Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

Jumping the gun? Mate, it's the same stuff people have been saying for ages.
And no one thought we were really going to win on Friday but I reckon people would have been a lot more accepting of the loss if we'd kept more of the high effort, younger guys in the side instead of bringing in a whole bunch of senior players who couldn't run out the first 20 minutes of the game, never mind the whole thing.

You mean since 2017?

The match committee is pretty much the coaching panel, possibly the football manager and maybe another senior club member is involved as well.
But there's no way in hell Simpson doesn't have the final say

Again, why would the MC even exist if their role basically amounts to nothing? If they exist merely as advisors or providers of information, the organisation of a match committee wouldn’t be necessary. They can do all that anyway, so what’s the point of having it?

You mean since 2017?

Again, why would the MC even exist if their role basically amounts to nothing? If they exist merely as advisors or providers of information, the organisation of a match committee wouldn’t be necessary. They can do all that anyway, so what’s the point of having it?
What is it that you imagine the MC do other than advise Simpson on selections (in general and opposition specific), player availability and form?
Probably also advise on opposition tactics and game strategies to some degree as well.
Simpson is the one that has final say on the team.

Then why have a match committee as an entity if it‘s ultimately the coach that selects the team? What’s the point when we already have assistant coaches, managers etc?
Probably because Simpson doesn't have full visibility on everyone's performance in training that week, their fitness and coming back from injury or currently injured. Also other coaches opinion on strategy vs opposition that week. Simpson has to ask the right questions to the other people in the MC in order for him to know as much as possible to make the correct coaching decisions. If he doesn't that's on him

What is it that you imagine the MC do other than advise Simpson on selections (in general and opposition specific), player availability and form?
Probably also advise on opposition tactics and game strategies to some degree as well.

Check bank statements of the players. Or confusingly look at Cricket scores on those big manually run boards at cricket grounds to check fur runs.

Good to see people aren‘t jumping the gun on here after a horrific loss. I’m honestly confused how Simmo is now trying to “keep his job” just because we, admittedly, f’ed up selection. Obviously the result did not go according to plan, but people really need to read the beginning of this thread to get a sense of how emotional investment is twisting peoples judgement fo the current situation. I have yet to see any reason why Simmo should be sacked at the moment, and how that would solve anything - in fact, it would hardly make sense. I’d rather give Simmo’s role with Knights and Schofield a little more time beyond our worst injury crisis in a decade.

Post liked by bzparkes and jukebox, just waiting for miguel log on

Well then you've got the old Gaff Game-Stopper, another of Simmo's favourites.
Gaff receives the outlet pass on the half back flank and has multiple options to kick to further up the ground.
But what's this? Oh that's right Gaff is so one-sided he can only kick forwards if he receives the ball and can immediately sweep on to his left foot.
Instead he plays on, attempts to run around in a circle to get on to his left foot but by the time he does this all his options further down the ground have been closed down so he's forced to kick backwards across the ground. All momentum ruined.

View attachment 1376220

We need more of these, gold

I wonder when our last “bring your mouthguards to training Monday” session was or the good old 5am at the beach for some sand running was done??

Seems to have worked so far for hawthown…

I guess we have the 10am come to the cafe at lathlain for a coffee, cake and love in class.

I wonder when our last “bring your mouthguards to training Monday” session was or the good old 5am at the beach for some sand running was done??

I guess we have the 10am come to the cafe at lathlain for a coffee, cake and love in class.
When did Hawthorn do that?

That sounds alright actually, can anyone rock up?

You mean since 2017?

I still remember flying to perth to see a game in the then new stadium - against the weak bombers - who were up nine goals at quarter time. The club is rubbish at developing a consistently winning modern football team. the plethora of reasons have been cronicled previously. The Gun is being jumped? The horse bolted a few years ago.

Watching hawthorn who have one of the worst teams on paper for a long time touching up Geelong early on a big public holiday game just shows how change is good.

No one plays for Simpson, the team is lost, everyone is ultra comfortable. I guarantee you bring in someone new who is respected and a leader of men and there would be instant turn around, before changes to the game plan are even made. Everyone feels the pressure on the training track and match day. Currently everyone wanders in on Tuesday and rolls through the motions again

If we are going to play the dinosaurs all year we may as well have the best crack possible and move Simpson on ASAP. The longer we keep him the worse we will become. Need some John cena ruthless aggression

Watching hawthorn who have one of the worst teams on paper for a long time touching up Geelong early on a big public holiday game just shows how change is good.

No one plays for Simpson, the team is lost, everyone is ultra comfortable. I guarantee you bring in someone new who is respected and a leader of men and there would be instant turn around, before changes to the game plan are even made. Everyone feels the pressure on the training track and match day. Currently everyone wanders in on Tuesday and rolls through the motions again

If we are going to play the dinosaurs all year we may as well have the best crack possible and move Simpson on ASAP. The longer we keep him the worse we will become. Need some John cena ruthless aggression
Difference is Hawthorn's youngsters actually look decent. And they play tough and hard. Ours are neither which is depressing.

On SM-G780G using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nothing screams stale and old than our centre square set ups..

First bounce Friday- we had Williams( ok a young ruckman) shuey, redden and rioli( ok a change but a bloke who has played 42 games and been in there to start games going back to 2018 at times)

Second bounce - Williams, shuey, redden, kelly… urghhhh

The hawks in the other hand started against a midfield of Stanley, Guthrie, dangerfield and smith with Reeves( a second yr player) mitchell, Ward (1st year) and Newcombe ( mid season pick up last yr) And they got the first three clearances of the game to go up by 3 goals…

O’meara, Shiels and Worpel cant even get a look in as first mid rotations.

Now Williams and Reeves are comparable due to experience( reeves by far the player at this stage) but where is our young mids…?? Playing wafl after career best games..

Probably because Simpson doesn't have full visibility on everyone's performance in training that week, their fitness and coming back from injury or currently injured. Also other coaches opinion on strategy vs opposition that week. Simpson has to ask the right questions to the other people in the MC in order for him to know as much as possible to make the correct coaching decisions. If he doesn't that's on him

That doesn‘t answer my question. All the staff would be there and in contact the entire week leading up to a game anyway, so it doesn‘t make sense to have an entity called the “match committee”. Is the MC needed for meetings to take place? Will security at Lathlian prevent staff to enter the premises on selection night if they’re not part of the MC? What about reviews of the previous week - that would obviously play a part in match selection, so are only members of the MC allowed to take part?

As I said, it makes no sense to have an MC if the designation basically means nothing.

Post liked by bzparkes and jukebox, just waiting for miguel log on

Weird post, but ok.

That doesn‘t answer my question. All the staff would be there and in contact the entire week leading up to a game anyway, so it doesn‘t make sense to have an entity called the “match committee”. Is the MC needed for meetings to take place? Will security at Lathlian prevent staff to enter the premises on selection night if they’re not part of the MC? What about reviews of the previous week - that would obviously play a part in match selection, so are only members of the MC allowed to take part?

As I said, it makes no sense to have an MC if the designation basically means nothing.

Weird post, but ok.
At this point I'm not sure what point you're trying to make.
Are you trying to absolve Simpson of his credits in the bank selection policy?
Do you think the team is selected by some kind of all in jamboree session a couple of nights before the game where the entire club gets an equal say?

Jumping the gun? Mate, it's the same stuff people have been saying for ages.
And no one thought we were really going to win on Friday but I reckon people would have been a lot more accepting of the loss if we'd kept more of the high effort, younger guys in the side instead of bringing in a whole bunch of senior players who couldn't run out the first 20 minutes of the game, never mind the whole thing.
There were 3 forced changes. NN, GoV, Ledwards. (injury and covid protocol)
There were only 3 'actual' changes to youth - West (attacking but lacks skills), Xon (who arguably was unlucky after his 1st good game) and Hough - a raw defender.
Waterman doesn't count, only played 1 qtr, unneeded extra tall.

So, 3 youth came out, 9 youth (more recent players) from Pies game stayed in; 4 seniors came in, 9 seniors stayed in from Pies game.
So, to say there were sweeping changes to youth is incorrect.

Also, Simmo hinted during the week pre game at how classy Swans are, mentioning their mids and pace and talent and said we'd be up against it, but we play to win. Knowing there's a good chance we'd lose after 2 x 6 day breaks - with NN+Gov out of the mix - why wouldn't you get match fitness into your top players? It's the perfect opportunity and makes good sense? He just didn't know they were going to get that sliced and diced!? Perhaps thinking it would be an honourable loss at worst?

So you didn't get more game experience into 3 young players, but got very important match fitness into 4 of your expensive formula one AA premiership players?
It's also the general presumption that all of these young players are going to turn into guns just because they're getting more game time...never going to happen.
Maybe this is the worst game we had to endure? Maybe things start to improve gradually? We don't know yet...
But generally yes it's good to see the energy, attack and dare of youth. Lets see more of it! And more of a new attacking game-plan.

If you take the small positives - we're getting game time into lots of youth, we've got some match fitness into senior players, we've seen definite signs of a new game plan, we have more players returning, we should start building some connectivity between players and lines. We might get a win here and there and build...
We're currently, for many reasons -internal and external- a bloody rabble.
We can all sh*t ourselves and spit the dummy and sook and whinge, or move on, accept the reality of a long haul possibly and a slow rebuild..and take the small positives as they come?
There's only so many babies you can throw out with the bathwater...shirley? :rolleyes:

So, 3 youth came out, 9 youth (more recent players) from Pies game stayed in; 4 seniors came in, 9 seniors stayed in from Pies game.
So, to say there were sweeping changes to youth is incorrect.

So you didn't get more game experience into 3 young players, but got very important match fitness into 4 of your expensive formula one AA premiership players?
It's also the general presumption that all of these young players are going to turn into guns just because they're getting more game time...never going to happen.
Maybe this is the worst game we had to endure? Maybe things start to improve gradually? We don't know yet...
But generally yes it's good to see the energy, attack and dare of youth. Lets see more of it! And more of a new attacking game-plan.
If you take the small positives - we're getting game time into lots of youth, we've got some match fitness into senior players, we've seen definite signs of a new game plan, we have more players returning, we should start building some connectivity between players and lines. We might get a win here and there and build...
We're currently, for many reasons -internal and external- a bloody rabble.
We can all sh*t ourselves and spit the dummy and sook and whinge, or move on, accept the reality of a long haul possibly and a slow rebuild..and take the small positives as they come?
I didn't say that.
Or that.

And you may be happy watching a bunch of senior guys plod around the track for a couple of hours but I'd much rather watch someone who at least puts in a bit of effort, given that we're highly unlikely to win many games this year anyway.
Also not sooking, not spitting the dummy, just saying what I think about the current state of the team. You might want the board to be like it's the Eagles facebook account talking to the Eagles twitter account but you don't get to tell the rest of us what we can discuss.

And THAT is how you deal with poor performance

Sam Mitchell: Hawthorn get embarrassed. Tells the team to bring the mouth guards on Monday and smashed them on the track

Adam Simpson: Eagles get embarrassed. Probably treats the team to an ice cream and a participation medal.....

This is the exact type of ruthlessness that Simpson absolutely lacks