Oh cool are we blaming people?
I'm gonna blame starchamber for not reminding him to grow a beard
thylacine60 because he should have given Samo better opinions
Aphrodite for making too much cake available in the mods room
The Old Dark Navy's for refusing to share said cake
ferrisb for making jokes about every player except for him
And softflopper because, well...

First up sounds like you and I both wanted sps to succeed a similar amount.

Always showed a bit but always felt like he wax coasting a bit.

Agree that he was played out of position, the whole "next Andrew McLeod" thing was ridiculous.

However it must be noted that he came back into the team in round 15 this year and played 5 consecutive games ( none as sub) as an onballer/forward. In those games he had 14, 15, 17 , 14 and 14 touches. He was then dropped after the North Melbourne debacle.

Writing was on the wall I think.

Too much sense mate

While the club didn't help his development, SPS didn't exactly embrace all his oppotunuties.

Sad that we won't see the best of him at Carlton, unfortunately he just struggled to cement himself.

I have no doubt he will improve his output at WC, given their midfield needs, but he will need to work harder

Too much sense mate

While the club didn't help his development, SPS didn't exactly embrace all his oppotunuties.

Sad that we won't see the best of him at Carlton, unfortunately he just struggled to cement himself.

I have no doubt he will improve his output at WC, given their midfield needs, but he will need to work harder

He played the game too safe. Risk taking and attack should of been the drill . Wish Sam well and hope he adjusts but not against us .

So Oleg Markov, who'd played about 20 games total gets traded for pick 40 last year. He played 3 more games than SPS this year.

A broken down, 32 year old Shaun Higgins goes for pick 30.

Yet when our turn comes with SPS wanting to leave us, the discussion turns into why players like this are 'fools gold'. We should be happy with pick 52? Zac Langdon was traded last year for pick 54. ZAC. LANGDON. If this football club accepts that deal, we are confirming to other clubs that they can just walk all over us. I don't want to go over the top with this, but if we accept that we are a joke.

We pay top dollar or close enough to it regardless of the situation, but you can take ours on the cheap because ???
It seems to be the narrative and it seems light on for me. However I'll let it play out first before getting too upset about it.

Might not actually be how it turns out.

This is the tough space to operate in SurryBlue as a supporter. You personally see something in SPS. Others see something in LoB. Others called for Boekhurst to be given a new contract based on his last 3 games. Others liked Polson. Back in the day others liked Joseph.

I have to keep it simple. I support club success over individuals and then after that look at form and intent. Kreuzer wasn’t actually that good but his intent was amazing. I supported him right to the end. SPS just isn’t that good on form anywhere. But his intent is lacking so he lost my support.

Everyone gets to choose But I keep one eye on the hard to win deliverable of a flag. At Carltonnhe doesn’t seem to be helping in that direction.

I wanted to give Megahead Watson another year on the strength of him hoofing a few goals late in his last season...

There is so many. Nick Duigan tried hard late to save his career.

when you think about it. If you take the draft number out of it, I think Kerridge gave us more value than SPS. That says a lot in my eyes.

Oh cool are we blaming people?

ferrisb for making jokes about every player except for him

Nup, not my fault!!!

SPS fantastic.

I reckon he needs to smuggle a slip and slide inside his jumper every week.

He's a monster in the wet.
Actually a few Zoom backgrounds were problematic, fellow players weren't sure if they were CGI or real

SPS was at a rodeo
Betts was at an old age home
Schrodinger's SPS?
BigFooty banner ad or Carlton list management strategy for SPS?

View attachment 1155695

InsertThyHmmmEmojiHere.ico

Screenshot_20211005-230336_Chrome.jpg
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Screenshot_20211005-230626_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20211005-230733_Chrome.jpg
Screenshot_20211005-230808_Chrome.jpg

:p:p :p

So Oleg Markov, who'd played about 20 games total gets traded for pick 40 last year. He played 3 more games than SPS this year.

A broken down, 32 year old Shaun Higgins goes for pick 30.

Yet when our turn comes with SPS wanting to leave us, the discussion turns into why players like this are 'fools gold'. We should be happy with pick 52? Zac Langdon was traded last year for pick 54. ZAC. LANGDON. If this football club accepts that deal, we are confirming to other clubs that they can just walk all over us. I don't want to go over the top with this, but if we accept that we are a joke.

We pay top dollar or close enough to it regardless of the situation, but you can take ours on the cheap because ???

Cant see him adding anything of value for West Coast - bit like Zac Langdon, get a game when the first picked is injured.

Unpopular opinion but I can’t see SPS really getting the best out of himself to be a substantial fixture with West Coast. Think this will be a bust for them other than the one or two games where he has some decent output. Unless his determination takes a turn for the better unfortunately I can’t see him lasting more than another couple of years at AFL level. Shame really as he has a lot of tools to be something good.

Well... OK

(damn the sausage sizzle one was funny...)

There were a lot more, but I couldn't be bothered looking too far back.

Plus I am scared to see what would happen if someone broke Jimmae's multi-quote record....

I think the Blues tried to do him justice by playing him at half back being a playmaker in the Caleb Daniel mould -but was simply insipid.

Just doesnt run in right positions, doesn't chase, no intensity whatsoever - he was all over the shop.

I think the Blues tried to do him justice by playing him at half back being a playmaker in the Caleb Daniel mould -but was simply insipid.

Just doesnt run in right positions, doesn't chase, no intensity whatsoever - he was all over the shop.

Where did he play his best footy?

Just curious, what would you do if the club played you in the incorrect position for 2 years, yet you gave your best but failed. Then they finally move you upfield but decide they need to play you as a sub for a month and then relegated you. Even then you go back and play well in the VFL and even though the club is decimated with injuries in the last 2 games, they refuse to give you a call up. Then, after all that, they don’t offer you a contract. Tell me, what would you do?

What is really frustrating, is reading all the negatives and it saddens me more reading posts trying to attack the guys character. Speaking to some, he was one of the most liked and best clubman within our playing group. Interesting indeed.

I can understand this point of view and sympathise with the situation.

We say he was played put of position but what was that exactly? When did he ever prove himself as a mid/forward in 2 and half years he was played there? he played a couple good games in the wet (particulary one against the pies) but bar that one game by having him at the coal face meant we were pretty much a player short in the contests.

The reason he played in the backline is because it was that last position they could put him and see if he showed anything, after 2 years, nothing. Then gets dropped to the twos.

The good players step up, they take on the challenge when the question is asked of them. SPS didnt do that, blame the coach, the captain, development whatever. The heart and the grit to improve and fight isnt there like it is with Weiter/Walsh/Cripps ect.

As harsh as it sounds I dont see him playing many games for WCE. A bit of a Gorringe/Buckley ending is my guess.

Zac Williams played 14 games last year. I think he had a really poor year for the money hes on. 5 more years of that he will be seen as one of the worst recruits ever.

With SPS I would of like to see SPS play under a different coach. But during the year he was one of my most hated players, he's disposal was horrendous with his 10 metre kicks.

My biggest issue is the way the club has played there hand.
Williams will finish miles ahead of SPS in our best and fairest.

I don't read too much into the B&F results. Each club has different points systems and value different things.
I’ve coached a team before and been part of the coaching staff that have judged the best and fairest players of a team and I can say unequivocally nobody is in a position to judge the players output better than the coaches who votes on the B&F.
It is absolutely the best I indication of a players performances across an entire season and the fact that Samo has come top 10 once in his time at Carlton under two different coaches is concerning.

Cant see him adding anything of value for West Coast - bit like Zac Langdon, get a game when the first picked is injured.

Good for you mate. The fact seems to be that your club disagrees with that assessment.

You don't go luring players out of other clubs so they can add nothing of value to you and only get a game if injury strikes. It may turn out that way in the end, but you don't do it thinking that they are going to be crap from the get go. I don't blame WC for offering peanuts, but I will seriously blame our club if we accept that shit.

No they didn’t … Caleb Daniel is one of the most unaccountable defenders in the league. Bulldogs entire game plan revolves around making his job easier. Samo was told to play as a defender to learn about that aspect of his game. So he did what he was told to do and was one of the most accountable players in our team in 2020. Was elite 1v1 and also had the most ground balls in d50 in the comp. He essentially became a lockdown defender. I think our inside 50 differential was the worst in the league this. He and many other defenders struggled all year due to the lack of defensive game plan. It was literally getting peppered into our d50 all year round.

I agree it sucks. Typical Carlton mismanagement Of a player allowing his value to plummet.

Another poster made a really good point that Teague deciding to play him at half back may have been because after seeing him day in day out, Teague thought he didn’t have the attributes to make it as a half forward\midfield type.
If you couple that with the fact that Samo couldn’t shine under not one, but two coaches despite getting lots of chances to prove himself, then maybe it’s less of a case of Carlton not developing the player and more so a case of the player not being able to step up.
Either way I’d like to revisit this in 12-24 months of seeing Samo play at a different club before I’m willing to sh!t can our development program.

Past 5. Sam Petrevski-Seton