Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

And THAT is how you deal with poor performance

Sam Mitchell: Hawthorn get embarrassed. Tells the team to bring the mouth guards on Monday and smashed them on the track

Adam Simpson: Eagles get embarrassed. Probably treats the team to an ice cream and a participation medal.....

This is the exact type of ruthlessness that Simpson absolutely lacks

Absolutely… every poor performance.. and i don’t mean losing but where effort can be questioned requires a consequence… not a oh four walls, place is a sanctuary garbage that keeps getting trotted out with not one of the high paid credits mob ending up paying a price for their performance. Playing in spite of the coach can also be a good motivator for players..

You cant do that with the kids of today.

You probably could with kids of migrants. But second or 3rd generation aussies need cuddles and pats on the back even if they are ******* useless.

You don’t need to do that anymore, you can get the exact same message across having an adult conversation.

If you have asked a player to man up and to stop guarding space and he still just does what he likes then you sit down with him and you explain to him that your instructions were not a request, they were not something for you as the player to have as an option. It was simply a non negotiable.
You explain to said player that it is not acceptable for you as the player to make the decision to do what you want and that I either going give you another opportunity next week to show me you believe in the team ethos or you can show me in the seconds that you want to be part of what we are putting together.
Its not difficult to get the same message across.

We still have people attributing our 2018 success to Sam Mitchell, yeah right, facepalm! Hawthorn are going so well right now under his stewardship.
You realise that one of our 2018 premiership players Schofield has stated that we wouldn’t have won that premiership without Sam Mitchell and that a lot of other players felt the same way.
I can direct you to the article if you want.
Also said that Mitchell was the most outstanding coach he had seen.
And yes Hawthorn are going so well right now under his stewardship.

Training today , Simmo and Nisbett in deep conversation on the other side of the fence , Tim Gepp was later involved quite lengthy discussions .
Working on a plan out of this current situation you would hope .

We are not a hard nose club and we should be.from the top down we don’t seem to have a ruthless bone in us.
When was the last time you saw the Eagles as a group come out breathing fire, I mean real line in the sand stuff. Willing to do anything for the result?
When was the last time you saw this at the Eagles. Now I get all individual players are different and they all play with different emotions but how is it possible that we have so few if any what I call white line fever type players? Do we delibelatedly avoid drafting them? Is it coached out of them? That would be bizarre if true. Has the club become so focused on financial success that footy simply is not the clubs number 1 priority?
As someone mentioned above what Sam Mitchell response was to their loss last week and win or lose look at the group’s response today. As a fan you can only ask the players to leave it all on the park, we rarely if everyone leave it all on the park.

I am a believer in we need a new coach, new message. I do not believe a coach can really change who they are deep down and for us to be the team we should be as a non negotiable then how can Simpson be that coach?
I like Adam and I think he has been a great contributor at the club but I think his future is elsewhere now, his old club awaits a new coach I reckon. I hope he can see it as I don’t think the club will make the call.

Not about yelling and screaming, it’s about absolute non negotiables. I don’t believe or would find it hard to believe there are non negotiable directives at our club. I can’t see it.

Thoughts?

Training today , Simmo and Nisbett in deep conversation on the other side of the fence , Tim Gepp was later involved quite lengthy discussions .
Simmo: "i dunno nissy think we're in trouble"
nisbett: 'looks like it"
gepp: "yep"

Nisbett and Gepp been there way to long, need an e en bigger clean out inside.

You don’t need to do that anymore, you can get the exact same message across having an adult conversation.

If you have asked a player to man up and to stop guarding space and he still just does what he likes then you sit down with him and you explain to him that your instructions were not a request, they were not something for you as the player to have as an option. It was simply a non negotiable.
You explain to said player that it is not acceptable for you as the player to make the decision to do what you want and that I either going give you another opportunity next week to show me you believe in the team ethos or you can show me in the seconds that you want to be part of what we are putting together.
Its not difficult to get the same message across.

What nonsense.. the time for polite requests and hugs has long passed….. this family, friends flags garbage has long passed its use by date. The past three years on non performance has proved that. It time for tough love..

We are not a hard nose club and we should be.from the top down we don’t seem to have a ruthless bone in us.
When was the last time you saw the Eagles as a group come out breathing fire, I mean real line in the sand stuff. Willing to do anything for the result?
When was the last time you saw this at the Eagles. Now I get all individual players are different and they all play with different emotions but how is it possible that we have so few if any what I call white line fever type players? Do we delibelatedly avoid drafting them? Is it coached out of them? That would be bizarre if true. Has the club become so focused on financial success that footy simply is not the clubs number 1 priority?
As someone mentioned above what Sam Mitchell response was to their loss last week and win or lose look at the group’s response today. As a fan you can only ask the players to leave it all on the park, we rarely if everyone leave it all on the park.

I am a believer in we need a new coach, new message. I do not believe a coach can really change who they are deep down and for us to be the team we should be as a non negotiable then how can Simpson be that coach?
I like Adam and I think he has been a great contributor at the club but I think his future is elsewhere now, his old club awaits a new coach I reckon. I hope he can see it as I don’t think the club will make the call.

Not about yelling and screaming, it’s about absolute non negotiables. I don’t believe or would find it hard to believe there are non negotiable directives at our club. I can’t see it.

Thoughts?
If there are non negotiable, they are either ignored or not understood, or perhaps the wrong ones?

There are no excuses, we all own it.. Straight out of the I am not a racist but play book.

First thought is excuse - we we need to deny that

Id love a journo to actually ask him that question rather than the soft questions he gets asked.
Put it out there so everyone knows and can hold people to account

Simmo on poverty TV sports news tonight

Held it together well but that's the most downtrodden and sombre I've ever seen him, like a "shit just got real".

I didn't say that.
Or that.

And you may be happy watching a bunch of senior guys plod around the track for a couple of hours but I'd much rather watch someone who at least puts in a bit of effort, given that we're highly unlikely to win many games this year anyway.
Also not sooking, not spitting the dummy, just saying what I think about the current state of the team. You might want the board to be like it's the Eagles facebook account talking to the Eagles twitter account but you don't get to tell the rest of us what we can discuss.
You're taking it very personally, most of it wasn't directed at you. Am not telling anyone what they can and can't discuss any more than you are..?
The only thing that was in reply to yours was " if we'd kept more of the high effort, younger guys in the side instead of bringing in a whole bunch of senior players..."
This trope keeps getting repeated ad infinitum, there weren't actually many young players left out....and you mention "a whole bunch of senior players"...total: four!

I was talking in general re people spitting the dummy etc, there's a lot of melting and negativity going around? There's even talk of trading Liam Ryan out...?
It's standard head-kicking procedure on here if someone has a different/positive approach then they must be a facebook fanboi? Thats a stretch...and a yawn...and just lazy.
I don't want the board to be anything, but equally I can express my opinion and you don't get to tell me what I can discuss, within the rules. We're all saying what we think about the team!?

I'd rather watch the senior players getting more match fitness - remembering that WAFL match fitness isn't the same as AFL match fitness - because they're going to be played whether you like it or not for the rest of the season-so the sooner we get them up to speed (as fast or slow as that is?) the sooner we can build some connectivity amongst the group and proceed - with a good mix of youth and dare as well as strong signs of a new game-plan! (the coaches were put on notice)

As it turns out West was also injured (thigh?) so that was 4 forced changes (2 to youth) and two omissions to youth from the previous Pies game.
Two young players were omitted from last weeks game!!!
So WTF is everyone talking about? We dropped the youth? Play the youth, like we have an endless supply of youth?
Naish as outstanding as he's been in a depleted side, isn't actually that good, maybe a 50% efficiency rate?
He can butcher the ball, kick to turnovers, but has attack and dare. Tigers let him go because of his contested ball and needed to build-up. He's clearly trying to improve himself. Great.

You're taking it very personally, most of it wasn't directed at you. Am not telling anyone what they can and can't discuss any more than you are..?
The only thing that was in reply to yours was " if we'd kept more of the high effort, younger guys in the side instead of bringing in a whole bunch of senior players..."
This trope keeps getting repeated ad infinitum, there weren't actually many young players left out....and you mention "a whole bunch of senior players"...total: four!

I was talking in general re people spitting the dummy etc, there's a lot of melting and negativity going around? There's even talk of trading Liam Ryan out...?
It's standard head-kicking procedure on here if someone has a different/positive approach then they must a facebook fanboi? Thats a stretch...and a yawn...and just lazy.
I don't want the board to be anything, but equally I can express my opinion and you don't get to tell me what I can discuss, within the rules. We're all saying what we think about the team!?

I'd rather watch the senior players getting more match fitness - remembering that WAFL match fitness isn't the same as AFL match fitness - because they're going to be played whether you like it or not for the rest of the season-so the sooner we get them up to speed (as fast or slow as that is?) the sooner we can build some connectivity amongst the group and proceed - with a good mix of youth and dare as well as strong signs of a new game-plan!

As it turns out West was also injured (thigh?) so that was 4 forced changes (2 to youth) and two omissions to youth from the previous Pies game.
Two young players were omitted from last weeks game!!!
So WTF is everyone talking about? We dropped the youth? Play the youth, like we have an endless supply of youth?
Naish as outstanding as he's been in a depleted side, isn't actually that good, maybe a 50% efficiency rate?
He can butcher the ball, kick to turnovers, but has attack and dare. Tigers let him go because of his contested ball and needed to build-up. He's clearly trying to improve himself. Great.
Sorry, I'm obviously a complete dickhead for thinking a post replying to my post was directed at me

Not at all, don't be so hard on yourself. I wouldn't think of you as a dickhead? Maybe my writing was lazy and not specific enough? Not broken down into * pointers enough.
I'll try to lift my game...

Yes it was but it was his demeanour, like the spirit had been broken.

Maybe but just sounded in complete denial to me. Even busted out that guys coming in had only played about 14 games together all up and we need more games with our "good" players all playing together.

Imagine being an O'Neill or Hough and hearing that...doesn't give me alot of hope that there's much desire to start playing any kids anytime soon unless there's no choice at all