AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

Hello and welcome to the first installment of The Cairns Informant, I'm here to address the big issues involving Cairns AFL. Granted not many issues involving Cairns AFL are "big" and granted most are blown out of proportion by the lovley folk posting on here.

But let's be serious for the moment and address some issues. The dispute of whom is getting paid what? Saints claim they don't pay player, Hawks claim they don't pay players but instead use incentives. All the big name teams claim they don't pay their players. And what do the small teams do? Get in arguements about it. How about you start pulling your heads in and do something about your pathetic lineup of players before finger pointing other teams. Watsons Oval I'm looking at you.

Welcome to Big Footy Mr Informant, please forgive my finger pointing the big name teams and getting in arguments about player payment. My head is officially pulled in and I am currently thinking of ways to improve the pathetic list at Norths. Any ideas??
I will continue to post any news, rumours or opinions I hear however, and really don't give a rats whether you're looking at me or not :D

Norths list will continue to improve as long as they keep playing their kids. In the 2 games i have watched this year of Norths they seem to be a pretty young team and if they can keep the kids together and bring in some experience here and there it wont be long till they are back playing finals.

Not sure I can agree with you there lachrilly, norths are a fair bit worse than they were last year.

Fair return for M.Walsh, bagging 13! Even if it against the lions it's a handy inclusion for Saints.
I see Port pantsed Norths in Port. With White kicking 10.
Booth kicked 6 as Hawks fought off a determined centrals last night.

Not sure I can agree with you there lachrilly, norths are a fair bit worse than they were last year.

Fair return for M.Walsh, bagging 13! Even if it against the lions it's a handy inclusion for Saints.
I see Port pantsed Norths in Port. With White kicking 10.
Booth kicked 6 as Hawks fought off a determined centrals last night.

Walsh sure did straighten Saints up giving them a great target to kick to. Cities were good early but dropped off after half time. They were always going to drop off considering 2 of their players played the first half then were seen drinking in the clubrooms after half time. Very ordinary if you ask me.

Kicking 13 on return is a good going, even for his lofty standards. He can only be better for the run. I have watched him play a few games over the last couple of years, he is the most dominant full forward I have seen. Looks like prior years when Saints come up with something when everyone writes them off. I know Cities are struggling a bit so we can't take much out of it but players drinking after coming off injured? Geez

Shaw kicked 6 also.... Pretty handy having White (if he doesn't get huge coin from Manunda...), Boxall and now Shaw! 3 way race to September and right now I will back whoever gets the preliminary final off, imagine that game.

Kicking 13 on return is a good going, even for his lofty standards. He can only be better for the run. I have watched him play a few games over the last couple of years, he is the most dominant full forward I have seen. Looks like prior years when Saints come up with something when everyone writes them off. I know Cities are struggling a bit so we can't take much out of it but players drinking after coming off injured? Geez

Shaw kicked 6 also.... Pretty handy having White (if he doesn't get huge coin from Manunda...), Boxall and now Shaw! 3 way race to September and right now I will back whoever gets the preliminary final off, imagine that game.

Cant be sure they were injured but you would have to think so. I saw one of them come off and he sure wasn't limping.

They might have been guys that backed up from the 2nds, Lachrilly?

I thought the reason they tired after half time was that at the half time break, they were doing lanework for most of it and never left the ground!

I thought that decision was the biggest eye-raiser. I don't think they scored after half time. Can't imagine it was to give them more exercise, they sure didn't need it!

Shaw kicked 6 also.... Pretty handy having White (if he doesn't get huge coin from Manunda...), Boxall and now Shaw! 3 way race to September and right now I will back whoever gets the preliminary final off, imagine that game.[/quote]

The kid came to us because he hated it at Port, he couldn't handle the coach and the coach didn't like him and he felt like he didn't fit in with the boys either. We told him that he would get NO money to play with us if he wanted to come across, and that he wasn't guaranteed a senior position. We alerted Port, both president and coach and while a clearance went in, they sorted it out and he stayed.

So there was no stealing by way of offering huge coin collo, but keep trying mate, some day someone may even believe something you say.

They might have been guys that backed up from the 2nds, Lachrilly?

I thought the reason they tired after half time was that at the half time break, they were doing lanework for most of it and never left the ground!

I thought that decision was the biggest eye-raiser. I don't think they scored after half time. Can't imagine it was to give them more exercise, they sure didn't need it!

I didn't want to name names but one of the guys was Troy McGuane and the other was their starting full forward so neither played in the 2's

Troy McGuane was drinking after playing a half you say? Drinking grog?? You sure? He is one bloke that is very fitness orientated and I would struggle to think he would do that, especially if injured.

Walsh sure did straighten Saints up giving them a great target to kick to. Cities were good early but dropped off after half time. They were always going to drop off considering 2 of their players played the first half then were seen drinking in the clubrooms after half time. Very ordinary if you ask me.

I would not call that ordinary,

I call that totally disrespectful,:mad:
even if they were injured, they should have better manners :(

Troy McGuane was drinking after playing a half you say? Drinking grog?? You sure? He is one bloke that is very fitness orientated and I would struggle to think he would do that, especially if injured.

It was him and he was drinking a VB. Can't remember if it was a can or stubby.

I'm certain out of all team lists for each club, not one coach has been able to get his full preferred on the paddock, this could be from
Injury , Suspension, Weddings, Parties, V8's or Bone Lazy players training that week.:eek:

But do the best they can with what is willing to be available :rolleyes:

Tamba, totally agree! Its Cairns Footy and the sooner coaches and recruits from outside leagues understand this, they will extend their length of stays in our league.

Cities are on the right track and believe with right support, Seymour will get the Lions up and running in years to come but they have to keep him at the club!

Can anyone confirm or deny that Rickter from Norths has been talking to a southern club???

Great to see Walsh back, a fantastic player and a great bloke on and off the field! A gentlemen of the game! Great work Sainters!

The kid came to us because he hated it at Port, he couldn't handle the coach and the coach didn't like him and he felt like he didn't fit in with the boys either. We told him that he would get NO money to play with us if he wanted to come across, and that he wasn't guaranteed a senior position. We alerted Port, both president and coach and while a clearance went in, they sorted it out and he stayed.

So there was no stealing by way of offering huge coin collo, but keep trying mate, some day someone may even believe something you say.[/quote]

From ex player from Bulldogs, he spoke to them also. Can confirm he wasnt and has had words with the Cairns Rep & Port coach. Ports 'ex' ruckman has said he is a difficult person to play under and had encouraged White, 'if there was no work in Port' to look around! Its 100% about work and coach not chasing money but from my source, he has revealed that he has been offered a good size paper bag to stay in the Port area.

Kicking 10 against norths??? That wont earn you money but its how he figures against Saints, Dogs, Hawks that will prove his worth. He is a good kick but doesnt like going to get it!

Anyone confirm if ex afl player corey jones is playing in Cairns? Be awesome to see him up here

Can anyone confirm or deny that Rickter from Norths has been talking to a southern club???

Cool story bro..

YoIPy.gif

Hello and welcome to the first installment of The Cairns Informant, I'm here to address the big issues involving Cairns AFL. Granted not many issues involving Cairns AFL are "big" and granted most are blown out of proportion by the lovley folk posting on here.

But let's be serious for the moment and address some issues. The dispute of whom is getting paid what? Saints claim they don't pay player, Hawks claim they don't pay players but instead use incentives. All the big name teams claim they don't pay their players. And what do the small teams do? Get in arguements about it. How about you start pulling your heads in and do something about your pathetic lineup of players before finger pointing other teams. Watsons Oval I'm looking at you.

Welcome to Big Footy Mr Informant, please forgive my finger pointing the big name teams and getting in arguments about player payment. My head is officially pulled in and I am currently thinking of ways to improve the pathetic list at Norths. Any ideas??
I will continue to post any news, rumours or opinions I hear however, and really don't give a rats whether you're looking at me or not :D

Here, here Watsons. Well said.:thumbsu:

Tamba, totally agree! Its Cairns Footy and the sooner coaches and recruits from outside leagues understand this, they will extend their length of stays in our league.

Cities are on the right track and believe with right support, Seymour will get the Lions up and running in years to come but they have to keep him at the club!

Great to see Walsh back, a fantastic player and a great bloke on and off the field! A gentlemen of the game! Great work Sainters!

Have to agree with comments regarding Cities. If they manage to hold onto the kids that went across from Redlynch in the amalgamantion and put some time into them they'll do fine. But if they don't, they'll probably lose them to the Saints.

Why would they go to Saints? I know the 2 had an affiliation a few years ago but doesn't mean thats where they will end up. A few Redlynch juniors went to Saints this year not liking the merger with Cobras and they are great families to have around

Why did you jump onto the defensive so quick :confused:

Then state a few went over to your club :confused:

Why did you jump onto the defensive so quick :confused:

Then state a few went over to your club :confused:

Just saying that a few families were not happy merging with cobras so they decided to join Saints. It was a good result for Saints with some of the familes having multiple kids playing and with some of the parents taking up coaching roles or some kind of role on a sunday.

Its a catch 22 situation. An old president from Saints told me they were wanting to purchase land out at Redlynch thus strengthing the redlynch lions and saints partnership but the land purchase fell down due to the pyramid power land grab occurring. AFL Cairns couldnt do both. This is what i heard.

Cobras were in big $$$ trouble from club costs and i imagine flying players in and out and rediculous player payments. Hence the player grab in 09/10 where players left existing clubs in Cairns to head out to the beaches on good coin. Only a couple of those players remain, debt owed to players and club costs outweighing the income from the club, a club in which is operated by AFL Cairns from what i know. If anyone can clarify, please do so.

Cities has been a great club and still is, the merger comes as a disappointment but with Saints not in a position to undertake a move to the hills and potentially the huge costs associated with having juniors, cities, run by AFL Cairns were a natural choice. This leaves Saints in a position to have minimal expenditure and frees up, in my view, more $$$ but remembering the big 4 clubs dont pay players ;) ;) ;) ;) The best full forward in the last 3 years Walsh, onballers Coatsworth and Powell dont get payed for playing???? CMON! I think there is a distinct advantage for not having juniors and poaching players from clubs who have those juniors that spend the years and $$$ developing them! But in all, watching Walsh play, i would sacrifice the $3.50 a beer and put it in his pocket, a fine player and worth every cent!

Thats my blah blah!

My tips are: Saints, Port and Flip a coin for souths and norths but norths in a tight one!

Its a catch 22 situation. An old president from Saints told me they were wanting to purchase land out at Redlynch thus strengthing the redlynch lions and saints partnership but the land purchase fell down due to the pyramid power land grab occurring. AFL Cairns couldnt do both. This is what i heard.

Cobras were in big $$$ trouble from club costs and i imagine flying players in and out and rediculous player payments. Hence the player grab in 09/10 where players left existing clubs in Cairns to head out to the beaches on good coin. Only a couple of those players remain, debt owed to players and club costs outweighing the income from the club, a club in which is operated by AFL Cairns from what i know. If anyone can clarify, please do so.

Cities has been a great club and still is, the merger comes as a disappointment but with Saints not in a position to undertake a move to the hills and potentially the huge costs associated with having juniors, cities, run by AFL Cairns were a natural choice. This leaves Saints in a position to have minimal expenditure and frees up, in my view, more $$$ but remembering the big 4 clubs dont pay players ;) ;) ;) ;) The best full forward in the last 3 years Walsh, onballers Coatsworth and Powell dont get payed for playing???? CMON! I think there is a distinct advantage for not having juniors and poaching players from clubs who have those juniors that spend the years and $$$ developing them! But in all, watching Walsh play, i would sacrifice the $3.50 a beer and put it in his pocket, a fine player and worth every cent!

Thats my blah blah!

My tips are: Saints, Port and Flip a coin for souths and norths but norths in a tight one!

Coatsworth is the coach and Powell his assistant so obviously they are getting something. Walsh has played maybe a full season of games in the last 3 yrs so paying him would seem silly no matter how good he is.

Readycns, you make it sound like Saints don't want juniors because of the costs, but have spent a lot of time, effort (and money) establishing their own junior teams with an extremely strong base up to 14s and looking to expand to 16s next year and so-on.

Saints are committed to their juniors with, I think, 3 of the junior sides being coached by senior players, only one of them being a parent of a player. Seniors regularly involve themselves in assisting junior training outside those coaching and have joint training sessions throughout the year, particularly pre-season.

How many clubs would tell juniors coming from another club to stay where they are, if the child and family want to change clubs?

Readycns, you make it sound like Saints don't want juniors because of the costs, but have spent a lot of time, effort (and money) establishing their own junior teams with an extremely strong base up to 14s and looking to expand to 16s next year and so-on.

Saints are committed to their juniors with, I think, 3 of the junior sides being coached by senior players, only one of them being a parent of a player. Seniors regularly involve themselves in assisting junior training outside those coaching and have joint training sessions throughout the year, particularly pre-season.

How many clubs would tell juniors coming from another club to stay where they are, if the child and family want to change clubs?[/quote]

Actually we did, a gun junior wanted to come across this year and we convinced him to stay at Souths, as they had put the time into him and we told him that he should stick it out and repay the faith in them.

Tips for this week:
Souths - must win to keep in touch. lose and you can kiss 4th spot goodbye.
Port
Saints - just

How many clubs would tell juniors coming from another club to stay where they are, if the child and family want to change clubs?[/quote]

Actually we did, a gun junior wanted to come across this year and we convinced him to stay at Souths, as they had put the time into him and we told him that he should stick it out and repay the faith in them.

Tips for this week:
Souths - must win to keep in touch. lose and you can kiss 4th spot goodbye.
Port
Saints - just

Saints are indeed very committed to their juniors and you can see that. And I think I know who the young fellow was that was looking at going to the Hawks.

Just saying that a few families were not happy merging with cobras so they decided to join Saints. It was a good result for Saints with some of the familes having multiple kids playing and with some of the parents taking up coaching roles or some kind of role on a sunday.

Well Lachrilly I guess this is one of those times where we might have to agree to disagree. Let me tell you, some Cobra's families were less then impressed with the merger and resigned from the committee and left the club. I have seen one of the families who left Redlynch and has gone to Saints and quite frankly, you're welcomed to them. I also know that you're about to gain another junior family this week from the southside of town and you're more than welcomed to them to. They've now done their dash at two clubs. However, I think they're the perfect fit for Saints.:p:p:p