A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

Just lost any credibility right there.

I would have thought off the top of my head, 5 finals series, multiple finals wins, 2 or 3 prelim finals and a grand final appearance is a pretty good decade of football, it's a lot better than both of our clubs.

If you interpolate those good years then GWS was indeed looking forward to an excellent future but that's not what you are doing a.t.m.
You only have to look at Brtisbane to see the marked effect of onfield performance.

I've been to giants stadium myself when Essendon played there, giants fans were outnumbered 5 to 1. Their average attendance looks better from away fans attending games and the Sydney derby each year. As I said I like the club and follow them almost as my second team, but to say they are doing well off field isn't accurate. They would be a major concern for the AFL how little penetration they have made into the western sydney area despite being a very good and watchable team over 10 years.

Here is an example of their Facebook page, the main post after a cracking game against the bulldogs. 65 posts? And a lot of the posts are from not giants fans interstate that liked the team page like myself. There would not be any other professional male sports team in Australia with that little amount of posts straight after a game.

I've been to a few Giants Sydney games, but they've all been finals, so my experience of them is a bit skewed. They even had shuttles to bring in Canberra fans.

Using 2019 again, the Giants played the Suns in front 7581 people. Assuming 581 Suns fans at most, that shows a core of 7000 Giants. The subsequent 2022 fixture had 4014. There were factors for lower crowds, but it is worrying.

But what's the solution?

II think leaving Canberra would help Sydney crowds. Does the AFL need to give them more advertising funding? Do they need a Buddy-type marquee? I think changing the name to Western Sydney would put off more people than it'd gain.

I've been to a few Giants Sydney games, but they've all been finals, so my experience of them is a bit skewed. They even had shuttles to bring in Canberra fans.

Using 2019 again, the Giants played the Suns in front 7581 people. Assuming 581 Suns fans at most, that shows a core of 7000 Giants. The subsequent 2022 fixture had 4014. There were factors for lower crowds, but it is worrying.

But what's the solution?

II think leaving Canberra would help Sydney crowds. Does the AFL need to give them more advertising funding? Do they need a Buddy-type marquee? I think changing the name to Western Sydney would put off more people than it'd gain.

There is absolutely zero chance there was over 4k at the gws v gc game this year, which makes me think the 2019 figure may have been closer to 4k and this year's 2k. They were struggling for crowds even at the start of last year when they had high hopes and zero restrictions in Sydney at the time, minimal covid cases etc.

What can they do? There is plenty. A few things they could look at if their marketing and fan engagement employees and the AFL had any idea what they were doing, would be to:

• You need a marquee player in Sydney. I'd be trying to get Dustin Martin. Get the AFL to throw in a marquee player allowance or something to make it happen. Other than winning, it's the most important thing in the Sydney market, plus he lived in the area and the tatts etc make him stand out and appeal to the local market where being and looking tough is cool.
  • Get Alistair Clarkson, he at least would be known in Sydney.
  • Change from the ridiculous GWS name. Nobody in Sydney even knows what it means and that there is a team representing their area they could get attached to. It's like starting an NRL team in the south eastern suburbs of Melbourne and calling them the SEM Bulls or something. Either Western Sydney or even G. Western Sydney Giants, but the word Sydney has to appear as often as possible.
  • Get at least a percentage of their games on the main channel of 7, not on mate and not in the guide just listed as AFL, it needs to be listed in the guide on your tv as AFL: Western Sydney v Essendon for example.
  • Stop playing games in Canberra. Yes it's a good market and adds supporters, but mostly fans that aren't fully engaged as it's a part time club and canberran's like the idea of their own club.
  • Match game times up at showgrounds to piggy back off big NRL games at the Olympic stadium. Like storm do with Anzac day, when I came out to my car in the mcg carpark and had a flyer on it offering me half price entry if I walk over to aami park a few hundred metres away.
  • I liked your previous idea of play a game at the Olympic stadium when the show is on and offer kids get in free or something. Show people in the area there is a team that represents you in the biggest sport in the country right here if you wanna check it out whilst you are close by.
  • Play those Canberra games in other parts of Sydney or nsw. When the show is on even play a game or two at the scg or even at Henson park in inner west sydney.
  • Draft or trade in some players of more ethnically diverse backgrounds to represent the demographics of the area better. They should have been offering a houli or Saad big money to play for the club in years gone by. They might finally be onto this with bringing in Aleer last year but Blacktown as an example has the highest indigenous population around. How have they not gotten anybody through their academy of indigenous background from the area?
  • For home games face the camera to the side of the ground where more people are seated, sell more seats on that side of the ground, optics are everything.
  • The atmosphere when I attended was non existent and it was one of their biggest non derby crowds ever, for tv maybe add some fake crowd noise, maybe you could do this at the stadium too if people couldn't tell with some speakers in the light towers or something.
  • Get one of the employees to start an active supporter group for the club. Go around to all local AFL clubs and ask a bunch of boys say 14 to 20 yrs old if they want to join a group that chants and cheers throughout games. Give them free entry, but monitor behaviour and make it cool to be a giants fan. More people will join once you get that initial squad together.
  • Puma have done a much better job with their jumpers, consider using the never surrender jumper as permanent home though, this makes them differentiate from the swans a lot more than the mostly orange jumper which could be used as an away jumper instead.

There are just a few ideas.

There is absolutely zero chance there was over 4k at the gws v gc game this year, which makes me think the 2019 figure may have been closer to 4k and this year's 2k. They were struggling for crowds even at the start of last year when they had high hopes and zero restrictions in Sydney at the time, minimal covid cases etc.

What can they do? There is plenty. A few things they could look at if their marketing and fan engagement employees and the AFL had any idea what they were doing, would be to:

• You need a marquee player in Sydney. I'd be trying to get Dustin Martin. Get the AFL to throw in a marquee player allowance or something to make it happen. Other than winning, it's the most important thing in the Sydney market, plus he lived in the area and the tatts etc make him stand out and appeal to the local market where being and looking tough is cool.
  • Get Alistair Clarkson, he at least would be known in Sydney.
  • Change from the ridiculous GWS name. Nobody in Sydney even knows what it means and that there is a team representing their area they could get attached to. It's like starting an NRL team in the south eastern suburbs of Melbourne and calling them the SEM Bulls or something. Either Western Sydney or even G. Western Sydney Giants, but the word Sydney has to appear as often as possible.
  • Get at least a percentage of their games on the main channel of 7, not on mate and not in the guide just listed as AFL, it needs to be listed in the guide on your tv as AFL: Western Sydney v Essendon for example.
  • Stop playing games in Canberra. Yes it's a good market and adds supporters, but mostly fans that aren't fully engaged as it's a part time club and canberran's like the idea of their own club.
  • Match game times up at showgrounds to piggy back off big NRL games at the Olympic stadium. Like storm do with Anzac day, when I came out to my car in the mcg carpark and had a flyer on it offering me half price entry if I walk over to aami park a few hundred metres away.
  • I liked your previous idea of play a game at the Olympic stadium when the show is on and offer kids get in free or something. Show people in the area there is a team that represents you in the biggest sport in the country right here if you wanna check it out whilst you are close by.
  • Play those Canberra games in other parts of Sydney or nsw. When the show is on even play a game or two at the scg or even at Henson park in inner west sydney.
  • Draft or trade in some players of more ethnically diverse backgrounds to represent the demographics of the area better. They should have been offering a houli or Saad big money to play for the club in years gone by. They might finally be onto this with bringing in Aleer last year but Blacktown as an example has the highest indigenous population around. How have they not gotten anybody through their academy of indigenous background from the area?
  • For home games face the camera to the side of the ground where more people are seated, sell more seats on that side of the ground, optics are everything.
  • The atmosphere when I attended was non existent and it was one of their biggest non derby crowds ever, for tv maybe add some fake crowd noise, maybe you could do this at the stadium too if people couldn't tell with some speakers in the light towers or something.
  • Get one of the employees to start an active supporter group for the club. Go around to all local AFL clubs and ask a bunch of boys say 14 to 20 yrs old if they want to join a group that chants and cheers throughout games. Give them free entry, but monitor behaviour and make it cool to be a giants fan. More people will join once you get that initial squad together.
  • Puma have done a much better job with their jumpers, consider using the never surrender jumper as permanent home though, this makes them differentiate from the swans a lot more than the mostly orange jumper which could be used as an away jumper instead.

There are just a few ideas.

Good ideas.

• I agree with the marquee player. It would be interesting to see if there'd be a difference in support if they'd managed to snag Buddy. Toby's probably the closest they have to one at the moment. I didn't realise Dusty had the Western Sydney connections, he'd be a good fit.
  • I think a well-known coach is less important, but any bit of press helps. Winning is the important part. Sheedy got on a few people's nerves, but at least he made headlines.
  • I'm still torn on the GWS name. Hated it at first, but it's become a bit iconic. In the podcast they mentioned their reasoning as to not alienate NW and SW who didn't consider themselves as part of Western Sydney, do you think a name change would be popular with that group? I feel like a change to Western Sydney could bring in new support, but might alienate current support.
  • Very good point about getting games on main 7. It was clever by the AFL to ensure the Sydney teams are always free-to-air, but the main channel could make a big difference. Especially the bigger games.
  • Biased, but definitely agree with stopping games in Canberra. It'll show they're more committed to Sydney. Having the one Accor match during Easter, then they could probably play 10 games at Showgrounds. The Easter match would mean fans don't go so long without a home game to attend. I think having most games at the one stadium is important to reinforce habits, (same transport routes, same seats, same food etc). Paying at the same ground becomes more of a tradition if they're less nomadic.
  • Definitely agree on recruiting a more diverse team. The Giants seem pretty homogenous to represent such a diverse area. I know the Bachar Houli Academy started with GWS in 2015, and the Bachar Houli Cup started a few years earlier, so there are attempts to attract diverse local talent, but no players to look up to as a role model. I think the Giants still rely pretty heavily on Southern NSW for talent, so I expect it'll be a while before the Western Sydney academy starts regularly producing talent. Transferring the NT to GWS would help recruit more Indigenous players (just not locals, yet).
  • The camera angle seems so obvious, but it's probably more feasible at night games. I think the sun becomes the issue, both spectators and the camera want it behind them.
  • I don't like the idea of the fake noise. GWS already get enough crap for being a "fake" club, don't need more ammo. As a Port supporter, we're still living down the tarp jokes, even though they were genuinely a good idea.
  • I like the idea of more active supporter groups. There was the young group that cheered for the Giants in Melbourne recently, pretty sure they were actually just cheering against the Roos, but it still made it a great atmosphere. There's a few supporter groups based on geography, it might be worth trying to start a few supporter groups based on demographics. Most clubs have an LGBT supporter group, which seems an obvious addition (I don't think it exists yet). With the demographics of Western Sydney, having Indian, Lebanese, Vietnamese etc supporter groups might bring more people to the game who might not feel as comfortable coming separately.
  • Another thing I think would help would be a free food/drink voucher attached to a ticket. That way they're not giving away tickets and devaluing them, but they're making it a more attractive offer and removing the barrier of an expensive day out.
  • Are the food and drink options around the precinct still as lacklustre as a few years ago? It might be worth having some pop up bars, beer gardens, or even coincide it with a small food festival.

1. The Australian 1.7.22 J. Stensholt

Stensholt, a sports' business expert, said

"Bidding war looms as Network Ten lobs $3bn bid for AFL broadcast rights​

Network Ten is attempting to land a knockout $3bn bid for AFL broadcast rights, as the league increases pressure on television networks to clinch a deal within a month.

Incumbents Foxtel and Seven West Media are still considered favourites to maintain their package of rights, but the AFL hopes the Ten offer, which sources say is worth $600m annually over at least five years, will ignite a bidding war.

Meanwhile, Nine Entertainment, which has a free-to-air contract for the NRL throughout winter, has told the AFL it is interested in some rights, presenting a proposal to show AFL on Thursday nights, according to sources...

Outgoing AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan, who will leave the job at the end of the year after an eight-year tenure, is keen to negotiate one last rights deal before he hands over the reins.
The move has left some television executives bemused, given Foxtel and Seven have negotiated extensions with the AFL in the past two years which will see them pay a combined $946m for the 2023 and 2024 seasons".

(Behind a paywall- can anyone open, & post here please).

If the AFL can obtain $3b pa for the Rights for 5 years ($600m pa) from 2025, it places the AFL in an extremely strong position financially, cf the NRL (on c. $403m pa, from 2023-2027; & much less for covid-effected 2020-22).
C. $600m pa will be a very propitious achievement for AF. It will be probably, & literally, a "gamechanger" for the progress of AF.

The AFL, & GR AF in NSW, ACT, & Qld., will have much increased funding, & will experience further significant growth (ie well above the current gains).

EDIT:

The Age C. Wilson 18.6.22

Wilson said

" (G. McLachlan)... insisted the next broadcast Rights deal would cover the costs of a 19th team...

Behind the scenes, the broadcast rights negotiations for the next media deal beyond 2024 have reached the business end and all bidding networks have been asked to do the numbers on a 19-team competition as well as an 18-team competition. McLachlan remains confident that 19 teams would introduce a new flexibility to the home-and-away fixture and significant additional revenue".

WTF is "much more". Stick to the quantative facts and cut the qualitative stuff.
You do realise that Victoria's population is a 6.7 million compared to W.A.'s population of 2.8 million.
That's more than twice the population, so W.A. is doing proportionally well.
No.

My original post, & comments, referred to "GR adult female club comp. nos. in WA"- & WA has beeen performing since 2017, & still does in 2022, very poorly in this criterion.
(As previously stated, I have no interest in the AFL's fluff nos. on general "participants"- often Gala Days, community events etc.
My only interest is in the most relevant official, regd. nos. ie club comp. player nos.; & school comp. nos, & Auskick).

You are from WA, & claim you were involved on committes in GR AF.
If you disagree with my comments, you should provide your own, supporting official stats, quotes etc.- but you very rarely post any supporting links/corroboration/evidence.

1. The Age J. Niall 24.6.22

"Senior club and AFL insiders have told The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald that they favour Foxtel and Seven, although there is a view that Paramount-Ten could make the largest financial offer. Either way, the insiders say, the intense competition for the rights ensures that the code will remain the country’s biggest for broadcast dollars and the AFL will gain a sizeable increase".

This is another very recent MSM source stating the AFL can expect a "sizeable increase" (ie much greater than its Australian record of $473m pa, for 2023-2024) on its Rights' $ from 2025.

It is very likely more funds will be spent on GR AF in NSW & Qld.- over the medium to long term, therefore strongly increasing the popularity of the AFL; &, obviously, expanding GR AF growth there.

These articles you post are nice but shouldn't they be in a thread about general progress of AFL in NSW.
It doesn't have anything directly related to a third AFL side in Sydney.
Incorrect.
The strong & continuing growth of GR AF in NSW is an essential precursor to the introduction of a 3rd AFL club, sometime in the future (after GWS is fully established off-field).

You said "grassroots football underpins" AF "foundations" (in the Thread "What Are The Chances Of Footy..."), in reply to my post below..
(Yes it is crucial, I agree!).
the AFL would, almost certainly, be investing more in NSW, ACT, & Qld.- which is very likely to increase support for the AFL & GR AF there.
RedV3x 9.5.22 "Personally, the AFL should look at grassroots football to underpin it's foundations".

Furthermore, Dr . H. Fujak, in his seminal 2021 Football Codes' book, stated that those (who were raised in Sydney) who have played a sport are FAR more likely to be strong TV viewers, match attendees etc. of that sport (This conclusion is very obvious- but academic supporting data affirming the crucial nature of GR "underpinning the foundations", in growing a sport, is good).

From Wookie's transcription of Dr Fujak stats
participagtionvtvviewingsydney.PNG

interestparticipationappendix.PNG

annualisedgooglesearch2004-2019.PNG

attendanceagainstaflstandard.PNG

attendingatleastonegame.PNG

googlesearchovertime.PNG

The Age J. Niall 24.6.22

"Senior club and AFL insiders have told The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald that they favour Foxtel and Seven, although there is a view that Paramount-Ten could make the largest financial offer. Either way, the insiders say, the intense competition for the rights ensures that the code will remain the country’s biggest for broadcast dollars and the AFL will gain a sizeable increase".

You do know there is a dedicated section on media rights

Incorrect.

The strong & continuing growth of GR AF in NSW is an essential precursor to the introduction of a 3rd AFL club, sometime in the future

You said,

"These articles you post are nice but shouldn't they be in a thread about general progress of AFL in NSW.
It doesn't have anything directly related to a third AFL side in Sydney."

Cannot you comprehend English. I was being nice.
Your posts are insignificant. Wait to you can post something meaningful.
Don't post every little win as as a turning point for Australian Football.

I would love to see the significant "strong & continuing growth of GR AF in NSW".

Good ideas.

• I agree with the marquee player. It would be interesting to see if there'd be a difference in support if they'd managed to snag Buddy. Toby's probably the closest they have to one at the moment. I didn't realise Dusty had the Western Sydney connections, he'd be a good fit.

Gws would be triple the size of Franklin went there. The swans really did over football in nsw by stealing him, however the AFL should have been more clever in discussing with the swans first the importance of two strong clubs in nsw and how Franklin would have assisted that.

• I think a well-known coach is less important, but any bit of press helps. Winning is the important part. Sheedy got on a few people's nerves, but at least he made headlines.

I'm thinking Barrassi and Matthews here and the success they had with getting the respect of the local media.
  • I'm still torn on the GWS name. Hated it at first, but it's become a bit iconic. In the podcast they mentioned their reasoning as to not alienate NW and SW who didn't consider themselves as part of Western Sydney, do you think a name change would be popular with that group? I feel like a change to Western Sydney could bring in new support, but might alienate current support.

I heard that too, but they need to start drawing some actual support in western sydney, the 'greater' is irrelevant and was the opinion of a few local council members at the time. I'd be happy with G.Western Sydney, but as I said, those words need to appear every time the club is mentioned.

• Very good point about getting games on main 7. It was clever by the AFL to ensure the Sydney teams are always free-to-air, but the main channel could make a big difference. Especially the bigger games.
It's poor the AFL haven't had a word to them about it. Get a lot of gws and gold coast games on fta on Saturday afternoon, whilst there is no nrl on fta.

• Biased, but definitely agree with stopping games in Canberra. It'll show they're more committed to Sydney. Having the one Accor match during Easter, then they could probably play 10 games at Showgrounds. The Easter match would mean fans don't go so long without a home game to attend. I think having most games at the one stadium is important to reinforce habits, (same transport routes, same seats, same food etc). Paying at the same ground becomes more of a tradition if they're less nomadic.

Agree with this.
  • Definitely agree on recruiting a more diverse team. The Giants seem pretty homogenous to represent such a diverse area. I know the Bachar Houli Academy started with GWS in 2015, and the Bachar Houli Cup started a few years earlier, so there are attempts to attract diverse local talent, but no players to look up to as a role model. I think the Giants still rely pretty heavily on Southern NSW for talent, so I expect it'll be a while before the Western Sydney academy starts regularly producing talent. Transferring the NT to GWS would help recruit more Indigenous players (just not locals, yet).

Good idea on the n.t zone, some idols for the local indigenous kids. Another reason Franklin would have been massive for gws.
  • The camera angle seems so obvious, but it's probably more feasible at night games. I think the sun becomes the issue, both spectators and the camera want it behind them.
Yep but they manage with cricket there shooting from each side. Plus cameras have shades on them and you are shooting in the downwards direction from the higher stands. This is also an issue at metricon. Small crowds so therefore fill up the one side of the stadium, it's not rocket science.

• I don't like the idea of the fake noise. GWS already get enough crap for being a "fake" club, don't need more ammo. As a Port supporter, we're still living down the tarp jokes, even though they were genuinely a good idea.
Only if they can do it in a way that it's not noticed. With the tarps, port copped it because they are a traditional club with a decent supporter base that weren't showing up, they were the first to do it and it was in random bays of the stadium. Plus it was a shared stadium so only rolled out for port games. For gws I'd tarp the big stand to the left of the camera on the second level, with permanent giants insignia. I bet they wish they never built that stand actually as it adds to the empty look significantly.

• I like the idea of more active supporter groups. There was the young group that cheered for the Giants in Melbourne recently, pretty sure they were actually just cheering against the Roos, but it still made it a great atmosphere. There's a few supporter groups based on geography, it might be worth trying to start a few supporter groups based on demographics. Most clubs have an LGBT supporter group, which seems an obvious addition (I don't think it exists yet). With the demographics of Western Sydney, having Indian, Lebanese, Vietnamese etc supporter groups might bring more people to the game who might not feel as comfortable coming separately.

It's a no brainer, heck even get one of the wealthy Americans to contribute towards it, pay the squad organisers if need be with that money, instead of sky writing the words 'jezza' over Sydney which nobody would know wtf it meant.
  • Another thing I think would help would be a free food/drink voucher attached to a ticket. That way they're not giving away tickets and devaluing them, but they're making it a more attractive offer and removing the barrier of an expensive day out.
Good point.
  • Are the food and drink options around the precinct still as lacklustre as a few years ago? It might be worth having some pop up bars, beer gardens, or even coincide it with a small food festival.
Not sure, there are heaps of apartments around there, drop free entry pamphlets into their letter boxes, might get a few students that head along and keep coming back for more, a bunch of people that live only a few hundred metres away.

They have been advertising a bit more online since the bad crowds I've noticed, but it's all very vanilla type ideas with no imagination. You wonder how some of these fan engagement people keep their jobs to be honest.

Gws would be triple the size of Franklin went there. The swans really did over football in nsw by stealing him, however the AFL should have been more clever in discussing with the swans first the importance of two strong clubs in nsw.

I'm thinking Barrasi and Matthews here.

I heard that too but they need to start drawing some actual support in western sydney, the greater is irrelevant and was the opinion of a few local council members at the time. I'd be happy with G.Western Sydney, but as I said those words need to appear every time the club is mentioned.

It's poor the AFL haven't had a word to them about it. Get a lot of gws and gold coast games on fta on Saturday afternoon whilst there is no nrl on fta.

Agree with this.

Good idea on the n.t zone, some idols for the local indigenous kids. Another reason Franklin would have been massive at gws.

Yep but they manage with cricket there. This is also an issue at metricon. Small crowds fill the one side of the stadium, it's not rocket science.

Only if they can do it in a way that it's not noticed. With the tarps port cop it because they are a traditional club with a decent supporter base that weren't showing up, were the first to do it, and it was in random sections of the stadium and was only rolled out for port games. For gws I'd tarp the big stand to the left of the camera on the second level with permanent giants insignia. I bet they wish they never built that stand it adds to the empty look significantly.

It's a no brainer, heck even get one of the wealthy Americans to contribute towards it, pay the organisers if need be with that money instead of sky writing the words 'jezza' over Sydney which nobody would know wtf it meant.

Good point.

Not sure, there are heaps of apartments around there, drop free entry pamphlets into their letter boxes, might get a free students head along and keep coming back for more that live a few hundred metres away.

They have been advertising a bit more online since the bad crowds I've noticed but it's all very vanilla type ideas with no imagination. You wonder how some of these fan engagement people keep their jobs to be honest.

It looks like the footy gods have been listening to you. GWS hunting for Clarkson, and rumours of Dusty moving to Sydney (though it looks like the Swans are in the front seat again). Hopefully he can get nudged towards GWS.

I like the letterbox idea, thinking hyper-locally. There'd be 20-30k people within walking distance. GWS is the only team actually based in the precinct during the winter season, so could aim to be the local team for them.

The canned noise would have to be really subtle and really on time. If they went down that route, it might be better setting up some sort of relay to pick up noise from a busier part of the stadium so the right noises - the cheers, the boos, the gasps - all happen at the right time. During the pandemic, I remember the canned cheering after a draw and it really made the situation feel odd.

It does make you wonder who they hire. They could do a better job just trawling bigfooty for ideas!

Gws would be triple the size of Franklin went there.

Not necessarily. Buddy has been good to the Swans but he isn't a cure-all.
GWS was going really good there for a while with their own stars.

The Swans really did over football in NSW by stealing him,

Yes they did, but a failing GWS with Buddy would have been a big waste.
I do see Dusty as a much better fit as an on-baller and attitude.

1. There was no AF being played at all in New England/NW NSW until 19997, when c. 4 pub teams started playing 9-a-side matches each fortnight.
New England has very large regional towns at Armadale & Tamworth. GR AF now has strong growth in NE.

Now, in a first for New England, the Blue Heelers (great name- it's cattle country!) Jnr Development program (for 11 y.o-17 y.o.) is being created. It is guided by/ affiliated to the Swans' Academy Programs, where its best jnrs are expected to enrol.
The Blue Heelers will also form the basis for New England jnr rep matches, playing other regional areas.

2. It is good news, announced 4.7.22, that elite, female AF is being fixtured at beautiful North Sydney Oval (current capacity 16k- inc 9k seats). The Swans' new AFLW team will be playing 1 match there, Sat.27.8.

North Sydney Oval- 2017 Shute Shield Grand Final​

r/rugbyunion - North Sydney Oval (20k) - 2017 Shute Shield Grand Final

North Sydney Oval is short in length, unsuitable for male elite AF matches, but fine for females- notwithstanding this, in a 2007 preseason game, Sydney played Collingwood, & the crowd was 9650.

Given that NS is a strong area for AF in Sydney, it raises the questions:-

. should many more Swans' AFLW games be played there? (ie instead of Henson Park, Marrickville, in the Inner WS).

. should, when AF becomes much stronger, & assuming a 3rd club is added (after GWS is fully sustainable), more elite matches be played in NS; &, if so, where in NS?.
Are there any possible vast, & "available", spaces available in NS? I am referring only to the Lower & Upper North Shore, & NW Sydney.

(Re NS, I am not referring, in this instance, to the Northern Beaches- access problems/National Park, no railway line there, & no direct road to the Central Coast etc. On the Central Coast, GR AF only has small comp. nos.).

. would a NS AFL oval, eventually, attract more crowds, on average, than the SCG (which is fine for AF, & will always be an AFL venue)?
(The SCG is "difficult" for NS residents- it's across the bridge, in ES).

1. There was no AF being played at all in New England/NW NSW until 19997, when c. 4 pub teams started playing 9-a-side matches each fortnight.
New England has very large regional towns at Armadale & Tamworth.

Now, in a first for New England, the Blue Heelers (great name- it's cattle country!) Jnr Development program (for 11 y.o-17 y.o.) is being created. It is guided by/ affiliated to the Swans' Academy Programs, where its best jnrs are expected to enrol.
The Blue Heelers will also form the basis for New England jnr rep matches, playing other regional areas.

2. It is good news that elite, adult AF is being fixtured at beautiful North Sydney Oval- the Swans' new AFLW team will be playing 1 match there, Sat.27.8.

. should, when AF becomes much stronger, & assuming a 3rd club is added (after GWS fully sustainable), more elite matches be played in NS; &, if so, where?.
Any vast, & approriate, spaces available in NS (Re NS, I am not referring, in this instance, to the Northern Beaches- access problems, no railway line there, & no direct road to the Central Coast etc.)

. would a NS AFL oval attract more crowds, on average, than the SCG?
(The SCG is "difficult" for NS residents- across the bridge, in ES. North Sydney Oval is short in lenghth, not suitable for elite men's matches).

New England has very large regional towns at Armadale & Tamworth.

2. It is good news that elite, adult AF is being fixtured at beautiful North Sydney Oval- the Swans' new AFLW team will be playing 1 match there, Sat.27.8.

. should, when AF becomes much stronger, & assuming a 3rd club is added (after GWS fully sustainable), more elite matches be played in NS; &, if so, where?.
Any vast, & approriate, spaces available in NS (Re NS, I am not referring, in this instance, to the Northern Beaches- access problems, no railway line there, & no direct road to the Central Coast etc.)

. would a NS AFL oval attract more crowds, on average, than the SCG?
(The SCG is "difficult" for NS residents- across the bridge, in ES. North Sydney Oval is short in lenghth, not suitable for elite men's matches).

The swans love taking all the good football areas in Sydney and all the marketable players that wanna move to Sydney don't they. It's almost like they want to single handedly kill off the giants. A redeveloped north sydney oval should have been the site of the second team in Sydney, preferably a relocated kangaroos, it would have been very successful imo.

The swans love taking all the good football areas in Sydney and all the marketable players that wanna move to Sydney don't they.

Well, the Swans were here first and established AFL as a viable option.
The Swans want to do well like any team.
Your remarks should be directed at the AFL rather than one club.

A redeveloped north sydney oval should have been the site of the second team in Sydney,
No. Absolutely not. North of the harbour has always seen large support for the Swans.
If anything, a redeveloped North Sydney Oval should have been home to the Swans
especially considering all the undermining that went on with the SCG.

preferably a relocated kangaroos, it would have been very successful imo.

The Roos were given the chance and they absolutely blew it.
A North Melbourne, absolutely dedicated to moving might have been successful out of the SCG,
but at the time a Western Bulldogs might have been a better fit.
Regardless, the GWS are the best fit.

The swans love taking all the good football areas in Sydney and all the marketable players that wanna move to Sydney don't they. It's almost like they want to single handedly kill off the giants. A redeveloped north sydney oval should have been the site of the second team in Sydney, preferably a relocated kangaroos, it would have been very successful imo.
It's only natural that the Swans want to kill off GWS as the Swans want access to the best local talent in Sydney

1. More reports, re the very strong likelihood the AFL will receive a large increase in its Rights' $.
It can be expected, if occurring, there will be a major increase in GR AF $ being spent in NSW, ACT, & Qld., with commensurate GR growth.

mumbrella S. Al Zaidi 19.5.22

S. Al Zaidi said

"The hustle to secure the amplified ad revenue attached to exclusive broadcasting rights of sporting final events is mirrored in Ten and Seven West’s Media bidding war for the hotly anticipated AFL Grand Final.

In 2021, the AFL Grand Final generated 3.91 million, with an average national audience of 4.09 million each year.
Ad revenue in the prime TV spot can fetch the network anywhere between $150,000 to $175,000 (or more) per 30-seconds of ad coverage.

Buffet’s significant investment may now embolden Ten, in tandem with Paramount+, in its bid to reclaim the rights to the AFL from 2025.

Mumbrella previously spoke to media director and GM of Spinach, Ben Willee, who said Ten and Paramount are going to “have a run at it like an 18-year-old in an all-you-can-drink bar”, as he argued the network “hasn’t recovered” after losing the AFL years ago...

Ten and Paramount Plus are jostling with Amazon, Seven and Foxtel to secure the exclusive rights to the footy coverage, which would be split between Ten and streaming platform Paramount+ for all nine games each roun..

After Buffet’s securing of 11% of the business, Ten may be in a bolstered position for their 2025 bid for rights to the footy’s entire broadcast package.

The investment has given Ten a financial advantage in its efforts to reclaim rights to the nationally loved sport, and would contribute enhanced revenue figures in Paramount’s TV Media sector...".

"Ten's bid for AFL broadcast rights strengthened by $2.6B Paramount Global investment"

SMH V. Rugari 23.5.22

Rugari has been a professional soccer journalist for c. 15 years, & now writes for the SMH, owned by NINE.
It has, a week ago for the first time, been reported that NINE is also interested in the AFL Rights from 2025, particularly for streaming, & a Thurs. night game.

Rugari said

"Network 10 ‘happy’ despite A-League struggles as AFL broadcast bid looms​

"... while [Channel 10 is] reaffirming its strong interest in the AFL’s broadcast rights, saying it can help put Australia’s indigenous game in front of an international audience.
10’s five-year, $200 million deal to show the A-Leagues is off to a challenging start, with the men’s competition in particular struggling for mainstream relevance amid a continued downturn in crowds, TV ratings and general interest...

Levi Casboult flies high against the Magpies.

McGarvey and 10’s other co-CEO Jarrod Villani recently met with outgoing AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan in New York, as 10 and Paramount contemplates a big-money bid to take over from Fox Sports and Seven as that competition’s chief broadcaster from 2025 onwards - although she was reluctant to speak in detail about the meeting or 10’s ambitions.

'Given the nature of our business now in Australia, we have multiple platforms and multiple revenue streams, we would remain very interested in having a look at what else is out there,' McGarvey said. 'And obviously the AFL is one of those things that is incredibly interesting, should it be genuinely available.
'The AFL is an Indigenous sport to Australia but given it is really high quality, incredibly premium, I do think there’s [an overseas] market for it, and I’d say that’s something that is really of interest to them, and something we could certainly bring to the table' ".

"Network 10 ‘happy’ despite A-League struggles as AFL broadcast bid looms

The network’s first season covering football has been a major challenge - but that hasn’t deterred 10 as it contemplates a big-money bid for the AFL broadcast rights from 2025".
www.smh.com.au

2. In New England NW NSW, a Youth Girls (to U17) formal Club comp. will start shortly. There have been recent training sessions/scratch matches (at Armidale, Tamworth, Inverell, & Gunnedah), over 4 weeks, inviting girls to try AF.

“This was my first ever game of AFL, and I just loved the tackling and the space to move with the ball,” stated another.

“Some of the girls have never been involved in a tackle sport before but they all loved the feeling of laying a tackle, and of being tackled. This was instantly obvious when we took a break between quarters and when the match finished as the girls walked off the field with huge smiles each time,” Crawley said.

"The Mini Series has been designed to introduce new and existing players to Youth Girls AFL, and to grow the participant base ahead of a club competition being started. This is a great chance for girls to join in with the fastest growing female sport in the country and progress through to the highly successful AFL North West Women’s competition and beyond".

GWS have had 10's of millions pumped into them in a very short time and no obvious benefits.
This is incorrect.

You constantly denigrate GWS & GCFC, calling them failures/closing them down- common comments by RL fans.

As being told many times, AFL officials (inc. R. Goyder, by imprimatur) & expert AFR finance journalists have said the 9th game (x 22 wks- national ratings) created $50m-60m extra pa, from additional Rights' $ etc.

GR AF has grown strongly in the GWS area of Sydney, & ACT, since 2012. Also AFL draft nos. had declined considerably prior to 2012 from the ACT, & sthn. NSW- but with the GWS Academies, GWS promotional activities etc. in these regions, the draft nos. are growing again.

This is an interesting quote from Dirty Bird, in the "Canberra" Thread (post#422, 30.4.22) from the Footy Industry forum.

aflsj.com.au

"Western Sydney - AFL Sydney Juniors

Below is a list of clubs located in the Western Sydney region.
(Click in red above, for a List of all 17 jnr AF clubs in WS- snr clubs not inc.).

17 Junior clubs in Western Sydney

8 of which wern't there when I left Sydney 14 years ago.
And of the 9 that were, only 3 (Baulkham Hills (then known as the Falcons), Penrith (then known as the Rams) and Hawksebury) pre-dated 2000".

This above aflsj List of 17 WS jnr clubs does not include the big Pennant Hills JFC. (Pennant Hills is recognised by the NSW LGA as being part of "Greater Western Sydney").
Also, Pennant Hills FC snrs is one of the biggest GR snr clubs of all time, anywhere in Australia, with 11 snr teams in 2022!

The above WS List does also not include these booming jnr Inner WS AF clubs- Western Suburbs JFC (based in Croydon!), Glebe JFC, Concord JFC, Canada Bay JFC, Drummoyne JFC (also plays in Five Dock), Leichardt JFC, Newtown JFC etc. (all playing in the Swans', not Giants', comp.).

1. More reports, re the very strong likelihood the AFL will receive a large increase in its Rights' $.
It can be expected there will be a major increase in GR AF $ being spent in NSW, ACT, & Qld., with commensurate GR growth.

mumbrella S. Al Zaidi 19.5.22

S. Al Zaidi said

"The hustle to secure the amplified ad revenue attached to exclusive broadcasting rights of sporting final events is mirrored in Ten and Seven West’s Media bidding war for the hotly anticipated AFL Grand Final.

In 2021, the AFL Grand Final generated 3.91 million, with an average national audience of 4.09 million each year.
Ad revenue in the prime TV spot can fetch the network anywhere between $150,000 to $175,000 (or more) per 30-seconds of ad coverage.

Buffet’s significant investment may now embolden Ten, in tandem with Paramount+, in its bid to reclaim the rights to the AFL from 2025.

Mumbrella previously spoke to media director and GM of Spinach, Ben Willee, who said Ten and Paramount are going to “have a run at it like an 18-year-old in an all-you-can-drink bar”, as he argued the network “hasn’t recovered” after losing the AFL years ago...

Ten and Paramount Plus are jostling with Amazon, Seven and Foxtel to secure the exclusive rights to the footy coverage, which would be split between Ten and streaming platform Paramount+ for all nine games each roun..

After Buffet’s securing of 11% of the business, Ten may be in a bolstered position for their 2025 bid for rights to the footy’s entire broadcast package.

The investment has given Ten a financial advantage in its efforts to reclaim rights to the nationally loved sport, and would contribute enhanced revenue figures in Paramount’s TV Media sector...".

mumbrella.com.au

"Ten's bid for AFL broadcast rights strengthened by [Warren Buffett's further] $2.6B Paramount Global investment"​

SMH V. Rugari 23.5.22

Rugari has been a professional soccer journalist for c. 15 years, & now writes for the SMH, owned by NINE.
It has, a week ago for the first time, been reported that NINE is also interested in the AFL Rights from 2025, particularly for streaming, & a Thurs. night game.

Rugari said

"Network 10 ‘happy’ despite A-League struggles as AFL broadcast bid looms​

"... while [the AFL is] reaffirming its strong interest in the AFL’s broadcast rights, saying it can help put Australia’s indigenous game in front of an international audience.
10’s five-year, $200 million deal to show the A-Leagues is off to a challenging start, with the men’s competition in particular struggling for mainstream relevance amid a continued downturn in crowds, TV ratings and general interest...

Levi Casboult flies high against the Magpies.

McGarvey and 10’s other co-CEO Jarrod Villani recently met with outgoing AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan in New York, as 10 and Paramount contemplates a big-money bid to take over from Fox Sports and Seven as that competition’s chief broadcaster from 2025 onwards - although she was reluctant to speak in detail about the meeting or 10’s ambitions.

'Given the nature of our business now in Australia, we have multiple platforms and multiple revenue streams, we would remain very interested in having a look at what else is out there,' McGarvey said. 'And obviously the AFL is one of those things that is incredibly interesting, should it be genuinely available.
'The AFL is an Indigenous sport to Australia but given it is really high quality, incredibly premium, I do think there’s [an overseas] market for it, and I’d say that’s something that is really of interest to them, and something we could certainly bring to the table' ".

"Network 10 ‘happy’ despite A-League struggles as AFL broadcast bid looms

The network’s first season covering football has been a major challenge - but that hasn’t deterred 10 as it contemplates a big-money bid for the AFL broadcast rights from 2025".
www.smh.com.au

2. In New England NW NSW, a Youth Girls (to U17) formal comp. will start shortly. There have been recent training sessions/scratch matches (at Armadale, Tamwoth, Inverell, & Gunnedah), over 4 weeks, inviting girls to try AF.

“This was my first ever game of AFL, and I just loved the tackling and the space to move with the ball,” stated another.

"The Mini Series has been designed to introduce new and existing players to Youth Girls AFL, and to grow the participant base ahead of a club competition being started. This is a great chance for girls to join in with the fastest growing female sport in the country and progress through to the highly successful AFL North West Women’s competition and beyond".

Re the mini series covered above.
We never find out what sports background the players are from - Or in some cases no sports background. Very little info released publicly if it is obtained.
Remember this series is starting from scratch so as to speak so how does AFL NSW know if its advertising/promotional stuff is fully effective.
They would likely say - Its working look at the roll up.
Its hard for us heartland fans to get used to the fact that there are people playing other sports up there who know absolutely nothing about the game in this day and age. Still a long long way to go.

This is incorrect.

You constantly denigrate GWS & GCFC, calling them failures/closing them down- common comments by RL fans.

As being told many times, AFL officials (inc. R. Goyder, by imprimatur) & expert AFR finance journalists have said the 9th game (x 22 wks- national ratings) created $50m-60m extra pa, from additional Rights' $ etc.

GR AF has grown strongly in the GWS area of Sydney, & ACT, since 2012. Also AFL draft nos. had declined considerably prior to 2012 from the ACT, & sthn. NSW- but with the GWS Academies etc. in these regions, the draft nos. are growing again.

This is an interesting quote from Dirty Bird, in the "Canberra" Thread (post#422, 30.4.22) from the Footy Industry forum.

aflsj.com.au

"Western Sydney - AFL Sydney Juniors

Below is a list of clubs located in the Western Sydney region. (Click in red above, for a List of all 17 jnr AF clubs in WS- snr clubs not inc.).

17 Junior clubs in Western Sydney

8 of which wern't there when I left Sydney 14 years ago.
And of the 9 that were, only 3 (Baulkham Hills (then known as the Falcons), Penrith (then known as the Rams) and Hawksebury) pre-dated 2000".

This above aflsj List of 17 WS jnr clubs does not include the big Pennant Hills JFC. (Pennant Hills is recognised by the NSW LGA as being part of "Greater Western Sydney").
Also, Pennant Hills FC snrs is one of the biggest GR snr clubs of all time, anywhere in Australia, with 11 snr teams in 2022!

The above WS List does also not include these booming jnr Inner WS AF clubs- Western Suburbs JFC (based in Croydon!), Glebe JFC, Concord JFC, Canada Bay JFC, Drummoyne JFC (also plays in Five Dock), Leichardt JFC, Newtown JFC etc. (all playing in the Swans', not Giants', comp.).

Very little info released publicly if it is obtained.

Whilst it would be interesting to have, the best metric is growth over time.

Its hard for us heartland fans to get used to the fact that there are people playing other sports up there

That's reciprocal.

who know absolutely nothing about the game in this day and age.

Well some would say they know enough to feel "threatened'.

Still a long long way to go.

That's the positive - there's still immense room for potential growth.

1. aflnsw/act.com

"Four [WS] Footy Venues Benefit from NSW Government Grants​

Picken-4.jpg

Two ovals will see improved lighting installed to allow for evening training and matches. The Camden Cats (Fairfax Reserve) received $330,000 and Inner West Magpies (Picken Oval) will benefit from $260,000. Picken Oval is a key AFL venue in Sydney as footy can be played there all year. The new lights will allow junior senior night football to be played at Picken, including the new Women’s Summer Series.

Additionally, the Greenway Park Sports Hub will receive $980,000 from the Greater Cities Sports Facilities Fund for new and upgraded changerooms and accessible facilities. The grant will help the Pennant Hills Demons complete their new clubhouse, with a fit out of a gymnasium planned for the near future.

Finally, Penrith City Council’s Gipps Street Recreation Precinct will receive $1 million from the Fund to build eight accessible change rooms. This is a win for footballers in the western suburbs, who will enjoy playing on this state of the art precinct (formerly a waste facility) when complete in late 2023".

New AF oval etc. to be constructed by Penrith Council, at Claremont Meadows, 45kms west of Sydney.

"Gipps Street Recreation Precinct​

The delivery of the exciting Gipps Street Recreation Precinct is now one step closer with Council recently announcing the issue of a Request for Tender for construction of the project".

There is, unfortunately, a shortage of GR AF grounds in NS, ES, & Inner WS, due to the huge increase in nos. since 2012- yet the NSW govt. is spending c. $1.4b + on at least 4 NRL grounds- which, generally, attract modest crowds, & very rarely sell-out.

The AFL has launched "Quickkick", an Australia-wide initiative, for women born between 1930(!) -1987, who want to learn the skills of AF. It is designed to be an entry-level program for women who may later wish to play female comp. AF.
There has already been a large take up across the country, with more than 2,000 people signing up within days of QuickKick’s launch
RedV3x replied "This is good but it must be a very tiny piece of the jigsaw. Hardly hang-your-your-hat-on stuff".

I disagree.

You did not include, from your quote of me above, the remaining relevant part of my quote, in post #4623 re NSW & Qld.

"Of the current registered participants, one third are from NSW or Queensland... (my emphases).
(As c. 700 women, "within days of Quickkick's launch", joined from NSW & Qld., this is a very good result for non-heartland States, in such a short period.
Interestingly, in Sydney, WS & SS are the only clinics established- not NS, ES, North WS, & Inner WS, where GR AF is far stronger. Newcastle & Wollongong, where AF is only a niche sport, were also chosen)".

This shows the increasing AF awareness, enthusiasm, & cultural attraction for AF in NSW & Qld.: "within days of the launch", c. 700 older women (from NSW & Qld., born before 1987, inc. some 40 y.o.+ & 50 y.o+) want to join Quickkick, that is designed to recruit more, older female novice AF players for an AF Masters'comp.

RedV3x said "And you've never answered any of my questions with FACTS".
You know this is not true.

Why, also, did you do a deflection on my comment, which pertained to only "GR adult female club comp. nos. in WA" being "very poor"? Why are you trying to conceal the, relatively, "very poor" "GR adult female club comp. nos. in WA"?
You strongly disagree they are "very poor", so why don't you provide facts/links?

(You very rarely provide links; & you sometimes omit relevant parts of a quote you are responding to, &/or "doctor", misleadingly, another poster's quote).

You do know there is a dedicated section on media rights

"These articles you post are nice but shouldn't they be in a thread about general progress of AFL in NSW.
It doesn't have anything directly related to a third AFL side in Sydney."

Cannot you comprehend English. I was being nice.
Your posts are insignificant. Wait to you can post something meaningful.

Don't post every little win as as a turning point for Australian Football.

I would love to see the significant "strong & continuing growth of GR AF in NSW".

Talk about irony.

Mate if you don't like his posts, move on. Nobody died and made you King.

Mate if you don't like his posts, move on.

Another person with no basic comprehension skills.
I never said I didn't like his posts.
The substance could be rationalised, presentation could be improved and posted under the appropriate threads.

Nobody died and made you King.

Ha . Look in the mirror.