Coach Adam Simpson Megathread est. 2017 - Staying for 2024, Lyon’s Cryin’

Will Simpson be Head Coach at WCE in 2024

This is an abject lie.

Simpson is a premiership coach. That, alone, qualifies him as a success. When we went searching for a coach after Woosha left, our criteria was based on the capacity (judged by us) of the candidate leading us to a premiership. Because Simpson led us to a flag in 2018, that means his recruitment was a successful one. He led us to the goal that football clubs seek to achieve.

Now this doesn‘t mean he’s a fantastic coach, or places him among the greats, but he is as far as possible from a “massive failure”.

Simmo was the right coach when appointed, as Woosha had sucked the life out of the players, supporters and the club in general.

Just as it was time for Woosha to go, its time for Simmo to go as he has all the characteristics of a melting icecream.

This is an abject lie.

Simpson is a premiership coach. That, alone, qualifies him as a success. When we went searching for a coach after Woosha left, our criteria was based on the capacity (judged by us) of the candidate leading us to a premiership. Because Simpson led us to a flag in 2018, that means his recruitment was a successful one. He led us to the goal that football clubs seek to achieve.

Now this doesn‘t mean he’s a fantastic coach, or places him among the greats, but he is as far as possible from a “massive failure”.

I said he is a failure since climbing the mountain. Not a failure as a coach.

Simpson crying in the coaches box in the last quarter tells the tale. He's out of tricks, can't work out why things are so bad and he knows it's over. Why drag it out any longer? Get something out of the year by giving someone else a chance. Don't become known as the coach of the worst era in Eagles history

I don't place the blame entirely on Simmo.
Yes, he could stop playing senior players that are underperforming but bringing in mediocre WAFL players isn't a magic tonic either.

Bucks on Fox Footy a few weeks ago talked about getting players to play differently in his last couple years at the Pies and his point was that its bloody difficult trying to get players to adjust to playstyles they're uncomfortable with or aren't their first instinct.
If you don't have the cattle, like WC right now, then there are certain playstyles that just aren't possible.
That seems to be the WC situation as it stands.

There are times where it seems the team is trying to play more attacking corridor footy.
But the mids just don't run hard enough to make it work. And then once that fails, you can see the players lose confidence and revert to looking for quick kicks to any player they see (or just blind bombs), or in two minds about how to proceed once they have possession, which results in a turnover. I've not seen a game where the players are able to consistently win through the middle and have good options forward. When we are able to work it forward, it's slow and then kicked to laughably outmanned KPFs.

We messed up (and that's okay).
The list is in a diabolical state and it's been mostly our own doing. In 2019 we were 1 year from having jagged a premiership and thought adding Kelly to our premiership team for another crack was worthwhile. I can agree with that, because:
1. Kelly had been playing out of his skin for 2 years, and
2. nobody could've imagined Covid would occur and our premiership players would fail to get anywhere near 2018 form again.
Even now, on paper, a midfield of Shuey, Yeo, Kelly, Redden, and Gaff sounds like it should operate at a level far above where it is in reality. A lack of mental fortitude over Covid, and then the horrible start to 2022 has robbed the players of any dreams of having another crack. Another crack that we threw the kitchen sink at. This is the crux of the issue and why I don't place the blame purely on Simmo.

The club will reassess at the end of the year, if not earlier, and fully commit to a rebuild.

I don't place the blame entirely on Simmo.
Yes, he could stop playing senior players that are underperforming but bringing in mediocre WAFL players isn't a magic tonic either.

Bucks on Fox Footy a few weeks ago talked about getting players to play differently in his last couple years at the Pies and his point was that its bloody difficult trying to get players to adjust to playstyles they're uncomfortable with or aren't their first instinct.
If you don't have the cattle, like WC right now, then there are certain playstyles that just aren't possible.
That seems to be the WC situation as it stands.

There are times where it seems the team is trying to play more attacking corridor footy.
But the mids just don't run hard enough to make it work. And then once that fails, you can see the players lose confidence and revert to looking for quick kicks to any player they see (or just blind bombs), or in two minds about how to proceed once they have possession, which results in a turnover. I've not seen a game where the players are able to consistently win through the middle and have good options forward. When we are able to work it forward, it's slow and then kicked to laughably outmanned KPFs.

We messed up (and that's okay).
The list is in a diabolical state and it's been mostly our own doing. In 2019 we were 1 year from having jagged a premiership and thought adding Kelly to our premiership team for another crack was worthwhile. I can agree with that, because:
1. Kelly had been playing out of his skin for 2 years, and
2. nobody could've imagined Covid would occur and our premiership players would fail to get anywhere near 2018 form again.
Even now, on paper, a midfield of Shuey, Yeo, Kelly, Redden, and Gaff sounds like it should operate at a level far above where it is in reality. A lack of mental fortitude over Covid, and then the horrible start to 2022 has robbed the players of any dreams of having another crack. Another crack that we threw the kitchen sink at. This is the crux of the issue and why I don't place the blame purely on Simmo.

The club will reassess at the end of the year, if not earlier, and fully commit to a rebuild.

The new Collingwood coach has had no trouble at all getting his players to play a new way. It is not that hard.

Didn't write this for this thread but wasn't fast enough to reply to a few comments responding to me saying Simpson inherited to a large degree the 2015/2018 sides. For whats its worth I don't really care if he see's out his contract or not, we're due a spell on the bottom and the way we are playing at the moment is a reap what you sow situation that basically goes with the territory.

Waste not want not though. My response HoneyBadger35

I don't think its all that harsh. The 2011/2012 finals team of Kennedy, Darling forward, Nic, Shuey Gaff mid are kind of still the most significant senior players. Cripps was delisted by Saint Kilda, Wellingham played one good season [2015] but couldn't hit the side of a barn by foot, Hill couldn't string 2 games together without being dropped for out of form Le Cras or Cripps coming back from injury. His most significant post Worsfold players to come on were Gov and Yeo, one of which was already there and the other recruited before he arrived. Jetta was always coming home in 2015 and spend most of his career with us being Simpsons whipping boy. Reddon has turned out ok when we've had injuries but never should of been recruited imo. With the youth it seems that basically he decides before you arrive if you are a player or not and then for the likes of Duggan, Nelson, Venners the first 50-100 senior game's are free and if your not a Simmo certified "good player" you might as well not unpack your bags. Duggan is a Simpson player, came on.

For me though injuries and luck basically account for 2015 and 2018, given a full and fit side I think Simpson achieves less in his best years. Brown and Mackenzie don't blow their ACL's and that Gov never happens, Shep and Hurn probably don't come on. Notice that as soon as those 2 guys were available to play again in 2016 he stuffed all our structures up again trying to play them all in the same team. In 2018 Gaff would of played starting mid in the GF and without Schofield filling in for Shep we probably never get that win. I would say that for the entirety of his reign, the best we've seen out of the boys has been from sides that look quite significantly different from Simpsons best 22. Thats a footnote that shouldn't be there for a great coach.

I reckon Rioli is Simpsons most inspired and best recruit, and probably the only addition to the club that improved the Worsfold era core group significantly. Obviously the list didn't freeze in time and there was turnover but role players are role players. Ryan was massive for us too but really a no brainer at that point and probably should of been recruited earlier. Honestly without the Rioli ban Simmo probably snags another Premiership and goes down as our best coach. He got unlucky, his other stars aged out, and now we are a rabble. Pretty much a one trick pony though isn't he? The strategy is "Have All Australian talent on every line, back them in week in and week out for a decade regardless of how they are travelling and on balance you'll win more than you lose." Worked a charm that one time, almost worked twice. There doesn't seem to be much of a plan outside of that though. I don't see any evidence that he's the type of coach that massively influences the growth, performance and career of middling players. Have stars, get stars, play stars, everyone else is expendable and belongs in the WAFL seems closer to the mark. Good work if you can get it.

I will say though that despite his faults, in terms of individual stars I don't think I've enjoyed watching any Eagles era as much as this one and will remember Simpson's side for being a throwback to simpler and better times. Great FF, CHF, RUCK, CHB and FB and a smattering of gifted small forwards and defenders, with a beast mode Yeo the only highlight in the midfield. When up and about its a joy to watch and probably any other coach in the last 10 years would of traded away all those great talls for a fleet of midfielders and played a running game. Kick mark was glorious. Thanks for the memories Simmo, your selection policies were absolutely diabolical and have no place in any kind of an organisation that prides itself for having elite standards. But, glorious when on and will always have a soft spot for the highs that came from the abject stubbornness of this approach.

The new Collingwood coach has had no trouble at all getting his players to play a new way. It is not that hard.
Agreed. Too much baggage with the current coach/football department/current players. It's akin to a toxic workplace - both management and existing staff need to be cleaned out (obviously you'll need to keep the players who model the behaviours that you want the team to carry forward) or else the baggage gets passed on to the new players.

Collingwood had the advantage of having their injection of youth at around the same time Buckley moved on. Our club, on the other hand, have been in denial since the problems became very apparent (Doggies, Saints, and Cats games early last season).

Hopefully this will be the kick up the bum the club needs to figure out its goals and start taking steps towards it.

Didn't write this for this thread but wasn't fast enough to reply to a few comments responding to me saying Simpson inherited to a large degree the 2015/2018 sides. For whats its worth I don't really care if he see's out his contract or not, we're due a spell on the bottom and the way we are playing at the moment is a reap what you sow situation that basically goes with the territory.

Waste not want not though. My response HoneyBadger35

I don't think its all that harsh. The 2011/2012 finals team of Kennedy, Darling forward, Nic, Shuey Gaff mid are kind of still the most significant senior players. Cripps was delisted by Saint Kilda, Wellingham played one good season [2015] but couldn't hit the side of a barn by foot, Hill couldn't string 2 games together without being dropped for out of form Le Cras or Cripps coming back from injury. His most significant post Worsfold players to come on were Gov and Yeo, one of which was already there and the other recruited before he arrived. Jetta was always coming home in 2015 and spend most of his career with us being Simpsons whipping boy. Reddon has turned out ok when we've had injuries but never should of been recruited imo. With the youth it seems that basically he decides before you arrive if you are a player or not and then for the likes of Duggan, Nelson, Venners the first 50-100 senior game's are free and if your not a Simmo certified "good player" you might as well not unpack your bags. Duggan is a Simpson player, came on.

For me though injuries and luck basically account for 2015 and 2018, given a full and fit side I think Simpson achieves less in his best years. Brown and Mackenzie don't blow their ACL's and that Gov never happens, Shep and Hurn probably don't come on. Notice that as soon as those 2 guys were available to play again in 2016 he stuffed all our structures up again trying to play them all in the same team. In 2018 Gaff would of played starting mid in the GF and without Schofield filling in for Shep we probably never get that win. I would say that for the entirety of his reign, the best we've seen out of the boys has been from sides that look quite significantly different from Simpsons best 22. Thats a footnote that shouldn't be there for a great coach.

I reckon Rioli is Simpsons most inspired and best recruit, and probably the only addition to the club that improved the Worsfold era core group significantly. Obviously the list didn't freeze in time and there was turnover but role players are role players. Ryan was massive for us too but really a no brainer at that point and probably should of been recruited earlier. Honestly without the Rioli ban Simmo probably snags another Premiership and goes down as our best coach. He got unlucky, his other stars aged out, and now we are a rabble. Pretty much a one trick pony though isn't he? The strategy is "Have All Australian talent on every line, back them in week in and week out for a decade regardless of how they are travelling and on balance you'll win more than you lose." Worked a charm that one time, almost worked twice. There doesn't seem to be much of a plan outside of that though. I don't see any evidence that he's the type of coach that massively influences the growth, performance and career of middling players. Have stars, get stars, play stars, everyone else is expendable and belongs in the WAFL seems closer to the mark. Good work if you can get it.

I will say though that despite his faults, in terms of individual stars I don't think I've enjoyed watching any Eagles era as much as this one and will remember Simpson's side for being a throwback to simpler and better times. Great FF, CHF, RUCK, CHB and FB and a smattering of gifted small forwards and defenders, with a beast mode Yeo the only highlight in the midfield. When up and about its a joy to watch and probably any other coach in the last 10 years would of traded away all those great talls for a fleet of midfielders and played a running game. Kick mark was glorious. Thanks for the memories Simmo, your selection policies were absolutely diabolical and have no place in any kind of an organisation that prides itself for having elite standards. But, glorious when on and will always have a soft spot for the highs that came from the abject stubbornness of this approach.

Stopped reading at injuries and luck. Simmo’s a bad coach because, when B22 players got injured, he covered their losses with other players.

Would never have won a flag with our best 22, but Redden (player of the finals 2018) should never have been recruited cause he’s only good when we have injuries.

Can’t develop players but #blessed EMac and Mitch Brown got hurt because it forced him to develop Gov.

Having Gov and other All Aus talents available means you can’t actually be a good coach cause you’re riding your stars and that’s easy.

A pleasure as always Moose, lap up the loss and enjoy your night.

Stopped reading at injuries and luck. Simmo’s a bad coach because, when B22 players got injured, he covered their losses with other players.

Would never have won a flag with our best 22, but Redden (player of the finals 2018) should never have been recruited cause he’s only good when we have injuries.

Can’t develop players but #blessed EMac and Mitch Brown got hurt because it forced him to develop Gov.

Having Gov and other All Aus talents available means you can’t actually be a good coach cause you’re riding your stars and that’s easy.

Sheesh. Might of been a different response if you had actually read what I wrote since I listed more about what I enjoyed of his approach than what I don't, and on today of all days. Always been more your style put words in other's mouths and make up nonsense attacks though, refreshing to see nothing changes after taking a backseat for a while. Haters gunna hate I guess. You do you though Badge, keep fighting the baddies in your fantasy world and telling yourself everyone hates the team except for you and supports it the wrong way except for you. Go tone police someone else, and be sure to enjoy the moral superiority. I'm sure this'll be a great season for you.

Anyway, for those not buying into the mod slurs, personally I'm not even thinking about Simmo's tenure because its not going to happen. And the loss doesn't bother me at all as I'm focusing on other stuff this season like enjoying JK's quest to hit 700 goals, Rioli's comeback, my boy Langdon cementing his place in the 22, youth coming in for injuries, Yeo and Kelly and West attending centre bounces together, Gov winding the clock back, several other things. Barrass, Edwards Boys, Witho's kickouts. Having appreciation for Darling after wanting him traded for the past 7 years and finally realising he's definitely going to be a one team player. Plenty to enjoy, and nice to not have to worry about the 4 points every week and sit bottom. We've been up for a long time. Windows closed at the moment. Wins are bonuses, losses are a bit of a laugh. Embrace.

I genuinely have so much time for Adam Simpson, has done a great job for the club and appears to be a genuinely good person, with good values and morals.

However, since 2018, the amount of times I have heard him talk around our lack of effort and intensity after a game is completely unparalleled in the competition, and it’s been happening for four years.

Effort and intensity, at this level, should be the bare minimum, and shouldn’t have to be questioned. And the amount of games I have watched us get smashed due to what I consider to be lack of effort is unacceptable. It’s been telling me for a while that we need to change the leadership.

I hoped that the change up in coaching set up this season would provide a positive impact, but the same issues are evident, although we have been screwed by Covid. That said, I go back to effort, and the two best performances this season have been when when we had reserves or wafl players busting a gut.

Overhaul needs to start now, and unfortunately I think it needs to start at the top of the football department.

We were promised a ‘solid review’ after the diabolical end to last season. Trouble is I’ve not seen my evidence of a solid review backed up by action.

A couple of new assistant coaches but what else has changed?

I don’t recall seeing Sim
I genuinely have so much time for Adam Simpson, has done a great job for the club and appears to be a genuinely good person, with good values and morals.

However, since 2018, the amount of times I have heard him talk around our lack of effort and intensity after a game is completely unparalleled in the competition, and it’s been happening for four years.

Effort and intensity, at this level, should be the bare minimum, and shouldn’t have to be questioned. And the amount of games I have watched us get smashed due to what I consider to be lack of effort is unacceptable. It’s been telling me for a while that we need to change the leadership.

I hoped that the change up in coaching set up this season would provide a positive impact, but the same issues are evident, although we have been screwed by Covid. That said, I go back to effort, and the two best performances this season have been when when we had reserves or wafl players busting a gut.

Overhaul needs to start now, and unfortunately I think it needs to start at the top of the football department.

That’s a brilliant post. Welcome :)
You have summed it up. I have a lot of time for Simmo and he will be forever a WCE legend with the flag and his efforts for most of his tenure.

But the lack of effort, repeatedly is what is just so hard to accept and so disappointing. The why and how. Something is not right. And unfortunately, he (Simmo) is not showing that he can rectify it.

Id like to think we can show some improvement and stabilise our performances to a somewhat acceptable level. Big changes will be happening by/at seasons end. They have to.

In his presser - in the same sentence in fact - he said you have to pick your fittest team and ALSO that there’s some guys you’ve got no choice but to play.

Which one is it, Simmo? You can’t have it both ways.

Yay we won a flag with Simpson but he is killing his image for Eagles fans.

I for one couldnt care less if he goes and the flag now is ancient history.

Despite not winning flags malthouse and Woosh kept us relatively competitive until departure. If Simpson can turn things around before he departs then theres a chance he'll be looked upon more favourably than now

So the apologists who are backing in Simmo and saying we cannot read anything into the start of 2022, I thought it worth adding a placeholder for what are seen as the top 7 indicators or where a team are at.

After 5 rounds-

West Coast​

Points against: 15th
Opposition score per inside 50: 14th
Points against from turnovers: 16th
Points from turnovers differential: 17th
Defensive 50 to inside 50 transition: 18th
Inside 50 differential: 18th
Time in forward half: 18th

I don't have the Champion Data for 2021 but suspect this is not a 2022 (when we can blame Covid/Injury) but most of what we have seen has been coming for a while.

There is some credit to backing in your leaders to turn it around. What I cannot understand is why you would think you can back in half ready senior players who cannot run out quarters let alone matches and think they can turn it around.

That paints a very bleak picture of any Finals aspirations we might have had ..

Wanted Simmo over all the other coaches when Woosha left, and he rewarded us with a premiership and perhaps the most enjoyable period in our history. He will always be my favourite Eagles coach for this reason.

Unfortunately he's been heading down the same path as Woosha did by relying on stars of the past, rather than building new stars. Not completely his fault due to our poor drafting, but he hasn't been helping with his team selection either.

The last roll of the dice (Kelly trade) failed at netting us another premiership, and has probably now set us back another 3-4 years in rebuilding.

I'm all for moving Simmo on, but ONLY if we ship out the top end players and start the rebuild at the same time. If not, our top end will have retired by the time we can get enough young talent in through the draft and we will be looking at a much longer drought.

Part of me would like to see what Dean Cox can offer, but the other part of me doesn't want the "boys" club to continue. Scott Burns is another option, but he's also been at the club before.

As he has 2 years to run on his contract that is more than likely what will happen. We have seen this movie before.

Greatest ever head coach? Is that based on stats? Games won? That might be correct purely on stats but this is one thing stats don't look at.
When you reached the top how long did you stay there, how did you go following reaching the top? Based on that he is a massive failure.

It is of course all opinion though.

Simpson still has a good coaching record.

Probably should have had another shot at the flag if Rioli hadn't of been pulled out of the finals.

It's hard to get a handle on the Eagles this year because of the Covid and injuries.

Yes need a rebuild, yes need some top end talent. Time to bottom out and pick up those
young classy mids.

Would have been good to see the new game plan without the club being compromised this year.

Far too many questionable performances over the last couple of years.

2021:

Rd 4: 5.1 to 0.1 in the last quarter to lose a winnable game vs St Kilda
Rd 6: non competitive vs Geelong at Kardinia Park
Rd 15: non competitive vs Bulldogs at home
Rd 16: non competitive vs Sydney at Kardinia Park
Rd 17: lost to wooden spooner North at home
Rd 20: non competitive vs runner up spooner Collingwood

2022:

Rd 3: non competitive vs Freo
Rd 5: non competitive vs Sydney at home
Rd 6: non competitive vs Port

You win some you lose some and each game has its own circumstances. I'm certainly not going to roast the club for losing in Rd 1 or 2 this year, but what we've dished up in 3 of the other 4 games so far has been dreadful. If it was a once off you'd say 'ah well COVID and injuries' but it's been building bit by bit since 2019. Last year we went to Kardinia Park, twice, and lost by 15 goals, twice. For a team that has sights even on a top 8 finish we should be able to travel to venue without losing by 90. Far too often we just sit there and concede 5, 6, 7+ goals in a quarter. 8 goals to 2 in the last quarter vs Gold Coast, 8 goals to 1 from the third until we got some junk goals in the last vs Freo, 8-0 vs Sydney and 10-1 to start the game, 11 in a row vs Port today... and they were last on the ladder!

I watched some of Freo vs Carlton tonight and the intensity from both teams was levels above us. I don't either team will challenge for the flag this year but both are in the mix to play finals. We're so far off the pace at the moment it's alarming.

Far too many questionable performances over the last couple of years.

2021:

Rd 4: 5.1 to 0.1 in the last quarter to lose a winnable game vs St Kilda
Rd 6: non competitive vs Geelong at Kardinia Park
Rd 15: non competitive vs Bulldogs at home
Rd 16: non competitive vs Sydney at Kardinia Park
Rd 17: lost to wooden spooner North at home
Rd 20: non competitive vs runner up spooner Collingwood

2022:

Rd 3: non competitive vs Freo
Rd 5: non competitive vs Sydney at home
Rd 6: non competitive vs Port

You win some you lose some and each game has its own circumstances. I'm certainly not going to roast the club for losing in Rd 1 or 2 this year, but what we've dished up in 3 of the other 4 games so far has been dreadful. If it was a once off you'd say 'ah well COVID and injuries' but it's been building bit by bit since 2019. Last year we went to Kardinia Park, twice, and lost by 15 goals, twice. For a team that has sights even on a top 8 finish we should be able to travel to venue without losing by 90. Far too often we just sit there and concede 5, 6, 7+ goals in a quarter. 8 goals to 2 in the last quarter vs Gold Coast, 8 goals to 1 from the third until we got some junk goals in the last vs Freo, 8-0 vs Sydney and 10-1 to start the game, 11 in a row vs Port today... and they were last on the ladder!

I watched some of Freo vs Carlton tonight and the intensity from both teams was levels above us. I don't either team will challenge for the flag this year but both are in the mix to play finals. We're so far off the pace at the moment it's alarming.
In before a peanut says give the new game plan time to work

yeah nah bro, we're not going anywhere just because McGovern comes back in to the side, Redden still plays and the new game plan is given more time to work.

Also, Simpson didn't develop McGovern at CHB. We got injuries and he was forced to play back. Started plucking all these marks and playing like a champion, there was no train with the backs over preseason, no backline coaching meeting or anything. Can you name me any other players that Simpson has developed?