Player Watch #37: Cooper Harvey - signs 1yr extension - Roo til end 2025

Not to sound like a new age wellness lamp salesman, but I came across a comment this arvo speculating that the curse that descended on the club as a result of Boomer's unceremonious delisting could be lifted by the debut of Booper. Don't mind the concept
I too read reddit occassionally.

I’m sure he’ll be a player but I’ve heard sone very questionable reviews on character.
Footy clubs generally sort these things out. Plus having lots of nice guys on our list hasn’t served us that well over the last two decades.

It's football. Great footballer's are arrogant pricks. They're also young even at retirement (35+) and for the most part have been out up on a pedastal
no issue if he is a rat. I always remember boomer against West Coast one year in tassie, priddis had the ball on the boundary, wad a free kick and boomer knocked the ball out of he's hand and appealed for 50, and got it.

Dog act. Cheating even. Yet he was a brilliant player, and overall a good bloke.

Not to sound like a new age wellness lamp salesman, but I came across a comment this arvo speculating that the curse that descended on the club as a result of Boomer's unceremonious delisting could be lifted by the debut of Booper. Don't mind the concept
Ooooh I like this. And a win at Geelong would somehow fit the woo-woo vibe…ya know how we beat them there in 07 and that started their dynasty…idk

For all the things the AFL gets wrong, the father son rule is brilliant
Great for the spectacle and feel good factor, horribly inequitable in its results, also only job in the world that nepotism is openly disregarded.

At the end of the day though, there is some different feeling and attachment about a father-son player debuting & having a career for the club.

To sum up my point, had the rule not existed, in a vacuum, there’s a high probability that Nick Daicos would have been a North Melbourne player at this point in time, and while that would have been a great result for us, it just wouldn’t feel right for some reason.

Yes the AFL took far too long to make clubs pay a proper price for F/S prospects but I think the concept of giving clubs first dibs on the offspring of past players is great. Ablett, Scarlett and Hawkins Sr having talented kids doesn't change that for me

Great to see Cooper making his debut….regardless of all the expectations l wish him well and a long eventful career. Forge your own path Cooper, while we buckle up for the highs and occasional bumps along the journey…
#the#thejourneybegins

Yeah it's along the same lines. I feel like it's a bit in bad taste, and probably inflammatory too, to go into specifics here, but it's easy enough to find info about it with a Google search
His age helped him, I think.

Who has wore the number 37?

I think Sammy Wright wore it for a little bit too during the 09 season? That's all I can remember lol.

Cooper Harvey

Last 10 players to wear No.37

Kyron Hayden (2019-22) 17 games
Sam Wright (2009) 4 games
Scott Thompson (2008) 6 games
Joel Perry (2006) 8 games
Adam Simpson (1995-98) 65 games
Brendan Bower (1993) 2 games
Glenn Page (1992) 5 games
Michael Passmore (1985-88) 39 games
Ian Fairley (1983) 6 games
John Holt (1982) 15 games

Cooper Harvey is North player No.1054
Player 54 – Billy Lynch (1927-29) 36 games
Player 154 – Jack Welsh (1932) 12 games
Player 254 – Arnold Maltby (1939) 2 games
Player 354 – Jack Sexton (1946) 4 games
Player 454 – Keith Goullet (1955) 1 game
Player 554 – Peter Agrums (1963-64) 11 games
Player 654 – Barry Davis (1973-75) 71 games
Player 754 – Michael Passmore (1984-88) 42 games
Player 854 – Brett Chandler (1997-2000) 44 games
Player 954 – Liam Anthony (2009-14) 58 games

Alphabetically he comes between
Brent Harvey (1996-2016) 432 games
Shane Harvey (2004) 3 games

All Coopers to play for North
Nil

All C.H. initials to play for North
Charlie Healey (1925-30) 81 games
Cliff Hough (1937) 1 game
Craig Holden (1982-83) 29 games

Last 10 father/sons to play for North
Brett Allison (1987-99) 219 games
Mick Martyn (1988-2002) 287 games
Tim McGrath (1989-91) 7 games
Liam Pickering (1989-92) 22 games
Anthony Dwyer (1990-96) 30 games
Ryan Pagan (2000) 3 games
Jesse Smith (2005-08) 27 games
Luke McDonald (2014- ) 174 games
Bailey Scott (2019- ) 70 games
Jackson Archer (2022- ) 3 games

Ah yes. Kyron Hayden!

Damn it's been that long before that. The number with the most dust lol.

Player Watch #37: Cooper Harvey - signs 1yr extension - Roo til end 2025