Autopsy AFL 2024 Second Semi Final - Port v Hawks Fri Sept 13th 7:40pm EST/7:10pm CST (AO) Teams in OP

Who will win and by how much?

• Port by a goal or less

Votes: 14 6.0%
  • Hawks by a goal or less

Votes: 7 3.0%
  • Port by 7 - 20

Votes: 39 16.7%
  • Hawks by 7 - 20

Votes: 71 30.3%
  • Port by a lot

Votes: 12 5.1%
  • Hawks by a lot

Votes: 89 38.0%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 0.9%

From a match play perspective, Port denied Hawks a lot of time and space off half back and wing. The decision to apply a hard tag on DAmbrosio was in the end a good decision.

Hawks backline stood up against admittedly poor quality inside 50s but there was a heap of them one stage. I've always found Scrimshaw a tad overrated by Hawthorn supporters, but he was excellent last night standing up and repeatedly taking good marks.

Lloyd Meek in many respects is one of the real stories at Hawthorn this year. Another very good performance.

The difference in Ports application and preparedness to tackle was stark to what they dished up the previous week. I don't know how they vary so much within a week but that seems to be their way. I can't see them getting past Swans next week
I find it mental how people have been banging on about how game breaking their system is.

“Hokball” is literally switch the ball and spread the field. It’s pretty basic footy. Works against shit teams that can’t keep up but when you run into sides that can shut it down, that also have more elite talent than you, then you’re f*cked.

Oh! the one where the Hawthorn captain ignored his retiring player so he could have a sook at the oppo coach? That one ;)

He wasn't having a sook (didn't see any tissues!)
He was rightfully giving Kenny a rev up before Kenny's acceptance of the Jock McHale medal after the 2024 grand final ;)

Agree. The only tissues required were in the commentary boxes. How were hodge and Lewis? They were actually the funniest part of the whole scenario🤣🤣

I find it mental how people have been banging on about how game breaking their system is.

“Hokball” is literally switch the ball and spread the field. It’s pretty basic footy. Works against shit teams that can’t keep up but when you run into sides that can shut it down, that also have more elite talent than you, then you’re f*cked.
Ports game plan is pretty crap for finals, but last night they did one thing right, when they could get numbers to the ball they were manic, but when they were caught one on one they refused to go to the ball carrier but corralled them into holding onto the ball rather than the handball over the top. Bought time to get more numbers back.
Sensational tactics.

For all the goddam precious souls out there taking offence or being upset about how Ken reacted, grow up. Baby Jack made his bed and James Sicily should have just stood back and worn it. Port absolutely used that comment as motivation and Hawthorn were let down by a player mouthing off.

Take some responsibility for the holes you dig.

Mitchell was nearly in tears in his presser.
Yeah, it was more than a little embarrassing. Coaches who lose Grand Finals by a point can keep it together a lot better.

And besides, it would have been absolute robbery if they pinched it at the death, after being so badly outplayed for much of the game, and being kept in it by some umpire charity goals.

They hardly deserved it.

Ports game plan is pretty crap for finals, but last night they did one thing right, when they could get numbers to the ball they were manic, but when they were caught one on one they refused to go to the ball carrier but corralled them into holding onto the ball rather than the handball over the top. Bought time to get more numbers back.
Sensational tactics.
Yeah your gameplan last night was very interesting. You seemed to identify that getting the ball forward at all costs was the way to go. Very little handball chains or possession football and a lot of long kicks that didn’t always work out. But the intent was clear, get it out of the area and send it long forward as soon as you got the ball.

Mitchell forgetting what an antagonistic little flog he was?
Hodge, Mitchell and Lewis were all part of the "unsociable hawks" era.

Turns out they can dish it out but can't cop the return serve.

They all massive hypocrites

Yeah your gameplan last night was very interesting. You seemed to identify that getting the ball forward at all costs was the way to go. Very little handball chains or possession football and a lot of long kicks that didn’t always work out. But the intent was clear, get it out of the area and send it long forward as soon as you got the ball.
True, with an opponent who loves to run in waves at pace forward it makes a lot of sense.

Could see that working against the Orange Tsunami to a degree too.

And it worked
There were a couple of somewhat fortunate deflections at times in fwd line but make your own luck as they say.

Port seemed to deliberately move away from playing pretty football

For the 1200th time for the smooth brains in the back. Ginnivan laughed the whole way through, it's banter, GG Port, onto 2025. Painting Hawks as villains to held you sleep better? Go for it!
So why is Mitchell and Sicily having a sook about it then?

Ginnivan clearly knew it was coming his way and copped it on the chin.

For the 1200th time for the smooth brains in the back. Ginnivan laughed the whole way through, it's banter, GG Port, onto 2025. Painting Hawks as villains to held you sleep better? Go for it!

Ginnivan is fine.

It's Siciliy and Mitchell holding back tears that was funny.

No, he was playing the hurt teary coach thing. Coming from Mitchell its truly funny. Everyone else in footy land can see the joke. The joke is Mitchells sooky response.

Autopsy AFL 2024 Second Semi Final - Port v Hawks Fri Sept 13th 7:40pm EST/7:10pm CST (AO) Teams in OP