Past #6: Jason Horne-Francis [Part II] - NM trade JHF & #1 for Sheezel, Wardlaw, CHarvey & PA 2023 1st - you were never one of us

Two first round selections is alot to throw away

Is it? Do you wanna play deep in finals next year? If you do, one of those first rounders is worth jack shit to us - #16-#20....pffft. If you're talking this year, then we 'earned' #1 all by ourselves by being shyte. You aren't offering us that at all.

If he wound up back at Arden st he’d have to:

Put media out through the club basically apologising explaining his attempted runaway

Front the players and doing basically the same thing.

Tick every box in terms of preparation and professionalism

Start in the VFL and earn his way back.
If he ends up back at Arden St he will be don’t argue practice for Cunners.

He will need more than an ice bath when Cunners has finished with him.

Buyer: we just put an offer on this beautiful home. $600k. Agreed with the real estate and home owner. We want to move in in 30 days.

Bank: well currently you have 4 properties, including the place you live, our calcs indicate you will have to sell one of your current properties to buy the new one.

Buyer: na, we want to buy the new one, but also keep all our old homes.

Bank: yeah, but, you can’t afford that. You are going to have sell something.

Buyer: but those homes are part of our future.

Bank: well thats fine. But it means you won’t be able to afford the new home.

Buyer: but the buyer has already accepted our offer on the new home, and it’s what we really want.

Bank: but you can’t afford it without selling something. I don’t know what more I can do to explain this. I know you love your current homes, but if you don’t get rid of one, you can’t afford the value of the new one. The new home is worth $600k, you can fund a loan up to $400k. So unless the seller is an idiot, they aren’t going to sell you a $600k house, for $400k. You need to give up something of value.

Buyer: we just put an offer on this beautiful home. $600k. Agreed with the real estate and home owner. We want to move in in 30 days.

Bank: well currently you have 4 properties, including the place you live, our calcs indicate you will have to sell one of your current properties to buy the new one.

Buyer: but the buyer has already accepted our offer on the new home, and it’s what we really want.

Bank: but you can’t afford it without selling something. I don’t know what more I can do to explain this. I know you love your current homes, but if you don’t get rid of one, you can’t afford the value of the new one. The new home is worth $600k, you can fund a loan up to $400k. So unless the seller is an idiot, they aren’t going to sell you a $600k house, for $400k. You need to give up something of value.
You’re a smart man, port fans will never understand the analogy. Once you’ve invited them in, they’ll never leave. Want evidence look at this thread.
Snl GIF by Saturday Night Live

No one who considers themselves a profession in anything should lower themselves to such poor standards, if he really did that then he is a bigger flog than i thought.
You better believe it, this kid is as big a flog as you can get.

Even disregarding all the other shit that went down, the way this request was handled shows his true colours.

I bet he didn’t even have the decency to call the club himself.

You're assuming there are Port fans out there who own a house without any barrels out the back, and therefore understand the analogy.

I'm emboldened by Port's tactics, I am going to head down to the Porsche dealership and say I only have $20 but my mate Bob owes me $10 you can have next year, since it is all I have you have to sell me a Porsche for $30.

Umm...precisely. He nominated Collingwood, Port didn't want that deal, they walked him to the draft, Carlton got him.

Ergo - JHF nominates Port, NMFC don't want the deal, they walk him to the draft.....

You must have missed this part of the post, "gets traded somewhere else against his will"

I'm emboldened by Port's tactics, I am going to head down to the Porsche dealership and say I only have $20 but my mate Bob owes me $10 you can have next year, since it is all I have you have to sell me a Porsche for $30.
Like the alchemists during the Middle Ages or Bitcoin.

You better believe it, this kid is as big a flog as you can get.

Even disregarding all the other s**t that went down, the way this request was handled shows his true colours.

I bet he didn’t even have the decency to call the club himself.
I guess when you look at who raised him this isn't all that suprising.

In my opinion our first offer of out pick 8 and out future first isn't 💩
Next year let's say we get to this time, H-F has sat out footy for a year.

No deal is forthcoming again. He thinks easy, I'll nominate for the PSD if in fact no deal can be done with Port. He thinks he'll nominate $800k over four years expecting to get through to Port. But instead he'll be every chance to be drafted by a club outside South Australia. And even if his manager says to say, Essendon, H-F won't play for you, they'll take the risk because it's only a PSD pick after all.

So once he understands that, he'll be happy to be traded to the Crows or Port. And North will swap him for the best deal. Port may try to play dumb about this scenario playing out but guarantee Rawlings will step them through it.

Pretty sure Port will come around later in this trade period with what North want to avoid the Crows being involved next year. But we'll see.

I'm sure JHF will be fully committed next year if the deal doesn't get done 👍

Who cares - the payoff is that Port miss out and gee, that will be fun to watch.

And a year is a long time, can't see him holding out when he sees what Clarko is doing.

Pick 2 is actually fine guys, far better then P8 and a 2023 teen pick.

Cut the losses, mistakes were made, we bought a s*** sandwich but the milk bar is happy to swap it for a sausage roll.

Take 2 guns from Victoria and pretend JHF never existed

Question. If you held pick 1 on draft night, would you swap it for pick 2?

Ridiculous suggestion, no?

this makes no sense

he's out of contract, so in fact he will have less value, and there wont necessarily be more suitors because he can nominate where he wants to go and there's the PSD threat

It's not certain he will have less trade value in a year. Even if he has a poor year, Port won't be the only ones in the chase.

In contrast, if we take unders, we literally crystallise an unrecoverable loss now. And Port gain a gun for dealing unfairly. No thanks.

screw the Porsche,

iam getting me one of these, straight swap for a dozen calves and next seasons silage i make with it. and they have to take it based on the Port Plan :cool:

9-Series.png

I've said in the main board thread that Melbourne got two first rounders as compo for Scully leaving. One first rounder straight after their first (pick 2 in our scenario) and another mid first rounder.

That is the absolute minimum value we're talking.

Then you add a premium for:
  • JHF being contracted
  • Quite frankly being better than Scully
  • His marketing value
  • Port's piss poor conduct

Past #6: Jason Horne-Francis [Part II] - NM trade JHF & #1 for Sheezel, Wardlaw, CHarvey & PA 2023 1st - you were never one of us