AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

HTP - Being abit harsh on Ready?? Thought he has some valid points regarding RSL and defence force personnel attending and getting the kids playing as well etc but anyway as saint mentioned it best left as is as interest from other clubs may not be there.

What i personaly like to see is more night or twilight footy trialed. We are in the tropics so lets utilise it. Good to see Crathern getting lights up soon. Get Fretty lights up to a better standard then we will have 3 good venues to play. Night games on Friday and twilight on Saturday afternoon / night would be good. Have to work out what the 16's would do on a Fridy though. My thoughts only..

AFL Cairns runs the money for these, I know at Fretwell, the club has been after them for a while to upgrade them, at one stage the U/18's powers to be were contemplating playing there on a regular basics at night, AFL Cairns has the lease for the council ground not Souths.

Back to a proper weekend of games, all Saturday 3pm.

Centrals v Port

Centrals play a very modern game of numbers behind the ball and then working the ball forward by spreading quickly when they win possession. IMO this tactic works best on small grounds where fast ball movement is key, but on the big open grounds, it requires a lot of fitness to run the ball forward through the opposing free players. Havnig the biggest ground in the league, it might suit them least of all. ALso, the space out at Trinity means even dropping two or three players behind the ball, a decent forward line will still find space to lead and score heavily. Having not seen Port play, I don't know how they'll handle it, but with the names they've got in their side, I think they'll have the forward potency to overcome the CTB tactics. Port by 2 goals.

Souths v Saints

Souths are the big improvers this year and sit equal with CTB. Saints had a tough game last week, their first of the year and didn't react too well. Haven't seen Souths play, but perhaps, being improvers it might not be until the end of the season when they really start challenging the top sides. Saints by 5 goals.

Norths v Manunda

Norths sounded confident at the start of the year, but have just the one win against Cities and sit 2nd bottom with a % of under 50. The way Manunda treated Cities in Round 1, I fear for the Norths faithful as the Hawks will give them a fair-old drubbing this week to the tune of 20 goals.

Cities v Bye.

Big chance for the Bye, but I'm tipping Cities to get 4 on the board, just.

In the goalkicking,

Campbell 18
Coatsworth 16
Noonan 15
Markham 15
Booth 14
Boaxall 13
Hallas 12
Pittorino 12
Bading 11
Oughton 11

Look for a big charge by Booth and Pittorino(if back). Nobody plays Cities this week, I think Booth will hit the lead with the others not expected to change too much in order. Perhaps Bading to benefit from the recent inclusion of several ex-teammates. Not expecting any big scores except from the Hawks.

Tamba, I'm sure the league won't object if Souths offer to put in money for the lights, since it's the club who will benefit most, not matter who holds the lease.

The sunscreen bill at Saints has past the tape bill, twilight games would benefit the Saints most, though there's a couple of redheads in there who need to wear zinc under heavy floodlighting.

Gunna try and catch the Hawks-Tigers game this weekend, looking foward to seeing the Hawks near full strength, and over the past few years they have struggled at Watson's, one would expect a Hawks victory, I have a feeling the Tiges will serve it up to them, Hawks by 35pts.

CTB will struggle against a very quick and skillfull Port side, Hocking will take care of Campbell and Boxall will jump all over their ruckman to give the runners 1st use, again, I dont predict a blowout on the scoreboard, but suggest Port by 25pts.

Souths are an improving side, prehaps could even be unbeaten, but as much as they are improving I think that their lessons will be free of charge this week, and maybe a subtle remider to us all who love a side that improves, that there improvemnet will not trouble the top side yet, Saints by 45pts,

Geez, the goalkicking is good, predictions this week may see Hallas and Booth shoot to the top, although Pittorino cant do much more than what he has been, so early call but a 3 way tie by 5.00pm Saturday arvo.

The talk of twilight games is generating quite some conversation, as it should, the showpiece ground is a spectacle at night and should be used as often as possible, agree if there is 3 grounds to cater for it why not play a much as possible?

If this were to occur, how far off is a twilight or night Grand Final then???

I am just putting this out there but with the team that Hawks can potentially put out on the park week to week they might not lose again this year. When they played against Saints they were week had very little experience. there would be about 15 or so players that they would put in now that were not playing back then. I watched the Port v Hawks game and that final score did not do justice to the game. Hawks dominated all over the park for 3 quarters if they played for a full 4 quarters look out. There was about five out that game also and there is still Bartlett to come. Maybe even Rundle.......and who else
Everyone is saying Hawks might put up a fight this year or its Saints to win with Hawks and Port fighting it out with each other thats not how it will be....
Hawks this weekend by 100
Then the next week by 100
and v Lyons win by 150
Then next game vs Saints by 4 goals

I am just putting this out there but with the team that Hawks can potentially put out on the park week to week they might not lose again this year. When they played against Saints they were week had very little experience. there would be about 15 or so players that they would put in now that were not playing back then. I watched the Port v Hawks game and that final score did not do justice to the game. Hawks dominated all over the park for 3 quarters if they played for a full 4 quarters look out. There was about five out that game also and there is still Bartlett to come. Maybe even Rundle.......and who else
Everyone is saying Hawks might put up a fight this year or its Saints to win with Hawks and Port fighting it out with each other thats not how it will be....
Hawks this weekend by 100
Then the next week by 100
and v Lyons win by 150

Then next game vs Saints by 4 goals

Gee the way you describe it Jack I'll be expecting Jesus Christ to turn out for the Hawks very soon!

I think we all are excited to see what the Hawks can do this weekend, but the sights I doubt are set at having just massive scores kicked. It would be nice and all for the old percentage but the execution of the play is the key. Lets see how the boys come out after the long bye for them. But it will be exciting seeing a near full strength side hit the pitch.

No predictions here, but I do expect a win ;)

Following the comments of Mick Malthouse on One HD and Herald Sun, i think AFL Cairns could do no worse than to make the Port v's Saints game the Anzac day match. The crowd numbers are Fretwell Park were low to say the least, the footy standard was ordinary in both grades and the sound system conveying the last post and tribute was hard to hear. The game is loosing its mark. I think the game should be played at Cazalys. Given more support by AFL Cairns, promoted around the clubs, juniors playing also and really celebrated. Be proactive and promote the Anzac Day game the way it deserves. Give the clubs good technical support, invite more RSL and Defence force reps and really get behind the day. There was not one AFL Cairns admin or manager present at the game. Do you think Andrew Demitriou was at home while ANZAC day game was being played. The powers to be need to get behind the game they manage and atleast represent the governing body at the only match of the round! Give the game to clubs who can get more than 50 people and lets really celebrate the day!

As for the game, Chris Adams (supa coach) plays a very isolated role similar to Kane Ricter. To try and inspire their respective teams with players in them who simply dont look like they want to be there on Anzac Day is disappointing. I would have thought it would have been a closer game but very disappointed. If the tigers could keep there players discipline and on the field and not wanting to fight spectators then they might be ok. But how long has discipline been an issue at Watsons Oval..... Blooding young kids and setting a good example is no good when you continually you play blokes in a team who get sent off, give away 50's and want to do their own thing on the field. They have no position in a team and at a club. I am referring to number 13 from the tigers. He is a goose! well done to cutters for a good game and clean when it counted!

Centrals are on the right track and Lee Campbell looks the real deal. Saints will win the comp hands down and i dont think they will be challenged this year! Relton Roberts, very talented but from all reports, is not 100% focused on footy and wants to go home. Looking forward to seeing Walsh's return

Good Luck on the weekend!

Ready you couldn't be more misinformed if you tried. As previous comments have already identified, a few years ago Norths and Souths went to AFL Cairns with the proposal as they are the oldest clubs in the league and no one else was interested. I don't see any complaints when clubs play both their Netball and Footy teams against another club and make a weekend out of it. There is a healthy rivallry between Norths and Souths and having this clash serves a purpose between these traditional clubs. In relation to the crowd numbers, I was at the game and it was one of the best crowds I have seen at Fretwell in 3 years. Both Norths and Souths supporters were at the ground in force. And yes the AFL Cairns Operations Manager was at the ground to watch both games and even said hello when walking past.

Norths were off their game (I thought) and I would like to know what has happened to the Tigers. I for one, thought they would have a better season this year. Thus far, there hasn't been too much success for them.

Same debate as last year for the most part.

Dont feed the troll, this is just another attempt by the below-the-belt shot taking Readycns to push forward his agenda against Norths..He obviously wasn't there and is just making up rubbish to make it sound like he has a good idea / knows what he is talking about when he clearly doesn't.

Norths play Souths every year for ANZAC Day, its the way it is, its already a tradition, its something players and spectators(the ones I spoke to) look forward too, its a good thing, end of discussion in my opinion.

Shouldn't matter if either team are wooden spooners or premiers from last year, new things are being tried to attract people to local footy and by all accounts having an annual rivalry clash has been working.

Don't like it? Don't come. But don't bash it, because honestly, nobody cares what you think anyway. Fair Dinkum, get a life mate.

Never let there be a truer word spoken.:thumbsu:

Centrals
Hawks
Saints easily. (Not sure why people are tipping a Souths upset)
The bye

Centrals
Hawks
Saints easily. (Not sure why people are tipping a Souths upset)
The bye

Surely its time for Hawks to show all this promise they have failed to deliver. Excuses are running thin and time to step up. All the followers on here are saying, when this guy returns when we are at full strength in a few weeks. Its time for them to show us this talent they so called have and put the doubters to rest. For their sake i hope its soon

Haha...failed to deliver? Fair enough, I guess sitting second with a 3 - 1 record and having belted Port at Port is a failed start. Oh well, you'll just have to tell the 'doubters' to be patient I guess.

well 4 games is not delivering. With all the talk on how good they will be at full strength over the past few seasons they should have something to show for it. At the moment thats not much. They have plenty of youngsters so hopefully they are coming along nicely and can push the better sides come september

Push the better sides? Who we going to push, there is only one team in the comp that looks near good enough to beat us at this stage... At this stage of the year the comp looks like the AFL in comparison between 1&2 and the rest of the league. Just have a seat Lachrilly and the ones on here who aren't currently high as a kite do the big boy talking.

Well I can't comment on previous years although I don't recall any talk of how good Hawks will be at full strength last season, as last year was purely a development year.. There has been comment on it this season as we have had quite a few out up to now and will be short 4 or 5 again today, and this leads to supporters getting impatient wanting to see our full team in flight and making comment on it. I'm sure this is the same at just about every club.

On a bright note for the club, the big blonde mountain makes his Hawks debut today coming back from a long term injury. Prob won't play a full game but good to see him close to fully fit.

Good luck to all this weekend!

Well Booth kicked a bag today, how the other kickers go?
Norths went down by 50 points, a 9 goal to nil 2nd quarter doing all the damage. The young fellas battled it out though and actually won the 2nd half. Not sure about you hawks who reckon you won't lose another game, can't see you troubling Saints just yet, although you probably had 10 out again right?;)

Ohh, did we lose did we? But we were probably as full strength as we have been all year... But if you want to be smart about it, we were missing the Darwin boys you talked so much about a few weeks ago ;) Besides that, nah it was pretty good team. Really the side just let itself down at the end... But then again we just came back from the bye :)

Did you enjoy the match though? I did :)

No just 5 Watsons. The Darwin boys will be here for good this week I'm told. Hawks tried a few different things and rotated all kinds of combinations through the middle after the game was won in the second quarter. Some things worked, some didn't but I'm sure Griffiths would have been happy to hand out a 9 goal drubbing after having to wait 3 weeks since their last game.

Booth kicked 10 and Bartlett caught everything that went near him and kicked 4 before he was rested just after 3/4 time.

Ohh, did we lose did we? But we were probably as full strength as we have been all year... But if you want to be smart about it, we were missing the Darwin boys you talked so much about a few weeks ago ;) Besides that, nah it was pretty good team. Really the side just let itself down at the end... But then again we just came back from the bye :)

Did you enjoy the match though? I did :)
Idid enjoy it Plugg3r thanks for asking. 2nd quarter wasn't much fun, but after half time the boys showed a bit more than they have in recent weeks and there were plenty of positives to come out of the game. Still not sold on your blokes, but you're clearly the 2nd best team in the comp.

Second best team in the league in May isn't a bad feat. Lots of months of improvement without the pressure of being the "team to beat".

Saints beat souths by about 4 or 5 goals i think. Souths played pretty well and put alot of pressure on Saints. Saints if kicked straight early could have run away with it but to Souths credit they fought it out all day.
Saints won the 2's by about 100pts against a very undisciplined Souths

Saints beat souths by about 4 or 5 goals i think. Souths played pretty well and put alot of pressure on Saints. Saints if kicked straight early could have run away with it but to Souths credit they fought it out all day.
Saints won the 2's by about 100pts against a very undisciplined Souths

Sounds like a good day for both of the top sides today, thought Saints may of been more goals up that that. How was the movement of the Saints play, do they seem to be improving on their great form or staying at an even rate?