Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy

Do you agree with the 'Watt' decision?

• Yes

Votes: 23 53.5%
  • No

Votes: 20 46.5%

Watt was overdue to be dropped. I cannot understand how many can't see that. He is not a full-back's bootlace and has done very little elsewhere. In his 7th season for the club he has managed just 54 games. To those who say we have no one else to put at full-back, it is preferable to try someone else than to leave him there and have goals kicked on him week after week. Laidley has given him ample opportunity. He is just not good enough.

Lynch is the single best body-to-body full forward in the league, and Watt is the single worst body-to-body full back in the league.

1 + 1 = dropped

Pretty simple maths, if you ask me.

Originally posted by kangaroo7
Watt was overdue to be dropped. I cannot understand how many can't see that. He is not a full-back's bootlace and has done very little elsewhere. In his 7th season for the club he has managed just 54 games. To those who say we have no one else to put at full-back, it is preferable to try someone else than to leave him there and have goals kicked on him week after week. Laidley has given him ample opportunity. He is just not good enough.

I agree, give someone else a chance.

Everytime I go to the footy with my mate we say how many goals is Watt gonna have kicked on him this week....

Watt needs to get some confidence back in the 2s. He may not have had many goals kicked on him but his body language was poor last week - and it was hard to have any confidence in him being able to spoil a forward thrust.

That said I reckon he came along pretty well last year but seems to have stagnated this year.

Originally posted by kangaroo7

summed it up perfectly and i dont care who is offended on the board of bigfooty but he cant cut it against te likes of any bigmarking, strong leading forward.

hall. nietz, lynch voss or whoever he was supposed to outmuscle this week.

let a new brigade begin and we look a lot stronger with colbert and brown in that backline.

watt afullback, WHEN AND WHERE??

Played many worse games over the last 28 weeks. Why now?

Never liked him as a FB, but would have liked to see him used elsewhere.

Surprised to see him go from untouched for 120 minutes x 27 weeks, to dragged and dropped when I think he actually did OK on Rawlings.

Fair enough he might not have a match up this week, but that's not stopped JYD using him before, and seeing him get caned.

Even more to the point, no KPP has been blooded as a repalcement, so "long term growth" can't be cited as a reason. Got me stuffed.

Still reckon we'll win. :)

He cops some baggings on here, but I thought he was great today.
Fair enough, Tredrea had little help from his team-mates, but Watt was always right with him and Tredrea never looked dangerous.
I think his only two shots came from free kicks.
Well done Shannon.

Still haven't seen him outmark his opponent in a one on one contest yet. I'm sure he has but he should do it at least once or twice a game minimum. Another thing I think he should do is run through a pack and put an opposition player out of the game for a while, not dirty but Glenn Archer like, get the opposition players looking around thinking 'where is Watt now' he needs to get a bit of mongrel in him, he has the physique so he should use it.

Good forwards kick goals, there no doubt Watt like any backman needs help via an accountable midfield and fellow backmen. I think he certainly got that today, and made his job much much easier. Brown back there makes a huge difference imo, allowing Colbert to do play the third tall. Colbert has the smarts and experience as Brown does to know when to peel off and help out. For matchups and balance I belive we need a tall with speed down back, like Watt.

Originally posted by jozeph
Still haven't seen him outmark his opponent in a one on one contest yet. I'm sure he has but he should do it at least once or twice a game minimum. Another thing I think he should do is run through a pack and put an opposition player out of the game for a while, not dirty but Glenn Archer like, get the opposition players looking around thinking 'where is Watt now' he needs to get a bit of mongrel in him, he has the physique so he should use it.

Good points jozeph. The fact is we still don't have any other tall options so we have to perservere with Watt and, in fact, he would have been in my votes today for a top job.

Originally posted by R00StaR
Good forwards kick goals, there no doubt Watt like any backman needs help via an accountable midfield and fellow backmen. I think he certainly got that today, and made his job much much easier. Brown back there makes a huge difference imo, allowing Colbert to do play the third tall. Colbert has the smarts and experience as Brown does to know when to peel of and help out. For matchups and balance I belive we need a tall with speed down back, like Watt.

Well said ROOStaR. Next week it's Nietz and the job is ahead for everyone to HELP each other out otherwise we go back to square ONE and say the same things that are getting **YAWN**

Originally posted by scottywiper
He cops some baggings on here, but I thought he was great today.
Fair enough, Tredrea had little help from his team-mates, but Watt was always right with him and Tredrea never looked dangerous.
I think his only two shots came from free kicks.
Well done Shannon.

Great to see Shannon run into some form and looking angrier today.

One other thing for you Scotty to ponder is your opinion of Leigh Brown. I recall you saying that he is not much good but to me he would be in the top 5 B&F at the moment, quite comfortably.

Our backline is looking a lot tougher and more settled with Browny in it.

Re: Tough Backline !

Originally posted by vlad76
Great to see Shannon run into some form and looking angrier today.

One other thing for you Scotty to ponder is your opinion of Leigh Brown. I recall you saying that he is not much good but to me he would be in the top 5 B&F at the moment, quite comfortably.

Our backline is looking a lot tougher and more settled with Browny in it.

I agree wholeheartedly with Browny being TOP 5 in our B&F atm but that last point is one I wish to add... THE ARCHER factor settles any definition of our backline looking and more importantly playing tougher !

Watt looking angry ?? did Tredrea step on him ;)

One other thing for you Scotty to ponder is your opinion of Leigh Brown. I recall you saying that he is not much good but to me he would be in the top 5 B&F at the moment, quite comfortably

You're right!Saw a lot of him playing over here for Freo and didn't think he was up to it. Wasn't on my own though and his early form for us did nothing to change my mind.
Still has to sustain his form, but certainly on the path to proving me wrong in recent weeks. Discussed the same thing with my wife during the match.
Happy to be wrong in this case!

Originally posted by scottywiper
You're right!Saw a lot of him playing over here for Freo and didn't think he was up to it. Wasn't on my own though and his early form for us did nothing to change my mind.
Still has to sustain his form, but certainly on the path to proving me wrong in recent weeks. Discussed the same thing with my wife during the match.
Happy to be wrong in this case!

I Thought Brown started very slowly for us as well last season, but did finish the season off with a number of consistent performances. He has gone on with that this year and has probably been our best player, very consistent so far this season.

Interesting to hear Laidley talk about how much work they have put into Brown over the off season. To think he is still so young and has so much footy left as well.

Just looking at him play on (and beat thus far) Chris Tarrant, now that he's grown the hair a bit and has the jersey untucked, he looks like a gorilla. And more importantly he's acting like it too - he is getting a fist to the ball in every contest, he's not shirking the issue bodywise and Kingy's second goal was a direct result of Shannon getting into Tarrant's head and giving him some lip.

Who knows if it will last, but I'm seeing a completely different player tonight.

I hate to say this, but if Mckernan plays another game for us....it's one too many. He has really let us/teammates/himself down tonight. Very disappointing. He has one quarter to turn it around!

McIntosh must play next week. I don't care whether he's ready or not....get him in.

Watt and the defence have been ok.

Unfortunately, how many chances can you give McKernan? A great player in our 96 and 99 flags, but now a liability.
I cant see Laidley promoting McIntosh while we are still a finals chance and this is the case next week against Richmond.
I hope I am wrong though.

Geez, our goalkicking dries up for long periods in games.
We can kick 10 in a quarter a fortnight ago, but more often we struggle to score for long periods.
Back on McKernan, I maintain that Petrie plays better when he's not there.

The forward line is a shambles. Motlop's about the only player who's looked like getting the ball up there. I agree that Petrie plays better when McKernan's out of the way.

The other thing that's annoyed me about tonights game...and I knew it would happen...is Watson has hardly been on the ground. Throw him on and give him a chance.

And I wont bother mentioning the efforts of Harvey or Grant or Sinclair etc. How the hell are we going to find three players for votes? Colbert has been courageous as usual, so he deserves a pat on the back.

Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy