News Adelaide Crows Camp Allegations and Rumors

I'm impressed that people could watch our subsequent downward spiral into a need for a cultural overhaul, mass sackings, player exodus and the worst finishing positioning in the history of the club and still downplay it

CEO not involved at all?

He's either complicit or clueless as to the goings on in his football club. I'm not sure which I prefer.
If this article is to be believed, the club doctors and welfare staff were kept in the dark.

If that is the case, everyone needs to go

I'm impressed that people could watch our subsequent downward spiral into a need for a cultural overhaul, mass sackings, player exodus and the worst finishing positioning in the history of the club and still downplay it
Thank you. It’s ****ing mind boggling.

Was going to say I reckon I’ve seen or heard that before.
Yep

Was around the time we wheeled Sloane out for his husband of the year speech, and just after Tex's instruction to stay quiet about the camp was leaked

I dispute that it's even remotely as serious an issue as you're claiming.

"C'mon Tom, take a drink of water and get back into it. Push through, don't be soft."

Oh, he's actually come with an illness and needs a doctor. Better get the doc to drive up from the hotel and give Lynchy a few days off.

THAT'S your idea of a smoking gun?
The smoking gun is that the club divulged sensitive personal information about the players to snake oil pseudoscientists who used said information against them.

That aspect is totally disgraceful and unacceptable. Whoever divulged that info should be named and shamed, then banned for life from the industry

Tend to agree... Given how quickly it all blew over and the fact that there was very little fallout, no changes, clearly no lingering issues between players and admin, and our stellar on field results since.
No lingering issues and Hamstring awareness

The two most memorable Adelaide Crows quotes from that time

Many do not get it unless it's about them it seems. The biggest point or issue is how staff absolutely burnt players with passing on private sensitive info on past events, abuse etc. How can you not get that? Yet still continue to question "hurr why does everyone look so disinterested, dispirited etc?" Think about it. Other things that happened at the camp (and then after it) added to it.

That is unforgivable and what makes relationships and say a footy club disintegrate before your very eyes. I said about hearing about this a long time ago but the club protectors knew better.

We also need a clean out of some others involved at that time and involved in our general mess, to move on.

I would like to keep Fagan as CEO. In terms of fundraising he is doing a good job.

He put too much faith in Roo. Given he has no experience in Aussie Rules I will forgive.
Fagan's good outweighs the bad.

Roo and Chapman gotta go

Chapman been there too long.

Roo is just not smart enough for the responsibilities he has at our club.

Board members should not be involved in day to day running if the club. Employed professional staff are there for that.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

So, all of those people outside the club that thought we should harden up and were mentally frail, are they now also claiming their own complicity in this? It was a widely held view in the media and by those who support the club.

Sorry, but we've had three years of smoke and mirrors about the camp. You saying "what I've learned through other avenues" just adds to the layer of gossip that's always surrounded this event from three years ago.

Frankly, I found it hard to read that article and not think "all of these attacks for the last three years, and over that?"
Talk about Stockholm syndrome with you...

Of course we all thought our squad was mentally weak. They had shown that many times. The concern is the unprofessional and just plain stupid manner in which the club addressed it.

You call it "gossip" yet I doubt you've done a single thing to educate yourself on the methods used by CM in their programs. It's easier just to put your hands over your ears and yell "not listening".

The club already had a squad that was unified by a tragic event. They had a platform to build some real mental steel into the squad but instead they chose some idiot who came back from Burning Man with a great idea to reinvent himself, to break the squad open with discredited pseudo psychology. And then the club doubled down by backing the program in when the players had concerns.

As Drugs said earlier, that's some amazing mental gymnastics your performing, to convince yourself that there's really nothing to see here.

Vic Media just absolutely love kicking us while we are down. The absolute entrenched bitterness and hatred they have of us is truly remarkable.

That being said, Roo and Chapman need to go. We need fresh inspired leadership at the top.

So, all of those people outside the club that thought we should harden up and were mentally frail, are they now also claiming their own complicity in this? It was a widely held view in the media and by those who support the club.

There are ways to address this. A nuclear bomb is not one of them.

This camp went well beyond getting a bunch of footballers to "harden up".

Sorry, but we've had three years of smoke and mirrors about the camp. You saying "what I've learned through other avenues" just adds to the layer of gossip that's always surrounded this event from three years ago.

Mate, I'm not one to come on here with BS rumours to soothe my ego. Believe me or not, I don't care. I'm simply explaining the basis for my concerns/opinions and they're not simply based upon what has been reported.

Frankly, I found it hard to read that article and not think "all of these attacks for the last three years, and over that?"

Mate, its understandable that you probably don't understand how dangerous it is to mess around with personal past traumas including "Childhood trauma" and "domestic abuse". Not to mention that much of this information simply shouldn't have been known by the facilitators. Players with such past trauma's probably qualify as having PTSD and if they didn't, they may do now. This is not shit that you mess around with and to do so shows a complete lack of understanding of psychology/mental health. Collective Mind have no psychologists on their employ, Woulf is a MBA...

What's really more concerning is that we kept the details from medical staff. Did we know they wouldn't approve and thus excluded them? Or were we just too incompetent to do our own due diligence?

Vic Media just absolutely love kicking us while we are down. The absolute entrenched bitterness and hatred they have of us is truly remarkable.

That being said, Roo and Chapman need to go. We need fresh inspired leadership at the top.

That may be so, but boy do we love to keep providing them the steel capped boots.

Tend to agree... Given how quickly it all blew over and the fact that there was very little fallout, no changes, clearly no lingering issues between players and admin, and our stellar on field results since.
Yeah, and there's no other reason that an aging playing group that had injury problems, a substandard coaching group, a playing style that was found out and players continually leaving for money could have for doing badly.

It must have been that guy in fancy dress and the heavy metal music.

Yeah, clearly people thought the camp was a good idea, and they didn't spend two years calling for Burton to be sacked.

Was going to say I reckon I’ve seen or heard that before.
Considering the level of hyperbole against the Crows in the rest of McClure's article and previous reporting, I can't imagine he just he just stuck a Gibbs quote against McClure's own club into the article to do the Crows a favour.

It’s a baffling thing to add to the article that’s for sure

The smoking gun is that the club divulged sensitive personal information about the players to snake oil pseudoscientists who used said information against them.

That aspect is totally disgraceful and unacceptable. Whoever divulged that info should be named and shamed, then banned for life from the industry
Read the article. It says that the personal abuse came from the other players in the exercise.

Shit idea, sure. But I don't see how you go from that to the club possible leaking personal info to Collective Minds. Why a player thought that isn't ever explained, and it isn't proven in the article other than an ex-player believed it to be true.

Full Metal Jacket doesn't work these days.
Agreed.

I just think it's the difference between something that was the wrong thing to try, and something that is still a national Sports scandal three years later

News Adelaide Crows Camp Allegations and Rumors