Past #39: Leigh Harding - selected with #13 in 2000 RD - retired at end of 2010 season - coaches at BL

Is Harding the new Arnold Briedis?

• Yes, he is the new Briedis

Votes: 1 7.7%
  • No, he's not the new Arnie

Votes: 6 46.2%
  • His goalkicking reminds me of the great Arnie Briedis

Votes: 4 30.8%
  • He is ruggedly handsome like Arnie!

Votes: 2 15.4%

Originally posted by Lidge
Lazy & not an overly smart footballer IMO.

But when he's hot, he's good to watch. Hopefully he can turn it on next week and wipe his sins from the last game from our memories.
I'm not so sure that he's lazy, i can't imagine an AFL footballer that would think, "ahhh i cbf'ed shepparding"
I reckon that its just a bit of his awareness at the moment, its a hard one tho, perhaps with a bit more experience he'll be better at those little one percenter type things that have big impacts on the game. When hes good he really looks good tho

Originally posted by jasps1
I'm not so sure that he's lazy, i can't imagine an AFL footballer that would think, "ahhh i cbf'ed shepparding"

I'm pretty sure they are a dime a dozen in this league and many play for the bottom teams ....as 1%er's are what seperates the team players from individual players.

i would give shane harvey a run this week.

and drop leigh harding.

Why ?

not because i dont believe leigh has talent and is worth perservering with.

but because shane harvey has really played well the last few weeks in the seconds, and deserves a go in the seniors.

Originally posted by mightymax
i would give shane harvey a run this week.

and drop leigh harding.

Why ?

not because i dont believe leigh has talent and is worth perservering with.

but because shane harvey has really played well the last few weeks in the seconds, and deserves a go in the seniors.

S. Harvey would give us some more creativity with his ball use. I wouldnt be against this move. You get the feeling that Sharvs would step up if given the opportunity. does he deserve it?

I am of the opinion that Harding should go back to the VFL . He drives me crazy with his errantic play and, in my mind, he doesn't work hard enough to keep the play in our forward line.
Maybe give Uncle Shane and run and see how he goes OR put Urch or Ash Watson in for some big game time.

Originally posted by meetuinzion
Harding has been a major shame, how hard is it to to practise kicking straight. whould he not have 1 -2 hours a day to imporove hes kicking? Would Tiger woods be any where if he did not spend so many hours perfecting hes game?

Its time Afl players start taking profesionalism seriously

Especially ones who play in the forward line and cant kick straight
I.e; Leigh Harding

I LIKE YOUR THINKING!

I've said it before and I'll say it again.
Our forward line functions much better when he is in there. I know the delivery had a lot to do with it, but Harding couldn't possibly have done any worse.
We were playing good footy with him in there and his replacement was dire.
BRING BACK TURTLE.

Turtle wouldn't have made one iota of difference today. Carlton were flooding their backline, and our delivery was rushed, not well thought out and downright sloppy.

Shane Harvey played like a wanna-be millionaire it was embarrassing. Had TWO HUGE chances to put his stamp on the game but squibed it big time ....very disssappointing debut.
Whether he gets another chance is up to Thursday Night Lotto but I said before he got a game that I'd rather Turtle who may have done more than Shane offered. Too easy to say this now...I'm feeling too fickle to think rationally.

Harding would have made no difference at all today. He was quite deservedly dropped and will need to do a lot more before he regains his place.
Having said that, there were plenty of players today who need to look at themselves. If that's the best Shane Harvey can do then he can go back to Port for good.

how often do we see the best that a bloke can do in his first game for a club? shane harvey was not the reason that north melbourne lost the game today.

shane harvey was not the reason that north melbourne lost the game today.

Fair call mate, I may have been too harsh straight after what was a very annoying loss.
However, from what I saw he was very disappointing today. I hope he can, and does, do much better in the future.
I am a Harding supporter and just like the forward line with him in there. If it ain't broke...

Is it possible for us to Drop Jess Sinclair for Leigh harding, and have both Harding and Shane Harvey in the same team???

SHarvey reminded me alot like Harro when he first started playing, just a shy, totally nervous guy... I thought some of the things that Harvs did today were ok... give him another chance IMO.

I think we should give Shane Harvey a couple more games to prove himself and if he doesn't do anything or play like he did against carlton then we drop him and leave him in the vfl.

turtle turtle

harvey had 3 chances and 1 was against hawthorn hes not up to it! sherked a few contests!

turtle has actually hardened up and puts his body in not as much as others but more then he used to

turtle turtle turtle turtle

Past #39: Leigh Harding - selected with #13 in 2000 RD - retired at end of 2010 season - coaches at BL