Past #6: Lachlan Hansen - pick 3 '06 - 151 NM games - NM life member - thanks Lachie

DRoo, I am all for not doing the "Watts" style caning purely for not living up to expectations. I've never bagged Hansen, and agree his selection is not his fault. That's why I want to keep him.

BUT.... at no 3 he has been very disappointing - Judd went no 3 as a blunt/harsh example. I'm not sure how you rate players, but after the years at the club he should almost be a leader now. He is arguably just best 22, which is why it's his time to give something back as he hasn't done near enough so far based on why the club recruited him.

iam with saintly on this one, i wouldn’t lose a minute of sleep if lauchie was traded as he aint real smart, and you cant put brains in a monument, he has peaked IMO. i am happy to eat humble pie over this one if he comes good but i cant see it happening.

for the record not a big fan of LA either but if he grows a pair there’s a chance he could be a worthy player.

DRoo, I am all for not doing the "Watts" style caning purely for not living up to expectations. I've never bagged Hansen, and agree his selection is not his fault. That's why I want to keep him.

BUT.... at no 3 he has been very disappointing - Judd went no 3 as a blunt/harsh example. I'm not sure how you rate players, but after the years at the club he should almost be a leader now. He is arguably just best 22, which is why it's his time to give something back as he hasn't done near enough so far based on why the club recruited him.
Mate dont bother arguing... you are spot on he was disappointing there in the beginning... Droo just cant handle any constructive criticism of our players....
Hansen is now a decent player with a fair amount of improvement left in him.

Very good thread, this one....

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2010-lachie-hansen-watch.690435/

Detailed summations from a very astute poster. An excellent opportunity for some folk to refresh their memories on Lachie's 2010 season.

2m2yzk0.gif

I'd have thought everyone was a bit right here. Lachie has had patches where he looked fantastic - in defence before he wrecked his hamstring, and forward in 2010 and this year. In his six years with us, that's left a lot of less than fantastic games. But you'd have to factor in the impact of injuries and being played all over the place.

We have had high expectations because he's the highest picked player North has had from ladder position - we didn't go all out to win at the very end of that year with the "super draft " coming up, we hated it and we wanted to see the maximum benefit from our tiny share of the pain of crapness.

Ridiculous to say he can only live up to expectations by being as good as Chris Judd, another #3 pick. In his own draft, the top four were considered sure things but interchangeable in order - and at this point he's well ahead of Gibbs, Gumbleton and Leuenberger.

There's been a lot of investment on both sides. I'm looking forward to hearing he has signed.

Jared Brennan was no 3 too. Draft picks are irrelevant once they get to a club anyone.

He has not been disappointing. Will you get that through your head. He is best 22. He proved that in 09, 10 and 12.

You have only barracked for the club for about 5 minutes I reckon.

Mate dont bother arguing... you are spot on he was disappointing there in the beginning... Droo just cant handle any constructive criticism of our players....
Hansen is now a decent player with a fair amount of improvement left in him.

I can handle constructive, not inaccurate criticism.

I'd have thought everyone was a bit right here. Lachie has had patches where he looked fantastic - in defence before he wrecked his hamstring, and forward in 2010 and this year. In his six years with us, that's left a lot of less than fantastic games. But you'd have to factor in the impact of injuries and being played all over the place.

We have had high expectations because he's the highest picked player North has had from ladder position - we didn't go all out to win at the very end of that year with the "super draft " coming up, we hated it and we wanted to see the maximum benefit from our tiny share of the pain of crapness.

Ridiculous to say he can only live up to expectations by being as good as Chris Judd, another #3 pick. In his own draft, the top four were considered sure things but interchangeable in order - and at this point he's well ahead of Gibbs, Gumbleton and Leuenberger.

There's been a lot of investment on both sides. I'm looking forward to hearing he has signed.

It would be ridiculous for someone to suggest that.

In this thread at least, it hasn't happened though so that's a strange comment.

Jared Brennan was no 3 too. Draft picks are irrelevant once they get to a club anyone.

He has not been disappointing. Will you get that through your head. He is best 22. He proved that in 09, 10 and 12.

You have only barracked for the club for about 5 minutes I reckon.

You will not get me to agree with you. He has been disappointing, and fro all the reasons already outlined it his future which is the important point.

Draft pick numbers are not irrelevent, they come with expectation and I would have thought that was pretty obvious. Brennan was/is a disaster.

I can handle constructive, not inaccurate criticism.
Droo you go in to bat for our players no matter the case which is not a bad thing but unfortunately sometimes you let your love for the club get in the way of evaluating a player, Hansen was disappointing for a number 3 draft pick in the early stages of his career in my opinion, he has improved along way since, if he was not picked up at number 3 but instead number 43 he would not have been getting all those games without having to work for them like he did, a lot of it was just on potential however, if he was pick 43 most people would not be putting him down........

Whatever ever the case he is now a required player and we need him to sign hopefully for 3 years!

I like Lachy, my concerns of him was he was under-prepared for playing key forward as he wasn't reliable on the shot on goal but he has improved that a fair bit this year, he will always be a good mark. He is the kind of guy who will improve out of sight once our midfield delivery improves in quality.

If we can get more Atley, Wells and Harper lace out passes going inside 50 and less rainmakers from Anthony and Gibbo then his value is going to balloon out of sight because once the ball is regularly put to his advantage he is going to destroy defenders.

I remember Thommo talking about Lachie as one of the most mentally immature footballers he has seen come into the system in a long, long time.

Its not always about physical development, sometimes players need a few years to mature as a person as well.

I think he has been disappointing to this point given how highly regarded he was as a junior. However I would be far more disappointed if we lost him now, because I suspect like many he is finally set to take the next step.

The first few games will tell us if the penny has really dropped with Lachie.

His attack on the contest and man once he was given another chance was very promising.

More of that and we could have a very good player.

As per usual DR fails to see there are 2 sides to every story. It's pointless guys to respond to him, just feeding his ego.

Who's potting him?

Who hasn't potted him? It just shows the ignorance of some of our supporters that they think that this year is the only good footy he has played. Short memories are short.

I've read some appalling shit on here bagging Lachie.

You can put down the axe DR because I don't see any of that here.

People should feel free to be able acknowledge some issues that need to be addressed with his game, without having to defend themselves as being some sort of Hansenist.

There were issues with certain elements of his game and it appears from his late season form that they were well and truly addressed.

****, the coach dropped him for a reason, obviously to send a strong message to the lad.

It appears that move was a success, hence his continued gametime and good late season performances.

Capiche?

The old highlights package to prove a point.... you got the bloopers to go with it?

What bloopers? Oh that's right he kicks it on the full 20 times a game and drops 15 marks a game and all that shit that would make someone disappointed in him.

Tell me what was different in Lachie this year to what he did in 2010?

Past #6: Lachlan Hansen - pick 3 '06 - 151 NM games - NM life member - thanks Lachie