Pippen94
- Jun 12, 2019
- AFL Club
- Sydney
Take out finals & swans game and Canberra drew larger crowdsThere is definitely capacity to play 22 games in Sydney.
Sfs played host to NRL grand finals, state of origin, big socceroos games, bledisoe cup, concerts. Of course if your not from Sydney & thinks world revolves around afl...I wouldn't say that. I would say that the expansion clubs are sustained by the revenue they generate.
When the Sydney Swans were the only club to VFL play on a Sunday, the Swans sustained the VFL.
If the Swans had received 50% of the revenue generated they would have quickly become the most powerful club in Australia.
If the Swans had been allowed to build clubrooms adjacent to the SCG the Swans they would have become more powerful sooner
Instead the RL dominated SCG built a useless stadium next door.
Now they're compounding the stupidity by rebuilding virtually the same stadium.
Now the proposed clients are demanding the stadium facilitate a half-empty mode at the government's cost.
There is every chance Canberra members contribute more money to club. Most in Sydney would be free auskick or 3 game deal which cost club.Don’t deny we have around 6k members last year down there and Canberra pays a sponsorship deal. They don’t prop us up though.
AFL props us up.
You giving new teams credit for bringing ninth game? Tasmania & NT could've done that. Gws doesn't move needle in Sydney1.
It was publicly announced, for the first time, in late Sept.2019 what the additional 9th game pw was worth for the AFL:-
. $60m pa- from GWS CEO D. Matthews, to finance journalist J. Stanley on 2GB The Money Program
. $54m pa- from respected & award-winning journalist & author C. Le Grand, from The Australian; & P. Durkin, AFR journalist (both using AFL sources)
I believe these figures also include indirect benefits for the AFL, GWS & GC ie govt. funded stadia , private sponsorship for GWS & GC, boom in GR regd. AF players nos. & extra MSM coverage in NSW, ACT & Qld.
For details, refer to this link
A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!
I agree to an extent, but i reckon that a third team will eventually be on the cards, the big drawback is unlike Melbourne the third team will need its own stadium within its own demographic area. That would mean another partnership with cricket perhaps. Its a big stretch but the population...www.bigfooty.com
Despite these financial benefits, the AFL will be concerned if payments continue for GC at c. $27.5m pa on an annual basis (or for another expansion club). It was always known that Qld. & NSW expansion clubs would require additional funding for c. 20 years.
Agree.
The 3rd Sydney team will probably be a South Sydney Canberra combined team- perhaps in c. 2035, if GWS regularly has full houses at Homebush.
It will probably play 6 home games pa in SW Sydney, 5 in Canberra- plus 3 (?) Away games in Wollongong (sold to the Illawarra by an impecunious Melb. Club).
3. Recently "The Sydney Swans have spread out for school visits all over the harbour city...to the delight of thousands of students"
J. Amartey joined Sydney in 2018, & said
"Coming into what's my third year of school visits, I think compared to my first year, there would be close to double the amount of kids playing the game...I've seen first hand just how quickly footy in Sydney is growing".*
* GR AF club & school comp. nos. in Sydney have increased, but not doubled since 2018.
Amartey seeing huge growth of AFL first-hand
The Sydney Swans have spread out for school visits all over the harbour city, greeting assemblies, running footy clinics, signing autographs and taking snaps to the delight of thousands of students.aflnswact.com.au
You giving new teams credit for bringing ninth game? Tasmania & NT could've done that. Gws doesn't move needle in Sydney
Take out finals & swans game and Canberra drew larger crowds
In 2019, average crowds at the Showgrounds excluding finals and swans games were 11,882. Average crowds were 11,884 at Canberra.Not actually true. Giants stadium had the higher avg by about 200 to 300
In 2019, average crowds at the Showgrounds excluding finals and swans games were 11,882. Average crowds were 11,884 at Canberra.
It's not big difference, it has qualifiers, but the poster is technically correct.
Sfs played host to NRL grand finals, state of origin, big socceroos games, bledisoe cup, concerts.
Of course if your not from Sydney & thinks world revolves around afl...
You giving new teams credit for bringing ninth game? Tasmania & NT could've done that.
All the Canberra games should be played at Blacktown, focus should be on the suburbs of Western Sydney.I actually disagree and have always thought that the 3+1 deal has hurt the club in Western Sydney.
All the Canberra games should be played at Blacktown,
Most ridiculous statement I've ever heard.
Yes and no.
Ridiculous in that there is no public transport and extremely limited parking.
Even though the stated capacity is 10k, the ground is full at 7k and has no facilities for a crowd.
It is so much quicker and easier to get to Homebush than Blacktown.
Short term it would be a financial hit.
The main thing preventing it is that Blacktown really isn't set up to host AFL games. Not enough seats, not enough corporate facilities. So it's not really practical, but it's hardly ridiculous.
it could result in long term benefit and greater engagement with the people GWS was set up to engage with.
How possibibly could it be a financial hit?
it's ridiculous to suggest Blacktown can host AFL games.
Blacktown is good for NEAFL games and the ADL International Cups.
Blacktown has a minute stand and a grassy bank and that is all.
Blacktown can only accomodate scratch matches because people have learnt not to go there.
Yes, that's why the NEAFL works so well at Blacktown.
I probably should have been more specific in my post, I meant a gradually move away from Canberra so the club can focus their efforts on Sydneys West. Ideally that would involve playing out of Blacktown during the Easter show at a AFL standard stadium around the 15k mark. I hadn’t taken public transport/ parking into consideration, but is Manukas situation any better?it's ridiculous to suggest Blacktown can host AFL games.
Blacktown is good for NEAFL games and the ADL International Cups.
Blacktown has a minute stand and a grassy bank and that is all.
Blacktown can only accomodate scratch matches because people have learnt not to go there.
I probably should have been more specific in my post, I meant a gradually move away from Canberra so the club can focus their efforts on Sydneys West.
Are you suggesting it would be a financial gain?
Not suggesting it's up to scratch - far from it
it's a better venue than in Townsville that hosted a match for premiership points last year.
NEAFL doesn't work anywhere.
Yes I believe Hawthorn can survive without Tasmania in 3 different ways.All the Canberra games should be played at Blacktown, focus should be on the suburbs of Western Sydney.
Nothing against the fans from Manuka I just think GWS (despite doing great work in the area) should put all their effort into the Sydney market.
I know this looks hypocritical as I’m a hawthorn supporter and we’re in Launceston, but we’re also 1 of 10 Victorian clubs. I’m also in favour of us leaving Tasmania so they can pursue their own club.
Well Jeff’s gone at the end of the season so that’s not going to happen. Moving games to Tassie was a great move at the time but I think its time move on, my main concern is how many members we might lose and wether we’ll pick up more Melbourne based fans, this is something GWS will also have to consider at some point but they also need Canberra for financial reasons for now.Yes I believe Hawthorn can survive without Tasmania in 3 different ways.
1:Keep that EFT-Egotistical Footballing Terrorist-Kennett as President.
2:Keep the Pokies rolling in the $$$$
3:Keep signing up all the Lassie’s,Top Cats and Tweedy Birds as members.
With my club we need the double the $$$ we make out of Tasmania with upping the price of membership across the board plus with Starting up new fund raisers which I believe our new CEO is about to announce a Egg and Bacon Breakfast-a-thon with that bald dude from Masterchef to be Chief Judge to raise $$$ For the club.
BTW:Just a quick one doesn’t our CEO look like Viv Richards
Which 12, I wonder. Obvious ins are Brisbane, North Queensland, Melbourne, Newcastle, New Zealand and Canberra. Let's assume they want to keep a second team in South Queensland, so either the Titans or Brisbane 2 are also in. That leaves 5 teams for Sydney.The best number is 12 teams for the competition...if you look at the juniors, there is less kids playing...so I think 12 is the best number (my emphases).