Player Watch #32 Samson Ryan

And then watched his 8 goals for the 2022 season , not dissimilar to Tom Boyd who was a very average league footballer
Boyd was not a very average footballer. Had heaps of talent but unfortunately mental health issues. Best Buy the dogs ever made. Million dollar contract was scorned upon but he was instrumental in them winning the 2016 flag.

Exactly. They're gonna be bloody hard to beat this year I reckon
Yeah, it’s not just what Grundy and Gawn offer up forward it’s all over the ground
Both good marks of the footy and could cause havoc on the wings if they are kicking them long down the line

Boyd was not a very average footballer. Had heaps of talent but unfortunately mental health issues. Best Buy the dogs ever made. Million dollar contract was scorned upon but he was instrumental in them winning the 2016 flag.
Whatever , apart from the 2016 GF his performance was very average ,

Go back and watch the prelim final as well...

His two best games for the club came in the two biggest games the club had while he was there...

He might not be a superstar, and he might not have a huge volume of work, but he was better than average footballer

Club is very very very happy with the lad they believe he is a star in the making. Got involved again in a half of footy last night, 3 snags.
Define 'star'
A star in the making? At Punt road?
I like the look of him but he can't get a game. He could be JR replacement..who knows.
Like we picked up Tarrant. Club is not confident in the tall kids.
I could see us pick up HH.

Star is something that is bright and shines when the time is right and the conditions are right.

I reckon he is in the wings at present. We might try the supposed new plan by the tall forward bulldogs at some point.
100 plus games of A grade footy. Is my definition of a star.

I'm worried about our forwardline balance atm. Dimma is too eager to try and play all our quality midfielders all at once and our team is starting to look like an All Australian 'line up' - midfielders playing out of position just so they can be included. I think it is giving us greater depth at the coal face but its throwing out our forwardline balance.

I think we are at our most dangerous when we have two small/mid sized pressure forwards. Without them, teams bound out of our F50 too quickly, take it through the corridor and into their attack far too easily. MJR is a lock in the team for this reason. He may not be a massive offensive weapon but the goals he creates through turnovers and pressure (actual & perceived) is fundamental to our game style. But, he can't do it on his own. This is why they brought in Mansell instead of Cumberland. I hope to hell that Cumberland quickly demonstrates his defensive skills to Dimma so he can be straight back in because he is an infinitely better player than Mansell at this stage.

Jack used to be a defensive beast too. He would run down opposition, harass and do the team thing. His goals were often secondary to what he could generate through being unselfish. I feel he has lost this of late. Not through lack of intent but just through reduced closing speed, agility and strength. This is where I feel we should be transitioning Sampson Ryan into the team.

Jack should be rested in blocks. Lynch too. When they are out, Ryan should be in. So, as long as injuries don't force our hand I'd have Jack recuperating during rounds 6-9 & 16-18 and Lynch resting 10 - 14. This would give Ryan and good run at it (12 games) while still giving him time to rest himself. It would also give both Jack and Lynch time together but also time to build up to the finals.

I'm sure there is a plan like this already set but either way, Ryan and Cumberland are the future of our forwardline and need time to get onto the field. The sooner the better.

Starting to dominate the oppo at VFL level. It won't be long before he's in.

If it was up to me, I'd play him next week.
Id like to see Ryan in, preferably not for Miller. It took that long for Miller to debut. He choked that kick but was ok otherwise.
Miller is probably squeezed out of the back line when Tarrant/Gibcus returns anyhow.

Player Watch #32 Samson Ryan