Player Watch #29: Will Phillips - tags N.Daicos vs Collingwood - subbed off at 3/4 time??

It's interesting how everyone is saying we don't need anymore mids in the draft, yet we can't win a clearance against top sides. Surely, the mix is wrong and at least trying Phillips in there is worth a shot

100% agree, Colby will ad additional speed but we don't have the 1-2 powerful mids we need in the middle.

Surely both of these views are wrong if he plays and plays well on Sunday?
Our midfield depth is playing already, can't see how he gets a game after his start to the year. It's a shame, but he had his chance and put up a putrid effort in his last game.

Yeah mate let’s flog the * out of Wardlaw Powell Sheezel McKercher and throw them to the wolves. We are lacking midfield strength, you obviously didn’t see what Cripps did to us on Good Friday.

We are already throwing those guys to the wolves, you obviously haven’t seen what’s happened every week so far against the top end midfields in the comp. But if Phillips is going to play any sort of role in our next success, he should be playing now. Greenwood isn’t even playing midfield minutes other than ruck chop-outs for X.

Our midfield depth is playing already, can't see how he gets a game after his start to the year. It's a shame, but he had his chance and put up a putrid effort in his last game.

Sure, he might not get a game this week, but it's more than likely that he will soon.

And if he does get a game this week, then how he goes against Bruhn and Holmes will be interesting.

It's interesting how everyone is saying we don't need anymore mids in the draft, yet we can't win a clearance against top sides. Surely, the mix is wrong and at least trying Phillips in there is worth a shot
Yep our mids gets monstered, but I also think so will Will…….see what I did there.
He’s too small to play the crash and bash role. Still rate him, but I am waning.

* we need this guy to come on. His defensive intent is unquestionable and if he can put it together he could be exactly what the midfield mix needs.

It’s not looking good but I’m not giving up on him just yet. Come on son!
I'm with you, but not sure about the omens - my guess is that Clarkson won't let the boy go without giving him another field trial

I don't think we need more size around the ball to clean up our contested possessions. We need more intelligence.

Neale is a contested beast and is shorter than Will. The Lions rolled with Dunkley, Neale and McLuggage which is a similar size mix to LDU, Wardlaw and George.

We got smashed in contested possession and stoppages because we are dumb AF in the middle.

Will helps with that aspect, but not sure we'll get much out of him while his confidence is shot and his place in the side hangs by a thread.

I don't think we need more size around the ball to clean up our contested possessions. We need more intelligence.

Neale is a contested beast and is shorter than Will. The Lions rolled with Dunkley, Neale and McLuggage which is a similar size mix to LDU, Wardlaw and George.

We got smashed in contested possession and stoppages because we are dumb AF in the middle.

Will helps with that aspect, but not sure we'll get much out of him while his confidence is shot and his place in the side hangs by a thread.
I don’t even know why his place in the side hands by a thread. He is above Tucker, Lazzaro Stephenson Simpkin McDonald for mine. All of them have had minutes in the seniors this year and haven’t fired a shot. WillPhil finished strongly last year and one of the intra club games he was cooking in the middle with Powell

It's really confusing isn't it. Watching the Lions on the w/e, when their mids didn't win the clearance, they were manic - smothering, spoling the handball, tackling, pressuring to cause a fumble, covering the outside player, etc, etc. When they did win the clearance, they just strolled out with almost zero pressure.

We think we have the talent, we think we're big enough and we think the effort is there. So why are we getting smashed?

We're dead last for contested possessions this season:

1712696867939.png
And dead last for inside 50's
1712696911056.png
But our clearance numbers aren't that bad. Stoppage clearances aren't as good as center clearances, but still not the worst.

It's just that when we get the clearance, we're not getting it inside fifty, and when the oppo gets the clearance they're using it too easily.

It's a head scratcher for sure.

It's really confusing isn't it. Watching the Lions on the w/e, when their mids didn't win the clearance, they were manic - smothering, spoling the handball, tackling, pressuring to cause a fumble, covering the outside player, etc, etc. When they did win the clearance, they just strolled out with almost zero pressure.

We think we have the talent, we think we're big enough and we think the effort is there. So why are we getting smashed?

We're dead last for contested possessions this season:

View attachment 1955112
And dead last for inside 50's
View attachment 1955113
But our clearance numbers aren't that bad. Stoppage clearances aren't as good as center clearances, but still not the worst.

It's just that when we get the clearance, we're not getting it inside fifty, and when the oppo gets the clearance they're using it too easily.

It's a head scratcher for sure.

100% agreed mate. We often win the clearance battle on a numbers basis but the quality of those clearances is worse than the oppo as you say.

Yep our mids gets monstered, but I also think so will Will…….see what I did there.
He’s too small to play the crash and bash role. Still rate him, but I am waning.
Yet, against good opposition last year, he held his own really well and released our running mids.

Powell is the most stationary mid played in the guts, yet because his body is still maturing (probably 5 kgs away from optimum size) he is needing to move in space as well to win clearance.

Xerri has been instructed to tap to his feet to minimise the damaging spread of opposition mids and the flow on effect this has on our undermanned defence.

We need a mid in there who sets up at the foot of the ruck and uses body strength to absorb tackles and release the other mids. Phillips’ strengths are built for this role.

Yet, against good opposition last year, he held his own really well and released our running mids.

Powell is the most stationary mid played in the guts (outside Laz), yet because his body is still maturing (probably 5 kms away from optimum size) he is needing to move in space as well to win clearance.

Xerri has been instructed to tap to his feet to minimise the damaging spread of opposition mids and the flow on effect this has on our undermanned defence.

We need a mid in there who sets up at the foot of the ruck and uses body strength to absorb tackles and release the other mids. Phillips’ strengths are built for this role.

Agreed. But it's not gonna happen or work while we have LDU bee lining every tap.

The Lions one suprised me with their contested wins but we have absolutely been monstered by size around the ball in the opening rounds. We absolutely need more size in there which doesn't preclude Will, but is a definite need.

The other part is our speed around the ball, Neale is always moving and accelerates out of stoppage. LDU powers out of stoppage and George can but we don't have much else. TT could, and Colby will, but we just don't get into space efficiently at the second level to have effective clearances.

Listening to Hodgey speak the other day, he was commenting on how much Clarko favours players ability to play in different positions. Even to the point of training all Summer in one position, then shifting when game time starts. Ie Hodgy trained with the forwards all summer then played first game in defence and the midfield.
If I was Phillips, I'd be begging to play that high half forward role in the VFL. we're in desperate need of tackling pressure down there, and he can really hurt you the other way if he gets his hands on the ball. He really could make that position his own, especially if the glandular fever robbed him of endurance.

I think we have enough evidence to make the call on Phillips vs Bruhn and Holmes. More than enough.

For the record, I reckon just play him and see what happens. I'd be making 6 changes this week. Can't hurt.

Actually it can hurt- a lot. This team desperately needs patience and stability . Only changes should be for injury or to reward VFL form .

The Lions one suprised me with their contested wins but we have absolutely been monstered by size around the ball in the opening rounds. We absolutely need more size in there which doesn't preclude Will, but is a definite need.

The other part is our speed around the ball, Neale is always moving and accelerates out of stoppage. LDU powers out of stoppage and George can but we don't have much else. TT could, and Colby will, but we just don't get into space efficiently at the second level to have effective clearances.
We are being hamstrung by the instructions given to Xerri to minimise damage on the spread by tapping it to his feet.

If he belted it into space (which he is capable of) I know that our running mids of LDU, George and Lazz will get more of the ball.

Powell is the most stationary mid played in the guts, yet because his body is still maturing (probably 5 kgs away from optimum size) he is needing to move in space as well to win clearance.

Yeah i agree. I'm all for getting Will in there as our clearance quality is way off at the moment. As I said, have always rated him, but something is up with thy they won't play him

We are being hamstrung by the instructions given to Xerri to minimise damage on the spread by tapping it to his feet.

If he belted it into space (which he is capable of) I know that our running mids of LDU, George and Lazz will get more of the ball.

Xerri’s other signature move in ruck contest around the ground is to take possession and the get tackled. Give zero opportunity for our mids to take possession. It’s almost like he is instructed to create repeat stoppages to nobody’s advantage

Saw one of those Luffy style midfield comparisons of everyone team’s starting 3. It had us above several, including Brisbane, Carlton and Geelong. LOL, did they see anything of our last two games

Ahh luffy, the gift that just keeps giving.