Past #26: Tarryn Thomas - Roo until end '24

Had an average game so made heaps of smothers and tackles to get himself into it? As Snake said that's a mature head on his shoulders.
And he seemed very confident in that harder edge 1% area of the game like tacking and smothering - maybe playing against men has brought that out of him.

The issue is though is the high level quality there - compared to the other players that are available in the top 10 - to warrant a match if an early bid comes.

We have seen TT's skills at lowers levels of competition but have yet to see it against the elite of the Under 18 competition.

The recruiting department will of course be all over this and there is a lot more testing to go on these boys - who knows TT may end up a second rounder and Scott may choose us and be a top 10 pick.

Players are drafted for what they'll become not for how well they play in a meaningless scratch match. Ed Richards this time last year was getting 10 touches a game for Oakleigh, where in the champs, Cerra, Brayshaw, Clark, and LDU all had a quiet series and missed AA selection.

I think what people are getting caught up on is his form playing forward of the ball at the moment. The only thing clubs will be caring about is how he plays in congestion, where his ability to throw his weight around, hunt clearances, generate power with his slight frame, clear the ball with a long accurate kick, side-step opponents and help his team without the ball are all incredibly encouraging.

Also you have to consider the context that he has been playing against men for the past few years, which means that the majority of his recent experience has come playing outside, when it's pretty clear that his long-term position is going to be as an inside mid.

People have been bewildered at his high ranking all season, but when you look at the tools he has he clearly has the most upside of any non-forward in the draft with the possible exception of Rankine. Sure guys like Walsh and Smith are dead set certainties who are going to play 300 games and be good to great from the jump, but any recruiter that sees Thomas' combination of size, athleticism and natural ability is going to be asking themselves if they are looking at the next Fyfe or Bontempelli. Had Thomas carried half of his division two form into division one, we'd be looking at one of the highest rated draftees in recent history.

People have been bewildered at his high ranking all season, but when you look at the tools he has he clearly has the most upside of any non-forward in the draft with the possible exception of Rankine.

I tell you what mate, and you can bookmark this, he would lock down Rankine.

The only way we have anything to think about is if the arse completely fell out of our season and we ran 14th and a bid came before our first.

Other than that unlikely scenario you'd take him. He appears to have a level of onfield maturity beyond your normal junior footballer.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

He's playing like a kid that knows where he's going.... he's doing exactly what he's being asked/told to do.

Tarryn is sorted, my interest is in Chayce Jones. I've watched so much of these boys over the years... he's the Tassie boy I want at North next. Endurance is elite, speed to burn, his ability to break lines is terrific and his leadership is second to none. Field kicking needs fine tuning, but considering he's coming of last seasons ankle injury, he's developing strongly.

Watch this kid!

Granted I’ve only watched the most recent GR video of TT, but he looks like the prototypical Brad Scott favourite. Hard at it, tackles, smothers, does all the 1%ers well. The skills and pizzaz will come with time, but at least he’s keeping involved in the game when they’re not quite there yet.

He's playing like a kid that knows where he's going.... he's doing exactly what he's being asked/told to do.

Tarryn is sorted, my interest is in Chayce Jones. I've watched so much of these boys over the years... he's the Tassie boy I want at North next. Endurance is elite, speed to burn, his ability to break lines is terrific and his leadership is second to none. Field kicking needs fine tuning, but considering he's coming of last seasons ankle injury, he's developing strongly.

Watch this kid!

Reminds of stevo with the way he goes in and bursting out of packs.

Matching any bids on Thomas will be a sure thing if we do trade out our first pick

Players are drafted for what they'll become not for how well they play in a meaningless scratch match. Ed Richards this time last year was getting 10 touches a game for Oakleigh, where in the champs, Cerra, Brayshaw, Clark, and LDU all had a quiet series and missed AA selection.

I think what people are getting caught up on is his form playing forward of the ball at the moment. The only thing clubs will be caring about is how he plays in congestion, where his ability to throw his weight around, hunt clearances, generate power with his slight frame, clear the ball with a long accurate kick, side-step opponents and help his team without the ball are all incredibly encouraging.
The delivery to him in the forward line has been terrible too. Its not like he is getting good chances in the forward line and messing them up. The allies just need to put him in the midfield for 80% of a game and he will dominate.

Watch this kid!
Would you say it's possible he's been told to cool it?

but any recruiter that sees Thomas' combination of size, athleticism and natural ability is going to be asking themselves if they are looking at the next Fyfe or Bontempelli. Had Thomas carried half of his division two form into division one, we'd be looking at one of the highest rated draftees in recent history.

Yep, this is the thing. People forget that the Dogs "reached" on Bontempelli where they did.

I have a Good Feeling about Tarryn Thomas. If we can snare a top shelf mid like Gaff in the off season, I reckon with a much fitter Ahern, TT and the new bloke, we will hit 2019 with a bang. Add LDU into that too.

Dumont, Clarke and McDonald should already be thinking about this. Going to be a lot harder to get a spot in the side very soon.