Past #33: Matty Campbell - delisted at the end of the 2012 season

Re: 43. Matthew Campbell

By your analysis he had a hand in seven goals, including three kicked himself.

Given his role can be one of the hardest to have a sustained impact in, I reckon 6.5 is a very harsh mark.

I understand where your coming from, to get like 10 out of 10 is like 3 brownlow votes and BOG on the ground, because of his disposals he wont get the kudos he deserves but will be the type of player who will poll well in the B&F.

Funnilly enough last year when we played sydney at the dome gave him a 7 for similar efforts and got bagged for the mark being to high. if he did what he did with say another 5-8 possies the mark would of been higher.

If Sansbury took the same mark, goal etc as Thomas did v Geelong, I wonder if mav would view that differently?

But- LT wouldn't benefit at all from playing in the droning, turtle like borefest that is the VFL. He needs games with the best. It's odd.

Yes. It is a bit of a strange paradox, but in some cases, the less pressure-filled environment provided by the 2's can sometimes only help to facilitate and/or exacerbate some of the flaws in a player's game, rather than assist in eradicating these issues. The full detrimental effect of diving, etc, is more easily masked in the magoos.

It doesn't lessen the over-riding message of getting dropped. But in some cases, it's a bit like sending a recovering alcoholic on a pub crawl. This could be one of those times.

He doesn't deserve his spot at all...

That, I disagree with.

Yes. It is a bit of a strange paradox, but in some cases, the less pressure-filled environment provided by the 2's can sometimes only help to facilitate and/or exacerbate some of the flaws in a player's game, rather than assist in eradicating these issues. The full detrimental effect of diving, etc, is more easily masked in the magoos.

It doesn't lessen the over-riding message of getting dropped. But in some cases, it's a bit like sending a recovering alcoholic on a pub crawl. This could be one of those times.

That, I disagree with.

I respect that view. And I like LT. But a fit Adams tearing it up would make his spot hard to defend at the moment.

His current form would not cement his place in a full line-up. That's not to say I don't think a top game is just around the corner. For that he reason, he stays.

I don't think he's a superstar; but I think he does pretty well for a bloke with less than avg. delivery all season.

Righto.

mav, I'm sure you could find examples of me having a go at you for many things. That's because you are a poster of poor quality who knows ____ all, and recently, have not posted anything unless you are shitcanning our best forward or a second year goalsneak.

What shits me about blokes like you is that you have backed yourself into a ridiculous corner and no matter what these blokes do, you will still get worked up about the poor aspects of their play, completely ignoring the rest. I didn't rate Power. I don't know why we got him. More than anyone on this board, I bagged the selection. But when he plays well, I say so. No qualification. No maybe.

You have nothing else. You have "Thompson is shit and Thomas is shit". You have a shit ability to reason or make coherant points. You don't justify any of this other than pointing out their faults, like you are some wise football sage who sees things more clearly than everyone else.

see this is the whole problem. You think you know everything about footy and your posts are gospel. Yet you don't like it when someone posts in contradiction. I picked up LT's flaws long before anyone and these flaws will continue to make him a poor player. If he fixes them great but after 2 years he is in fact getting worse. If he plays well then I will congratulate him but until he does there is not much else to do but point out he needs to getter better.

I have never said Thompson was shit. I just point out that he is average and that we do very well with out him. This is fact and you hate it when I point it out. You can not reason in any form to show otherwise. The only thing you can do is incorrectly bag me and call me names.

But I love all the other shit you post on here. Just love it.

If Sansbury took the same mark, goal etc as Thomas did v Geelong, I wonder if mav would view that differently?

this is the funny thing I often pointed out with Ed. Everyone bagged him with out noticing the good things he did. I have therefore taken the same approach with Lt and nobody likes it. Funny isn't it!

I have never said Thompson was shit. I just point out that he is average and that we do very well with out him. This is fact and you hate it when I point it out. You can not reason in any form to show otherwise. The only thing you can do is incorrectly bag me and call me names.

But I love all the other shit you post on here. Just love it.

I'm starting to feel that angle, but I don't think it's just Thommo. I think CJ and Thommo struggle in the same forward structure together

this is the funny thing I often pointed out with Ed. Everyone bagged him with out noticing the good things he did. I have therefore taken the same approach with Lt and nobody likes it. Funny isn't it!

Mate, I stuck up for Sansbury once too. It's like denouncing Stalin in 1948- you might just disappear without a trace in the middle of the night. Don't do it.

Even though he's no softer, no less-skilled, probably quicker, than LT.

Don't mention that.

Mav i wonder if you ever go to games and watch live, thommo throws himself at the footy and has given his all whilst at the club, LT moves well all over the ground and looks to have the potential to move into the midfield, doing some things at the same time which both amaze and frustrate the average supporter. Sansbury i've seen 'LIVE' on a few occasions and he constantly turns the ball over and does not work hard at all defensively. He can not be put in the side on 2 good performances over his career. LT gets a lot of ball as the link up between the backline and forward line, he is no one trick pony i don't know why you don't rate him. Campbell yes is much more reliable with the footy but at the same time doesn't generate the posessions of LT, flash is so fast an defensive pressure is great.
If everyone on here picked the negatives mate it would be a real shi*fight, ie. Oh i wish petrie could kick straight, why can't mcintosh win every tap, why does pratt dive for frees blah blah blah. The need you have to pick out negatives makes me wonder if you have ever had anything positive happen to you in your life. Anyway 1 day you might wake up and decide to forget all the bad things and look at the exciting young side we have running around and ride the highs and lows with the rest of us.

kudos to you r_88 .. Matty has been my favourite player to watch over the last couple of seasons and it is good to come on this thread and see such and accurate analysis!! Keep it up

Size doesn't matter

IN 2007 small forward Matt Campbell did everything in his power to warrant a senior spot at North Melbourne.

Starting the year on the club's rookie list, the South Australian was elevated for round one and, when he finally played two weeks later, showed goal sense and tenacity fast-tracked by the previous season with North Adelaide.

It was evident why he had caught the Roos' eye.

At 174cm and 69kg, he made up for his size through sheer weight of performance and determination and, across 13 games, won the confidence of the coaching staff, his teammates and supporters.

Sound familiar? It could.

A third-round draft pick, perennial North favourite Brent Harvey followed a comparable path – beginning his career on forward smarts and challenged initially by bigger, stronger opponents.

Today, he's one of the most damaging playmakers in the competition and a perfect model for the exciting Campbell.

"I think Brent Harvey once told me 'You're not going to make a career as being a small forward' and I suppose he's one great example of doing that," he said. "He started in the forward pocket and now he's probably one of the premier little men in the league.

"We get along really well with each other.

"Hopefully I follow, not so much in his footsteps because they're pretty big footsteps to follow, but hopefully one day get up in the midfield and do a bit."

Eleven matches into this season, Campbell has rewarded the faith shown by Dean Laidley – playing an important role in attack with 18 goals and relieving teammates on the wing.

His work in the contests highlights a harder body and an ability to keep his feet, which the 21-year-old puts down to his preparations.

"[I did] a full pre-season this year, more weights and I suppose playing a certain amount of games last year just gives you that bit more experience. Just knowing that the more you're in the contest the more chance you are of getting the ball," he said.

"You lose your feet and you're out of the contest. And when you do get tackled ... you don't want [to get injured], especially for someone like myself who's light-framed."

Campbell's contribution is often heralded by North Melbourne supporters with his attack on the man creating opportunities for the Roos to counter.

Second in the side in tackles and with a high of nine against Melbourne, it's an area of his game he considers a priority.

Despite three goals from five kicks in the gritty clash with Geelong last Friday night – crucial in the absence of Nathan Thompson and Corey Jones, Campbell was ruing his defensive efforts.

"Kicking three goals is probably a good game for the mid-forwards but I thought my defensive pressure wasn't the best," he said.

"I was a bit disappointed in that. In terms of playing my role, offensively I did it, but defensively I thought I let the team down.

"I'm enjoying a good tussle with the captain, Adam Simpson, so hopefully I can keep him on his toes with the tackling and he can keep me on mine."
kangaroos.com.au

This article is very well written and has identified the thoughts of many posters on here.

Round 12: Match Report

Round 12 Statistics: 5 kicks, 2 handballs, 7 possessions, 1 marks, 5 tackles, 0 frees for, 1 frees against, 1 goals, 0 behinds

2008 Statistics: 86 kicks, 44 handballs, 130 possessions, 23 marks, 52 tackles, 11 frees for, 9 frees against, 19 goals, 6 behinds

Career Statistics: 146 kicks, 74 handballs, 220 possessions, 35 marks, 95 tackles, 20 Frees For, 12 Frees Against, 29 Goals, 9 Behinds

2008 Tally (Games): 12 from 12

Career Tally (Games): 25 from 37

My 2 Cents Worth:

Highlights from Matty Campbell was his something out of nothing goal in the 2nd quarter with such burst of pace and opportunistness involved.

Laid another 5 tackles and used the ball well but he simply didnt get enough of the pill.

I was happy Matty got some minutes in the midfield in the last quarter but it was far too late and I say it time and time again, why not give him 20-35 mins a game in the midfield and use his pace to benefit. He either has a penetrating kick or a kick too advantage. 1 of the quickest blokes in the league and has to be fast tracked into a mid slot.

Round 11 Rating: 4/10

2008 Average Rating: 5.54/10 (66.5/120)

Career Average Rating: 4.86/10 (121.5/250)

Round 13: Match Report

Round 13 Statistics: 4 kicks, 2 handballs, 6 possessions, 3 marks, 0 tackles, 0 frees for, 0 frees against, 2 goals, 0 behinds

2008 Statistics: 90 kicks, 46 handballs, 136 possessions, 26 marks, 52 tackles, 11 frees for, 9 frees against, 21 goals, 6 behinds

Career Statistics: 150 kicks, 76 handballs, 226 possessions, 38 marks, 95 tackles, 20 Frees For, 12 Frees Against, 31 Goals, 9 Behinds

2008 Tally (Games): 13 from 13

Career Tally (Games): 25 from 37

My 2 Cents Worth:

Matty was quiet by matty standards. He didnt lay a tackle but to his credit, he still chases and pressures which is 1 thing LT is starting to do more consistently.

He kicked a goalline goal in the first quarter and then drilled it from 30 out on a slight angle in the 2nd quarter.

Dont look at the 3.5 in a negative light as he was quiet but just his effort u cannot question and will be prone to periods of quietness until he gets midfield time.

Round 13 Rating: 3.5/10

2008 Average Rating: 5.38/10 (70/130)

Career Average Rating: 4.81/10 (125/260)

At the same stage in Campbell and Wells career ... I think flash would be ahead of Wells , he tackling pressure , goal kicking , chases , 1 %ers , effort , heart - i would rather have flash then Wells at this stage , This is my opinion what are your thoughts ? Campbell will always get 2-3 goals but Wells have a lot off days and you know with Campbell you always get chase downs and pressure. What you think ?

Ignorance is bliss. They are both the same age.

I think Matty has been fantastic because he has been very consistent this year, he has kicked 21 goals from 13 games and has given away a ton of goals. Thomas has also kicked 20 goals.

What impresses me is their work rate when they don't have the ball. It is very impressive for some young players.

Very very naive.

Wells was stiff that he got a ready made footballer out of the VFL take out the Rising Star in his year (Sam Mitchell), or else he was a shoe in.

His first year is basically the whole reason behind his "expectations", had guys like Robert Walls and Mike Sheehan saying "This Wells kid will win a Brownlow..... blah blah"

How people forget. Wells has been our best 1st year player in a long time, better than JWS (even though it wasnt his first on the list) and more recently Urquhart's (2nd year)

Past #33: Matty Campbell - delisted at the end of the 2012 season