AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

Centrals in a heart stopper
Port write your own ticket on this
Saints-- well -should out do Hawks score against them- SORRY NO DISRESPECT CAIRNS LIONS

Gonna put myself out there this week.......I think the Hawks will give the Doggies a footy lesson on Saturday.

Seen the dogs twice this year, not much at all, think your on the money....:thumbsu:

I agree Hawks quite easily
Saints by not as much as everyone thinks. maybe 50pts
Port 9 or 10 goals.

Just have this feeling that Cities might push Saints for about a half then Saints to kick away.

img0002.png

Doggies all the way

Again, Hawks have a hell of a lot out. I know it's a tired old line but its true. 10 from last week's team won't play this week. But that will test our depth and give opportunites to our youth to develop and taste some senior footy where as they may not have. In fact if anything it's quite exciting!!

Wait til after the game for excuses. Are you going to play short this week, or will it be 21 v 21?

What about the players who were supposed to be out last week? It seems you've got 35 senior players and any time any of them is unavailable, you wheel out the excuse.

Cricket is over, so what's their excuse for missing this week? Cricket end of season trip?

It's going to be round 8 before the team actually plays 2 games in a row together. Must be a massive headache for the coach.

Wait til after the game for excuses. Are you going to play short this week, or will it be 21 v 21?

What about the players who were supposed to be out last week? It seems you've got 35 senior players and any time any of them is unavailable, you wheel out the excuse.

Cricket is over, so what's their excuse for missing this week? Cricket end of season trip?

It's going to be round 8 before the team actually plays 2 games in a row together. Must be a massive headache for the coach.

It's not any excuse. It's stating a fact. Or if you like we could just post bullshit and try and hide the fact if you like. I dont believe in hiding anything. If someone injured we'll say so and not play games etc. If you've noticed we're disclosing this info before and not after. And yes, cricket is still going and we have 3 playing in the grand final, and one of our key defenders is getting married this Saturday. And actually yes it will be round 7 before the team is all available. So again Saint, not wheeling out any excuses. We will be aiming to win like we do every week, and if we do not it will be because the 22 that ran out simply weren't good enough. And as I said the exciting part of it all is that we get to give our youth a go. After this week, we'll have already had 37 play seniors this year.

Getting married on a Saturday during football season is a cardinal sin.

I think there's a point where the line is crossed from 'giving the young guys a go' to the 15th best player in the 2s getting a senior game. Not the same in all circumstances though.

This is local Football mate, it's supposed to be a fun family event. Even if you're having a joke it's just a stupid comment.

As for knocking the comment about the side's performance, we're still winning games and like teamwork stated if we are defeated on the weekend it is because the 22 wasnt simply good enough. But the Hawks run on heart and unity and that will be what gets us across the line on Saturday.

I agree with you there Saint, getting married in footy season is a cardinal sin! Wedding season for sportsman should be between cricket and footy season, except in Cairns the both overlap!

That, or half the people you want at the wedding would be playing football instead.

He's getting married on GF day of cricket season AND a round of football, it's a double sin!!

Would take a bit of the shine off the day if it cost them a finals spot (not that I'm saying it will this year) but they wouldn't have known that when they planned it. Runs the risk of being the wedding that may have cost a flag!!

Queens Birthday weekend, Anzac Day, a Sunday, anything but football season!

Gonna put myself out there this week.......I think the Hawks will give the Doggies a footy lesson on Saturday.

Well it wasn't exactly a footy lesson but they won fairly comfortably with a hell of a lot of kids it seemed. I hear north lost by another 100+
Any scores from saints-cities?

Well it wasn't exactly a footy lesson but they won fairly comfortably with a hell of a lot of kids it seemed. I hear north lost by another 100+
Any scores from saints-cities?

Think Saints won by 90 or so.

Saw the 1st Half of the Tigers-Port game, just cant work out why the Tigers are going as bad as they are, they have some real talent, but are just not quite there yet, hopefully they can keep chipping away and reach the next level, Port looked ok, more Darwin boys, but they need them and a few more i think.

The 2nd half of the Hawks-Trinity game was more like watching a team that couldnt win, playing a team that could only lose, if that makes any sense, the doggies just didnt have a match winner all half, whereas the Hawks had someone on everyline doing something, but were very ugly about the way they went about it, but any win is a good win.

Can vouch for teamwork, some of the kids looked old enough to be under 16, and the older kids looked like under 18, they all did there job, young fella at FB kept the goalkicker quite, kids on the ball, whilst small in statue stood tall, and the others were quite ok, couldnt see them in the Hawks best 22 if all senior guys are available, but good experience.

Agree with the majority on this site, I dont think any team will have there list settled until round 7-8, then we should have a bit more of an idea exactly how all teams will be looking, at the minute I would think Saints and Hawks are going well enough to be top 2, then Port, Trinity. Cutters to rumble for the 4th spot, should be good contests from here in.

Think Saints won by 90 or so.

Saw the 1st Half of the Tigers-Port game, just cant work out why the Tigers are going as bad as they are, they have some real talent, but are just not quite there yet, hopefully they can keep chipping away and reach the next level, Port looked ok, more Darwin boys, but they need them and a few more i think.

The 2nd half of the Hawks-Trinity game was more like watching a team that couldnt win, playing a team that could only lose, if that makes any sense, the doggies just didnt have a match winner all half, whereas the Hawks had someone on everyline doing something, but were very ugly about the way they went about it, but any win is a good win.

Can vouch for teamwork, some of the kids looked old enough to be under 16, and the older kids looked like under 18, they all did there job, young fella at FB kept the goalkicker quite, kids on the ball, whilst small in statue stood tall, and the others were quite ok, couldnt see them in the Hawks best 22 if all senior guys are available, but good experience.

Agree with the majority on this site, I dont think any team will have there list settled until round 7-8, then we should have a bit more of an idea exactly how all teams will be looking, at the minute I would think Saints and Hawks are going well enough to be top 2, then Port, Trinity. Cutters to rumble for the 4th spot, should be good contests from here in.

Saints won about 160 in the end i think. Cities have a long way to go. They are trying things which is good but their skill is up to scratch and their disipline is terrrible. Saints hardly got out of first gear all day

160 points! someone will kick 50 goals against them this year..
The goalkicking debate got some surprises this weekend. I see a new name has shot to the top group in Noonan. Any word on this bloke Lachrilly? He bagged 8 I see. I see coatesworth bagged another 5, as did pittorino for Hawks. And Campbell was comprehensively beaten by the young Hawks full back kicking only 1 after his 13 V's the kids at norths last week. And Boxall slotted thru 7 against norths this week.

There's a few that may challenge for the title yet. Should be a good tussle!

160 points! someone will kick 50 goals against them this year..
The goalkicking debate got some surprises this weekend. I see a new name has shot to the top group in Noonan. Any word on this bloke Lachrilly? He bagged 8 I see. I see coatesworth bagged another 5, as did pittorino for Hawks. And Campbell was comprehensively beaten by the young Hawks full back kicking only 1 after his 13 V's the kids at norths last week. And Boxall slotted thru 7 against norths this week.

There's a few that may challenge for the title yet. Should be a good tussle!

Noonan has played at saints for years. small forward who kicks the odd bag. Loves playing Cities. Kicked 9 out there last year or the year b4.

Probably not as dubious as the last bag of 8 recorded, I did hear him say he kicked 8 after the game, but I think he was joking.

There was a mostly orderly queue for the goals on Saturday, but Noonan kept skipping the line.

Probably not as dubious as the last bag of 8 recorded, I did hear him say he kicked 8 after the game, but I think he was joking.

There was a mostly orderly queue for the goals on Saturday, but Noonan kept skipping the line.

Rainsford's goal kicking record for AFL Cairns MAY BE under threat,
I think he kicked a high 125-130 one year.
Watson may be able to give us the correct figure.

Rainsford's goal kicking record for AFL Cairns MAY BE under threat,
I think he kicked a high 125-130 one year.
Watson may be able to give us the correct figure.
From memory it was 138 tamba, and personally I don't think its in any danger at all, a record that will take a lot of beating...

Premiers:
Wooden Spooners:
League Medal:
Biggest Improver from 2010:
Biggest Slider from 2010:
Goal Kicker:
Most expensive team:
Most under-rated player:
Most over-rated player:
Most loyal player in the league:
Toughest bloke in the league:
Biggest Sook in the league: