Bumped Ablett signs with Gold Coast

Re: Ablett-Gold Coast Chatter continued

This. Had he made the announcement earlier it would have been easier to swallow, but it's just dragged on & on.

At least he didn't accept the captaincy as a way of diverting attention away from his future...

Condolences to you guys. Having gone through a similar situation 3 years ago I know how much it sucks but I would be stunned if your club doesn't handle the change over period far, far better than mine. :)

Re: Ablett to sign with Gold Coast - announcement at 12:30PM

**** the Gold Coast. **** the AFL for letting this happen. This is stupid. What other sport would let a club poach players like this? or have such an important rule (salary cap) slanted so much in their favour?

May the Gold Coast go 0-22 or how ever many matches are played. Scum.

This is why I already hate the GC.

Lets rip a bloody good team apart to start up another one with insane amounts of concessions.

Its an absolute discrace what Geelong mainly, but all clubs have had to put up with for the past 18 months.

Port got off lightly but I feel for you guys. Having lost our best player last year I can relate.

Cant knock G. Ablett for chasing the bucks but he doesnt carry the same respect I had for him before. Now he is just a very very very good footballer and not the champion I once viewed him as.

That's still NINE HUNDRED THOUSAND DOLLARS A YEAR. Just because he's Gary Ablett it doesn't mean that $900,000 is worth any less.

This will be Gary's last major contract of his career, one would think (barring one or two extensions). The fact that, over the course of four years, he can earn at least $3.6 million more to do the same thing is too big to say no to.

And it's not about a 26 year old having that much money. It's about having money when he's 36, 46, 56 etc. This will set him up for life.

Again, I know how much this sucks for Cats supporters, but Gary would have been just plain dumb to turn this down.

We'll agree to disagree. Not everyone would leave for money, especially when they're already superbly remunerated.

I know you would and Ablett did, but plenty wouldn't.

Peoples attitude breeds acceptance.. The more we think money is everything, the more we are going to **** up this world and turn it even further down that track.. Just like violence and so on and on and on..

Decision is his but doesn't mean we all have to say it's the right thing to do or that we all would have done it..

By the way, did Pavlich, Franklin, Riewoldt etc and the others take the $$$ ?

Maybe money is not EVERYTHING to some footballers playing today also..

I don't believe these players were offered nearly as much as Ablett was.

It's time like these that I like to seek the wisdom of the good book.

Mark 8:36 - What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?

**** the Gold Coast. **** the AFL for letting this happen. This is stupid. What other sport would let a club poach players like this? or have such an important rule (salary cap) slanted so much in their favour?

May the Gold Coast go 0-22 or how ever many matches are played. Scum.

I'm with you.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I hope Ablett never takes the field in a Suns jumper and the whole joint folds inside 5 years.

You can always look at the bright side, at least you still have your footy club.

Remember, these knee high sock, white shoe, safari suit wearing, used car salesman scumbags tried to take my entire footy club?

A curse on them all and all of their children!!!!!!!

CAN I JUST STATE THAT...I WOULD NOT LEAVE MY CURRENT JOB AND MOVE HOUSE FOR A JOB IN GC FOR $150K (DOUBLE MY CURRENT WAGE)

There is no point..i have friends and family and a good life setup here...why would I move.

SO NOT EVERYONE WOULD MOVE FOR DOUBLE THE $$$

We'll agree to disagree. Not everyone would leave for money, especially when they're already superbly remunerated.

I know you would and Ablett did, but plenty wouldn't.

At the end of the day, I don't believe Gary left primarily for money.

It's all about ego. It has to do with Bomber and the Geelong captaincy.

Mate there is a big difference in me earning $80K Per Year and earnign $160K Per Year. Plus, it not like I grew up at the place of employment, its not like my dad worked here before me and was the Best employee anyone had ever seen.

I agree it would be hard to turn down the money...but there are other things more important than money. I recently turned down a $105K job to stay on my $80K job. Reasons: 1: Currently work is 20mins form home, other job is 1.5hrs from home (Clsoer to family). 2: Currentl works has OT, new job wouldnt, so wiht bit of OT here and there, i earn same $$$ as new job.

How this relates to Gaz. 1: Arnt his uncles, Aunties, Cousins, Sister & Mother still in Vic. Not to mention his long time GF.

2: With a bit of media and advertising going Gaz's way, he could earn more maybe, and for amuch longer time. (Didnt Alex Popescu leave Gaz $$$ in his will if he played out his career at Geelong)

I dunno if the $$$ was all its about. He could have earnt MEGA $$$ from Advertising and media for the rest of his life. He would never be left wanting.

I dont understand his reasons...Ablett Snr and Nathan are up there arnt they....maybe thats it...btu i read somehting the other day that Lauren has said she is NOT moving to GC....so he has taken up moving there and rady to chuck in his long term relationship.

Maybe a fallout with the club is his main reasoning...maybe the players....it just doesnt add up unless you put these factors in, then it starts to make more sense.

I'm going with that, it can't of just been about money, Gazza is a smart guy and knows that $5M is more than enough, plus, he would have knows that staying at Geelong he would earn bucketloads of cash through advertsements etc as you said. Maybe he didn't want to be at Geelong anymore, maybe he was over us and wanted to move on ?? In his press conference, he did say that he had contacted the GFC, told the players and staff but didn't get to tell Bomber Thompson, something going on there ??

Re: Ablett to sign with Gold Coast - announcement at midday

Don't be too pious. Yes Ju$$ wanted to come back to Victoria, but he also is a mercenary that purely chose your mob due to piles of cash.

I'm sure you believe that ... but I know better. I know that other clubs offers weren't that far away. At least, though, you recognize and admit that yours is a prejudice inspired opinion :thumbsu:

TO ALL THESE PEOPLE THAT WOULD CHANGE JOBS FOR DOUBLE YOUR SALARY.........

For anyone in BUSINESS that earns that kind of money $200K + You would need to give one months notice.....and more likely you would need to give 3 months....what has Gazza given us? NOTHING!

And to everyone mentioning other sports....look at the "WORLD" game! It is all sorts of trouble...teams owned by the banks...more and more and more money and no loyalty whatsoever......DO WE WANT THIS FOR THE AFL? Do we want to become just another game.....a game in a back water that no-one understands or cares about?

And to everyone that thinks we are sooking.....Gary good luck with whatever you do and I hope you are sucessful at the GC. However thanks for not supporting the team that supported you by not being honest with yourself and with us.....we are the AFL...we are the supporters....the people that provide the money you are taking...where did you think it came from...magic....well it didn't...you have taken from every single AFL/team member.... I hope that makes you feel really good.........

And to Geelong.....We Are Geelong...We Are still J Selwood, T Varcoe, J Hunt, C Enright, T Hawkins, P Chapman, J Bartel, S Johnson, C Mooney, M Scarlett, etc etc........We are a great side and whilst we are sad, we are still better off than most of the rabble in the AFL.........

GO CATS in 2011.....can't wait to see Denzel, Brown, Varcoe and the rest get a chance in the side.....

Today is a sad day in the history of Geelong...but tomorrow is another day.

WE ARE GEELONG

For anyone in BUSINESS that earns that kind of money $200K + You would need to give one months notice.....and more likely you would need to give 3 months....what has Gazza given us? NOTHING!

And to everyone mentioning other sports....look at the "WORLD" game! It is all sorts of trouble...teams owned by the banks...more and more and more money and no loyalty whatsoever......DO WE WANT THIS FOR THE AFL? Do we want to become just another game.....a game in a back water that no-one understands or cares about?

And to everyone that thinks we are sooking.....Gary good luck with whatever you do and I hope you are sucessful at the GC. However thanks for not supporting the team that supported you by not being honest with yourself and with us.....we are the AFL...we are the supporters....the people that provide the money you are taking...where did you think it came from...magic....well it didn't...you have taken from every single AFL/team member.... I hope that makes you feel really good.........

And to Geelong.....We Are Geelong...We Are still J Selwood, T Varcoe, J Hunt, C Enright, T Hawkins, P Chapman, J Bartel, S Johnson, C Mooney, M Scarlett, etc etc........We are a great side and whilst we are sad, we are still better off than most of the rabble in the AFL.........

GO CATS in 2011.....can't wait to see Denzel, Brown, Varcoe and the rest get a chance in the side.....

Today is a sad day in the history of Geelong...but tomorrow is another day.

WE ARE GEELONG

Exactly mate :thumbsu:. Soccer is a clear example, so many players just leave clubs willy nilly for money, it's outrageous, do we want the AFL to be like that ?? where players are just leaving thier clubs whenever they get the oppertunity to earn more $$$. The AFL is a disgrace for doing this, it's now just being labelled as a "buisness". One thing is certain, MONEY IS NOT THE ONLY THING IN LIFE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! we wern't put on earth to just earn money.

Well its done. Gary you were great for our club and our club was great for you. You owe us nothing and we owe you nothing. Awesome player on the park, lying sack of sh1t off it.

Goodbye

By allowing one club a much higher salary cap so they can offer enormous contracts that no other club can compete with? Righto :rolleyes:

A number of sports don't have salary caps at all.... or are in such a financial state as to not be able to compete with bigger clubs.

It happened in the VFL before - it's not simply an AFL issue.

For anyone in BUSINESS that earns that kind of money $200K + You would need to give one months notice.

Final list lodgement is 2 months away.

Regardless, if you were playing in the grand final last week, would you have wanted Ablett revealing his intentions beforehand, just for the sake of "notice"?

It's a messy situation, but I think he has handled it as well as the circumstances allow.

Pretty dissapointed. Was one of my favourite players, would have kept a great tradition going on and probably be regarded as an all time great had he stayed. I guess I can understand why he went, but it was a pretty low act if he kept the club hanging for the length people have been saying. Imagine the uproar when Gary Jr Jr is taken by the Gold Coast with the F/S in 20 years or so :O

The AFL likes to take pride in how different the AFL is run compared to other codes and sports but this shows that it is getting more and more like these money grabbing sports every year.

Used to be pride in the jumper. Now it is pride in the bank balance.

Damn sad.

Final list lodgement is 2 months away.

Regardless, if you were playing in the grand final last week, would you have wanted Ablett revealing his intentions beforehand, just for the sake of "notice"?

It's a messy situation, but I think he has handled it as well as the circumstances allow.

Yes...that would have allowed the club to decide what was best for it....not him.....and given the fans a chance to say good bye....what have we got now? Nothing at all........We are now left to mop up the mess he has left us in....

That suggests you have absolutely no ambition and are happy to cruise in an environment where you aren't challenged to do better.

Please send me your resume so that I don't make the mistake of making you an offer one day.

My ambition is to be happy.

And currently I am happy.

I'm not going to change that, at this point anyway, just because I could make more somewhere else.

Shouldn't you be remembering him for all the great things he and his father did for your club? I know it's said to see him go but football is a business, and unfortunately players will always put money first, club loyalty second.

The real enemy here is the AFL. They should never have let this happen. I think you'll struggle to find a player that would turn down 1.9 million per year to switch clubs.

Exactly, the AFL is the enemy. They have changed OUR game for ever. Demetriou and Anderson must be gotten rid of before they destroy OUR game completely

Is anyone else sick of the media towing the AFL line...isn't the alf great...yada yada yada......

I shall be attending the VFL games now......

Someone on the radio said we shouldn't go the GC v GFC game and show the AFL what we think.....I would be happy to promote this....

Yes...that would have allowed the club to decide what was best for it....not him.....and given the fans a chance to say good bye....what have we got now? Nothing at all........We are now left to mop up the mess he has left us in....

I disagree that that would have been the best approach but respect your opinion anyway.

Regardless, Cook is one of the best administrators in the game. There is no doubt that they would have plans in place for this eventuality.

Someone on the radio said we shouldn't go the GC v GFC game and show the AFL what we think.....I would be happy to promote this....

Would hurt Geelong more than the AFL.