Past #6: Shannon Grant - Sydney '95-'97 - traded to NM for W. Schwass - 243 games for NM (301 overall)

Was shagga unlucky to miss out on AAS.

• Yes

Votes: 8 80.0%
  • No

Votes: 2 20.0%

gokangas said:
Anyone notice Shagga stretch to try and touch the ball in the second quarter and seemed to injure his groin or thight. Hardly figured in the game from then on.

MMM said it was a groin strain during the match. But haven't heard any official reports.

I was next to the bench and Shagga came off in the 2nd for a rub down and seemed in some pain. The guys worked on his calves and groin, I think, and gave him something for the pain. I agree he looked iffy the rest of the game but he still played ok.

just been given tool of the week by before the game for his antics with the doc doing doughnuts on the arden street surface.

" oh we didnt do too much damage to the turf just a few divots"

:D

To think that they still haven't stitched up Shagger yet certainly doesn't leave me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside. What are they waiting for ? There would be 15 other clubs queueing up for him. Furthermore, if his contract is up and not satisfied with the new offer, then he could walk, put himself into the draft, and leave us with nothing in return :eek:
Just get the deal done !
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,16271293%5E20322,00.html

Rod Stroker said:
To think that they still haven't stitched up Shagger yet certainly doesn't leave me feeling all warm and fuzzy inside. What are they waiting for ? There would be 15 other clubs queueing up for him. Furthermore, if his contract is up and not satisfied with the new offer, then he could walk, put himself into the draft, and leave us with nothing in return :eek:
Just get the deal done !
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,16271293%5E20322,00.html

Mate, you just arent facing up to the realities of NMFC.

No one gets signed before we secure yet another one year deal with Corey Jones.

I agree this is all part of the negotiation process but sometimes these matters do not get resolved - so, who do we want for Shagga?

Maybe this also explains his patchy form last few weeks or is that a hell of a coincidence?

I can't believe there are some here actually prepared to let him go, as part of a trade or otherwise :eek:
After Harvey and Wells, I would have thought he is one of the few non-tradeables at the Roos. We know he is a match winner off his own boot so how can we even consider letting him go ?

Not knowing all the details, it's a bit dissapointing to read such stuff.
What could the difference in length of the contract be? Surely he won't be asking for more than 3 years? Why not give it to him? At Grant's age the way he is going, I don't think 3 years is a risk at all.

As far as money goes, he is in our top 5 players and deserves to be paid as such. I wouldn't worry if he can get more on the open market as most good players can. Give him what he deserves from within North list point of view and I am sure he will accept that.

Minor details I reckon.

We won't let him leave and he wouldn't want to.

Past #6: Shannon Grant - Sydney '95-'97 - traded to NM for W. Schwass - 243 games for NM (301 overall)