AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

Hawkies put on a 2nd half clinic in Port today with a nice 50 odd point win. Slow start, but big 3rd quarter and a big 1st spot gap.

Great result for the Tigers!!! Agree that they finally put the quarters together and the coach should be commended as well as the playing group. When will Richer be playing again?

Hawks are showing a bit, especially on the field. Be happy with the result Plugger but it is not September. The big gap between first and second means bugger all in June. I am sure Port Douglas can let you know about that from last year (understand you are new to the area champ). Excuses about players out originally and lately some arrogant references will only bite you on the plums. My advice, win and keep the gob closed, the club would prefer that. Although your posts create some entertainment for us office bludgers. ;),

I see J White played and kicked 2 for Port on the weekend, 1 week after putting in a clearance to Manunda?????? Anyone got any light on this. Never seen this before!

Great result for the Tigers!!! Agree that they finally put the quarters together and the coach should be commended as well as the playing group. When will Richer be playing again?

Hawks are showing a bit, especially on the field. Be happy with the result Plugger but it is not September. The big gap between first and second means bugger all in June. I am sure Port Douglas can let you know about that from last year (understand you are new to the area champ). Excuses about players out originally and lately some arrogant references will only bite you on the plums. My advice, win and keep the gob closed, the club would prefer that. Although your posts create some entertainment for us office bludgers. ;),

I see J White played and kicked 2 for Port on the weekend, 1 week after putting in a clearance to Manunda?????? Anyone got any light on this. Never seen this before!

Wow when I said Hawks I meant Manunda and not Hawthorn. It's local footy mate, is it so bad being happy about your mates having a good year? Isn't this what these forums are for, having a laugh at all the people getting serious about what is essentially a local league of regular blokes having a kick on the weekend.

I don't know anything about the White situation though. Go the Hawkies!! :D

Anyone going to have a watch of this weekend of the Cairns boys having a go against the Sydney boys?

Lions to record their first win, and possibly only win of the season.
Hawks to get over Port in a tight contest, but will kick away to win by 5 goals.
CTB will easily account for Norths.

Shit mate, I should have offered a bet. :D:D:D:p

Tigers smashed the Dogs today, around 8 goals. Finally put 4 quarters together and delivered a win instead of another admirable loss.:thumbsu:
Might be the confidence booster they need to get the chase for 4th spot going again.:thumbsu:

Yes, well done to the Tigers for getting over Centrals. ;)

Shit mate, I should have offered a bet. :D:D:D:p

I would have taken it too Flintstone.
A big game looms in a few weeks when the cutters take on norths. You have to say as it stands, Norths are favorites.
What's happened to CTB??
Didn't see Port V Hawks, but all reports was that it was a cracker to watch. It's a 3 horse race now that's for sure. Didn't someone say that at the start of the season....

I would have taken it too Flintstone.
A big game looms in a few weeks when the cutters take on norths. You have to say as it stands, Norths are favorites.
What's happened to CTB??
Didn't see Port V Hawks, but all reports was that it was a cracker to watch. It's a 3 horse race now that's for sure. Didn't someone say that at the start of the season....

It is looking like a 3 horse race at the moment and i reckon it could come down to depth come finals time. If Hawks stay injury free i think they are no doubt the team to beat, but if injuries hit them i think it could open the door for Port and Saints. They seem to have the better depth with their reserves 1 and 2 on the ladder with Hawks 2's battling to make the finals.
the battle for 4th will be a tight one with CTB, Souths and Norths all thinking they can make it. I reckon Norths could be the team to make it if their young side can start being more consistant and they are showing signs of the now.
Booth looks the likely winner of the goal kicking with only injuries standing in his way and as for the Crathern well thats anyones guess.

Things certainly seem to have settled.

The season so far has seen a 200+ point turnaround from the Hawks v Saints return bouts, so I'm sure there's plenty more surprises in store, but I could only see perhaps one or two upsets of the top three from the next two sides, so the top three is all but settled I'd say.

In terms of interleague, I know due to illness and injury, Saints contingent is down from 7 or 8 to two players.

Where are the majority of the players going to come from? Guessing Viola will have to stock it with Port boys, which won't be a terribly bad thing for the game. Perhaps a few more from Hawks have now got the call-up after a good last few weeks.

The season so far has seen a 200+ point turnaround from the Hawks v Saints return bouts, so I'm sure there's plenty more surprises in store, but I could only see perhaps one or two upsets of the top three from the next two sides, so the top three is all but settled I'd say.

In terms of interleague, I know due to illness and injury, Saints contingent is down from 7 or 8 to two players.

Where are the majority of the players going to come from? Guessing Viola will have to stock it with Port boys, which won't be a terribly bad thing for the game. Perhaps a few more from Hawks have now got the call-up after a good last few weeks.
16 of the original sqaud have pulled out of the rep game , it's great for those who have got the call up ,, but it's a shame AFL CAIRNS can't showcase there best team

The Hawks have had many injuries for sometime now and quiet frankly have been looking to this bye as a chance to rest up. We have had quite a few called up only to pull out, albeit for legitimate reasons in the way of injury.
It is a shame that the Cairns AFL can't produce their best team, but just like a footy club, injuries sometimes, more often than not, come at the wrong time.

All leagues would be in the same boat, I'm sure Sydney aren't sending their best 22 either.

The second string is just as good an indication of the strength of the league, probably more important, as every league has a strong top 15-20 players, it's the next 20-40 that make the difference between the quality of a league.

All leagues would be in the same boat, I'm sure Sydney aren't sending their best 22 either.

The second string is just as good an indication of the strength of the league, probably more important, as every league has a strong top 15-20 players, it's the next 20-40 that make the difference between the quality of a league.

There's an idea. Play both a first and a second team in interleague matches. The result of the seconds game would give the best indication of how strong the league is.

Of course cost would prevent this with the Cairns comp being so far away.

I fear that our second team would be on the end of one hell of a hiding..?

Your sarcasm is ridiculous. Sarcasm is Humour's ugly, ****ty cousin.

If our second rate team beats their second rate team, then I'd say we're equally as justified in taking bragging rights as if our first string team beat their first string team.

Your sarcasm is ridiculous. Sarcasm is Humour's ugly, ****ty cousin.

If our second rate team beats their second rate team, then I'd say we're equally as justified in taking bragging rights as if our first string team beat their first string team.

There was no sarcasm about it Saint. I'm fair dinkum. Why not have 2 games? A curtain raiser then the main event.

16 of the original sqaud have pulled out of the rep game , it's great for those who have got the call up ,, but it's a shame AFL CAIRNS can't showcase there best team

16 players may have pulled out but would you consider them the top 16 players out of the rep squad?
I would like to think that the squad have a group of players that want to play for and are passionate about the league!
has the final team been announced?

They've beaten Cities twice and Norths once all three pretty comfortable. The two games they almost won at the start of the year were close, but in the return bouts against Port and CTB, they've been flogged so I'd say it's more likely those two teams weren't prepared, but have been shown to be clearly better.

Doubt they will get close to any of the top 3 in any of their remaining games. I guess the only way to determine if they've improved any great deal is from inside the club.

I heard the league had started ringing under 18s to fill the interleague squad, but that's purely a rumour. Just wouldn't be surprised if there was a couple in the squad.

They've beaten Cities twice and Norths once all three pretty comfortable. The two games they almost won at the start of the year were close, but in the return bouts against Port and CTB, they've been flogged so I'd say it's more likely those two teams weren't prepared, but have been shown to be clearly better.

Doubt they will get close to any of the top 3 in any of their remaining games. I guess the only way to determine if they've improved any great deal is from inside the club.

I heard the league had started ringing under 18s to fill the interleague squad, but that's purely a rumour. Just wouldn't be surprised if there was a couple in the squad.

There were a couple named in the train on squad, D. Dewis from Souths was one not sure of the other names though. It would give them some blooding to higher football, I'm sure Coaches for the side have some players of quality to play & not just fill with U/18's to make up numbers

D.Dewis now thats a name ill be sure to remember, (motlop related). for a kid that has just turned 16, has really come of age this year. his club coach must really have faith and have a high standing of him. from what ive seen he starts at full forward then moves onball playing half and half for duration of game and has 20 goals at halfway point of season. surely best kid in the competition

Premiers: Manunda Hawks
Wooden Spooners: Cairns City Lions
League Medal: Lukas Ehlich or Luke Powell
Biggest Improver from 2010: South Cairns Cutters
Biggest Slider from 2010: North Cairns Tiger
Goal Kicker: Ryan Booth
Most expensive team: N/A
Most under-rated player: Jeramaine "Munji" Wardle
Most over-rated player: Chris Adams
Most loyal player in the league: N/A
Toughest bloke in the league: N/A
Biggest Sook in the league: Members of this forum ;)
Best Young talent: Jeramaine "Munji" Wardle, Alex Carter, Nathan Freebody
Best Coach: Paul Griffiths (Don't feel like running 400's) ;)

Premiers: Manunda Hawks
League Medal: Lukas Ehlich or Luke Powell
Most expensive team: N/A
Most under-rated player: Jeramaine "Munji" Wardle
Most over-rated player: Chris Adams
Most loyal player in the league: N/A
Toughest bloke in the league: N/A
Biggest Sook in the league: Members of this forum ;)
Best Young talent: Jeramaine "Munji" Wardle, Alex Carter, Nathan Freebody
Best Coach: Paul Griffiths (Don't feel like running 400's) ;)
Mate I'm all for promoting the kids, but Alex Carter, you serious? He isn't in top 5 kids at your club, let alone the league.

I heard on the news tonight Evan Hocking is Capt of the local rep side ,

Congrats to him.

Disappointed though the news using highlights from 94's GF in their report.
the league is passed that

Premiers: Manunda if they keep playing their full strength side
League Medal: If he wasnt suspended i think Chris Adams would be up there, but i think Daniel Smith or Luke Powell
Most expensive team:
Most under-rated player: Elliott Bath ( South Cairns)
Most over-rated player: Justin White ( Port Douglas )
Most loyal player in the league: Billy English/ Evan Hocking
Toughest bloke in the league: anyone who is willing to put head over the ball
Biggest Sook in the league: Hard one
Best Young talent: Damien Dewis and watch out for Grant Phillips ( South Cairns)
Best Coach: Andrew Viola

Chris Adams league B&F! Fair go mate...the bloke gets all his footy wide on the flank boundaries, and he doesn't hurt sides. I rate a few at your club in front of him. I've got nothing against the bloke but he wouldn't finish top ten.

I totally agree with Billy English being most loyal. Hocking lives in Port so wouldn't leave anyway, but English has been courted by teams for years and has stayed true to Souths.