Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

There will be no change… in the short term. He is all in with the current group. Sidestepped the questions about JD’s form, mind you JD is just one.

I don’t anticipate any major changes personnel wise. Just got to hope the green shoots of a more attacking gamestyle from some of the games thus far can be built on, starting from this week 🤷‍♂️

We are not a hard nose club and we should be.from the top down we don’t seem to have a ruthless bone in us.
When was the last time you saw the Eagles as a group come out breathing fire, I mean real line in the sand stuff. Willing to do anything for the result?
When was the last time you saw this at the Eagles. Now I get all individual players are different and they all play with different emotions but how is it possible that we have so few if any what I call white line fever type players? Do we delibelatedly avoid drafting them? Is it coached out of them? That would be bizarre if true. Has the club become so focused on financial success that footy simply is not the clubs number 1 priority?
As someone mentioned above what Sam Mitchell response was to their loss last week and win or lose look at the group’s response today. As a fan you can only ask the players to leave it all on the park, we rarely if everyone leave it all on the park.

I am a believer in we need a new coach, new message. I do not believe a coach can really change who they are deep down and for us to be the team we should be as a non negotiable then how can Simpson be that coach?
I like Adam and I think he has been a great contributor at the club but I think his future is elsewhere now, his old club awaits a new coach I reckon. I hope he can see it as I don’t think the club will make the call.

Not about yelling and screaming, it’s about absolute non negotiables. I don’t believe or would find it hard to believe there are non negotiable directives at our club. I can’t see it.

Thoughts?
I think it's clear he's reached his used by date. His contract is an issue though, not expiring until 2024. COVID and injury has given him a get out of jail card for this season, so for him to get sacked, he'd have to have another disastrous start next year.

I think we need to hope we can do what Sydney managed. Two years in the bottom 4 meant the coach had nowhere to hide. Longmire was also a stodgy defensive coach and he managed to change. I doubt Simmo will do that, but at least the writing will be on the wall.

Nisbett should retire as well. Absolutely bottled it when COVID hit and destabilised the organisation. There's a lot of small signs suggesting the club isn't being run well (jumper issues, not being on top of NGA etc) and it is time for fresh blood. I have no idea if he is on contract but hopefully he moves on soon.

We really need simmo to play the seniors and bottom out. Top 2 pick please. Let’s not play the youth and jag some wins.
Next year wooden spoon and no 1 pick simmo, job done.

Sorry to be a pedant, but the record over the past 17 matches is 5-12.

From the 2021 bye the club has gone 3-11.

Perhaps more alarming is the 1-7 home record during that period.

Or that the club record of now 18 consecutive matches of scoring less than 100 points only continues to grow.

Either way, it is a situation that is embarrassing and frankly, intolerable.
Hmm, I think everyone can be a little pedantic at times. He said three wins FROM past 17 matches.
I believe if you include the pre-season and scratch match loses, he's not far off the mark. Count up wins and loses since the bye last year including all pre-season games, which are still AFL games. That's 3 wins from how many games? Assuming the pre-season games mean about as much to any other side as the rest, they are indeed still AFL level loses.
Agree with the rest but the win/loss record stated isn't so far off the mark.
Either way, none of it is pretty.

I think Chris Scott is a flog.
But think if the Cats and Eagles swapped coaches both teams would benefit....

Time for a change 😉

Simmo fan from the moment woosha finished up, but his stubbornness in both game plan and selection are the reasons he is staring at the axe.

How xon was dropped after the Collingwood game is mind boggling. There's load of others in the past 24 months. No point rehashing through them all.

I don't think any of us had a problem with bringing in so many players after the Richmond win last year. The cavalry was back and it was time to make a late charge right? Ok first game was a **** up and we learned brining in too many underdone players was a big mistake but we've given plenty of guys a hit out. Even if so many of our guns are over the hill and that late charge was never going to materialize into a genuine flag run... But there is no way this team should have been so far off the mark over the following 7 or 8 rounds. Truly bizarre.

I'm all for backing in senior players who have done the job before, especially when they deliver a flag. But that credit card should have been paid off at the end of 2020.

As for 2022 it was always a risk to go back to the well for one last crack, especially when you consider the club would have known Shep was a big chance to retire. I said it at the time that I thought we should have retired off JK and Hurn. Absolute legends of the club but the rebuild was on after last year. 2021 was our last crack.

The game plan hasn't been as stale as last year but it's still not great is it. Naish has been the biggest driver of quick ball movement, but he's never going to carve a team up like a superstar.

Hawthorn bought footskills to the fore again and it's no surprise simmo implemented a similar strategy. Hardwick, despite coming from the same group of assistants, implemented a completely different gameplan that is unfortunately far more effective. The 2015-19 eagles were a very aesthetically pleasing team to watch, but Richmond showed high pressure and high intensity will win you more games (even when you only have about 6 blokes who can kick to an average AFL standard). It's ugly as **** but it's been getting wins for the last half decade or so. You don't get style points in footy so we gotta go with what's proving to be the most effective way of winning. The 2022 eagles wouldn't be getting any style points anyway.

The frustrating thing is in the first half of his coaching career simmo proved himself as one of the most tactically astute coaches in the league, most notably implementing a brilliant zone to counter our defensive injuries in 2015. The last few years his stubbornness is proving to be far far greater than tactical flexibility.

...So you didn't get more game experience into 3 young players, but got very important match fitness into 4 of your expensive formula one AA premiership players?

That's the issue. Simpson won the constructors title 5 seasons ago. You cant keep racing the same cars from back then. They are now old, broken down and outclassed by the new models.

(NB Not our new models, The opposing teams new models)

I'm more than happy to admit that Simpson has very little coming through to call on but that is a systemic failure of the club that has been getting called out around here for years now. Poor drafting, poor player development, poor S&C, outdated game plans.

When we're failing in so many areas of the football department we need to think about major restructuring.

Hawks hit the lead 13 mins to go in the last quarter . Hawks centre square- ward, newcombe and mitchell… still backing the kids bar mitchell

Yeah this is what I found fantastic to watch.

It also reminds of something that I have found frustrating about the Eagles since Worsfold days. Our young mids get shoe horned into flanking roles until they learn their craft.
IIRC only Duggan was given an extended stretch as a mid during his early days.

Im absolutely convinced that it is development at our club. I think our young players are usually tentative and scared of making a mistake and immediately drop their head once they do. This was happening pre-Simmo and its continued.

That's the issue. Simpson won the constructors title 5 seasons ago. You cant keep racing the same cars from back then. They are now old, broken down and outclassed by the new models.

(NB Not our new models, The opposing teams new models)

I'm more than happy to admit that Simpson has very little coming through to call on but that is a systemic failure of the club that has been getting called out around here for years now. Poor drafting, poor player development, poor S&C, outdated game plans.

When we're failing in so many areas of the football department we need to think about major restructuring.
A restructuring is inevitable whether it is triggered by another poor season, current list reality, coaching failures, sackings, disgruntled memberships, player dissatisfaction, or end of year rebuild and sweep-out, a change will have to come.
They were trying for a big make-over this season but were ambushed by injuries and Covid again. Didnt' even get out of the starting blocks? Can only imagine the frustration of the coach (regardless of who's to blame)?

I'm more interested in how this season will pan out, in the week to week tribulations, rather than raking over the coals of the past 4 years.
I can't see Simpson leaving out Shuey, Yeo, Kelly, Cripps (esp.with NN out) in upcoming games, even if they are considered broken down formula ones? Shuey maybe, he's on borrowed time, certainly managed time.
Yeo should come good with more match fitness. Same with Kelly, we know what he can offer when he's up and about (preferably around a consistent midfield). Cripps owns that pocket, who is better than Cripps?

Yes, play the youth where possible and at all times possible.
The new style game may have passed us by, other teams already adapted and moved on. WCE might be too little too late, half stuck in one era with a few dinosaurs and half heading towards another era with not enough speedy talented youngsters?
But in the meantime we have to get through this season and swing around from one of our worst home games ever.

That's what interests me...how we answer that last game, and how we go forward..
I'm not yet convinced like some others, that it's all doom+gloom, that we'll just lose every game and collapse into another heap like last season...it's quite possible...but we wait and see!

All coaches are stubborn af. They wouldn't get the gig otherwise because they wouldn't have the self confidence to back themselves and drag the playing group with them. Remember how frustrated we all were with Woosha? Strict one-on-ones when flooding was the trend, swing Hunter forward as his go-to move etc. And Malthouse before that, he used the same basic gameplan for his entire record-breaking career across multiple clubs. I reckon that when he returns to senior coaching, Clarkson will implement the same kick mark style that Simpson adapted and current trends be damned. Same with Ross Lyon and his shitty affront to good taste.

This of course makes it difficult to pivot when the playing group can no longer execute the gameplan, or the gameplan itself is found out, or you're crippled by injuries and covid. Or all of the above.

Keen to see how we respond to that Sydney game. It was embarrassing from the opening bounce to the final siren. How Flyin' avoided a fine for that dive to kick our first I'll never know.

A restructuring is inevitable whether it is triggered by another poor season, current list reality, coaching failures, sackings, disgruntled memberships, player dissatisfaction, or end of year rebuild and sweep-out, a change will have to come.
They were trying for a big make-over this season but were ambushed by injuries and Covid again. Didnt' even get out of the starting blocks? Can only imagine the frustration of the coach (regardless of who's to blame)?

I'm more interested in how this season will pan out, in the week to week tribulations, rather than raking over the coals of the past 4 years.
I can't see Simpson leaving out Shuey, Yeo, Kelly, Cripps (esp.with NN out) in upcoming games, even if they are considered broken down formula ones? Shuey maybe, he's on borrowed time, certainly managed time.
Yeo should come good with more match fitness. Same with Kelly, we know what he can offer when he's up and about (preferably around a consistent midfield). Cripps owns that pocket, who is better than Cripps?

Yes, play the youth where possible and at all times possible.
The new style game may have passed us by, other teams already adapted and moved on. WCE might be too little too late, half stuck in one era with a few dinosaurs and half heading towards another era with not enough speedy talented youngsters?
But in the meantime we have to get through this season and swing around from one of our worst home games ever.

That's what interests me...how we answer that last game, and how we go forward..
I'm not yet convinced like some others, that it's all doom+gloom, that we'll just lose every game and collapse into another heap like last season...we wait and see!

Your position seems reasonable.

I think a lot of us are frustrated at the way the club is handling things. They've been dealt a poor hand, no doubt but we appear to be navigating it like the Titanic - recklessly and with poor situational awareness.

It wasn’t long ago that the Eagles Web was being lauded as a great new strategy. It worked well from 2015 through to 2018. So, what has changed?
  • Other coaches have worked a way around it and are playing anti-Guv intercept tactics. Example – play a small forward on Guv and make him chase and run as much as possible. However, the Melbourne defensive posts of Lever and May are dominating with a similar structure
  • The zone or web works best with pressure on the ball coming into the oppo forward line – our pressure has been poor in the last 3 years years. The likes of Sheed and Gaff don’t tackle effectively meaning too often the players are running clean out of stoppages.
  • Ferocious tackling. Never been a strength under Simpson. Especially after the flag in 2018, players seem to rest on their laurel. We rarely win the contested football and seem to like corralling. It looks like bruise free football and quickly turns to rubbish.
  • Better clubs are playing their elite kick further up that we are with Hurn. The likes of Salem, Rich, Daniels, etc are more often kicking at the HB line and not out of the pocket. This coupled with the slow chip and mark has become our frustrating trade mark.
  • Our kicks ins from points or deep in the backline have been too predictable with Hurn or Witherden kicking long to the right. Great for oppo clubs – they know exactly where it is going. When was Gov or Barrass a target one on one for an outlet pass? They are often in either pocket! Rotham was drafted as a player that used to have run and carry out of defense. Now he is left deep in the pocket and is out of confidence, won’t take on the game and is probe to fill his pants and produce a clanger.
  • Where are our running half back? Nelson and Cole tried it early last year but that did not last. Hough showed signs of it in his games so was banished to the Beagles. Foley was drafted as a running wingman but has reverted to a chip and kick player.
Melbourne are playing much the brand of defensive strategy that I think we can and ought to be playing. The reality is that our ball comes out of defense at a pace that the forward have to wait for an eternity to get an inside 50m.

Compared to Melbourne, our defenders are chasing shadows. Unless we start with contested ball and confidence to contest the ball in the middle third, our strategy looks shot. Tired. Boring. Destined for time at the foot of the ladder.

It wasn’t long ago that the Eagles Web was being lauded as a great new strategy. It worked well from 2015 through to 2018. So, what has changed?
  • Other coaches have worked a way around it and are playing anti-Guv intercept tactics. Example – play a small forward on Guv and make him chase and run as much as possible. However, the Melbourne defensive posts of Lever and May are dominating with a similar structure
  • The zone or web works best with pressure on the ball coming into the oppo forward line – our pressure has been poor in the last 3 years years. The likes of Sheed and Gaff don’t tackle effectively meaning too often the players are running clean out of stoppages.
  • Ferocious tackling. Never been a strength under Simpson. Especially after the flag in 2018, players seem to rest on their laurel. We rarely win the contested football and seem to like corralling. It looks like bruise free football and quickly turns to rubbish.
  • Better clubs are playing their elite kick further up that we are with Hurn. The likes of Salem, Rich, Daniels, etc are more often kicking at the HB line and not out of the pocket. This coupled with the slow chip and mark has become our frustrating trade mark.
  • Our kicks ins from points or deep in the backline have been too predictable with Hurn or Witherden kicking long to the right. Great for oppo clubs – they know exactly where it is going. When was Gov or Barrass a target one on one for an outlet pass? They are often in either pocket! Rotham was drafted as a player that used to have run and carry out of defense. Now he is left deep in the pocket and is out of confidence, won’t take on the game and is probe to fill his pants and produce a clanger.
  • Where are our running half back? Nelson and Cole tried it early last year but that did not last. Hough showed signs of it in his games so was banished to the Beagles. Foley was drafted as a running wingman but has reverted to a chip and kick player.
Melbourne are playing much the brand of defensive strategy that I think we can and ought to be playing. The reality is that our ball comes out of defense at a pace that the forward have to wait for an eternity to get an inside 50m.

Compared to Melbourne, our defenders are chasing shadows. Unless we start with contested ball and confidence to contest the ball in the middle third, our strategy looks shot. Tired. Boring. Destined for time at the foot of the ladder.
Agreed - I watch Melbourne and think we are one of of few teams that have players to implement their style. We also seem to match up very well against them. It highlights two of our big problems:

1. Gameplan isn't right
2. Team is not fit. On paper we can challenge Melbourne with talent but on field a lot of our stars haven't been performing. Gov is a great example, went to shit with two years of injury but has been looking great this year now he's over his problems. If guys like Shuey/Darling/Yeo aren't fit, then they should be given time to get there before playing in the 1s.

At this point I'm not sure what point you're trying to make.
Are you trying to absolve Simpson of his credits in the bank selection policy?
Do you think the team is selected by some kind of all in jamboree session a couple of nights before the game where the entire club gets an equal say?

No, I think the MC all have an equal say in the team selection i.e. it’s a group effort. I’m questioning your assumption that Simpson has the final say.

I wouldn't think there's a head coach in the AFL who wouldn't have the final say on game day team selections. Possibly a very inexperienced coach, which Simpson is not.

Guy on million dollars per year with title head coach 💯 % has more say and the final say over someone on 200K+ with a title assistant something, committee member, janitor or boot studder.

No wonder we're not going very well, the boot studder and the bloke who makes the after-training cupcakes are picking the team!

I wouldn't think there's a head coach in the AFL who wouldn't have the final say on game day team selections. Possibly a very inexperienced coach, which Simpson is not.
No wonder we're not going very well, the boot studder and the bloke who makes the after-training cupcakes are picking the team!

So why have an entity called the match committee if it doesn’t actually mean anything?