Traded Adam Saad [traded to Carlton with #48 and #78 for #8 and #87]

Who won this trade?

• Essendon

Votes: 10 34.5%
  • Carlton

Votes: 19 65.5%

Essendon should have done more to keep him happy.

We got Pick 19 for Buddy. Boo hoo if you get pick 24 for Saad.
Completely different scenarios..had you guys finished last, you would have got Pick 1 (or 2)... not our fault you guys didn't (couldn't) match and force a trade..

We'll see how Essendon do next year will all that talent coming through LOL

It’s funny that people expect Essendon to be shit next year. We are only losing one piece of our puzzle from this year (Saad).
I don’t expect a top 8 finish but a 9 - 12 is achievable if everything goes well.

Obviously room for disaster and the club self implodes and we get a bottom 3 finish that is likely as well but I’m more bullish than a lot of others.

Yeah, ok... Williamson is a good ordinary player at his best.
Clearly you know very little about Tom and it appears, even less about footy.
He played off half back in his first year as an 18 year old, he was exciting and didn’t take a backwards step against seasoned big bodied forwards, Carlton quickly extended his contract.
He then spent the better part of the next two years dealing with debilitating back problems, hot spots etc.
He’s been more than everything we’d hoped for, he’s run his own race and the club are stoked with his progress after the possibility of never playing again.
He’s 21 FFS mate after two years out of the game, see, you know FA about footy!👍

My point stands, a good ordinary footballer.. I know plenty about footy and Williamson is what he is..
So 21 year olds, after spending 2 years on the sidelines have no scope for improvement in their game?
You haven’t made a cognisant point at all, other than, “my opinion upon limited viewing of said player, coming from my non partial, non biased optics must be conclusive and not to be challenged....”.
Yeh, ok mate!👍🙄

It’s funny that people expect Essendon to be sh*t next year. We are only losing one piece of our puzzle from this year (Saad).
I don’t expect a top 8 finish but a 9 - 12 is achievable if everything goes well.

Obviously room for disaster and the club self implodes and we get a bottom 3 finish that is likely as well but I’m more bullish than a lot of others.

Only an Essendon fan would claim to be losing one piece of puzzle in the middle of a player exodus.

What happened to Daniher being a once in a generation player? Now all of sudden hes hard rubbish that you slow down to have a look at before going "nah" and resume driving the speed limit. Didnt even bother to stop the car.

Well Carlton are offering a 5 year deal. How many of the other HBF/small defenders got that. That alone should tell you about how highly they rate Saad. If you rate him that highly its pretty clear he's valuable. Essendon also offered a 5 year deal to try to keep him.

The others didn't need to extend their deals, because they were already contracted when traded. Nobody is saying Carlton do not rate Saad, but you are confusing contracts with trade value. There is no correlation, despite what people tend to bang on about on BF and have done so in this thread. I have spent time elaborating on how the two are not causally linked in this thread...

If Carlton show too little effort to grab him he may end up changing his mind. Carlton have shown some fragility in their capacity to get deals done after failing the Papley deal and now having him not even bother to try to go to them anymore.

There is zero chance Saad changes his mind, keep dreaming. Not only has he cleaned his locker out at Tullamarine, his management are prepared to walk him through the drafts just to get away from Essendon.

Carlton had the Papley deal sewn up, such was our good trading and realism dealing with Sydney, they were in fact offering a pick they hadn't even acquired officially for Daniher. Just because Dodoro cooked the chook, totally misread the room and made a monumental error not trading Joe, does not reflect at all on our capacity to get trades done. Try again...

I did mean 2020 stats. They line up to.

A mistype on my behalf

Any chance of a source for those? Or any answer to any of my questions or are you going back to avoiding?

It’s funny that people expect Essendon to be sh*t next year. We are only losing one piece of our puzzle from this year (Saad).

LOL... Daniher, Fantasia and McKenna. Hurley, Hooker and Zacca are cooked. Dyson Heppell is damaged goods and take a look at all the players putting their hands up saying 'I wanna go play for Essendon'... You'll hit the draft this year and bring in some 'top up' depth players. Thats about it.

Would you Mitch McGovern s contract they way you have? Of course not. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

Fwiw, I will stick to my judgement that Adam has been better than both Pearce Hanley and Hibbo in the years they were traded out as that is the year more often than not taken into consideration when plying a players value at the trade table.
What's that, now you want Mitch McGovern? :cool::D

Ok Saad and pick 6, am I doing it right Dodoro?

So 21 year olds, after spending 2 years on the sidelines have no scope for improvement in their game?
You haven’t made a cognisant point at all, other than, “my opinion upon limited viewing of said player, coming from my non partial, non biased optics must be conclusive and not to be challenged....”.
Yeh, ok mate!👍🙄

I think in 2021 he'll improve and develop by being more aggressive. He has the all the skills

Yeh, ok mate!👍🙄
Now you're talking about potential.. yeah, plenty of players have potential, I'm just saying what Williamson is "now".. a good ordinary footballer.. could quite easily have more back issues and be done..

As I’ve already pointed out to you, Saad is a want, not a need, he allows the likes of Williamson and Petrevski-Seton to move further up the ground and do what the do best, deliver the ball inside 50, something we’ve lacked.
I’m not terribly fussed either way, as I see our acquisition of Zach Williams as a more transformative player for need to us, an inside outside mid that can kick the footy to advantage above what we currently have.
I’m also in no way saying Saad wouldn’t transform our current setup as I’ve already pointed out.
As most have already pointed out, Saad is worth a pick around the mid teens, not 7.
If we get him, great, if not, shrugs shoulders.
Williams is as good as Saad at 21!👍

He's done remarkably well to come in after a series of injuries and illness and play as well as he has this year. He's pretty much the perfect back pocket too: nice kick, tough, quick. Takes it on through the middle.

Last year his only really goal was to get on the park, but he got better as the season went on.

I think we will end up playing Williamson deeper with Saad coming in, and also push Saad up to a wing at times, but we could equally do the same thing with Williamson (or Williams). Saad gives us that extra flexibility to find that best combination of rebound and skill through the midfield.

Only an Essendon fan would claim to be losing one piece of puzzle in the middle of a player exodus.

What happened to Daniher being a once in a generation player? Now all of sudden hes hard rubbish that you slow down to have a look at before going "nah" and resume driving the speed limit. Didnt even bother to stop the car.

You should re read what my post said mate

So Daniher isnt a piece of the puzzle? Regardless, your club needs a full rebuild starting with the spine. Stop topping up for the now and start building for the future. It'll save approximately 10 years.

I rate Kennedy, hes got the chops. You dont and thats fine but he will make your midfield look a hell of a lot better than it does. Hes young and only played about 50 games. Out him in a midfield where he doesnt play second fiddle to Cripps and youd see a guy more than capable of getting the hardball from under packs.

Traded Adam Saad [traded to Carlton with #48 and #78 for #8 and #87]