Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025

When he first arrived there was a strong team element he brought to the club, the type of guy that glues/brings a team together. Often underrated but definitely needed...

Good post TJ and definitely agree mate!

Was fortunate enough to attend the player sponsorship dinner last night and got to sit next to Kamdyn - really friendly and a pretty lay back/easy going type of guy. There was a poem/rap contest later in the night and he got up and did his little performance and got a lot of laughs from the players and fans in attendance. Just gave me the impression of a fun guy who's living out his dream and who'd be a pretty positive personality to have around the club.

I told him I hope to see him in the seniors soon (which could probably happen at some point with the way they are travelling at the moment!)

Good post TJ and definitely agree mate!

Was fortunate enough to attend the player sponsorship dinner last night and got to sit next to Kamdyn - really friendly and a pretty lay back/easy going type of guy. There was a poem/rap contest later in the night and he got up and did his little performance and got a lot of laughs from the players and fans in attendance. Just gave me the impression of a fun guy who's living out his dream and who'd be a pretty positive personality to have around the club.

I told him I hope to see him in the seniors soon (which could probably happen at some point with the way they are travelling at the moment!)

Cheers NUFC Tiger , what a great opportunity to go to a night like that ! Can you tell us a bit more about it ? Like what's the spirit of the guys like etc

More than happy to share what I can buddy! Let me know if you have any other questions.

I really enjoyed it, was the first time I've been to a club function and was lucky enough to attend with a few other posters from here - telsor Heisenberg_ and Cevap_Roll, who are all pretty good blokes!).

The night itself was held in the Maurice Rioli room at the ME Bank Centre which was a really nice venue. There was probably close to 150 people (players and sponsors all up with the only missing player I believe being the luckless Dave Astbury - might be in hospital following his injury?). There was an open bar (so the drinks kept coming ;)) and meals provided which were pretty good in my books!

In addition to Kamdyn, I had Banfield, Petterd, O'Hanlon and Williams on my table and they all seemed like pretty decent fellows. Banfield and Williams I believe don't have any sponsors (so maybe if they are on the list next year, the tiger board might have to dig deep to help them out :))

In terms of the festivities, there was a tour of the ME Bank Centre facilities, the gym was really impressive - I've seen them on the Roar Vision videos but being there in person was really cool. I was blown away by how indepth the sports science stuff is as well. I think most people are aware that stuff happens behind the scenes but they obviously take it pretty seriously (with players having to complete a questionnaire every day when they arrive answering things like their weight and even how they slept!). Brett (O'Hanlon) was also saying the VFL side have a full time fitness staff member just for the VFL side.

There were speeches from Cotch, an interview with Jack and Lloyd and Rance conducted a quiz and poem contest which were great fun. Bit of trivia I learnt for the night - Chris Knights and Nathan Gordon apparently have twin brothers :eek:

Interestingly, there was (at least I didn't see them) no Dimma or any coaches there. Just the players - not sure if that was usual from previous years but I would have thought there might be a speech by Dimma perhaps. In terms of the mood, the players obviously knew they were playing below what they are capable of but were still united as a playing group and wanted to get up over GWS this week for Lids' 200th and Houli's 100th. They also firmly believe they can still make finals too so won't be putting the cue in the rack just yet. Jack made a funny comment saying that he took the media ban to focus on his footy and that it was obviously paying off as we were 2-6 :D

I probably spoke the most to Kamdyn and Brett and both of them seem content to wait for their opportunity in the seniors (might be a small thing but I like how they said 'when they get their chance', not 'if I get a chance' - to me, that sounded like they are driven enough to eventually get a game in the seniors this season). Kamdyn comes from a family of 9 and seems pretty family oriented - thankfully, I didn't get the sense he was homesick/would like to move back to WA anytime soon. He misses the warm weather where he loves wake boarding but perhaps given some of the bizarre injuries our players have had over the years, perhaps it's for the best if he only does it a couple of times a year! He's also a pretty handy ten pin bowler (bowled over 200 last week apparently - no bumpers either he assured me).

So many great memories for the night. I stood in an elevator with Dusty (who doesn't come as shy as I thought he would be). Had my photo taken with Kamdyn in the change rooms (could smell the sweat!) I stood at a urinal with Conca and Hampson next to me while they talked about some funny situation Miles got himself into over the weekend. Oh and free beer
:thumbsu:

P.S it was great to actually meet some of the posters on here in person. Cevap, to my relief doesn't look anything like his avatar - I think he actually looks a bit like Grigg :p

Telsor also apparently has a bit of mongrel in him (could probably use a pinch of that in the current team!).

Heisenberg has 4 signed jumpers I think to give away (unless he's already sold them on ebay or gotten them framed and hanging in his living room).

Hey thanks NUFC Tiger !! For taking the time to post that. It helps to remember these young men are human and these sorts of reports are great for us who don't/can"t go to these functions. I'm just trying to imagine being in a urinal/toilet with Hampson....Funny stuff !! cheers:thumbsu:

Grigg.

No chance (i played more soccer harder then he plays football) it would just be the shaved head and the Mexican MO i decided to run with that night.:thumbsu:

We should bump the player sponsorship thread as i to had a great night with the majority of my night spent with Houli who is actually a ripping bloke and very mature for 26 we both spoke about our travels which was a good incite. He legitimately was interested in my life (work, sport and travel) as much as i was with his.

Also spoke with Maric for a good amount of time as he has done some stuff to cheer me up when my dad passed away, helping me was achieved through family friends. I introduced myself to him and said who i was and thanked him for his help and we actually got to talk a quite a bit. We spoke about my dad and i how became a mad tigers fan. I shared some of my views with him about RFC and i was quite pleased that he actually agreed with most of my views, he even opened up a bit. Loves his soccer :thumbsu: Got him on the Heart/City bandwagon(exciting times)

More than happy to share what I can buddy! Let me know if you have any other questions.

I really enjoyed it, was the first time I've been to a club function and was lucky enough to attend with a few other posters from here - telsor Heisenberg_ and Cevap_Roll, who are all pretty good blokes!).

The night itself was held in the Maurice Rioli room at the ME Bank Centre which was a really nice venue. There was probably close to 150 people (players and sponsors all up with the only missing player I believe being the luckless Dave Astbury - might be in hospital following his injury?). There was an open bar (so the drinks kept coming ;)) and meals provided which were pretty good in my books!

In addition to Kamdyn, I had Banfield, Petterd, O'Hanlon and Williams on my table and they all seemed like pretty decent fellows. Banfield and Williams I believe don't have any sponsors (so maybe if they are on the list next year, the tiger board might have to dig deep to help them out :))

In terms of the festivities, there was a tour of the ME Bank Centre facilities, the gym was really impressive - I've seen them on the Roar Vision videos but being there in person was really cool. I was blown away by how indepth the sports science stuff is as well. I think most people are aware that stuff happens behind the scenes but they obviously take it pretty seriously (with players having to complete a questionnaire every day when they arrive answering things like their weight and even how they slept!). Brett (O'Hanlon) was also saying the VFL side have a full time fitness staff member just for the VFL side.

There were speeches from Cotch, an interview with Jack and Lloyd and Rance conducted a quiz and poem contest which were great fun. Bit of trivia I learnt for the night - Chris Knights and Nathan Gordon apparently have twin brothers :eek:

Interestingly, there was (at least I didn't see them) no Dimma or any coaches there. Just the players - not sure if that was usual from previous years but I would have thought there might be a speech by Dimma perhaps. In terms of the mood, the players obviously knew they were playing below what they are capable of but were still united as a playing group and wanted to get up over GWS this week for Lids' 200th and Houli's 100th. They also firmly believe they can still make finals too so won't be putting the cue in the rack just yet. Jack made a funny comment saying that he took the media ban to focus on his footy and that it was obviously paying off as we were 2-6 :D

I probably spoke the most to Kamdyn and Brett and both of them seem content to wait for their opportunity in the seniors (might be a small thing but I like how they said 'when they get their chance', not 'if I get a chance' - to me, that sounded like they are driven enough to eventually get a game in the seniors this season). Kamdyn comes from a family of 9 and seems pretty family oriented - thankfully, I didn't get the sense he was homesick/would like to move back to WA anytime soon. He misses the warm weather where he loves wake boarding but perhaps given some of the bizarre injuries our players have had over the years, perhaps it's for the best if he only does it a couple of times a year! He's also a pretty handy ten pin bowler (bowled over 200 last week apparently - no bumpers either he assured me).

So many great memories for the night. I stood in an elevator with Dusty (who doesn't come as shy as I thought he would be). Had my photo taken with Kamdyn in the change rooms (could smell the sweat!) I stood at a urinal with Conca and Hampson next to me while they talked about some funny situation Miles got himself into over the weekend. Oh and free beer
:thumbsu:

P.S it was great to actually meet some of the posters on here in person. Cevap, to my relief doesn't look anything like his avatar - I think he actually looks a bit like Grigg :p

Telsor also apparently has a bit of mongrel in him (could probably use a pinch of that in the current team!).

Heisenberg has 4 signed jumpers I think to give away (unless he's already sold them on ebay or gotten them framed and hanging in his living room).

Yeah about that, I didn't know until i looked his way and he gave me the answer to win the signed jumper LOL ;)

Hey thanks NUFC Tiger !! For taking the time to post that. It helps to remember these young men are human and these sorts of reports are great for us who don't/can"t go to these functions. I'm just trying to imagine being in a urinal/toilet with Hampson....Funny stuff !! cheers:thumbsu:

No worries at all TJ! If the mods arrange another player sponsorship for next year, would definitely recommend it to all.
Yeah about that, I didn't know until i looked his way and he gave me the answer to win the signed jumper LOL ;)

LOL was that you mate??

Wow, congrats!!! If it's any consolation, from where I was sitting, you made it look like a genuine stab in the dark :D

No worries at all TJ! If the mods arrange another player sponsorship for next year, would definitely recommend it to all.

LOL was that you mate??

Wow, congrats!!! If it's any consolation, from where I was sitting, you made it look like a genuine stab in the dark :D

Thanks mate, yeah I didn't want to make it too obvious cause I had no idea. I knew Newman was in May (even though it was answered before me) but I thought I had to answer it somehow. Rance was whispering "Say Astbury" and I was like "Huh" HAHA

Great night it was :)
Been sponsoring Lids since his first year, always a great night!!!

Still remember FJ talking about him at the draft C80 night. Said this kid would be special, but it would take a few years before he was afl ready.

We've been patient, and I reckon we will be rewarded

Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025