AFL Player #47: Jye Menzie - Signs on for 2025 - 18/7

Bridgewater is no joke. Ive been there once and was attacked by a group of 10 yoofs, one pulled a knife, but I got away and they damaged my rental car in the process, mind you that morning I had spoken to the servo cashier that had stitches from a recent robbery.

Whilst at the Hobart cop shop making a statement at the front desk a detective walked past escorting a 30 something woman out of an interview room, he came back and realised we were talking about how rough Bridgewater was and was like "yeh that woman I just walked out is from Bridgewater, she was here to report he brother for sexually assaulting her".

This was less than 10 years ago, yeh nah yeh, if you are even driving nearby just keep driving
But from the outside it sounds so nice. Who doesn’t love a bridge? Who doesn’t love water?

On the other side of the ledger, in Queensland we have Burpengary.

From the same town as Josh Green in Tassie
rubbing hands GIF

Bridgewater is no joke. Ive been there once and was attacked by a group of 10 yoofs, one pulled a knife, but I got away and they damaged my rental car in the process, mind you that morning I had spoken to the servo cashier that had stitches from a recent robbery.

Whilst at the Hobart cop shop making a statement at the front desk a detective walked past escorting a 30 something woman out of an interview room, he came back and realised we were talking about how rough Bridgewater was and was like "yeh that woman I just walked out is from Bridgewater, she was here to report he brother for sexually assaulting her".

This was less than 10 years ago, yeh nah yeh, if you are even driving nearby just keep driving
Yup. I am not at all surprised. I lived there for about 3 years during my formative years, after growing up in Glenorchy which in my day was almost as rough as Bridgey. A bloke I know sold a cheap car to a fella in Bridgewater or Gagebrook (they're seen as dual suburbs like Minneapolis/Saint Paul) and something went wrong with it because the bloke who bought it started to flog it. He asked my mate for a refund, and naturally my mate's refused. Suddenly, his house was burned down out of the blue, turned out to be arson. You quickly learn to mind your own business out that way. White collar conflict is nothing to me now lol.

Funny thing is you get a lot of mainlanders buying at the place without coming to look at the area, because it has water views, and from many sections you can see a panoramic view of the mountain. Error lol

Not saying he’ll become that but he looks to be in the Papley style, gets on the move at stoppage, reads the ball in flight and off hands and aggressively hunts the footy or whoever has it.

His SANFL coach was on SEN, gave him a glowing review:
“From the first time we saw him train there was certainly a level of dedication, commitment and he certainly had some scope to improve, (he) was pretty raw in terms of how he was playing,” Wright said.

“But he’s a really quick, powerful young man, for a 19-year-old kid he’s still built pretty solidly, you wouldn’t call him a small forward.

“I think (with) his size and his strength, he’s certainly got some scope to play at the highest level and right from the first session we saw his speed and power and the way his goal sense was around the big sticks was certainly going to work with us at South Adelaide.

“We just had to continue trying to develop his game in a defensive term to help with that pressure and slowing the game down, which is obviously what a lot of AFL clubs are looking for.”

“I think Jye can (make an impact straight away), with the way his contest is, he’s quite a strong young kid and runs straight lines, he doesn’t shirk a tackle, doesn’t shirk a ground ball, he runs straight through,” Wright added.

“So the mental side of the game, he’s quite confident in his own ability and you certainly need that to be able to impact at AFL level, there’s no time to second guess or have any doubts in regards to your ability, the game can pass you pretty quickly.

“Jye has certainly got that confidence in his own ability which will hold him in good stead, I think they’ve picked him with a need for now, but certainly long-term, he’s 19 and has a lot of scope for development as well.

“From what I’ve seen of him this year, within the next three or four weeks I can see him certainly playing some AFL football.

“Playing the way he was in the SANFL, if he’s doing that in the Essendon VFL side for a week or two I can’t see why he wouldn’t get a selection because he was kicking, three, four, five goals a game with us, which is pretty amazing for a 19-year-old kid.”

1st off. Essendon, congratulations on getting Jye Menzie.

Bloke is a jet.

I am a South Adelaide fan in the SANFL and I have seen him play.

He started off the season with a bang kicking 10 goals in his 1st 2 games.

Round 1, south Adelaide beat central's 13.7.85 to central's 12.8.80. kicked 5 goals that game.

Then came round 2 vs Port at Alberton.

South Adelaide were 28 points down mid way in the 3rd and won by 10 points. 17.9.111 to Port magpies 14.17.101. Jye Menzie kicked 5 goals again. He was kicking them from everywhere.

Also, he isn't the only south Adelaide Panthers player on essendons list. Sam Draper is solid as well.

But from the outside it sounds so nice. Who doesn’t love a bridge? Who doesn’t love water?

On the other side of the ledger, in Queensland we have Burpengary.
We have a beautiful place at the fork between the pristine Adelaide Hills and the spectacular Barossa Valley. Named after the Queen herself such is the reverence it held when the suburb was established. Sounds amazing.

Sounds like Bridgewater in Tassie and Elizabeth in SA are twins.

Personally though i couldn't give a stuff where he's from, if he's got the right attitude on and off the field then he's welcome to chase his dream with us. If he succeeds then good luck to him.

Interesting searching his name in the Draft Hub, comes up a few times.

Played a couple of games for the Allies in the U18 champs in his draft year (same cohort as Reid, Cox, Perkins) but was regarded as pretty raw, even though Tassie didn't have the lockdowns the mainland had to deal with so should've had some advantages there I suppose.

His stats for the Tassie Devils are mostly a 50-50 shot at goal for 2019/2021. Jye Menzie

Draft watchers reckoned he had iffy disposal at times, started 2021 season on fire and got moved into the midfield for Tassie 🤔 and was apparently BOG in the first half in that position, defensive pressure is really good. Didn't get picked up again though, either MSD or National Draft.

So he'd been through two national drafts and a mid-season draft by the start of this year, moved to South Adelaide and kicked 10 goals in the first two rounds (4.3 and 6.1) and then faded a bit.

His last game was against West Adelaide: 16 touches, 3 goals, 8 tackles, 7 marks, 2 clearances, 3 inside 50s. Had an absolute day out (and must've pushed up the ground somewhat to get those i50s as well). For the season his goal accuracy is 71% and his disposal efficiency is 66%, so doesn't sound that iffy anymore. South Adelaide - SANFL

Looks a bit like this guy...
View attachment 1417908
I'm not seeing it...
Jye-Menzie.png

Interesting searching his name in the Draft Hub, comes up a few times.

Played a couple of games for the Allies in the U18 champs in his draft year (same cohort as Reid, Cox, Perkins) but was regarded as pretty raw, even though Tassie didn't have the lockdowns the mainland had to deal with so should've had some advantages there I suppose.

His stats for the Tassie Devils are mostly a 50-50 shot at goal for 2019/2021. Jye Menzie

Draft watchers reckoned he had iffy disposal at times, started 2021 season on fire and got moved into the midfield for Tassie 🤔 and was apparently BOG in the first half in that position, defensive pressure is really good. Didn't get picked up again though, either MSD or National Draft.

So he'd been through two national drafts and a mid-season draft by the start of this year, moved to South Adelaide and kicked 10 goals in the first two rounds (4.3 and 6.1) and then faded a bit.

His last game was against West Adelaide: 16 touches, 3 goals, 8 tackles, 7 marks, 2 clearances, 3 inside 50s. Had an absolute day out (and must've pushed up the ground somewhat to get those i50s as well). For the season his goal accuracy is 71% and his disposal efficiency is 66%, so doesn't sound that iffy anymore. South Adelaide - SANFL

I'm not seeing it...
View attachment 1417931

It looked a little similar from side on, then again maybe I should've put the glasses on...
glasses1.gif

Could he conceivably come straight in?
The fact that Massimo will only play VFL if fit and he was taken at 3 makes me think it's unlikely

Could he conceivably come straight in?
Newcombe did last year but he was already known to the coaches and had been playing in their VFL team preparing for the eventuality.

Not sure Menzie would know anything about game plan and such, or even half his teammates names, but I suppose a small forward in his first game has less expectations on him than a mid or wing would have anyway.

Newcombe did last year but he was already known to the coaches and had been playing in their VFL team preparing for the eventuality.

Not sure Menzie would know anything about game plan and such, or even half his teammates names, but I suppose a small forward in his first game has less expectations on him than a mid or wing would have anyway.

Small forward game-plan is simpler than most; tackle and crumb off 2MP.

AFL Player #47: Jye Menzie - Signs on for 2025 - 18/7