A quick look at grass roots senior football in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth.

1. abc TV 7pm news P. Kennedy 10.3.22

Kennedy, re umpires, said

"Thousands [?] of officials have left the game and the AFL is making big changes to win them back".

("Thousands"?- & over how many years? I have heard it is common for c. 25% of Field umpires cease umpiring within c. 3 years of starting).

GR Field umpire R. David, 32 years a Field umpire, said, re umpire nos., he has "...never seen registrations so low".

Daily Mail 11.3

• "AFL chief Brad Scott has revealed that Aussie Rules is facing an umpire crisis
  • Scott says that the sport is currently 6,000 officials short at community level
  • He says the game's growth and attitude towards umpires has had an impact"

B. Scott said

"I am surprised and somewhat disturbed that the game is growing so quickly in the men's and women's game and that growth is simply outpacing the growth in umpires,' he said on SEN Breakfast'To be 6,000 umpires short at community level is a massive concern. We are desperate to get community footy back and to get it back in a big way and assist all those leagues out there that do such a good job.

The reality is if we don't have enough umpires we are going to have to cancel some games. That is a key priority for us".

It needs to draw new people in and I'm unsure how that is done without making it a genuine part time job where you can earn more than pocket money.

What has been done until now is not working.
The financial inducements may be a big factor for many umpires under 35 y.o., re their prime motivation to be an umpire.

The conundrum is that, if they want to & nominate, virtually all umpires will be gladly offered 2 consecutive games, at the same ground.
For a GR snrs Field umpire, this is c. a minimum $250 (Reserves, or Thirds- more $ for snrs' Firsts), tax free, for c. 4.5 hours (plus travel time to the ground- Umpire associations usually try to send an umpire no more than c. 30 minutes drive from their home address).

The tax free money is OK- do you have any hard evidence umpires /prospective umpires leave because of the wages?
Do you accept there will be a GR Club revolt paying 1 umpire $500 per game (2, $1000)?

Boundary umpires, on a dry day, can be expected to walk, trot, or moderately run c. 10k-12ms+. For 2 consecutive games, need to be fairly fit.
Gyms are booming everywhere. Why don't many more become a BU, rules are very simple- get paid to keep fit?

1. abc TV 7pm news P. Kennedy 10.3.22

Kennedy, re umpires, said

"Thousands [?] of officials have left the game and the AFL is making big changes to win them back".

("Thousands"?- & over how many years? I have heard c. 25% of Field umpires cease umpiring within c. 3 years)

GR Field umpire R. David, 32 years a Field umpire, said, re umpire nos., he has "...never seen registrations so low".

Daily Mail 11.3

• "AFL chief Brad Scott has revealed that Aussie Rules is facing an umpire crisis
  • Scott says that the sport is currently 6,000 officials short at community level
  • He says the game's growth and attitude towards umpires has had an impact"

B. Scott said

"I am surprised and somewhat disturbed that the game is growing so quickly in the men's and women's game and that growth is simply outpacing the growth in umpires,' he said on SEN Breakfast'To be 6,000 umpires short at community level is a massive concern. We are desperate to get community footy back and to get it back in a big way and assist all those leagues out there that do such a good job.

The reality is if we don't have enough umpires we are going to have to cancel some games. That is a key priority for us".

The financial inducements may be a big factor for many umpires under 35 y.o., re their prime motivation to be an umpire.

The conundrum is that, if they want to & nominate, virtually all umpires will be gladly offered 2 consecutive games, at the same ground.
For a GR snrs Field umpire, this is a minimum $250+ (Reserves, or Thirds- more for snrs' Firsts), tax free, for c. 4.5 hours (plus travel time to the ground- Umpire associations usually try to send an umpire no more than c. 30 minutes drive from their home address).

The tax free money is OK- do you have any hard evidence umpires /prospective umpires leave because of the wages?
Do you accept there will be a GR Club revolt paying 1 umpire $500 per game (2, $1000)?

Boundary umpires, on a dry day, can be expected to walk, trot, or moderately run c. 10k-12ms+. For 2 games, need to be fairly fit.
Gyms are booming everywhere. Why don't many more become a BU, rules are very simple- get paid to keep fit?

I’m just approaching it from a simple economics point of view. You need 6000 new umpires. How are you going to get them without paying more? How do you solve any staffing shortage in any industry? Generally, you simply have to pay more.

I doubt there’s another way to solve it.

Clubs can sook all they want. The alternative is not playing.

The Age J. Niall 13.3.22

G. McLachlan said, around Australia, in 2022, GR AF club nos. up to 9 y.o, & from 15 y.o- adults, is generally tracking at c. 100%- 110%% return in club nos., cf 2019 pre-covid levels.

For 10 y.o.-14 y.o, however, in 2022, club AF around Australia is down on 2019 levels- & blames lockdowns etc. for 10-14 y.o's spending more time on their screens.

The AFL will devote resources to this age group, & he is confident the usual 10-14 y.o. club levels, eventually, will return: "we will get them back".

Anecdotally, I have heard some GR officials saying that, with the big downgrade & former high profile/former big ratings of the AFL Preseason Cup, it has diminished some interest in males playing GR AF.

I am not aware of any concrete evidence to support this- on the contrary, GR AF club & school comp. male player nos. are at record highs in Australia (excluding Tas., where there has been a long term decline- excluding an increase in club male nos. in 2017-2019, but still below its male club peak).

Anecdotally, I have heard some GR officials saying that, with the big downgrade & former high profile/former big ratings of the AFL Preseason Cup, it has diminished some interest in males playing GR AF.

I'm surprised I don't hear this more. Not that long ago we used to get pre season cup coverage on par with the regular season. It obviously wasn't as popular, but it was shown on FTA and had enough interest to be worth the effort.
Now you barely know it's on, and it's at the most important time for people registering for the new season. I'd be surprised if that didn't have a negative effect, it certainly wouldn't have a positive one.

As someone with 2 kids playing I could tell you half a dozen things that could be done better at the junior level, but it didn't occur to me until now that the demise of the preseason Cup might be something as well

1. The AFL is now using the word "crisis", re umpire nos.
A recent AFL Umpiring Review had the heading "The Shortage Of Umpires Is Now At Crisis Point".

As I expected, umpire abuse only accounts for 6% of umpires leaving.

"An Australian rules football umpiring shortage is in danger of continuing because participation is "not keeping up with the growth of the game", according to a confidential AFL review obtained by ABC Sport.

Key points:​

• An AFL review identified umpire numbers at the community level are dropping off
  • The workload facing umpires has increased in recent seasons
  • The review found women and girls represent only 11 per cent of umpire numbers
And umpire abuse in only a small part of the problem.

The strategy document from November 2021 reported the major reasons umpires were leaving the game included:

• Work and study commitments (18 per cent)
  • Health/injury/age related (14 per cent)
  • Inadequate support/pay (13 per cent)
  • Lack of enjoyment (10 per cent)
Abuse, at 6 per cent, was eighth on the list".

As someone with 2 kids playing I could tell you half a dozen things that could be done better at the junior level, but it didn't occur to me until now that the demise of the preseason Cup might be something as well
How old are your kids? And how long have they been in Auskick; & playing comp. games? Are you in Perth?

Would you care to share with us what you consider are the "dozen things that could be done better at the junior level" in WA to increase AF recruitment?

How old are your kids? And how long have they been in Auskick; & playing comp. games? Are you in Perth?

Would you care to share with us what you consider are the "dozen things that could be done better at the junior level" in WA to increase AF recruitment?

10 and 8. Both went through Auskick, and are now playing club footy this year. My comments are all about club footy - I think the Auskick program is run well.

The first thing i'd change is the ridiculous secrecy around scores. All it does is give kids the impression that it's mickey mouse. Every other sport played by my kids - and I mean every sport - publishes results online. Most have scoreboards in operation. Basketball, for example, doesn't just have scoreboards, it keeps records of points scored by individuals and even keeps a ladder. Nobody complains about this. Even bloody year 2 netball keeps score and publishes results. Yet football right up to year 6 scores are so secret they don't even want the kids to know. For what purpose? As if the kids getting belted 100 to nil don't know that? All the kids, whether they be good or not so good, desperately want to know the scores at the end of the game.

The second thing is create the high level pathway earlier. Good kids will get lost to the game because they get into higher level teams in other sports and are forced to choose. Gee, I just got selected into a WABL (basketball) team, do I play that where they have professional coaches, ladders and finals or the mickey mouse footy league where they don't even keep score? It's a no brainer for a lot of kids. Football has nothing similar until the kids turn about 14. By then it might be too late.

At local league level, there needs to be divisions. Play grading games if necessary. Even encourage clubs to sort their teams into an A, B and C team. It would be better for all kids.

Alternatively, run leagues on Saturday and Sunday. There were dozens of teams in the year 4 leagues last year, but they were all on Sunday. If you have something else on Sunday (like WABL) you have to choose. Let clubs decide whether to play on Sunday, Saturday, or offer both as an option. Footy is lucky in that there are huge numbers of kids, so use that to your advantage. For the girls, it's on a Friday night. The problem? Netball is on a Friday as well. Basketball is on a Friday too. You're forcing girls to choose when they really shouldn't be at that age. I don't necessarily think that's Footy's fault, but it's clearly a problem.

Clubs with far too many for 1 team but not enough for 2 need to be encouraged to speak up and run joint venture teams with clubs in the same situation. Last year my son's team played a team with a dozen on the bench, so most were only getting half a game. Unsurprisingly, I heard they lost a lot of kids this year. AFAIK the district doesn't even facilitiate this sort of thing. I know for sure there were no joint venture teams in the league.

I'll say that I don't think it's a cluster**** or anything like that. But it's not run anywhere near as well as other junior sports leagues are run.

1. S. McInerney holds the VFL/AFL record as a Field Umpire.
In response to the GR umpiring crisis, he now advocates that even player "subtle" acts of challenging an umpire's decision be punished by a 50m penalty.

I think this is too extreme & unnecessary- & will create a backlash against FU's at both AFL & GR levels .FU's will become too "intrusive" & controversial; & a 50 m penalty can often cause a goal to be kicked.

The vast majority of GR umpires, IMO, are not "offended' or even concerned about subtle acts of player disagreement ie they accept it's OK for the weekend warriors to "let off a bit of steam" (which does NOT include audible F or C words directed at the umpire, "idiot" or "cheat"; or constant challenges of a FU's decision).

McInerney acknowledges the:-

. huge boom in female AF player nos. is a major contributory factor- but he doesn't state there should only be 1 FU for female GR games.
(Two FU's etc. is greatly contributing to the crisis).

. retention issue- far too many umpires quit after only a few years.
(How do we retain them. Umpire shortages has always been an issue).

I think the Auskick program is run well.
Agreed.

The first thing i'd change is the ridiculous secrecy around scores. All it does is give kids the impression that it's mickey mouse. Every other sport played by my kids - and I mean every sport - publishes results online
Disagree.

This was brought into GR AF because, unfortunately, too many coaches, & some parents, were taking games up to U11 far too seriously ie far too competitive. Let the kids play, without this type of pressure.

Too many kids were not being equally rotated in the forward line (they all want to be forwards! And even kick a goal!); or as onballers.
Some did not get equal game time.

All the kids, whether they be good or not so good, desperately want to know the scores at the end of the game.
The kids certainly know who won or lost at the end of the game.

The second thing is create the high level pathway earlier
Disagree.
Elite programs & Leagues, starting from U16, are generally working adequately.

Many Leagues below the U16 level have 1 or 2 rep. games against other Leagues from the same city.
Why imply that a kid, if not selected for an elite, lengthy pathway, is "no good". Don't destroy dreams. Teach kids it is the cameraderie, that GR AF offers, that is extremely rewarding in itself, as is having fun. Also, the confidence/self esteem that comes from having courage to take the hits.

Good GR coaches will inform kids where their skill set needs to improve, & details how to achieve it.

At local league level, there needs to be divisions
I assume you are not from Perth. All the major cities, & Canberra, have jnr Divisions,initial 4-week seeding games etc.

The problem? Netball is on a Friday as well. Basketball is on a Friday too. You're forcing girls to choose when they really shouldn't be at that age. I don't necessarily think that's Footy's fault, but it's clearly a problem.
I do not think this competiton with netball or basketball is an intractable problem- kids can play AF in winter, netball or basketball (year long comps.) in summer.

Clubs with far too many for 1 team but not enough for 2 need to be encouraged to speak up and run joint venture teams with clubs in the same situation. Last year my son's team played a team with a dozen on the bench
Agree.
In Melb., jnr teams can have a maximum of 6 only on the bench (except for pre-season games).

1. S. McInerney holds the VFL/AFL record as a Field Umpire.

In response to the GR umpiring crisis, he now advocates that even player "subtle" acts of challenging an umpire's decision be punished by a 50m penalty.
I think this is too extreme & unnecessary- & will create a backlash against FU's at both AFL & GR levels .FU's will become too "intrusive" & controversial; & a 50 m penalty can often cause a goal to be kicked.

The vast majority of GR umpires, IMO, are not "offended' or even concerned about subtle acts of player disagreement ie they accept it's OK for the weekend warriors to "let off a bit of steam" (which does NOT include audible F or C words directed at the umpire, "idiot" or "cheat"; or constant challenges of a FU's decision).

McInerney acknowledges the:-

. huge boom in female AF player nos. is a major contributory factor- but he doesn't state there should only be 1 FU for female GR games.
Two FU's etc. is greatly contributing to the crisis

. retention issue- far too many umpires quit after only a few years. This has always been an issue.

Agreed.

Disagree.

This was brought into GR AF because, unfortunately, too many coaches, & some parents, were taking games up to U11 far too seriously ie far too competitive Let the kids play, without this type of pressure.

Too many kids were not being equally rotated in the forward line (they all want to be forwards! And even kick a goal!); or onballers.
Some did not get equal game time.

The kids certainly know who won or lost at the end of the game.

Bear in mind I'm not advocating competitive leagues, just that the secrecy around scores is absurd.
Like I said, every other sport (at least those that my kids play) does not do this, and I have never heard a complaint about it.
Not that I mind if you disagree, but I'm telling you now it's costing players.

Disagree.
Elite programs & Leagues, starting from U16, are generally working adequately.

Many Leagues below the U16 level have 1 or 2 rep. games against other Leagues from the same city.
Why imply that a kid, if not selected for an elite, lengthy pathway, is "no good". Don't destroy dreams. teach kids it is the cameraderie that GR AF offers is extremely rewarding in itself, as is having fun.

Good GR coaches will inform kids where their skill set needs to improve, & details how to achieve it.

Once again, I'm telling you that this is costing players. Good players. Because good footy players tend to be good at other sports as well. If they have access to an elite pathway in another sport then they're more likely to drop footy.

I assume you are not from Perth. All the major cities, & Canberra, have jnr Divisions,initial 4-week seeding games etc.

No, they don't. At least not in Perth. There can be very loose seeding in place, but clubs are actively discouraged from seeding teams. I'm told the WAFC comes down hard on clubs that do it.
I strongly believe that all players are better off playing at a level commensurate with their ability.

I do not think this competiton with netball or basketball is an intractable problem- kids can play AF in winter, netball or basketball (year long comps.) in summer.

Must be different where you are - basketball and netball are both winter sports for kids here. There are summer comps, but they're predominantly winter sports.
Soccer too, although in my area it's not a major competitor IMO. Most of the kids I know that play soccer I doubt would ever play footy. In other areas it's probably another story.

In Melbourne junior basketball is year round, on Saturdays. Every second kid plays rep BBall. It is hardly an elite pathway. Netball also year round. Footy is Sunday, but there are still a few Church leagues that play Saturdays.
Kids so do really need to choose.
The aim of modified rules, not scoring or keeping ladders in early years is all about inclusion. Fair enough in under 8s, but 10 year olds should be playing normal footy.

Herald Sun/The Advertiser M. Van Der Heyden 7.4.22, in opening sentence, said

Re GR female regd. Club nos., "The SANFL Junior League Is Enjoying A Surge In Young Girls Putting on The Footy Boots To Follow In The Footsteps Of Their AFLW Heroes".

Reddit comments also mention the female AF boom is helping community clubs.

(Can anyone open- & please post here the article?)

1. This is AFLW player L. Birch's view on reasons for the crisis in GR Umpiring nos.

I note she did not discuss the issue of having 2 Field Umpires for GR female matches.
IMO, simply a waste of very scarce umpire nos.; & PC sensitivities discourage foreceful expressions of this view.

I know that many GR Field Umpires are unhappy at being expected to be at the game 1 hour before the start of the match- it simply makes their day much longer, & is unnecessary. If they fail to comply, & this is discovered by an official Umpire Observer, these Field Umpires may be denied future matches at GR higher level matches.

Some GR Umpires (I'm not sure of the approx. %) are worried that they touch the ball (with hands & whistle) regularly throughout a game, which is also handled by c. 47 other persons- then the Umpire has to put the whistle to his mouth: possible (?) covid cross-infection.

2. Other sports also have shortages' problems with their Umpire/referee nos.

In a major shock in the NAB National Female U18 Championships just completed, SA has gone undefeated in its 3 matches.

SA defeated WA by 84 points, Vic. Country by 92 points, & Vic. Metro by 3 points.

Vic Metro was probably lucky to lose to SA by only 3 points.

SANFL said
"Goals from two 50m penalties in the final term assisted Victoria Metro in its unlikely comeback, only to be continually thwarted by SA’s desperate defending in its back half".

It can be assumed that SA GR female snr & jnr club, & school comp., AF nos. will probably continue to boom in the next few years.

The umpire shortage crisis, if it is to be fully resolved, will require many more females to become Field Umpires- but there are very few now.

I am surprised at some of these allegations over poor behaviour listed below, by fellow umpires, to their female co-umpire. I assumed the sexual harassment & racist incidences would be very rare.

In my experience, most Umpires arrive at the game, & leave, in their umpiring gear, without showering- I would be amazed that many would strip in front of a female umpire.
However, with more umpires now being "encouraged" to do 2 consecutive games (due to the shortage of umpire nos.), at the same ground, I assume more umpires are having a shower at the end of the 2nd game.

The AFL's response

The umpire shortage crisis, if it is to be fully resolved, will require many more females to become Field Umpires- but there are very few now.

I am surprised at some of these allegations over poor behaviour listed below, by fellow umpires, to their female co-umpire. I assumed the sexual harassment & racist incidences would be very rare.

In my experience, most Umpires arrive at the game, & leave, in their umpiring gear, without showering- I would be amazed that many would strip in front of a female umpire.
However, with more umpires now being "encouraged" to do 2 consecutive games (due to the shortage of umpire nos.), at the same ground, I assume more umpires are having a shower at the end of the 2nd game.

The AFL's response

BBT, Dont be suprised at fellow female umpires behaviour. It is 2022 not the past. How the AFL handles it is very crucial.

This is the most detailed analysis I have ever seen of the causes (in addition to the biggest reason- the female AF boom) for the crisis in GR umpire nos.
Umpire nos. dropped 6% in 2021 (& another drop in 2022- I'm not sure of the % drop).

ABC Head Of Sport, P. Kennedy, who is also involved directly in GR AF, said

"...Australian rules is experiencing an umpire shortage and as a result those who take up the whistle are being asked to do multiple games every weekend.”

“Whatever the reason, there is a growing gap between ‘registered umpires’ and ‘required umpires’ and in my lifetime in football, I’ve never seen it so dire.”

It says some field umpires are doing 5 games on Sat. & Sun.

(It is causing major problems for some clubs- often having a late scramble to find their own club field umpire- & related "perception problems" of bias; & many lower-level Reserves & Thirds' games etc. having no boundary umpires- sometimes unclear to the FU if the ball is clearly over the line; a player has to throw the ball back- often a poor throw...many frustrations).

An Official Investigation cocncluded that umpire abuse is not the main reason- but it is well known that the "first year Umpire curse" occurs, which always has the highest % of field umpires quitting!

Warning: Long read.

This is an academic Paper that, apparently, was used in the recent AFLPA submissions to the AFL, arguing for massive AFLW pay rises (It was successfull- 94% wage increase: minimum pay $34k, c. 40 players to be paid c. $100k, with allowances etc. Total $25m pa for the whole comp.!).

"...The next phase of the participation of women in football is approaching, and heralds an opportunity for women to (re)gain power within the sport. In October 2019, thirty percent of women players rejected the proposed Collective Bargaining Agreement from the Australian Football League (AFL), with the underlying sentiment of wanting a stronger voice in the vision for the future of their game. This paper examines how changing patrticipation rates in community football can transform the narrative of women’s football from one of subsidized welfare to women players being necessary for the survival of football (My emphases)".

Can anyone provide a full & detailed synopsis &/or the supporting GR data?

And how & why etc. "...changing participation rates in community football can transform the narrative...women players being necessary for the "survival" of (GR) football"?

This is an academic Paper that, apparently, was used in the recent AFLPA submissions to the AFL, arguing for massive AFLW pay rises (It was successfull- 94% wage increase: minimum pay $34k, c. 40 players to be paid c. $100k, with allowances etc. Total $25m pa for the whole comp.!).

"...The next phase of the participation of women in football is approaching, and heralds an opportunity for women to (re)gain power within the sport. In October 2019, thirty percent of women players rejected the proposed Collective Bargaining Agreement from the Australian Football League (AFL), with the underlying sentiment of wanting a stronger voice in the vision for the future of their game. This paper examines how changing participation rates in community football can transform the narrative of women’s football from one of subsidized welfare to women players being necessary for the survival of football".

Can anyone provide a full & detailed synopsis &/or the supporting GR data?

And how & why etc. "...changing participation rates in community football can transform the narrative...women players being necessary for the "survival" of (GR) football"?

I cant help but look at the troubles Netball is having, with AFLW wanting $more.

1. Two more recent reports that umpire abuse is partly responsible for the umpire shortage crisis in most areas around Australia.
It is claimed, by SA Riverland FL Officials, young umpires are more likely to quit, due to the abuse, cf older umpires.

" 'We probably are at an all time low now,' senior umpire Mick Trussell said".
"I also believe that some of the abuse that some of the young umpires we've had in the field have heard (is part of it).

"They umpire in the field in the lower grades then they go and boundary umpire in the senior grades and they hear that when they're near the boundary line - some of that has had a bit of an effect."

"League cracking down on abuse​

The fall in umpire numbers comes as the league takes steps to curb poor crowd behaviour on a Saturday.

After reports of anti-social behaviour, including abuse against umpires, the RFL introduced a new volunteer role at games which will police (strewth!) supporters.

This volunteer will walk with the umpires between the change rooms and the ground and liaise with officials if they hear or see any innapropriate behaviour from the crowd.

A football player holding a ball stands in front of a crowd of supporters.

Part of the large crowd at the Riverland Football League's 2019 grand final. (Supplied: Grant Schwartzkopff)

New RFL chair Mark Wright said repeat offenders who are spoken to by these volunteers over more than one week will face match bans.

"There's been a bit of it creep back into the RFL this year after a year off," he said.

"If we can assist the umpires with this sort of behaviour and make the football day a safer environment and a more appealing sort of environment, then hopefully we'll get a few more umpires".

" 'Our numbers have definitely declined and we're probably at the crossroads right now where we're probably down to nine senior umpires umpiring senior footy,' he said ".
"We do have some youngsters that we're pushing through the junior grades now to try and give them some development.

"But there's no doubt we're on the hunt for ex-players or anyone else who wants to get involved because we are in a period where our panel is getting a bit older."

"Abuse a barrier for umpiring ranks​

Two football players jump to try and catch a ball, while others stand and watch.

Todd Charlton's umpired the Loxton versus Berri match for his 500th game.(Supplied: Grant Schwartzkopf)

He said footy had a "reputation and culture" that supporters could say whatever they wanted to umpires if they had paid to watch.

"As a panel we've tried to alleviate the abuse. The RFL has definitely been making inroads, they've introduced a match day official role that the club has to supply so we have a way to address some of those issues," he said.

"I will say the players in the Riverland are pretty good generally. We don't have a massive amount of issues on the ground through all the grades.

"Some spectators can go over the top though, and the RFL is trying to address that the best way they can."

Mr Charlton said while he had developed a thick skin to abuse from the stands, younger umpires had been put off.

" 'It's probably the reason our panel is in decline now, because we haven't been able to hold on to those young umpires,' he said ".

Kwality "I cant help but look at the troubles Netball is having, with AFLW wanting $more".

Whilst it is sad to see the serious financial problems Super Netball is experiencing (& the belief by SN officials that the solution to their woes, is to accept gambling advertising), I don't believe a direct comparison can be made to the AFL.

The AFL is in a FAR stronger position, financially, than SN (notwithstanding the AFL has had net debits, in total, c. $50m+ in 2020 & 2021).
Also, the AFL clubs receive significant, private sponsorship for their AFLW clubs, of at leat $1.2m+ pa (IIRC, St Kilda is being paid, by one sponsor only, c. $1m pa, for 5 years, for its AFLW team; & there are other significant private sponsors).

Re the recent 94% increase in pay, totalling $25m pa for the whole comp., this is certainly a very large sum- & there are other major expenses in running the comp. eg travel, accomodation, coaches', & other staff, payments etc.

The issue is the Return On Investment of this $25m+, can it be justified?

Yes, based on:-

. the massive increase in female regd. GR nos., since the turbocharger AFLW started, in 2017.

. this above female GR increase has resulted in huge govt., & council expenditure increases on GR facilities.

. crucially, much stronger GR growth in NSW, ACT, & Qld.

. the very large private funding AFLW sponsorships, as above.

. the AFLW skill standards will continue to improve- possibly, by c. 2026, these standards will cause a much bigger increase in ratings/crowds/MSM coverage etc.
If the ratings increase strongly, the AFLW will be able to attract much higher Rights' $ (currently only $500k pa).

. adult fans are now paying $10 to watch AFLW games- although, unfortunately, average crowd nos. have dropped significantly below the average H & A crowds of 6k+ in 2017 & 2018 (Sensational for a female, stand alone, non-international, domestic comp.).

. rapidly growing, discrete AFLW memberships (Adults $50, record 44k+ members for season 2022A)

. general AF is broadening its appeal, in female demographics- many of whom may have had, previously, little interest in AF.

. major increase in goodwill for the AFL & AFL Clubs in particular, & GR clubs in general.

How can one measure the overall value of the intangibles of these last 2 points; & put a monetary value on them?

As Tasmania is an AF heartland, & is well overrepresented, per capita, in the AFL Team Of The Century & The AFL Hall Of Fame, examination of the GR in Tasmania is also appropriate in this Thread.

It is exciting to see how close Tasmania is to finally getting our own team. It will be interesting to see if we are granted a vfl team from 2023 or if they go down a different path.
Tasmanian saint 3.7.22 replied, re the TSL
"Before they do anything they desperately need to do something with our state league no [TSL] clubs on the north west half the clubs don’t have under 18 teams and you have Glenorchy the biggest club in the state getting beat buy 200 points today".

Whilst the TSL is not GR, its dire situation is caused by severe VFL/AFL neglect, Tasmanian AF fans' demoralisation, & the disastrous long term decline in GR male comp. AF nos. in Tasmania.
In contrast, GR male basketball comp. nos. & male soccer comp. nos. are booming in Tasmania; & pro cricket (eg BBL Hurricanes, competitive Sheffield Shield teams, numerous Test players from Tas.) is thriving there-ditto pro basketball.

Many believe (eg Tas. TaskForce Bid documents, many GR experts in Tas. etc.) that Tas. having its own 19th Club will quickly revitalise the game there.

Probably, within c. 5-7 years of entry, the quality & quantum of Drafted players from Tas. will increase noticeably.

It is being reported very recently in the mainland MSM (as well as the Tas. MSM) that it is becoming increasingly likely that Tas. will become the 19th Club- probably some time between 2025-2028. Crucially, the AFL Executive support Tas. being the 19th club- although the 18 Clubs have the vote, & final say.

From the current AFL Record

4436C116-006F-423C-BCE6-A87EE4C36033.png

Performing at the "G" in this year's Grand Final?

I am linking here the results of this The Age secret poll of AFL club chiefs, who gave their views, on a strictly anonymous basis, "of the key issues facing the game".
Some of these these issues (see below) also directly affect the GR:-

. concussion

. Player abuse of umpires/Dissent Rule, & the shortage of umpires' crisis

. a Tasmanian 19th club (the absence of which is inextricably linked to the male comp. player nos.' disaster in Tasmania).

"The Age approached either the chief executive or chair of all 18 clubs to take part in an anonymous survey covering the game’s big issues, and 16 clubs responded. In the first of a series, this is how the game’s most influential figures view the game midway through 2022".​

When asked what was the biggest issue, concussion was nominated by 5 of the 16 Club chiefs. It was the issue which attracted the highest number, cf other issues nominated.
One chief said the issue was "an existential threat" to the game.

For an heartland AF State, WA GR adult AF female comp. player nos. have been very poor, at least in Perth- pop. c. 2.15m in 2022.

The Perth Football League has only 66 adult female teams (The PFL has apparently increased by c. 40 adult female teams since 2020).

Female GR jnr club nos. in WA have made major progress in the last 2 years- hopefully, many of these eventually play in Perth adult comps.
Is there a problem for jnr Club U18 Girls not wanting to, later, transfer to Perth adult women's Clubs?

Adelaide has a pop. of c. 1.4m in 2022. Adelaide GR adult female club team nos. have also been very poor- but, per capita, still much better than Perth.
The Adelaide Football League has 65 adult female teams in 2022 (It has also increased its no. of women's teams, & girls' teams, considerably since 2020).

In comparison, the VAFA (covering all of metro Melbourne, but with only c. 3 VAFA clubs in the western suburbs) had no adult female players in 2016- but when it started adult female Divisions in 2017, 3000+ women commenced playing in VAFA Clubs alone! It still has 3000+ women in 2022 (& also c. 11K VAFA adult male players in 2022).

Melbourne has a pop. of c.5.1m.
The VAFA is, by far, the biggest adult GR comp. in Melb.- but the Western Region FL, Essendon District FL, Northern FL, Eastern FL, Outer Eastern FL, & Southern FL all have many adult female teams, with thousands of adult women playing in them.

Geelong, pop. c. 290k, & c. 75 kms from Melbourne CBD, also has 18 adult female teams.

On a per capita basis, why are Melbourne GR clubs performing much better at recruiting adult female players?

(The women's old VWFL started in 1981. It was disbanded a tthe end of 2016, to be replaced by suburban Leagues in Melbourne in 2017- which the old VWFL clubs joined. The VWFL had c. 1100 adult women playing in 2016.
The old VWFL clubs have had little growth since 2016- excluding St Albans Spurs, who moved to Footscray, & affiliated with Victoria University, & its large female student base. Now called Victoria University Spurs FC).

For an heartland AF State, WA GR adult AF female comp. player nos. have been very poor, at least in Perth- pop. c. 2.15m in 2022.

The Perth Football League has only 66 adult female teams (The PFL has apparently increased by c. 40 adult female teams since 2020).

Female GR jnr club nos. in WA have made major progress in the last 2 years- hopefully, many of these eventually play in Perth adult comps.
Is there a problem for jnr Club U18 Girls not wanting to, later, transfer to Perth adult women's Clubs?

Adelaide has a pop. of c. 1.4m. Adelaide GR adult female club team nos. have also been very poor- but, per capita, still much better than Perth.
The Adelaide Football League has 65 adult female teams in 2022 (It has also increased its no. of women's teams considerably since 2020).

In comparison, the VAFA (covering all of metro Melbourne, but with only c. 3 VAFA clubs in the western suburbs) had no adult female players in 2016- but when it started adult female Divisions in 2017, 3000+ women commenced playing in VAFA Clubs alone! It still has 3000+ women in 2022 (& c. 11K VAFA adult male players in 2022).

Melbourne has a pop. of c.5.1m.
The VAFA is, by far, the biggest adult GR comp. in Melb.- but the Western Region FL, Essendon District FL, Northern FL, Eastern FL, Outer Eastern FL, & Southern FL all have many adult female teams, with thousands of adult women playing in them.

Geelong, pop. c. 290k, & c. 75 kms from Melbourne CBD, also has 18 adult female teams.

On a per capita basis, why are Melbourne GR clubs performing much better at recruiting adult female players?

(The women's old VWFL started in 1981. It was disbanded a tthe end of 2016, to be replaced by suburban Leagues in Melbourne in 2017- which the old VWFL clubs joined. The VWFL had c. 1100 adult women playing in 2016.
The old VWFL clubs have had little growth since 2016- excluding St Albans Spurs, who moved to Footscray, & affiliated with Victoria University, & its large female student base. Now called Victoria University Spurs FC).

Is the drop off from girls footy to womens footy greater (on a % basis) than the drop off from boys to men?

The shift from the junior club to senior (even if it is U19) is the big leap in boys footy and where you lose the most too.

1. The true "Family Clubs".

Modbury FC, in NE Adelaide, has 4 mother-daughter combinations playing for the club.

"Football team becomes family for these four mother-daughter duos at Modbury​

Four mothers and four daughters in Aussie Rules football gear

Robyn and Mia Ebert, Sally and Dani Menadue, Kylie and Sharna Tye, and Jayla and Alycia Wood line up for the Modbury Hawkettes".

Parkside FC (VAFA), in Alphington inner NE Melbourne, has 3 mother-daughter combinations- & sometimes 4 combinations- playing for the club.

This was given a big photo & written coverage in today's Herald Sun, print & online editions.
Two of the mothers coach Parkside's JFC's junior girls' teams- as well as one player/mother being, also, the Secretary of Parkside JFC.

"The Parkside Football Club are closer than the average footy team — and that’s no surprise given a trio of mother-daughters have pulled on the boots in the VAFA HQ women's footy competition. Story:

The footy club where it’s all in the family
HERALDSUN.COM.AU
The footy club where it’s all in the family
The Parkside Devils have three mother-daughters gearing up for the side in this season‘s VAFA women’s footy competition.

Parkside FC Facebook

"Parkside Football Club is at Pitcher Park, Alphington.​

Page 15 in today’s Herald Sun
📰
celebrating our 3 (at times 4) mother-daughter pairs in our Senior Women’s team. An amazing achievement for both the senior club and the Parkside Junior Football Club.

In just our second season, we have been awarded a Home final this weekend - 2 PM at Pitcher Park vs UHS-VU. Go Devils
👹
"

May be an image of 3 people, people standing, people playing sport and outdoors

I wonder if there are many other AF clubs in Australia that have 4 mother-daughter combinations playing together?
Ditto, 4 father-son combinations?

The much-proclaimed "good culture" that many GR AF clubs aspire to is, obviously, greatly enhanced by having jnr & snr female teams. Their direct & indirect value is considerable, in many ways.

Is the drop off from girls footy to womens footy greater (on a % basis) than the drop off from boys to men?

The shift from the junior club to senior (even if it is U19) is the big leap in boys footy and where you lose the most too.
I am not certain, but I suspect the drop-off is greater from U18's to snr female GR AF, cf U17 males to U19's. Some U18 females may find the, often much more fierce, tackling in some adult women's games, confronting.

There is also a higher trend for females, in all sports, to quit sport from c.14 y.o. onwards, cf males.

A quick look at grass roots senior football in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth.