Scribe2

Jul 8, 2005
Tottenham HotSpur FC
Scribe 2 doesn't like to blow his own Horn but I reckon his best and fairest selections tip the balance back his way after a diobolical Grand Final Selection...

Haileybury - Paul Corrigan
Old Xavs - Cadyn Beetham
Trinity - Andrew Ramsden
St Learneds - Andrew Gill
Marcellin- Brett Dobson (against all popular opinion)
Uni - Luke North
Scotch - Charlie Tallent (wrong seection)
OMs - Who cares but I probably got it right
Collegians - Chris Blumfield
St Kevins - Luke Mahoney

Scribe2,

Nice work on the B&F selections BUT.....honestly, which do you reckon the VAFA public are more likely to remember - you picking 7 out of 10 B&F winners? Or you tipping Blues to belt Xavs by 75 points?

Cheers

Scribe

Oh I'm only too aware of my Grand Final week brainfreeze but a man's gotta pump himself up...

Scribe2 said:
Scribe 2 doesn't like to blow his own Horn but I reckon his best and fairest selections tip the balance back his way after a diobolical Grand Final Selection...

Haileybury - Paul Corrigan
Old Xavs - Cadyn Beetham
Trinity - Andrew Ramsden
St Learneds - Andrew Gill
Marcellin- Brett Dobson (against all popular opinion)
Uni - Luke North
Scotch - Charlie Tallent (wrong seection)
OMs - Who cares but I probably got it right
Collegians - Chris Blumfield
St Kevins - Luke Mahoney

Great, but how many of these did you pick?

Eddie W

Beetham
North
Ramsden
Dobson
Corrigan
Mahoney
Blumfield

Can't rememeber who I tipped at OMs and Learneds which says a lot really

So take that back to your little Shiek at Toorak Park and tell him to stick it up his miserable, sandy a*se!

Sorry to dissapoint you Jon but North didn't win Blues best and fairest, it was Mark Paterson

If you want to take some solice scribe2, check the first edition of the Amateur Footballer for 2005 and note that your grand final prediction was right on the money: Xavs 1st, Blues 2nd

bendigo said:
Sorry to dissapoint you Jon but North didn't win Blues best and fairest, it was Mark Paterson

Which would mean that Scribe2 got 6.

Beetham
Ramsden
Dobson
Corrigan
Mahoney
Blumfield

His good mate, The Sheik, named these as the top people for their club in his Medal.

Beetham
Paterson
Dobson
Mahoney
Tallent
Gill

Perhaps only a pathological disinclination for the Woodrow Medallist (not in his Top 30) stopped him from picking him. He also picked one of the Berry boys at Old Melbourne.

Big word is that the VAFA is chasing the Sheik (and not for unpaid fines).

I think I read in the Herald Sun, that the inaugural Bendigo Pioneers B&F, Travis Ruyg played in 10 losing GF's before this years victory with Xavs! Does anyone know if this is correct and which club's they would have been at? It's almost as intriguing as Bernie Dinneen's 4 league medals/no club B&F awards portfolio and Dobson's measely 8 votes in the Woodrow..almost at opposite ends of the spectrum to Bernie..

Scribe2 said:
Eddie W

Beetham
North
Ramsden
Dobson
Corrigan
Mahoney
Blumfield

Can't rememeber who I tipped at OMs and Learneds which says a lot really

So take that back to your little Shiek at Toorak Park and tell him to stick it up his miserable, sandy a*se!

You are a peanut Scribe2. Paterson won Uni Blues best and fairest, not North. As for your brain freeze picking Blues to beat Xavs that was a clear signal of just how much knowledge of Amateur Football you have. Zero.

AndrewJ said:
You are a peanut Scribe2. Paterson won Uni Blues best and fairest, not North. As for your brain freeze picking Blues to beat Xavs that was a clear signal of just how much knowledge of Amateur Football you have. Zero.

I think Tommy Brain is ready to take over the mantle of A Grade scribe.

His promotion in 2003 to B Section and subsequent excellent performance, not to mention his bleached blond mullet and porno moustache, make him a prime candidate for Mr Horn's replacement.

Vote 1 Tommy Brain!

Benny MOF said:
I think Tommy Brain is ready to take over the mantle of A Grade scribe.

His promotion in 2003 to B Section and subsequent excellent performance, not to mention his bleached blond mullet and porno moustache, make him a prime candidate for Mr Horn's replacement.

Vote 1 Tommy Brain!

Keep the rumours going boys, IF Scribe2's on shaky ground after his GF brain freeze, there's plenty of other (truly amateur) Scribes with direct A Grade links willing to madly $cribble $ome $illy predicitions week-in/out on the front few pages.

Vote 2 - Tommy Brain

(Vote 1 - ) Scribe :D

Ha Ha

The push for Brain has been thwarted as Scribe 2 (work & study pending) will be continuing with A Section next year. However, his brief flirtation with the editorial page has come to an end and the replacement candidates are lining up.

The following are believed to have expressed interest..

Jason McNiece
Mr Chips
Dion Ciavola
Norm Nugent
Phil Stevens
Danny Jordan
Rohan Connolly
The bloke who lives in the scoreboard at the Snakepit

-----------------------------

Scribe2 said:
Ha Ha

The push for Brain has been thwarted as Scribe 2 (work & study pending) will be continuing with A Section next year. However, his brief flirtation with the editorial page has come to an end and the replacement candidates are lining up.

The following are believed to have expressed interest..

Jason McNiece
Mr Chips
Dion Ciavola
Norm Nugent
Phil Stevens
Danny Jordan
Rohan Connolly
The bloke who lives in the scoreboard at the Snakepit

-----------------------------

I think Big Footy's Alphonse should be in the running. He is a well practised and very much respected commentator of all things VAFA. Hasn't had much to say for the past 2 seasons though.

Ben.Carbonaro's name has also been mentioned in dispatches

Benny MOF said:
I think Big Footy's Alphonse should be in the running. He is a well practised and very much respected commentator of all things VAFA. Hasn't had much to say for the past 2 seasons though.

My vote would be for Alphonse, quite simply he is a VAFA Pro. Although have heard a rumour that he might not be involved with any ammo's footy at all next year. Apparently he had so much success with one of his horses winning at Echuca on Cup day, that he is seriously thinking of taking the year off to concentrate on his stable of horses.

roberta williams said:
My vote would be for Alphonse, quite simply he is a VAFA Pro. Although have heard a rumour that he might not be involved with any ammo's footy at all next year. Apparently he had so much success with one of his horses winning at Echuca on Cup day, that he is seriously thinking of taking the year off to concentrate on his stable of horses.

Apparently he had a jumps horse that fell at the final hurdle on Derby Day

Scribe2 said:
Ben.Carbonaro's name has also been mentioned in dispatches

No No not Ben Carbonaro. He will pump himself up along with Ruperswood and Werribee :eek:

I will ask him if i see him at the Victoria Vs West Indies Game this Friday. Are you going Ben on Friday to watch the mighty Vics??

Look, to be honest, there is only one person that qualifies for the A Section scribes job...my good self. My credentials are oouuttsstaaanddding to say the least. Over 900 games as a player at Brunswick Amateurs, Umpire of 55 A Grade Grand Finals, VAFA Umpires Association founder and inaugural President, Treasurer, Secretary and Member. Best friend of the great man, The Hyphen, former Chairman of selectors at Collegians, De La Salle and of course the mighty SKOB, as well as the 10 year Sunday morning shock jock on 88.3 Southern FM's Amateur Football hour. Currently, I am employed as the VAFA Umpires advisor, and I recently played a major part in the resignation of Brett Connell.
The VAFA has been nice enough to let me fit my fat arse into Bretts leather chair and also add the General Manager Football Operations title to my burgeoning resume'. This added title of course comes with a small paye increase, just enough to allow me to add a little blonde number to the toupe' draw.
On top of all that, I have also been in charge of the draw for 2006 and have happily acceeded to Tuttos wish of SKOB meeting OEG early on, Round 2 at Teac to be precise.
Now, who can match that resume'???

Nah, just laughing at the idea of Benny Goodman having umpired 55 Grand Finals. Reckon it's not far off the mark.
Also your reference to him being a "shock jock" on Southern FM. Whenever I listened to that show (rare with hangovers) Benny always gave the impression that he was there under severe sufference, yet he was on the show longer than Alistair Cooke on the BBC.

Scribe2 said:
Nah, just laughing at the idea of Benny Goodman having umpired 55 Grand Finals. Reckon it's not far off the mark.
Also your reference to him being a "shock jock" on Southern FM. Whenever I listened to that show (rare with hangovers) Benny always gave the impression that he was there under severe sufference, yet he was on the show longer than Alistair Cooke on the BBC.

H, had to get out of school boys forum and try and talk some real VAFA jibberish. I heard today Hopgood for SANFL knocked back $800 per game from East Burwood and has headed to the Badlands for a car loan, a low doc housing loan, a holiday in Noosa and a members card at Spearmint Rhino...
Im glad you like my writing style, you are my inspiration! Buy the way, I loved your 76 point tip against the Red and Blacks
Any other news?