A Section A Section Amateur Football

Okay, I wasn't serious, the guy means Brett Collins right? Cos Im pretty sure theres no Bert Collins in the team.

And fk yeah man, I know. Wasn't he rookied by Hawthorn a couple years ago? Leagues better than anyone here.

True that, I dont get to see many games, but didn't really dominate the Granny or anything.

Once again Brian, you're on the money... I can confirm that I won't be at Keilor Hill in 2009. And lets face it there is no bigger name at OEG than TBP. I will be keeping a close eye on the boys though and I'd hope most of the boys go around again, because despite all the knockers on here, OEG are not that far away and growing as a club every year.

I agree, off the field we are not perfect and on the field, well we all know the story there, but we are a young club that will continue to improve on and off the field and look forward to the huge challenge on A section in 09.

I can confrim that Scothcies have already approached the club to play a practice match early April and the boys will be back on the track in a couple months hungry as ever for that elusive flag.

TBP,

Fantastic to have a beer with you and Scuzztember the other week. Would have been tough with 15 Marcellin players around, still wearing their medals and telling you how we won the game!

Mate I dont think you need to worry about the knockers on here. OEG are a 'very' good team and a proud club. I am tipping that you guys will go better than you expect in '09'. There is a difference between A grade and B grade no doubt, but not to the point were a team like OEG are not going to be finals contenders.
When you have some good depth and a couple of Victorian players running around, I think you boys should be looking forward to some real on field success!
Good Luck to the boys, I hope we have you guys in Round 1 next year at the John Bray Oval, would make for a cracking game!

TBP,

Fantastic to have a beer with you and Scuzztember the other week. Would have been tough with 15 Marcellin players around, still wearing their medals and telling you how we won the game!

Mate I dont think you need to worry about the knockers on here. OEG are a 'very' good team and a proud club. I am tipping that you guys will go better than you expect in '09'. There is a difference between A grade and B grade no doubt, but not to the point were a team like OEG are not going to be finals contenders.
When you have some good depth and a couple of Victorian players running around, I think you boys should be looking forward to some real on field success!
Good Luck to the boys, I hope we have you guys in Round 1 next year at the John Bray Oval, would make for a cracking game!

Great post there D.C. Congrats on winning the B Grade grandfinal. Well desereved.

By all reports a majority of OEG's playing list from last yr will remain on board and the club is looking forward to next yr. It's a privildge to play in the country's best amateur competition and the club is very excited to be a part of it. It will be a huge challenge for the club, but a challenge that I know the players are looking forward to. Look forward to playing against you in 09, rd 1 would be even better.

TBP,

Oh Dan,

Is that really you??

Most people would think that someone has stiched you up.

But knowing what sort of bloke you are like, it wouldnt surpise me if you just did it yourself.

Welcome back you flog

Oh Dan,

Is that really you??

Most people would think that someone has stiched you up.

But knowing what sort of bloke you are like, it wouldnt surpise me if you just did it yourself.

Welcome back you flog

Gas Mask,

This certainly is me. Always nice to meet a fan!

Its a long season mate. Dont get rid of all your good material yet!!

As long as you keep directing your insults towards me and talk up Marcellin I am more than happy.
But I am sure your a very intelligent human being with a great insight to our football side so I promise your opinions will be well noted this year and passed on to all my teammates and new coach!

Cheers,

Dan Cullinan #57

Gas Mask,

This certainly is me. Always nice to meet a fan!

Its a long season mate. Dont get rid of all your good material yet!!

As long as you keep directing your insults towards me and talk up Marcellin I am more than happy.
But I am sure your a very intelligent human being with a great insight to our football side so I promise your opinions will be well noted this year and passed on to all my teammates and new coach!

Cheers,

Dan Cullinan #57

Use the word team"mates" carefully Dan.

Oh I did!

Your gonna make a statement like that Gas mask - inform me, I would love to know. Names?

If not sit behind your alias (or are you that insignificant within the amatuers) and keep bringing this gold material of yours!

Oh I did!

Your gonna make a statement like that Gas mask - inform me, I would love to know. Names?

If not sit behind your alias (or are you that insignificant within the amatuers) and keep bringing this gold material of yours!

The Names of people that think you are a flog.

From the backline.....

The Names of people that think you are a flog.

From the backline.....

Ha ha ha,

Ok, your a class act I can see. I will bring it up on footy trip and get back to you!

For your information to, I have had this as my alias since '06.' But I suppose you already knew that, with all these connections within Marcellin Footy Club.

As for you, I will see you on the field next year, but I VERY HIGHLY doubt you play!

Ha ha ha,

Ok, your a class act I can see. I will bring it up on footy trip and get back to you!

For your information to, I have had this as my alias since '06.' But I suppose you already knew that, with all these connections within Marcellin Footy Club.

As for you, I will see you on the field next year, but I VERY HIGHLY doubt you play!

Only with himself DC, just him and his little pecker.

If you guys on BigFooty were to rank the top 10 players in A Section based on this year's performances, who'll be on the list?

1. Heta (Old Ivanhoe)- Dominated the second half of the year. Unlucky not to win back to back woodrows
2. Clarke (Old Xav's)- Gun up forward or in the midfield
3. Anstey (St Bedes)- Consistently dominates
4. Watts (Uni Blues)- Didn't see him play this year but heard good things
5. Watts (Collegians)- Especially early- leg injury got to him later in the year
6. Phibbs (St Bedes)- All class
7. Curatolo (Old Ivanhoe)- Won his 4th B&F for the club
8. Houlihan (Scotch)- Always looks like he's doing it easy
9. Fry (Collegians)- Under rated backman
10. Toovey (Old Ivanhoe)- Great set of hands on his day- 2nd in the comp goal kicking

Honourable mentions to McGuiness (Old Brighton), Arnold (Old Xav's) and Pask (Blacks) who all missed chunks of the season with injury or in Pask's case Beijing

Probably left someone out (not many xav's players) but that's not too far off the mark in my books.....

1. Heta (Old Ivanhoe)- Dominated the second half of the year. Unlucky not to win back to back woodrows
5. Watts (Collegians)- Especially early- leg injury got to him later in the year
10. Toovey (Old Ivanhoe)- Great set of hands on his day- 2nd in the comp goal kicking

Honourable mentions to McGuiness (Old Brighton), Arnold (Old Xav's) and Pask (Blacks) who all missed chunks of the season with injury or in Pask's case Beijing

Probably left someone out (not many xav's players) but that's not too far off the mark in my books.....

You couldn't fit a few more OI players in?

You left out 7 other Old Ivanhoe players.

My top 10 FWIW were as follows.

1 L Wintle- Superb all season
2 Phelan- Worth the trip to South Rd just to watch
3 F Watts- 80 plus goals says it all....on one leg
4 Arnold-Sensational player, as good as the great Simon Wood
5 Lawrence- Tough, skilled and brave
6 Ries- Silky, quick and a competitor
7 Poynton- Best key back in the VAFA
8 Kempton- Greg Williams of A Section
9 Anstey- Mecurial, committed and never gives up on a contest
10 McGuiness-The Ben Dowd of A Section.

Apologies to Hetta, Clarke, McGettigan, Phibbs(injured too much), Iezzi and Shields.

Apologies to Hetta, Clarke, McGettigan, Phibbs(injured too much), Iezzi and Shields.[/quote]

What is it with Iezzi. He needs to win games instead of getting the easy ball receive in the backline and trying to bomb to the non existent forward line.

Sounds a bit like the fig jam who wore No. 5.

Only in his later days did No. 5 get the ball forward on the centre line and actually become a real match winner.

You left out 7 other Old Ivanhoe players.

My top 10 FWIW were as follows.

1 L Wintle- Superb all season
2 Phelan- Worth the trip to South Rd just to watch
3 F Watts- 80 plus goals says it all....on one leg
4 Arnold-Sensational player, as good as the great Simon Wood
5 Lawrence- Tough, skilled and brave
6 Ries- Silky, quick and a competitor
7 Poynton- Best key back in the VAFA
8 Kempton- Greg Williams of A Section
9 Anstey- Mecurial, committed and never gives up on a contest
10 McGuiness-The Ben Dowd of A Section.

Apologies to Hetta, Clarke, McGettigan, Phibbs(injured too much), Iezzi and Shields.

Fair call Poynton/Arnold/Ries. Wintle is a gun so I'd concede that. Was swayed with St Bede's vs Old Ivanhoe Round 18 when he rucked against Heta which swayed me but Wintle did it in the finals... The team is looking a bit Ivanhoe. Took Toovey's 58 goals but can make a case for your 4 above.

It's not too hard to mention in 4 St Bede's players when they won the A Section Premiership, as compared to your OI players who didnt even make the finals!
Round 18 Hetta was good but Wintle played most of the game resting at Full Forward preparing for the finals.

I'll have a crack:

1. Clarke (Xavs): 0 votes in the Woodrow yet kicked about 60 goals from Halfforward/Mid.
2. Anstey (SB): Runs all day, gets heaps of it and hurts opposition.
3. F Watts (Coll): 90+ goals
4. Heta (OI): Killed them in last half of the year.
5. Lacey (Blacks): Can play back, forward, Mid. Not overly tough but hurts sides
6. Ries (Coll): A leader, racks up touches.
7. L Wintle (SB): Small Ruckman who had a great GF
8. McGuinness (OB): Explosive onballer who can turn a game
9. Bye (Xavs): Looks like the gorg from Fraggle Rock but is a smart Ruckman who rarely gets beaten
10.Curatolo (OI): Toughest player in comp. Kicks goals.

With Brian letting me down I have had to go to other sources but i can confirm that Luke beveridge will not be coaching SBMT next year.
Lucky Luke, off to the Sandringham Dragons. Hope he doesn't start to dress like Ossie. Well at least he will have plenty of SBMT boys under his wing.