A win's a win in finals. Fact.Only a Port supporter could wear an underdog status in a home final (after finishing top 4) as a badge of honour
I find it mental how people have been banging on about how game breaking their system is.From a match play perspective, Port denied Hawks a lot of time and space off half back and wing. The decision to apply a hard tag on DAmbrosio was in the end a good decision.
Hawks backline stood up against admittedly poor quality inside 50s but there was a heap of them one stage. I've always found Scrimshaw a tad overrated by Hawthorn supporters, but he was excellent last night standing up and repeatedly taking good marks.
Lloyd Meek in many respects is one of the real stories at Hawthorn this year. Another very good performance.
The difference in Ports application and preparedness to tackle was stark to what they dished up the previous week. I don't know how they vary so much within a week but that seems to be their way. I can't see them getting past Swans next week
Oh! the one where the Hawthorn captain ignored his retiring player so he could have a sook at the oppo coach? That one
Not honour, but fact based on an entire AFL supporter base.Only a Port supporter could wear an underdog status in a home final (after finishing top 4) as a badge of honour
Agree. The only tissues required were in the commentary boxes. How were hodge and Lewis? They were actually the funniest part of the whole scenarioHe wasn't having a sook (didn't see any tissues!)
He was rightfully giving Kenny a rev up before Kenny's acceptance of the Jock McHale medal after the 2024 grand final
says who?Giv is classified as a kid now lol?
Guy is a goose
Needs to pull his head in the w***er
Ports game plan is pretty crap for finals, but last night they did one thing right, when they could get numbers to the ball they were manic, but when they were caught one on one they refused to go to the ball carrier but corralled them into holding onto the ball rather than the handball over the top. Bought time to get more numbers back.I find it mental how people have been banging on about how game breaking their system is.
“Hokball” is literally switch the ball and spread the field. It’s pretty basic footy. Works against shit teams that can’t keep up but when you run into sides that can shut it down, that also have more elite talent than you, then you’re f*cked.
HAHAHAHA a Collingwood fan posting this is beyond perfection.Maybe they just think you're w***ers not villians
C'mon, noses put out of joint, expect this and probably some suspensions for tackles with potential to cause harm.Now the AFL are going to investigate. FFS, just leave it alone. words were exchanged, Kenny apologised, move on.
Yeah, it was more than a little embarrassing. Coaches who lose Grand Finals by a point can keep it together a lot better.Mitchell was nearly in tears in his presser.
Yeah your gameplan last night was very interesting. You seemed to identify that getting the ball forward at all costs was the way to go. Very little handball chains or possession football and a lot of long kicks that didn’t always work out. But the intent was clear, get it out of the area and send it long forward as soon as you got the ball.Ports game plan is pretty crap for finals, but last night they did one thing right, when they could get numbers to the ball they were manic, but when they were caught one on one they refused to go to the ball carrier but corralled them into holding onto the ball rather than the handball over the top. Bought time to get more numbers back.
Sensational tactics.
Hodge, Mitchell and Lewis were all part of the "unsociable hawks" era.Mitchell forgetting what an antagonistic little flog he was?
True, with an opponent who loves to run in waves at pace forward it makes a lot of sense.Yeah your gameplan last night was very interesting. You seemed to identify that getting the ball forward at all costs was the way to go. Very little handball chains or possession football and a lot of long kicks that didn’t always work out. But the intent was clear, get it out of the area and send it long forward as soon as you got the ball.
And it workedYeah your gameplan last night was very interesting. You seemed to identify that getting the ball forward at all costs was the way to go. Very little handball chains or possession football and a lot of long kicks that didn’t always work out. But the intent was clear, get it out of the area and send it long forward as soon as you got the ball.
So why is Mitchell and Sicily having a sook about it then?For the 1200th time for the smooth brains in the back. Ginnivan laughed the whole way through, it's banter, GG Port, onto 2025. Painting Hawks as villains to held you sleep better? Go for it!
For the 1200th time for the smooth brains in the back. Ginnivan laughed the whole way through, it's banter, GG Port, onto 2025. Painting Hawks as villains to held you sleep better? Go for it!
No, he was playing the hurt teary coach thing. Coming from Mitchell its truly funny. Everyone else in footy land can see the joke. The joke is Mitchells sooky response.He wasn't having a sook (didn't see any tissues!)
He was rightfully giving Kenny a rev up before Kenny's acceptance of the Jock McHale medal after the 2024 grand final
The Hawks always have been like this.Hodge, Mitchell and Lewis were all part of the "unsociable hawks" era.
Turns out they can dish it out but can't cop the return serve.
They all massive hypocrites