Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

yeah nah bro, we're not going anywhere just because McGovern comes back in to the side, Redden still plays and the new game plan is given more time to work.

Also, Simpson didn't develop McGovern at CHB. We got injuries and he was forced to play back. Started plucking all these marks and playing like a champion, there was no train with the backs over preseason, no backline coaching meeting or anything. Can you name me any other players that Simpson has developed?
Waterman - with the specialist jogging coach.

So the apologists who are backing in Simmo and saying we cannot read anything into the start of 2022, I thought it worth adding a placeholder for what are seen as the top 7 indicators or where a team are at.

After 5 rounds-

West Coast​

Points against: 15th
Opposition score per inside 50: 14th
Points against from turnovers: 16th
Points from turnovers differential: 17th
Defensive 50 to inside 50 transition: 18th
Inside 50 differential: 18th
Time in forward half: 18th

I don't have the Champion Data for 2021 but suspect this is not a 2022 (when we can blame Covid/Injury) but most of what we have seen has been coming for a while.

There is some credit to backing in your leaders to turn it around. What I cannot understand is why you would think you can back in half ready senior players who cannot run out quarters let alone matches and think they can turn it around.
Unfortunately they packed it in 2+ years ago. That's when the board should have identified the problem and acted.

I don't agree with the apologists, but there is some truth in this Covid year. No continuity but more so many of our players have had an interrupted pre-season and will struggle to get to the fitness needed.

So here's the catch:

You pretty much have to have 2x top 5 draft picks who turn into A graders to win a flag
You can't get 2x top 5 draft picks without and extended stint in the bottom 4
And to have an extended stint in the bottom 4, you have to dish up exceptionally shitola football.

That's where we're at. The last thing I want is a rebuild that ends up in a "close, but no cigar".

So I'm happy to keep Adam "Credits trading scheme" Simpson on until the end of his contract.

Synergy, continuity and all those other corporate buzzwords that have been dragged out this year don't explain why the players can't execute basic skills. Kicking a ball 3 metres shorting of a leading teammate, handballing to a teammate's feet etc. Right now our players look unprofessional and frankly like they don't even train during the week.

I don't know what the solution is but it's a real concern what is going on at the moment.

1. Players should be motivated enough that they employ their own athletics coach during the “off season”.
2. Professional athletes don’t have an “off-season” - I get the feeling that most sit around doing nothing until the squad groups up and the ship had sailed for obtaining gains at that point. You’re just recovering loses.
3. Club should employ athletic based coaches - our clear weakness is repeated sprint/power efforts. Whatever program that has been in place of whatever periodisation us going on has been miles off the mark
4. with the running focus, tackling and wrestling needed to be grossly unskilled. I think it’s ability and the lack of repeat power efforts that kills this off. I.e. they may be able to tackle once but then they’re out of gas
5. Ultimately the strength and conditioning program has left an average team at the bottom of the potential barrel. It seems they have done the preseason of an amateur club. This has been consistent for a few years. Club should have recognized, not sure why half of bigfooty can but they can’t. This is where blame falls on Simpson. He needs to go to fitness guys and say we are too slow, lack endurance, or whatever it is, improve that in your next program

Unfortunately they packed it in 2+ years ago. That's when the board should have identified the problem and acted.

I don't agree with the apologists, but there is some truth in this Covid year. No continuity but more so many of our players have had an interrupted pre-season and will struggle to get to the fitness needed.

So here's the catch:

You pretty much have to have 2x top 5 draft picks who turn into A graders to win a flag
You can't get 2x top 5 draft picks without and extended stint in the bottom 4
And to have an extended stint in the bottom 4, you have to dish up exceptionally shitola football.

That's where we're at. The last thing I want is a rebuild that ends up in a "close, but no cigar".

So I'm happy to keep Adam "Credits trading scheme" Simpson on until the end of his contract.
Fremantle have had the same challenges but they’ve planned for those contingencies and have shelved the excuses.

yeah nah bro, we're not going anywhere just because McGovern comes back in to the side, Redden still plays and the new game plan is given more time to work.

Also, Simpson didn't develop McGovern at CHB. We got injuries and he was forced to play back. Started plucking all these marks and playing like a champion, there was no train with the backs over preseason, no backline coaching meeting or anything. Can you name me any other players that Simpson has developed?
Barrass, Shep, Yeo, Redden, Sheed, Allen, Ryan, Lycett, Cole.

That’s nine easy ones right there, all clear best 22 who were either brought in by Simmo, unsettled, playing a different position or on the fringes upon his arrival. Multiple All Aus and club champs in that list, cornerstone of the 2018 flag side almost entirely named there. Could have a think and do more than the guys who made it to the All Australian team and club champion stage but I expect you’ll have a reason for why those don’t count so no point wasting my time.

Didn’t say we’d be good when Gov comes back lol? Just said that “players got injured and he covered them to the tune of a flag, therefore he isn’t a good coach cause his best 22 didn’t actually deliver the flag” is the worst argument I’ve ever seen.

Injuries and COVID have definitely ****ed us. I think people underestimate the impact of covid on peoples bodies in the weeks after symptoms subside. I have colleagues who have been out of iso for weeks after having it and are still struggling for breath after light exercise. The impact of that happening to most of the squad a few weeks ago partially explains our performances.

But some of the issues with the squad/gameplan have been apparent for 12+ months. Was hoping to see some obvious changes with the introduction of Schofield and Knights... something needs to change asap.

Wanted Simmo over all the other coaches when Woosha left, and he rewarded us with a premiership and perhaps the most enjoyable period in our history. He will always be my favourite Eagles coach for this reason.

Unfortunately he's been heading down the same path as Woosha did by relying on stars of the past, rather than building new stars. Not completely his fault due to our poor drafting, but he hasn't been helping with his team selection either.

The last roll of the dice (Kelly trade) failed at netting us another premiership, and has probably now set us back another 3-4 years in rebuilding.

I'm all for moving Simmo on, but ONLY if we ship out the top end players and start the rebuild at the same time. If not, our top end will have retired by the time we can get enough young talent in through the draft and we will be looking at a much longer drought.

Part of me would like to see what Dean Cox can offer, but the other part of me doesn't want the "boys" club to continue. Scott Burns is another option, but he's also been at the club before.
Dean Cox would be a great appointment. The Sydney rebuild has been very impressive.

I was keen to piss Simpson off as well, but now I'd rather keep him until the end of 2023, and pay out his 2024 final year. He's coaching so poorly that we're guaranteed of bottom 4 finishes. We need at least 2 maybe 3 years on the bottom to finally get some top young talent onto the list, and Simpson almost guarantees you that.

Coaching strategy-
Make all players watch all 5 losing games back to back with a spew bucket at their feet?
Then line up at the door all the coaches, MC, fitness+development crew and let the players all give them a kick in the backside as they leave the room!
Sorted!

Injuries and COVID have definitely f’ed us. I think people underestimate the impact of covid on peoples bodies in the weeks after symptoms subside. I have colleagues who have been out of iso for weeks after having it and are still struggling for breath after light exercise. The impact of that happening to most of the squad a few weeks ago partially explains our performances.

But some of the issues with the squad/gameplan have been apparent for 12+ months. Was hoping to see some obvious changes with the introduction of Schofield and Knights... something needs to change asap.
I agree covid is having an effect on our fitness.....so why bring the senior guys back straight after recovering from covid? It's ****ing dumb credits in the bank Simmo crap

Thats the problem.

We want Simmo gone and we want draft picks and we want decent on field performances

We keep Simmo we get draft picks but garbage like yesterday

We get rid of Simmo we might spark an improvememt in the side win a few games and be mid table... worse picks

Hes laughing all the way to the bank but also his reputation as even a half decent coach is fading

1. Players should be motivated enough that they employ their own athletics coach during the “off season”.
2. Professional athletes don’t have an “off-season” - I get the feeling that most sit around doing nothing until the squad groups up and the ship had sailed for obtaining gains at that point. You’re just recovering loses.
3. Club should employ athletic based coaches - our clear weakness is repeated sprint/power efforts. Whatever program that has been in place of whatever periodisation us going on has been miles off the mark
4. with the running focus, tackling and wrestling needed to be grossly unskilled. I think it’s ability and the lack of repeat power efforts that kills this off. I.e. they may be able to tackle once but then they’re out of gas
5. Ultimately the strength and conditioning program has left an average team at the bottom of the potential barrel. It seems they have done the preseason of an amateur club. This has been consistent for a few years. Club should have recognized, not sure why half of bigfooty can but they can’t. This is where blame falls on Simpson. He needs to go to fitness guys and say we are too slow, lack endurance, or whatever it is, improve that in your next program

There is a minimum fitness requirement that all AFL clubs work to and all players have to be at that level as part of their contract not only with the club but also the players association. That fitness level is at a super high level.
How much fitter have our players got themselves past that level is where your points come in.
Match fitness is an issue for some but the biggest issue is work ethic and the want to do what is required.
That they have got away with being a team that is a poor tackling, chasing, accountabLe, pressureless group we end up where we are.
Its not that our midfield can’t run with a Clayton Oliver, it’s that they don’t want to and the coach allows them to keep playing like that, it’s his plan to play like it.
Its not that our backs can’t pick up a man, they just don’t want to so they takes the easy option of playing on their own and we all know they love playing on their own. The coach allows them to.
The players are lazy, they are not under any pressure to perform and have not been for years, they keep getting rewarded to plan unaccountable, uncontested, one way poor footy.

It simply comes back to the head coach. The message is either wrong or it’s not being listened to anymore. Either way that adds up to a massive issue which we are seeing every eeek.

If Simmo stays and somehow wins a flag in his rebuild he should and I would be so happt if he just let rip on all of us

If he can do that :raisedhands: :trophy: 🎊 🍻 🎉 I am sure we will all gladly take our comeuppance and acknowledge the error of our opinions.

Barrass, Shep, Yeo, Redden, Sheed, Allen, Ryan, Lycett, Cole.

That’s nine easy ones right there, all clear best 22 who were either brought in by Simmo, unsettled, playing a different position or on the fringes upon his arrival. Multiple All Aus and club champs in that list, cornerstone of the 2018 flag side almost entirely named there. Could have a think and do more than the guys who made it to the All Australian team and club champion stage but I expect you’ll have a reason for why those don’t count so no point wasting my time.

Didn’t say we’d be good when Gov comes back lol? Just said that “players got injured and he covered them to the tune of a flag, therefore he isn’t a good coach cause his best 22 didn’t actually deliver the flag” is the worst argument I’ve ever seen.

Best case scenario: he’s developed 1 player per year

Realistic scenario:
Barrass - an excellent footballer
Shep - was a top 10 pick, not even playing anymore
Yeo - was on his way at Brisbane, but OP or otherwise is a shell of his former self
Redden - was a better player at Brisbane, had an excellent 2018, playing his last year
Sheed - still playing like a fringe player
Allen - injuries and otherwise hasn’t continued on the progression of his first 2 years
Ryan - very good player, but lazy
Lycett - doesn’t even play for WCE and was fringe when with us
Cole - fringe, our 5th-6th picked backman

and if that’s the best he can do since 2014 that’s why we are coming last

Fremantle have had the same challenges but they’ve planned for those contingencies and have shelved the excuses.
Did they win a flag in the last 5 seasons though? And are they going to have a side that can go all the way?

You think about football on a week to week basis rather than a big picture long term basis. You're on the plebmill.

Best case scenario: he’s developed 1 player per year

Realistic scenario:
Barrass - an excellent footballer
Shep - was a top 10 pick, not even playing anymore
Yeo - was on his way at Brisbane, but OP or otherwise is a shell of his former self
Redden - was a better player at Brisbane, had an excellent 2018, playing his last year
Sheed - still playing like a fringe player
Allen - injuries and otherwise hasn’t continued on the progression of his first 2 years
Ryan - very good player, but lazy
Lycett - doesn’t even play for WCE and was fringe when with us
Cole - fringe, our 5th-6th picked backman

and if that’s the best he can do since 2014 that’s why we are coming last
And there it is.

“Name one player he’s developed.”
“Here’s ten.”
“None of them count and most of them aren’t even playing well in 2022, so therefore he didn’t develop them from 2014 onwards.”

Amazing and unbelievably predictable stuff. The ones that he developed who are stars are too good to count and the ones who he turned into weekly B22 options are fringe so don’t count.

My favourite one was he didn’t develop Tom Barrass because he’s an excellent footballer and he didn’t develop Brad Sheppard because he was a top 10 pick and is now retired. Premium content.

Thats the problem.

We want Simmo gone and we want draft picks and we want decent on field performances

We keep Simmo we get draft picks but garbage like yesterday

We get rid of Simmo we might spark an improvememt in the side win a few games and be mid table... worse picks

Hes laughing all the way to the bank but also his reputation as even a half decent coach is fading
Not really, most of us (outside the club) understand we're rebuilding.
I'm not wanting wins while we do, I just want to see effort and glimpses of future greatness from a heap of young guys.

Not really, most of us (outside the club) understand we're rebuilding.
I'm not wanting wins while we do, I just want to see effort and glimpses of future greatness from a heap of young guys.
thats what I meant. I reckon most of us would be happy to take honorable losses for the next 2-3 years if theres a core group of decent kids coming through

The losses are way more horrible than honorable