Autopsy 28 point loss vs. GWS franchise

Some games i think Stephenson turns up and thinks "yeah, can't be arsed today" and then just cruises.

Zero tackles.

Zurharr - 0 tackles 10 possessions (needs to do more. Got a bumper pay rise but is still hit and miss)
Powell - 0 tackles
Goldstein - 0 tackles
Phillips - 1 tackle
Bergman - 0 tackles 4 possessions

Not good enough in a scrappy game of football.

Some of the others are tackling but I'd barely call it a tackle...just lightly wrapping their arms around the opposition and letting them dispose of it far too easy.

No Simpkin.
No LDU.
No Greenwood.
Useless sub.

Expected this result tbh.

Would have been interesting to see what happened if we had an actually useful sub who could come on in the third and try and counteract the GWS surge.

No Simpkin.
No LDU.
No Greenwood.
Useless sub.

Expected this result tbh.

Would have been interesting to see what happened if we had an actually useful sub who could come on in the third and try and counteract the GWS surge.

Hawthorn.

That result wasn't surprising at all. GWS aren't great, but they beat Geelong at GMHBA. For as much as Geelong has regressed, we wouldn't get within six goals against them at that ground. Moreover, while kids like Wardlaw and Phillips have been super impressive the past month, they're still not ready to carry the load across full games against big bodies. Not having LDU, Jy, and Greenwood against this GWS midfield was always going to be a big ask. The biggest concern is that our senior players aren't offering enough atm. Ziebell looks like he's about to fall off a cliff (if he hasn't already) and the less said about McDonald, Hall, and Corr the better.

Its very disappointing to watch the experienced players hurt us.

We need to do what it takes to get as many first round picks as possible and clear out this generation of older players before it's too late.

Forward line outside of Larkey & CCJ was non existent and lack speed to chase their opponents.

Midfield dried up in second half, missed a few of our best today tbh.

Hall with some insipid efforts at times, wasn’t too bad using it other than the weekly one that makes you wonder where he was trying to kick it to.

Badly need some more speed in the team, don’t really have it in the VFL at the minute either. Giants were the faster and fitter team.

Toby Greene changed the game, that’s just what special players do. On that, reckon we need to release LMac as an interceptor, not a lockdown type, don’t have many of those on our list though (maybe Arch when he’s fit).

Lots to work with in time, need some wins in the back end of the season though.

And Toby Greene. Too many passengers and Toby.

That result wasn't surprising at all. GWS aren't great, but they beat Geelong at GMHBA. For as much as Geelong has regressed, we wouldn't get within six goals against them at that ground. Moreover, while kids like Wardlaw and Phillips have been super impressive the past month, they're still not ready to carry the load across full games against big bodies. Not having LDU, Jy, and Greenwood against this GWS midfield was always going to be a big ask. The biggest concern is that our senior players aren't offering enough atm. Ziebell looks like he's about to fall off a cliff (if he hasn't already) and the less said about McDonald, Hall, and Corr the better.

It’s always about what “xxxx” did vs “yyyy”, and never about us having a feel-good win or any f king hope.

It’s ALWAYS combing through a pile of disappointment, looking “not to be as bad as”, trying to try and see things not as terrible as they are.

Just about over it.

Look. It wasn’t horrible, but I look at a team like Hawthorn, arguably earlier in a rebuild than us yet performing better. How is that happening?
Difference is their senior core is light years in front out ours and they aren’t gifting games to players like Spicer.

Do you think Spicer would be getting a game at Hawthorn? Probably struggle to get a gig at Box Hill.

TT hasn’t played footy for 12+ months and can still look like the best player on the field, hope we keep him.

An indictment on the club that this is true.

I was a little disappointed in the coaching today. Didn't think we made moves to liven up the team. Greene into the middle should have been matched by Zurhaar.

Wardlaw, TT, Logue and Ford were all good performers, Shiel and Powell just slightly behind. Larkey and Philips had strong patches followed by lengths of poor performances. Larkey in particular is so inconsistent in performance.

Jack and Hall locked in the decision to not offer contracts.

Tucker is an inside mid or bust, lacks the run to be an effective wingman or HB. Can't wait for a fit Goater to lock in on the wing.

Need to rest Harry next week or just play him forward. Today was easily his most ineffectual game.

• Tarryn provided some of that first 15 minute spark we’ve been lacking. I thought we were ON.
  • Umpires made sure that they snuffed out any momentum we had, multiple times, in that first half.
  • I love Wardlaw. Will get the Rising Star nom this week.
  • Ziebell is as Shinboner as they come.
  • Thought Ford had one of the more four quarter efforts of the team
  • Keep persisting with Spicer. Likewise Coleman Jones.
  • Thought Hall was okay.
  • Jesus, Larkey’s team mates don’t help his cause do they?! How was Stevo turning his back on the play with Larkey screaming for it by himself 25m from goal!
  • A bit to like about the first half, but in hindsight, perhaps we needed the senior leadership of Cunners with Simpkin, Greenwood & LDU all missing. I’m happy they backed the kids in though. They’ll learn from it.
  • Zurhaar burns his team mates so much. If he actually kicked any of those ones on the run I’d be okay with it, but does he ever?!
  • GWS aren’t any good.
  • Toby Greene killed us again. I wish he had of connected when he tried to leg Corr in that last ten minutes. Little flykicking flog doesn’t learn.
  • Might have to wait until mid-July now for a nourishing win. Needed it last week. They looked cooked in the last.

They backed the kids but it was a whole bunch of seniors that can’t handle the heat and provide good support. As usual by this time of year I’m looking forward to us being able to cut the list and edge closer to a genuine team.

Callum Ward said words to the effect "North were tough inside - always are - but we were confident we'd get them on the outside."

That's what every team would say because we have a number of senior players who don"t or can"t run hard enough. So we get burnt on the outside.

The disrespect lol. But it's deserved and honest.

Teams are so confident against us they can spill the tactics publicly

Autopsy 28 point loss vs. GWS franchise