Past #39: Leigh Harding - selected with #13 in 2000 RD - retired at end of 2010 season - coaches at BL

Is Harding the new Arnold Briedis?

• Yes, he is the new Briedis

Votes: 1 7.7%
  • No, he's not the new Arnie

Votes: 6 46.2%
  • His goalkicking reminds me of the great Arnie Briedis

Votes: 4 30.8%
  • He is ruggedly handsome like Arnie!

Votes: 2 15.4%

yeah was in pretty poor form and the coach didn't look like he wanted to play him too much either. not sure who to replace him with though. j clayton seems a little out favour and s harvey is not really putting his hand up.

Give Harding a chance not there as footballer yet but still wins plenty of the ball, with time and kicking practice may develop into a fruity alison type i hope.

Originally posted by magoo
yeah was in pretty poor form and the coach didn't look like he wanted to play him too much either. not sure who to replace him with though. j clayton seems a little out favour and s harvey is not really putting his hand up.
I like what Jezza has done when given the chance. He needs to have a big summer in the gym, but he can win the ball and uses it reasonably well. I'd like Laids to tell him that you've got 4-5 weeks in the ones and I'm not going to drag you providing you give it your best. We need that crumber around the feet of Sav and Drew.

I think there is room for both Jez and Turtle in the side.

Jez in the pocket with bursts on the ball - but JYD needs to show some faith and give him some game time. I'm fustrated with his lack of game time. A bit like Wombat, flogs them in the twos but isnt getting enought game time in the ones.

Turtle on a back flank to work on his defensive side. Much the same way Fruity developed in the early 90s. This might might have to happen with Port for starters given others are performing this role.

I reckon JClayton has the ability to be a top forward pocket, but he needs talls to crumb off! Good football smarts (see WCE game last year), I think he lacks the pace and stamina to play through the middle for any great stretches of time. I think he is a more viable forward crumber than Harding as JClayton can kick straight.

i would take davey over both of them now....how could i say that he wouldn't make it? i don't think harding or j.clayton have much of a future in AFL footy if we are going to become a great side again. I'm willing to give Harding the benefit of the doubt having had no pre-season and a whole year with OP last year and at least one year to turn it around. Jeremy i just haven't seen enough of to say he'd be a great crumber, because he just doesn't kick all that many goals in games, albeit lack of gametime.....

Leigh Harding is one of the most selfish players I have seen. He has shots for goal from impossible positions. He doesn't chase or tackle. He cannot kick straight. The only thing he can do is run down to the forward line when he thinks the ball is going to come down there. The only way he can justify a place in the side is to kick 5 or 6 goals a week, because he's good for nothing else!

I tend to partially agree with you Kangaroo7 about Harding but I feel he has to steady up, remain calm as many of time he didn't bother to weigh up the correct option and just blaze away.

I don't know what structure our fwd line has atm but after 8 weeks you'd think they can be better organised. I feel our FWD line will continue to struggle if Sav isn't the main 'GO TO GUY' as he seems to one who brings everyone into the game.

JYD should explain why he took Sav off when we had some momentum going....:rolleyes: on walking out, many other disgruntled ppl were squarely pointing the finger at JYD for poor coaching. I have to agree.

Harding: Bring on Dons
27 June 2004 Sunday Herald Sun
Jon Ralph

KANGAROOS goalsneak Leigh Harding yesterday said Friday night's blockbuster against Essendon would be the perfect chance for the young Roos to win much-needed respect and initiate a charge at September action.

Dean Laidley's side has been plagued by inconsistency this year after a bright start, but two wins in the past three rounds has it at 6-7 and improving.

Harding, aware the draw does the Kangaroos no favours, said it was just the kind of game his teammates needed to win.

"It's a massive game," he said. "They are in the top five or six on the ladder, so it's a massive game if we want to make inroads into the top half a dozen and the top eight.

"Hopefully we can kick-start our second half of the year. I think we have got a few interstate games in the second half of the year so to go 7-7, the competition is so even.

"It's been an amazing season and if you can keep in with more wins than losses, by the look of it there is a fair chance you will finish in the eight."

The Friday night clash kicks off what shapes as a defining round for the Kangaroos.

With Geelong heading to Subiaco to take on West Coast, St Kilda and Port Adelaide facing off at York Park, and Melbourne playing Adelaide at AAMI Stadium, the Kangaroos can make vital ground on fellow top-four challengers.

Harding's own form is on an upward curve after finally shaking off the remnants of the severe case of osteitis pubis that dogged him last year.

The debilitating injury forced an early end to 2003 and three months of complete rest saw Harding on the sidelines until the new year.

Eleven goals in his past four games have cemented his spot in a line-up with plenty of talent but still finding its feet.

"I carried it for the last couple of years. It has taken a long time to get over it and hopefully it's all over.

"I am very much a bursty-type player and, towards the end of last year and even the start of last season, blokes were running past me that normally wouldn't get anywhere near me."

By Round 19, when Fremantle tall defender Shane Parker kept him under wraps, he knew it was time to call an end to his year.

"I played him early on and I was still in front of him by a couple of yards and then played him (later) and he was going past me. I thought it's time to have a bit of a look at what is wrong," he said.

"It took until Round 5 or 6 of this year that I started to get right and it took that long to get right. Now I feel like I am running as good as I ever have. I used to pull up very sore after a game, but now I am raring to go of a morning and wanting to get back out and train."

The goalkicking yips that plagued the former Geelong VFL player have also been cured after a pointer from teammate Daniel Motlop.

"I never used to focus on something that was behind the goals, I used to focus on something on the ground in front of me, and I have changed that around," he said.

What do you all think?
Have noticed that he is having a fair crack at the minute, he is moving alot better and is kicking straight can Turtle keep it up?
I sure hope so.

Harding is a awsome talent IMO.

Got a fair bagging on this board which he didnt really deserve.Having got to a bit of the pre season training it was quite a concern seeing him running at only half pace session after session.

At the top of his game i beleive he is a dangerous player capable of scoring in a hurry ,something we have lacked this year.

Originally posted by tashibatts
Keep the OP away, and the form will stay.. just as long as he looks the right way (behind the goals)..

Go Roos
:D
Yes I have to agree. He has always looked like he could play but unfortunately he is one of the worst kicks in the competition. If he has his pace back though at least he can get close enough to goals where even he can't miss.
His explosive pace is his only weapon so it's good to see he has it back again. With Harvey playing up forward now (finally) it gives us some good scoreing opportunities. Now all we need is some talls to take some grabs and we have a good forward half. I say play Brown at CHF or FF although Rocca is worth persisting with for the rest of this year.

So that makes it
Harding Rocca Harvey
Grant Brown Motlop
Jones to a wing and Petrie into 2nd ruck.
Toooooo easy.
The team is looking better all ready.

I rate Turtle highly.
I know he can be frustrating, but our whole forward line looks more dangerous when he is down there.
Given that he has carried the OP for more than a season, he has done okay really and his best footy should be ahead.

I have been a Harding critic. He's got the ability to find space in the forward line, and his pace is good. But his technique for set shots is flawed, and I've rarely seen him use his pace to lay a tackle.

I hope it is just the injury that has made his kicking look awkward... but he still needs to prove that he can be a consistant performer.

I bagged him earlier because he doesnt chase and is the most selfish player on our list.

He hasnt improved much in those areas but the forward line does seem to function better with him in the side.

And I cant believe Motlop had to point out that goal kicking tip to him. Thats under 13's stuff isnt it?

Interesting to hear Harding talk about blokes not being able to catch him.

there is always talk about the fastest blokes at the club - is it wells, is it shannon watt...
where does harding rate for pace when he is not afflicted by groin problems?

Originally posted by Harvs29
Interesting to hear Harding talk about blokes not being able to catch him.

there is always talk about the fastest blokes at the club - is it wells, is it shannon watt...
where does harding rate for pace when he is not afflicted by groin problems?

Without knowing anything about test times etc, I would say:

First 5 metres with the footy: 1) Harding 2) Wells 3) Sansbury

Wells would be the quckest over 30, 50 and 100 in a footy game IMO, with or without the ball.

Leigh Harding really intrigues me. He looks like he's got so much potential and ability, his pace is fantastic and he has beaten opponents in one-on-one situations, but he so often does things that let him (and the team) down. As we know, his kicking for goal can be VERY unreliable. You can see the supporters actually groaning and looking the other way when he is having a set shot for goal! I was wondering if someone who has played football could explain to me why Leigh would choose to kick the ball with the lace underneath (as was highlighted on TV during the Essendon game)? Wouldn't this contribute to his inaccurate kicking for goal? I realise it is something he has done since he was younger but should the coaches be trying to get him out of this habit?

And it was disappointing on Saturday night when Leigh didn't shepherd through Sav's goal and he then got benched. The commentators made mention of it and they also said that Drew had a go at him about it whilst he was on the bench. Then when the players were coming off at half-time it looked like David King was saying to him 'You should have shepherded.' I'm not bagging him. I realise Leigh is still a young player and I think he's got some potential but he is just frustrating at times. Do people think North should persist with him?

Apparently he believes that the ball spins quicker with the lace down. To late to change the way he kicks just has to practice more. He is a dangerous player who can kick 2-3 quick goals to break the game open. He is still a young player and will learn from his mistake on Saturday night, i think he knew he let the team down at that stage, so he can only improve.

The effort to shepherd was poor compared to Motlop's efforts in the goalsquare.

And didn't he get run down from behind against Essendon, when he had Sinclair alone to his left. He just held on to the ball and was oblivious to the chaser.

If he can eliminate these errors it will take some of the pressure off him.

His set shots at goal are dreadful. Drew Petrie is also struggling, and last season Corey Jones had the yips.

Lazy & not an overly smart footballer IMO.

But when he's hot, he's good to watch. Hopefully he can turn it on next week and wipe his sins from the last game from our memories.

Originally posted by Lidge
Lazy & not an overly smart footballer IMO.

But when he's hot, he's good to watch. Hopefully he can turn it on next week and wipe his sins from the last game from our memories.

like the 'wipe his sins' quip :D

I mentioned to Darky on Sat nite that a focussed and flying Turtle can and should be able to kick 70 goals in any one season...

Dunno where I sit with this bloke.

Against Geelong he was huge. Tough, worked hard, battled hard, kicked straight. Against Essendon he was missing, against Freo he was very poor.

He is a good player, but 3 weeks ago I thought he had arrived as a player and now I have the same doubts over him as I did when he was doing nothing in the VFL.

Past #39: Leigh Harding - selected with #13 in 2000 RD - retired at end of 2010 season - coaches at BL