A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

Should GWS change their name to West Sydney Giants or just Sydney Giants so that the name Sydney gets their brand further. I just feel like GWS is shit, whats a GWS? Where's GWS? Greater just sounds so shit.

Would love to know what GWS fans think about it;

Should GWS change their name to West Sydney Giants or just Sydney Giants so that the name Sydney gets their brand further. I just feel like GWS is shit, whats a GWS? Where's GWS? Greater just sounds so shit.

even just a re-ordering to WSG (Western Sydney Giants) would have it match the other clubs

GWS will stay until Syd.3 eventuates -which may be decades away.
The "Greater"is designed to "embrace" people living in the ACT, Riverina, SW Syd., the Gong etc.

Their membership is c.20,000 now (inc. c 4,000 ACT members); nil in 2011, 20,000 is better than some NRL Syd clubs who have existed for C.100 years

Yes i did read the article but i cant see the fixtures, last year there were 11 under 15's girls teams in GWS, this year there is 14 but also 4 under 18 teams, which obviously is an increase.

I have not included the independent schools fixtures, last year there were 18 school teams playing on saturday mornings ( year 6 ) at under 12 age level.

You will get some double up at this age group between school and club which is played on Sunday mornings, what % you get i have no idea.

The older the age group, the less double up occurs.

Pretty much all those school teams are within the Swans zone
Having 18 Syd. independent school teams playing Sat. morning comp. boys' U12's AF is a massive turnaround from virtually no schools playing AF from 1880 -2014! (And also multiple U14, 16, & 18 school teams).
It reveals the pent-up demand for AF in the Swans' Zone -which these RU schools denied for so long, deliberately banning the code. Also, the AFL (along with badgering parents) had to first "encourage"these schools by, for the first 3 years, providing funding & coaches, umpires, jumpers, gear etc.
I assume they are not 18 different schools -but some schools each providing multiple U12 boys'teams. I understand girls'teams have also started in some Syd. independent schools

Slow progress is being made in the GWS Zone, with significant AFL assistance - the Catholic MCS comp. has an AF comp., currently U14 & Open only.
Schools involved are St Gregs Campbelltown; All Saints Liverpool; Marist Eastwood; Marist Parra.; St Domenics Penrith; Trinty Auburn; Patrician Blacktown; Patrician Fairfield; St Pauls Greystanes; St Pats Dundas; St JohnPaul
The AF school nos. are small, but are expected to grow strongly over the next 10 years.
RL has very strong nos., & has the best athletes.
http://www.mcscolleges.com/

The "Greater"is designed to "embrace" people living in the ACT, Riverina, SW Syd., the Gong etc.

Their membership is c.20,000 now (inc. c 4,000 ACT members); nil in 2011, 20,000 is better than some NRL Syd clubs who have existed for C.100 years
Oh don't get me wrong, I know that GWS and even GC would be in the top 20% of NRL clubs for memberships. I think GWS was an absolute necessity. Will be interesting to see if they change jumper ala Port and Freo after entering the league into something a little more traditional. Thoughts? So Western, West or Sydney?

Having 18 Syd. independent school teams playing Sat. morning comp. boys' U12's AF is a massive turnaround from virtually no schools playing AF from 1880 -2014! (And also multiple U14, 16, & 18 school teams).
It reveals the pent-up demand for AF in the Swans' Zone -which these RU schools denied for so long, deliberately banning the code. Also, the AFL (along with badgering parents) had to first "encourage"these schools by, for the first 3 years, providing funding & coaches, umpires, jumpers, gear etc.
I assume they are not 18 different schools -but some schools each providing multiple U12 boys'teams. I understand girls'teams have also started in some Syd. independent schools

Slow progress is being made in the GWS Zone, with significant AFL assistance - the Catholic MCS comp. has an AF comp., currently U14 & Open only.
Schools involved are St Gregs Campbelltown; All Saints Liverpool; Marist Eastwood; Marist Parra.; St Domenics Penrith; Trinty Auburn; Patrician Blacktown; Patrician Fairfield; St Pauls Greystanes; St Pats Dundas; St JohnPaul
The AF school nos. are small, but are expected to grow strongly over the next 10 years.
RL has very strong nos., & has the best athletes.
http://www.mcscolleges.com/

http://websites.sportstg.com/assoc_...ID=386329&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=54648970

Independent schools draw out, up 5 teams on last year to 50 teams.

Interestingly Knox Grammar has 9 teams this year more than Riverview which has 7.

I wonder if in years to come we see old boys clubs started at these 2 schools in particular, they seem to have the numbers.

We know the Swans zone in Sydney produces AFL players and has upwards of 330 junior teams in it which will throw up academy draftees and moving forward may throw up a few more, in comparison the GWS zone in Sydney is far smaller and i am pretty sure GWS has yet to draft from it.

Just to give people some idea - GWS zone.

2012 - 67 junior teams from under 9's to 16's

2016 - 128 junior teams from under 9's to 17's

2017 - 145 junior teams from under 9's to 17's including this year 4 under 18's girls teams.

http://aflsj.com.au/fixtures-results/

The Swans zone in Sydney also has the bulk of the Independent schools comp in it, which has also been growing year upon year, the linked site does not have the normal schools fixture yet but a fixture for a gala day which is played soon, i am guessing that will be bigger again this year.

Just checking the Sydney WS junior website, they have added a ten team under 12's girls comp to the league.

So ...... that would mean that WS now have 155 teams in 2017, still growing at about 20% per year, be interesting to see when this flattens out a bit and whether girls football continues to grow.

Once you get to a certain point it is very hard to grow annually 20%

http://aflsj.com.au/fixtures-results/western-sydney-fixtures/

Just checking the Sydney WS junior website, they have added a ten team under 12's girls comp to the league.

So ...... that would mean that WS now have 155 teams in 2017, still growing at about 20% per year, be interesting to see when this flattens out a bit and whether girls football continues to grow.

Once you get to a certain point it is very hard to grow annually 20%

http://aflsj.com.au/fixtures-results/western-sydney-fixtures/
I don't believe a 20% growth rate in regd. nos in West Syd. is sustainable -unless AF gets a foothold in many more schools, where it is weak; or female AF continues its growth (from a low base there now).
The NRL will have, in 2017, widely reported & very damaging (initially) court cases re culpability for paraplegic injuries, negligent treatment for concussion, & NRL player match-fixing. If found guilty, RL's image & strong regd.nos in West. Syd. might suffer.
Some media commentators have previously announced that myriad scandals in the past have had little, long term, impact on the NRL's popularity -& probably never will, just part of an enduring RL "soap opera".

Even if these court cases produce long term damage to RL's image, will community AF be a direct beneficiary re significantly increased regd. nos? Soccer is massive there.

The Swans have been in Syd. since 1982, GWS since 2012: West. Syd., with its very strong migrant base, has shown very little interest in AF (although AF is growing amongst the white middle class).

I don't believe a 20% growth rate in regd. nos in West Syd. is sustainable -unless AF gets a foothold in many more schools, where it is weak; or female AF continues its growth (from a low base there now).
The NRL will have, in 2017, widely reported & very damaging (initially) court cases re culpability for paraplegic injuries, negligent treatment for concussion, & NRL player match-fixing. If found guilty, RL's image & strong regd.nos in West. Syd. might suffer.
Some media commentators have previously announced that myriad scandals in the past have had little, long term, impact on the NRL's popularity -& probably never will, just part of an enduring RL "soap opera".

Even if these court cases produce long term damage to RL's image, will community AF be a direct beneficiary re significantly increased regd. nos? Soccer is massive there.

The Swans have been in Syd. since 1982, GWS since 2012: West. Syd., with its very strong migrant base, has shown very little interest in AF (although AF is growing amongst the white middle class).

I think we will see that 20% growth for a couple more seasons at least, i can see the current WS juniors being split into 2 eventually, with one being West and one SW.

Once the younger age groups start producing the same amount of teams for a couple of years then it may find its natural level, ATM there looks to be plenty of growth

Memberships numbers don't mean a lot when much of it was clearly given away (or near enough to).

From last years annual report..

Membership & Merchandise revenue... $1,258,993 -- ($82.19 per member, by far the lowest in the comp, next lowest was $159.99, which didn't include merch)
Membership expenses... $2,038,543

Memberships numbers don't mean a lot when much of it was clearly given away (or near enough to).

From last years annual report..

Membership & Merchandise revenue... $1,258,993 -- ($82.19 per member, by far the lowest in the comp, next lowest was $159.99, which didn't include merch)
Membership expenses... $2,038,543

Surprisingly enough I think they did about 2 million at the gate over the year, which is telling me that people arent buying memberships, they are trusting in their ability to get tickets on match day for teams they actually want to see - or probably actually support instead. This is probably true in Canberra where GWS memberships are less than 4,000, and crowds of 14,000 turn up, and I see no reason why this isnt true in Sydney as well.

This is the theatre goers effect. Its really typical of sports in Sydney. My Sydney friends pick & choose what to go & see. AFL, NRL, BBL, Opera house etc.They have a huge choice of sport & activities to do. People seemed to be far more likely to be members of a 'Leagues' club, than a League club.;)

Last weeks good crowd at Launceston, despite Hawthorns demise, showed that people wanted to see StKilda, always a popular club in Tassie due to Baldock etc.. No one was interested in GWS the week before, although it was also in competition with the V8s at Simmonds plains track. Some 52k over 3 days, so it was shyte fixturing to say the least.
. I think todays NM v Crows game will struggle for 10k. Neither club has much appeal here. Again none of my group are going, some did last week to Launceston.. They have no real interest in NM nor Adelaide, despite them playing so well. I do suspect one of our footy group will end up going, just to see Eddie Betts. ;)

Its very much about tribal attachment. Sydney has very little of that. Traditional AR states do. Even here without a club, people act just like in the other traditional AR areas & look to see traditional clubs. Thats why a real home club he would quickly develop that tribal allegiance which gives many clubs a solid base.

So despite the AFLs bastardry, Their is still a frustrated love of AR here. FIFO doesnt cut it.

Could also be the Sydney effect where sporting club memberships are not particular popular.

Will be interesting to see what crowds spotless get for the rest of the season, my guess is they will be up on first game a few weeks ago.

Strong growth occurring in Sydney junior Club AF nos. -doubled over 5 years in many areas; school AF Comps. increasing in public & Private schools also.

Kids are being turned away (100's in 2018) due to lack of AF local grounds. Problem is expected to worsen in future years. Kids are now playing AF, in increasing nos. for their school teams on Sat.- & many wish to also play for their local Club team in the Syd. Sunday jnr.comp. Many more girls also are playing. Sydney's Eastern Suburbs AF Club teams "are bursting at the seams".

I suspect local Syd. schools are only willing to rent out their unused weekend grounds at Commercial rates (if at all) ie much higher than Fees Councils charge for Not-For-Profit Clubs. Local Clubs cant afford these Commercial fees.
The NSW Govt.has announce a policy of spending c.$1.6 billion on new Parra Stadium, upgrading ANZ to a rectangular configuration -despite the falling/dismal crowds in the NRL. There may be some "ugly"politicking happening soon, over the appropriate use of taxpayer funds.

www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-has-grounds-for-concern-in-Sydney-20170906-gycax1.html

Strong growth occurring in Sydney junior Club AF nos. -doubled over 5 years in many areas; school AF Comps. increasing in public & Private schools also.

Kids are being turned away (100's in 2018) due to lack of AF local grounds. Problem is expected to worsen in future years. Kids are now playing AF, in increasing nos. for their school teams on Sat.- & many wish to also play for their local Club team in the Syd. Sunday jnr.comp. Many more girls also are playing. Sydney's Eastern Suburbs AF Club teams "are bursting at the seams".

I suspect local Syd. schools are only willing to rent out their unused weekend grounds at commercial rates ie much higher than Fees Councils charge for Not-For-Profit Clubs. Local Clubs cant afford these Commercial fees.
The NSW Govt.has announce a policy of spending c.$1.6 billion on new Parra Stadium, upgrading ANZ to a rectangular configuration -despite the falling/dismal crowds in the NRL. There may be some "ugly"politicking happening soon.

www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/afl-has-grounds-for-concern-in-Sydney-20170906-gycax1.html
Encouraging signs...NSW Sports minister is a noted AFL fan so we'll see what happens.

However, a day earlier, one of the Fairfax Rugby League writers was boasting about how the Storm have gotten the best ratings during last weekend (AFL free), which I believe was on the 9 main channel?

Ordinarily, I think Storms ratings on GEM in Melbourne are on par with what the Giants get on 7 mate in Sydney. With the Swans a cut above that. Giants were on 7 main channel tonight (Thursday), with the Swans the same on Saturday twilight so we'll get a better comparison then.

http://www.theage.com.au/rugby-leag...ants-a-turnoff-in-sydney-20170905-gybd1n.html

Encouraging signs...NSW Sports minister is a noted AFL fan so we'll see what happens.

However, a day earlier, one of the Fairfax Rugby League writers was boasting about how the Storm have gotten the best ratings during last weekend (AFL free), which I believe was on the 9 main channel?

Ordinarily, I think Storms ratings on GEM in Melbourne are on par with what the Giants get on 7 mate in Sydney. With the Swans a cut above that. Giants were on 7 main channel tonight (Thursday), with the Swans the same on Saturday twilight so we'll get a better comparison then.

http://www.theage.com.au/rugby-leag...ants-a-turnoff-in-sydney-20170905-gybd1n.html
Can you provide DETAILED examples of how the "NSW Sports minister is a noted AFL fan"?

DETAILED. What number did he wear, what position played, how many 1 percenters.

Sent from my Lenovo TB3-710F using Tapatalk

Amusing.....To be fair I think BBtT is of a post desktop research vintage