not yet happened.

Its not LIKELY right now, but if a court case begins then it that would change. Welcome to the other side of our PC world.

I don't think you can accuse north as virtue signalling when they have been a consistent leader in that field.

This isn't some social media reactive response.

1) To some extent it is virtue signalling. Without the signalling the benefits don't come.
2) This is a contemporary political stunt facilitated on the back of Peter Scanlon's chip stack. If we didn't need his money to survive, I very much doubt this stuff would exist. He had some leverage and he used it. North were never engaged in any of this stuff prior to 2007.