Actual Random Chat Thread I

Went down the YouTube rabbit hole and came across the thunderstorm from 2016 that caused 9 deaths due to the combo of pollen, thunder and high heat.

Crazy how quickly north west got slammed with thousands of patients in a short time.

Pretty scary stuff.

iu

iu

New record for largest 12-month gain in carbon dioxide concentration ever observed
https://keelingcurve.ucsd.edu/2024/05/08/largest-year-over-year-gain-in-keeling-curve-set-in-march/

Anyone optomistic this joint stays under 2° warming in the next 50yr?

Just finished watching Mr In Between. It’s the best Australian tv series I’ve ever seen.

It's absolutely brilliant. All three seasons.

Slowly turning into my mother .... seems like I'm always cleaning paw prints off my cupboards/fridge door. Heaven alone knows what is on my best little mates hands ....
You were a teenager once yourself mate. Don't forget that.

Think of your poor mum.

You were a teenager once yourself mate. Don't forget that.

Think of your poor mum.
Lol I did think of my mum ..... I bailed to Cairns when I was 17 :-D

Got a bluetooth meat thermometer for xmas.

They are the best! I have an inkbird that can track up to 5 meats. So good when you are managing temps on a smoker.

On New Year’s Day I cooked a 6kg brisket, a pulled pork collar, a lamb shoulder and done some ribs. Set it up with temp alerts through the app and I nailed everything.

Hahaha! I’ve got two boys under 4, cupboards and windows look like abstract art exhibits. I just clean them once every 3 months, anymore than that and it’s a waste of time.

Anyone installed a misting kit under a verandah?

View attachment 2198120
Kit finally installed. Morwell bunnings were sold out, got the last one in warragul after taking dad out for lunch. works pretty well. Tested tonight but not so hot today. Only complaint the misters actually make a bit of noise, like they are singing!

1000054232.png

They are the best! I have an inkbird that can track up to 5 meats. So good when you are managing temps on a smoker.

On New Year’s Day I cooked a 6kg brisket, a pulled pork collar, a lamb shoulder and done some ribs. Set it up with temp alerts through the app and I nailed everything.

Hahaha! I’ve got two boys under 4, cupboards and windows look like abstract art exhibits. I just clean them once every 3 months, anymore than that and it’s a waste of time.
I reckon my best little mate sprays teflon on his plates .... seems everything just slides off. I do however, have Rosebuds fattest ants :-D
1736587645347.png

Look dodgy to me. Ones l used to partake in back in the day had a little fluorescent blue / purpley thin ring in the middle of the cap. Very easy to spot. Macedon ranges was the place.
You can get 'em not far from Jenna Bruton's old's spud farm.

They need to turn blue where they are damaged and bruised.

Every species of psilocibin mushroom does that afaik. I wouldn't trust one that didn't.

iu

iu

New record for largest 12-month gain in carbon dioxide concentration ever observed
https://keelingcurve.ucsd.edu/2024/05/08/largest-year-over-year-gain-in-keeling-curve-set-in-march/

Anyone optomistic this joint stays under 2° warming in the next 50yr?
In the middle of last year there was a prolonged heatwave in Antarctica that saw temps average over 28 deg C above the actual average temp. I'm not actually sure when it ended.

It may still be going!!!

They're still trying to work out the March 2022 heatwave down there.

Imagine Melbourne in summer with a heatwave 25 deg over the average temp increase for months on end. Cos that will happen at some point. Hopefully not for 20 or 30 years tho.

Actual Random Chat Thread I