AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

Cool story bro..

YoIPy.gif

Cutters!!!!:D:D:D:D Bwah hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Well Lachrilly I guess this is one of those times where we might have to agree to disagree. Let me tell you, some Cobra's families were less then impressed with the merger and resigned from the committee and left the club. I have seen one of the families who left Redlynch and has gone to Saints and quite frankly, you're welcomed to them. I also know that you're about to gain another junior family this week from the southside of town and you're more than welcomed to them to. They've now done their dash at two clubs. However, I think they're the perfect fit for Saints.:p:p:p

Every new face at Saints has been great to have around. not sure who this family is your talking about but maybe the change of club was what they needed. If so many people were against the merger how did it go through?

From what i could see it was merge or die, & from an ex sailor who played against them in the early 80's, when we visited Cairns, that would be a loss of a traditional foe,( they were originally called Navy way back)

Tips 4 this week:

Norths over south by 5 goals

Port over lions by triple figures

Centrals over saints by 6 goals

Tips 4 this week:

Norths over south by 5 goals

Port over lions by triple figures

Centrals over saints by 6 goals

Kiss of Death

Souths to bounce forward

Port write your own ticket on this

Saints should be comfortable winners but may become a close one :D

Every new face at Saints has been great to have around. not sure who this family is your talking about but maybe the change of club was what they needed. If so many people were against the merger how did it go through?

As I said Lachrilly, perfect fit for the little world of Cairns Saints. Mind you there were some kids that were lured to Saints during last season, provided they could get dispensated into U12's (due to the fact Saints didn't have an U14's team last season) rather than playing U14's with their original Redlynch U14's team. As for the merger, I think there was a fair degree of pushing from certain corners to make it happen.

Can any Manunda boys give me confirmation After showering with the Centrals boys last week that there's truth to the rumors they party wet and naked after every game?

Watched Souths lose a game today, rather than Norths winning it. Was really disappointing for their supporters to watch them give up. I really thought they should have gone on to win it easily. There seems to be no heart at Souths at present.

Any scores from Saints V Centrals? How many did Walsh get?

Watched Souths lose a game today, rather than Norths winning it. Was really disappointing for their supporters to watch them give up. I really thought they should have gone on to win it easily. There seems to be no heart at Souths at present.

Any scores from Saints V Centrals? How many did Walsh get?

Saints had a 5 goal win under lights. Lights wernt great but good on them for having a crack at night games. They do have to do something about all the droppings all over the ground. Its just not on, i know its hard to stop but its been like that for a few years now. Walsh was ok but probably beaten by his opponent. He kicked 3 or 4 i think. Saints had an easy 100pt win in the ressies.

Even if that statement is true, Carter holds his own most weeks. He gets the ball and uses it otherwise he wouldnt still be where he is. Don't be too upset though Watsons, you'll probably find that your other youngsters will see the light and come to the Hawks as well :D :thumbsu:

I wouldn't go that far, unless Robinvale have improved out of sight since I used to play down there ;)
Trust in the Irymple Swallows to destroy them ;)

Ha funny you say that. Robinvale Have played in the last 3 Grand Finals and won the flag last years by 10 goals. Have currently only lost one game to round 10 this year.

It was the Swallows that copped the 10 goal flogging in the granny too...lol

I think the smoke haze made it a bit harder for spectators, but I don't think the players had any problems with the lights. Very difficult to light such a big area. It gets a bit dark when the ball's in the air, but the players handled it ok.

Wasnt' a great day for forwards with the wind blowing across the ground. It either dropped into the lap or it didn't. The full back did probably have the better of the contest though.

Ha funny you say that. Robinvale Have played in the last 3 Grand Finals and won the flag last years by 10 goals. Have currently only lost one game to round 10 this year.

It was the Swallows that copped the 10 goal flogging in the granny too...lol

Meh i'll still remember Robinvale as the side you travel an hour to face and have a field day ;)

Ahhhh great to see the abundance of factual information on here!!!

McGuane drinking at half time?...... can anyone else see that pig flying!!!

Anyway moving right along, Thought I'd add my 2 cents.

Premiers: Port
Wooden Spooners: Cairns City Lions (yes I am a realist)
League Medal: Daniel Smith
Biggest Improver from 2010: Souths
Biggest Slider from 2010: Centrals
Goal Kicker: Matt Walsh
Most expensive team: we all know the truth SAINTS!!!
Most under-rated player: Dwayne Bosan
Most over-rated player: Brendan Tennick/ Chris Adams
Most loyal player in the league: Lenny Warren
Toughest bloke in the league: Cameron Bartlett
Biggest Sook in the league: Brendan Tennick
Best Young talent: Josh Saveka, Damian Dewes, Alex Carter
Best Coach: Tim Seymour (who else would have stuck out a season like this)

The 13 goal curse was back again this week at Centrals with Walsh having a lee campbellesque dropoff with 2-3 goals.. Can't blame Centrals 4 the smoke haze after halftime affecting the lights a bit

Souths v Norths yesterday was played in two halves
well done to Norths who won by 1 point.

No excuse,& not looking for one, but we had no bench again in the last.

Watson may be able to enlighten us how tight was your bench ???

The ladies Day looked really good some great looking talent, (I'm married & most could have been old enough to be my daughter) but some need to realize wearing THONGS on the Feet DO Not match sexy outfits. And the one in slacks that kept showing HER Plumber crack when sitting in front of the time keepers table on the grass OOPS!

Souths v Norths yesterday was played in two halves
well done to Norths who won by 1 point.

No excuse,& not looking for one, but we had no bench again in the last.

Watson may be able to enlighten us how tight was your bench ???

The ladies Day looked really good some great looking talent, (I'm married & most could have been old enough to be my daughter) but some need to realize wearing THONGS on the Feet DO Not match sexy outfits. And the one in slacks that kept showing HER Plumber crack when sitting in front of the time keepers table on the grass OOPS!
Great game of footy yesterday, although they are always great when you win by a point:D I think our bench was down to 2 in last qu. but the boys ran the game out well. Easily the biggest crowd we've had all year and credit must go to Souths, not only for their travelling crowd, but also for the way they ALWAYS stick around for a beer after the game. Its an area that has died off in recent years, it was a rule when I played. Anyway, our season is still alive you never know, we could steal 4th spot by the time finals come around:thumbsu:

Yes it was a big crowd & thanks to Potts & the coach for making an acknowledgement about it, :thumbsu: It is a requirement of Souths players to stay back for drinks---unless something esle comes up but then a REP. is left behind to apologize.

I always enjoy an Ale or two with football rivals/mates after the game & during, (Peter & I love bagging each other) ;)

it was noticed a couple of Tiger supporters were at our 3/4 time huddle, listening to our coaching staff. great I say, seeing how the other team is going to come back against your squad.

Good to see The Penguin on the field running water for the Seniors ,

Welcome back mate :D

I see I. Clarke in the best for the Saints reserves.

Is that a preview of this Saturday evening's Masters v Saints Legends game down at Griffiths?

Is the game going to be played under lights? I know it's after the seniors game, but with the old eyes and the lighting there, how long is the game supposed to go for?

Seen the Saints lads hard at training and more importantly after training, what about the Masters team?