Player Watch #38 Noah Cumberland - Delisted

I think he is a way better player than people realise. Potential is huge. But will it be fulfilled?

Could be a top line mid sized forward. Reminds me of a taller Jamie Elliot at times.

Contracted til the end of 2024 and I'd prefer to keep him but if he wants to return to Queensland and there was an early ish pick (15-25) on the table I'd be ok with it.

If Coleman-Jones was worth a pick 19 then so is he.
neither Qld club would offer 15-20 for him , more like 35ish and that’s if they were interested , he’d honestly be damn lucky to break into either side , would not be a good decision

I think he is a way better player than people realise. Potential is huge. But will it be fulfilled?

Could be a top line mid sized forward. Reminds me of a taller Jamie Elliot at times.

Contracted til the end of 2024 and I'd prefer to keep him but if he wants to return to Queensland and there was an early ish pick (15-25) on the table I'd be ok with it.

If Coleman-Jones was worth a pick 19 then so is he.
Pick 15-25? You’re dreaming BL. More like 55-75.

What is frustrating is that he is the only young player that looks like he can damage the opposition.

Other blokes like Sampson,Sonse,Mansell might be regulars in the future and play their role but they wont keep an opposition coach up at night

I am worried about us in 3 years time and hope that someone can bump this and throw it right in my face.

What is frustrating is that he is the only young player that looks like he can damage the opposition.

Other blokes like Sampson,Sonse,Mansell might be regulars in the future and play their role but they wont keep an opposition coach up at night

I am worried about us in 3 years time and hope that someone can bump this and throw it right in my face.
I used to think the same young fella, but he’s a tease with way too many deficiencies in his game. I feel embarrassed that I’ve actually backed him up, but I’ve been studying videos on him and all I can see is that he’s just a schoolboy bully that never developed his game. A lazy one sided footballer who basically wants to be fed like a 1970 Forward.

Can I give you ten LIKES for calling me young fella.

Yeah he would have ripped it up all his football life in total cruise control. Those blokes get caught out at this level.

Videos of him??? Are you recording games on a VHS or Beta TigerImposter :)

Can I give you ten LIKES for calling me young fella.

Yeah he would have ripped it up all his football life in total cruise control. Those blokes get caught out at this level.

Videos of him??? Are you recording games on a VHS or Beta TigerImposter :)
What do they call them nowadays? 😆

For me he fall's in the same case as Sonsie and Junior gone backwards this year is it them not working hard enough or in Sonsie case missing preseason, poor development or coaching ,but puzzling how all 3 we're best 22 late in the year to now in vfl.This needs to be addressed.

mp4s or animated gifs.

get to freeze frame without the vertical lines.

and dont have to walk through ten feet of snow to get one.
When did that get invented ?
Why dont i know about this

Based on last year cumberland showed signs of becoming a good player but this year he has not come within a mile of what he did last year and contrary to popular belief he has been given enough chances without actually deserving it imo.

He shows glimpses but they are very few and far between , I would love to see somebody with the ability to make a highlight reel of his 'Great Moments' and also his blunders . I think the blunders video will be longer

Happy to be proven wrong but as TI said earlier i think he is " Just a Tease" and his footy IQ looks questionable
Also would not be able to play midfield with his work rate. In the midfield he would have to play the role Chad Warner plays for Sydney
They are the same age same height same weight and drafted just 4 picks difference so similar junior talent

I can see why you’d say he plays like a short kpp as this year most of his ops have come from solid marks i50 ,,,,not the case last year where hed regularly seize the moment and make something of nothing ,,, I sense that his natural instinct has been battered out of him with structure leaving him in no man’s land . The kid needs a reset from an understanding coach or his career will drift into oblivion , I see a fair bit of Jayden stephenson in this kid

When did that get invented ?
Why dont i know about this

Based on last year cumberland showed signs of becoming a good player but this year he has not come within a mile of what he did last year and contrary to popular belief he has been given enough chances without actually deserving it imo.

He shows glimpses but they are very few and far between , I would love to see somebody with the ability to make a highlight reel of his 'Great Moments' and also his blunders . I think the blunders video will be longer

Happy to be proven wrong but as TI said earlier i think he is " Just a Tease" and his footy IQ looks questionable
Also would not be able to play midfield with his work rate. In the midfield he would have to play the role Chad Warner plays for Sydney
They are the same age same height same weight and drafted just 4 picks difference so similar junior talent
He’s struggled with the demands of afl footy in game , that’s why he stars at lesser levels where he just free wheels

Players with major flaws in their games need to go back to the VFL to correct them. Failing to do this means they will become JC and drift into football extinction. There's three players on Thursday's game that have major issues in their development and some also have fitness problems.
JGTI has massive flaws with his size and is too slow and until he can trim down he shouldn't be playing as he adds nothing to the team.
Cumberland I've spoken about
Ryan we are actually harming him by playing him now as he has massive flaws in his game being physically underdeveloped he's now looking fatigued and his flaws are more and more obvious. In the game day thread posters were implying he's NGTMI and they could be right if he doesn't correct his leg and arm strength for positioning, balance and holding out opponents. He falls over too often and drops marks like leaves off an apple tree in the Autumn.

The VFL is designed for development and confidence building and mostly to eliminate obvious flaws in players when they get there. Failing to do this kills them off or if they can't rectify them they die off anyhow.

For me he fall's in the same case as Sonsie and Junior gone backwards this year is it them not working hard enough or in Sonsie case missing preseason, poor development or coaching ,but puzzling how all 3 we're best 22 late in the year to now in vfl.This needs to be addressed.
Last year. MRJ was in the side for out of form Castagna. Noah for Dusty & Sonsie for Graham.

Initially a fit Dusty & JG and new TT & JH squeezed these guys out. Then when they got a chance they didn't play well enough to hold their spot. MRJ gets caught all the time then injured then straight back in.

MC wanted Mansell playing too. Cotch and Prestia getting squeezed out of the midfield. It just hasn't worked.

Really disappointing. MRJ we can cover but Sonsie and Noah C are good footballers.

neither Qld club would offer 15-20 for him , more like 35ish and that’s if they were interested , he’d honestly be damn lucky to break into either side , would not be a good decision
Got 3 retirements Jack R, Cotch. Tarrant.
3 or 4 delisted. Castagagna, Dow. Tough decisions on Pickett, JG, Kmac,
3 or 4 injured all 2022. Lynch, Campbell, Gibcus.
2021 draft players now getting continuity.
F/A or 2 IN?

RFC No draft picks but the list going to look fresh.

Last year. MRJ was in the side for out of form Castagna. Noah for Dusty & Sonsie for Graham.

Initially a fit Dusty & JG and new TT & JH squeezed these guys out. Then when they got a chance they didn't play well enough to hold their spot. MRJ gets caught all the time then injured then straight back in.

MC wanted Mansell playing too. Cotch and Prestia getting squeezed out of the midfield. It just hasn't worked.

Really disappointing. MRJ we can cover but Sonsie and Noah C are good footballers.

The team w/l record with Maurice playing over 40% game time in his career is 11w 1d 8l.

For Cumberland the corresponding numbers are 4-1-8.

For Sonsie it is 4-1-4.

They are small sample sizes but if you believe the early trends, the team has worked better with Maurice in it than with him missing. Sonsie has the smallest sample so most likely to be skewed but the team has functioned slightly better without him in it than with him playing. And Cumberland's selection has been a veritable harbinger of doom.

I actually think young Maurice is a quite important player for us when he is near his best. At present he is lacking touch, but showed a few better signs in the VFL this week I thought.

Did he hurt his ankle?

I seen him hobbling a bit but he wasn’t listed as injured in the match report.

He’s had a bit of a stop/start year and not much has gone right for him, yes he performed poorly a couple of times but those VFL byes at the wrong time and then the calf injury at training have stopped a bit of his momentum.

Hopefully he gets a good run at it from now on and he can show what he’s got later in the year with some AFL match fitness into him.

I have faith he can find some some good form like he did late last year.

Got 3 retirements Jack R, Cotch. Tarrant.
3 or 4 delisted. Castagagna, Dow. Tough decisions on Pickett, JG, Kmac,
3 or 4 injured all 2022. Lynch, Campbell, Gibcus.
2021 draft players now getting continuity.
F/A or 2 IN?

RFC No draft picks but the list going to look fresh.
What’s no draft pics, pls explain , have we been banned

The team w/l record with Maurice playing over 40% game time in his career is 11w 1d 8l.

For Cumberland the corresponding numbers are 4-1-8.

For Sonsie it is 4-1-4.

They are small sample sizes but if you believe the early trends, the team has worked better with Maurice in it than with him missing. Sonsie has the smallest sample so most likely to be skewed but the team has functioned slightly better without him in it than with him playing. And Cumberland's selection has been a veritable harbinger of doom.

I actually think young Maurice is a quite important player for us when he is near his best. At present he is lacking touch, but showed a few better signs in the VFL this week I thought.
Id be dropping half the team after a loss. Kmac and Graham for start

You reckon Cumberland should not play.
Play sonsie and MRJ!
MRJ has also been terrible this year

Sonsie was terrible this year. He also played in nothing but losses this year.

My take is games I could get to last year. The Gold coast game last year, MRJ and Cumberland played well despite the loss.. Brisbane final and Cumberland struggled. As did Cumberland struggle this year.
Thank goodness I don't mind Mansell as a player

I had to turn off after quarter time in the loss this week.

Look seems to me that the universal view around here is that he's the next Nathan Brown with opinion merely divided on whether that's pre-broken leg or post.

That’s not quite right , he’s only 22 not 29 and his first 8 games for 18 goals were outstanding , I’ve seen worse players be thrown a chance
Yeah, but he’s had two goes at it already and not much has changed. The word goes around the traps he’s a lazy footballer and hasn’t changed his game. He’s now really got to do it with us otherwise North Heidelberg will give him $80k a year of their pokies revenue.

Player Watch #38 Noah Cumberland - Delisted