Player Watch #43 Jacob Bauer

There are three players total on the whole list who a) actually have some height and b) can read the flight of the ball in the air, time their jump and take a mark while being a forward target.

Tom Lynch, Jack Riewoldt (when his 50 year old legs can get off the ground once in 10 contests) and....Jacob Bauer.

Select him and play him as a forward. Thank you.

There are three players total on the whole list who a) actually have some height and b) can read the flight of the ball in the air, time their jump and take a mark while being a forward target.

Tom Lynch, Jack Riewoldt (when his 50 year old legs can get off the ground once in 10 contests) and....Jacob Bauer.

Select him and play him as a forward. Thank you.
Well we did recruit him as a forward …..but no let’s play him in defence

All things considered

Not sure we are in a position to ignore selecting the young man as a forward asap

He has won us a game abd been bog twice

Especially as we currently have a lamp post masquerading as a footballer in Sampson at the minute

End the Bauer farce now

Surely he takes either Ryan or Miller’s spot next week, they’ve both had a decent run at it and have done ok but they’re nowhere near being instant selections each week.

We were all wanting a reserves player to put his hand up today after last night’s debacle and Bauer did exactly that.

It’s not like we’re debating whether to drop Riewoldt or Lynch for Bauer.

This should be a very easy selection decision.

You're flat out wrong, I can assure you it wasn't me.

Go look in the Ryan thread, I've been a huge wrap since his first season. And just last week a poster was saying Bradtke and Bauer should be delisted this year and I said I'd be backing them in for another year at least. I've said Bauer has all the tools he just needs to up the work rate and sulky attitude at times.
I remember your posts now, you were obsessed that we didn't pick Jacob Van Rooyen in the draft and Bauer will never be a target in our forwardline, do you remember that?

I remember your posts now, you were obsessed that we didn't pick Jacob Van Rooyen in the draft and Bauer will never be a target in our forwardline? do you remember that?
I wasn't obsessed at all, just pointing out why I think he's going to be a good key forward of the future, not sure why you have such an issue with that? And no, I don't remember saying Bauer will never be a target, because that's not something I've ever said. I have said however that i dont think he won't be the big banana, but more of a 3rd tall.....is that okay with you? Or would you like another attempt at telling me what I have amd have not said?

I'm fine with that, just don't suddenly act now like you're Bauers #1 fan, your posts in this thread are embarrassing considering what you thought of him a couple of months ago.

Ffs. Which posts were they hero? Feel free to search and quote every one of my posts in this thread....then apologise if you're big enough.

Because you post about 40 times a day, I'd have to bring up pages of your quotes to give context, Just admit you weren't a fan of any of our forward stocks at VFL level and we'll move on with our night lol.

Here I'll do it for you mate. You show me where I've said I didn't rate him? Or 'shit' on him.

I can do the same in the Bradtke and Ryan threads too if you like.

Club seems to think he's a genuine key forward so that's good. Hopefully he's not done growing just yet. That snap across the body from 50 running away from the goals in the highlights package is pretty special.

Dont think so. Only ex afl listed players can nominate their terms. I think ex lion Connor Ballenden was the only player to do that. He wasn't picked up.

Could be a weapon after a pre season.

He showed glimpses and had a strong finish. 16 goals in 9 games including 8 in his last 3 (also averaged over 12 disposals and 7 marks in those last 3 games). Competes well, attacks the ball hard in the air and has good hands and a nice kick. Don't think he'll ever be a key target but could be a dangerous 2nd or 3rd tall. Reminds me a lot of Brodie Mihocek actually. He will benefit massively from his first pre season and can see him breaking into the seniors for a few games next year.

He will stay on the rookie list for 2023 as he was one of the handful of players from the MSD to nominate an 18 month contract if drafted.

He doesn't really play tall like Jack though. More of a medium marking target.

Fades in and out of games too much at this stage, work rate isn't there yet. He often screams for the ball 60+m away from the play rather than working up the ground to be a viable option. Flies for big marks too often rather than making sure the ball hits the deck. Still very much a work in progress but plenty to work with.

He wasn't awful at all. He just doesn't have the work rate yet.

He's a beautiful field kick too. If Broad does leave as a free agent Bauer would slot straight in.

Should be right by next year. Not many of our guys are near Broads running capacity.

Hes getting very close. I think we rest one of Grimes, Young and Vlastuin V eagles next week and give him a debut.

-

Jacob Bauer (21 disposals, 12 rebound-50s, five marks)

"He's been a revelation since going back. His work in the air is getting better each week and I thought he made some really good high-percentage decisions on defence and his ball use has been a highlight over the last three weeks."

Why? He's been much better in defence and he's not getting a game ahead of Jack amd can't ruck like Ryan.

Ryan isn't ready to ruck full games yet.
Bauer was decent up forward but looks far better down back. Ball watched alot up forward.

Who's spot is he taking in the forward line? Jack? No, Dusty? No, Cumberland? No, Ryan? No. Can't play a small forward or mid/fwd role either.

He'd be fairly interchangeable with Young down back given he played on Ben Brown on the weekend. Could be a Jake Lever type interceptor.

It's all well and good to say find a spot but there's not one there for him. More chance in the backline to give Young a rest or even Grimes.

Would be remiss of us to play Samson one out V witts. They're not going to play Bauer 3 weeks straight in the vfl backline and say he's been a revelation there only to throw him forward in the seniors. Won't happen.

So basically 'he's not working hard enough'. Fair praise to say that about his contest work though.

Jacob Bauer (12 disposals, five rebound-50s, three marks)

"Jacob's contest work is as good as we have at the Club, but I'd love to see him give himself more opportunities to compete in those contests. But, he equally had some super aerial contests in which he was able to nullify."

Here I'll do it for you mate. You show me where I've said I didn't rate him? Or 's**t' on him.

I can do the same in the Bradtke and Ryan threads too if you like.
Thank you for making my point, Bauer playing in the backline is hardly an endorsement of him as a forward is it?

Tiger.png Here's one post of yours saying Bauer will never be a main target.... okay.... now go read all your most recent Bauer posts in this thread. Its night and day, thats what I have a problem with. I dont know how you cant get it.

Thank you for making my point, Bauer playing in the backline is hardly an endorsement of him as a forward is it?

View attachment 1725738Here's one post of yours saying Bauer will never be a main target.... okay.... now go read all your most recent Bauer posts in this thread. Its night and day, thats what I have a problem with. I dont know how you can get it.
Yes mate Samson will never be a CHF, that is almost certain. Bauer went to the backline to work on his deficiencies, do you understand? He was BOG in the backline to 3QT today too, I watched the whole game. And yes I dont think Bauer will ever be the main man at AFL level? what's the issue?

Are you really trying to criticise me for pumping up a bloke after a career best, match winning game? :drunk:

Yes mate Samson will never be a CHF, that is almost certain. Bauer went to the backline to work on his deficiencies, do you understand? He was BOG in the backline to 3QT today too, I watched the whole game. And yes I dont think Bauer will ever be the main man at AFL level? what's the issue?

Are you really trying to criticise me for pumping up a bloke after a career best, match winning game? :drunk:
No just be more consistent, admit when you're wrong occasionally, dont jump on a bandwagon after a good game, we'll get along fine then.

You're dribbling now, have a spell. I've been positive about him, Ryan and bradtke since they were drafted. Had a brilliant game today, hopefully a break out game. That doesn't mean he's perfect and immune to criticism of his deficiencies, of which there are a few. Great signs today though, I won't apologise for pumping him up.

Don't be a flog.

I remember his 2nd game for the VFL team against North, got absolutely thrashed by Josh Walker. Got out bodied at every contest.

Great to see him developing and taking more contested marks. Definitely deserves a call up.

It wasn't Glen Jakovich, that is for sure. I think his opponent late was the Academy skipper Brad McDonald, but I stand to be corrected. Bauer was allowed a clear run at the ball 4 times in the dying stages, something he needs. And something you don't get often at AFL level....
You make your own luck by reading the play and the flight of the ball. He did that 4 times in 20 minutes because he is a natural forward and a natural marker. Harder at AFL level as you say, as Jack is finding out without Lynch.

Adding Bauer might also free up Jack a bit because they will have to watch someone else in the air. Ryan and Miller are no aerial threats.

You make your own luck by reading the play and the flight of the ball. He did that 4 times in 20 minutes because he is a natural forward and a natural marker. Harder at AFL level as you say, as Jack is finding out without Lynch.

Adding Bauer might also free up Jack a bit because they will have to watch someone else in the air. Ryan and Miller are no aerial threats.

I don't think it was luck that allowed Bauer to do what he did in that final term, he was way too good for his opponent in aerial contests, got to the right positions, and took his chances brilliantly.

It will be intriguing to see what selectors do over the next couple of weeks. Dusty, Prestia, then Mansell and or possibly Maurice are likely to be inserted into the team over the next 2 weeks. I thought Soldo was very good as well yesterday, so if they wanted a second ruck with more physical presence he could come in over Ryan. Banks is crying out for a game as well. Short obviously misses 3-4, and I think it looks obvious Cumberland will be omitted.

So if Bauer plays it would likely be at Miller's expense I imagine. Miller has been quite useful in some of our AFL wins. I wonder if they may not want too many changes at once and may bring in Dusty and Prestia for Short and Cumberland at this stage. And look to give Bauer, Banks and probably Brown a crack in the AFL team a bit later in the season. I would be seriously looking to give Coulthard a sneaky game against Eagles in 2 weeks time as well, and possibly against the Hawks the week after. It looks a really difficult team to pick at present. Bauer did several things in the match v Brisbane that weren't great including several occasions where he "misread" the ball in the air when there was pressure from behind in a marking contest and he needed to back into the pressure. He looks an absolute jet when he gets a clear run and jump at the footy. Tough one.

I don't think it was luck that allowed Bauer to do what he did in that final term, he was way too good for his opponent in aerial contests, got tot the right positions, and took his chances brilliantly.

It will be intriguing to see what selectors do over the next couple of weeks. Dusty, Prestia, then Mansell and or possibly Maurice are likely to be inserted into the team over the next 2 weeks. I thought Soldo was very good as well yesterday, so if they wanted a second ruck with more physical presence he could come in over Ryan. Banks is crying out for a game as well. Short obviously misses 3-4, and I think it looks obvious Cumberland will be omitted.

So if Bauer plays it would likely be at Miller's expense I imagine. Miller has been quite useful in some of our AFL wins. I wonder if they may not want too many changes at once and may bring in Dusty and Prestia for Short and Cumberland at this stage. And look to give Bauer, Banks and probably Brown a crack in the AFL team a bit later in the season. I would be seriously looking to give Coulthard a sneaky game against Eagles in 2 weeks time as well, and possibly against the Hawks the week after. It looks a really difficult team to pick at present. Bauer did several things in the match v Brisbane that weren't great including several occasions where he "misread" the ball in the air when there was pressure from behind in a marking contest and he needed to back into the pressure. He looks an absolute jet when he gets a clear run and jump at the footy. Tough one.
I think Bauer for Ryan because they both play deepish forward and Miller is further up the ground. Miller has rucked quite well and gives far more at ground level, which we lose when Nank goes off. To be fair Ryan is not bad at ground level for his size. And I think Ryan has had a good year considering he needs another preseason in the gym.

Will be interesting to see what they do with Cumberland. Dusty will come in, Prestia in. My outs would be MRJ, Ryan and HRS. In Dusty, Prestia and Bauer. Cumberland stays in because our forward line is so average and he needs a run of games.

I think Bauer for Ryan because they both play deepish forward and Miller is further up the ground. Miller has rucked quite well and gives far more at ground level, which we lose when Nank goes off. To be fair Ryan is not bad at ground level for his size. And I think Ryan has had a good year considering he needs another preseason in the gym.

Will be interesting to see what they do with Cumberland. Dusty will come in, Prestia in. My outs would be MRJ, Ryan and HRS. In Dusty, Prestia and Bauer. Cumberland stays in because our forward line is so average and he needs a run of games.

Every time Cumberland has a run of games the team's performance seems to magically deteriorate. A few of his efforts after failing to win the ball v the Lions were not even TAC Cup standard, so he is going through the trap door for mine.

I like the way our selectors often don't react to a player having a purple patch and rush him into the team, rather, they seem to look at whether a player can fulfil a role over the longer course to the benefit of the team. So I am not sure where things are headed with Bauer in the short term. It is great to see him playing well in the VFL team, but he probably still needs to nail down a role that is transferrable to the AFL team. I think Cumberland versus say Mansell has shown us pretty clearly that players who can "win the game off their own boot" at the end of a match don't necessarily improve the team's overall performance.

Player Watch #43 Jacob Bauer