AFL Cairns - 2011 Season

Where do u expect him 2 get his kicks? I'm sure his team defense is geared 2 forcing the ball wide and trying 2 create a turnover out near the boundary.. And when souths do force a turnover they want to get the ball in his hands because lets be honest they are thin on talent.. So do I expect him 2 kick it too himself? Or do u expect 1 of his hard working but ultimately average teammates 2 hit him up in a dangerous position when he is getting the most attention of any1 on his side? Or would u prefer him change the defensive principles and force opposition teams down the middle of the ground and have 40 goals a game so he can get a few kicks in dangerous positions?

Now I am hoping to get a few replies to this How can we get better numbers to our games. Is it the club alone that has to get mates to come and support or maybe afl cairns can do more with the community or do we need more tv commercials and maybe flyers about each club with player profiles. I don't know what exactly but there is no reason why we can't have 200 people or even more at cazalys or even other grounds. I am making it sound like this is a state league but surely there would be plenty of people doing nothing better than sitting on Friday night or sat. The last sat night game at cazalys was a joke there was a few scattered supporters. There should be blokes in there 20's and 30's getting on the piss watching footy and families on the hill then out on the field kicking ball with dad at quarter time. Anyway I'm rambling now so you have your say now. Talk about something other than bagging each other.

I think the lack of close games contributes to the small crowds. When the top 3 play against anyone else most people know the outcome so dont bother turning up. I have no doubt when the top 3 play each other or the bottom 4 play each other that the crowds are pretty good because the games will most likely be close ( Not always in the Hawks v Saints case). Norths and Souths had a good crowd from all reports due to a function on that day. Maybe clubs need to start using their imagination to start getting the people back.

Premiers: Saints
Wooden Spooners: Lions
League Medal: Powell (Saints)
Biggest Improver from 2010: Souths
Biggest Slider from 2010: Centrals
Goal Kicker: Matt Walsh
Most expensive team: Port
Most under-rated player: Matt Harth, Ryan Matthews
Most over-rated player: ?
Most loyal player in the league: ?
Toughest bloke in the league: Cam Bartlett
Biggest Sook in the league: Brent Craighead
Best Young talent: Lachy Everett, Damien Dewis, Wardle
Best Coach: ?

Surprised not to see young Everett mentioned in the young talents, being in the same age bracket as Dewis and Wardle. Having watched closely the 3 play at a representative level together and with Everett polling 3 votes in every game in last year's 16's vote count to win the league medal i was just a bit muffled as to why he had gone unmentioned, has he been injured??
It is still great that the 3 are holding thier own in the senior level, love nothing better than seeing the young fellas out having a crack and watch out in years to come for these boys!

Lachy's a great player and plays like an aged campaigner. Great kick of the ball. I know he doesn't get the wraps on here, but at the club he's held in high regard, though he has had a couple of injuries slowing him down this year, he hasn't played a bad game.
Hard to think he's probably got another 16 decent years of football in him.

I think the lack of close games contributes to the small crowds. When the top 3 play against anyone else most people know the outcome so dont bother turning up. I have no doubt when the top 3 play each other or the bottom 4 play each other that the crowds are pretty good because the games will most likely be close ( Not always in the Hawks v Saints case). Norths and Souths had a good crowd from all reports due to a function on that day. Maybe clubs need to start using their imagination to start getting the people back.

wasn't due to the function, which had about a dozen ladies, all interested in chatting & drinking, most had their back to the game all day :eek:

Now I am hoping to get a few replies to this How can we get better numbers to our games. Is it the club alone that has to get mates to come and support or maybe afl cairns can do more with the community or do we need more tv commercials and maybe flyers about each club with player profiles. I don't know what exactly but there is no reason why we can't have 200 people or even more at cazalys or even other grounds. I am making it sound like this is a state league but surely there would be plenty of people doing nothing better than sitting on Friday night or sat. The last sat night game at cazalys was a joke there was a few scattered supporters. There should be blokes in there 20's and 30's getting on the piss watching footy and families on the hill then out on the field kicking ball with dad at quarter time. Anyway I'm rambling now so you have your say now. Talk about something other than bagging each other.

I for one would get rid of that amateurish AFL Cairns Advertisement for the weekend games, it is utterly rubbish, looks like a 5 grader thought it up. :eek:

And no offense against Eddie Skiba but his ads for Rep football could be more exciting
maybe he & Ash his music partner can write a catch song with some feeling.:D

AFL up here seems lifeless other than around our clubs

there is my farthings worth at this stage ;)

I think the small crowds are associated to more so the ground structures. I remember seeing them pull massive crowds in Sunraysia for even just U16 games. Remembering U16's were played before U18's which were played before Reserves which were played before Seniors.

You'd park your car at the boundary line and by half time you would have the ground lined with cars all the way around. I think most of us southerners would remember these sights from the local footy as well. As well as that I guess people rather not pay to watch local footy in the sun when they can stay home for free?

Hence where the Aircon in the car sounds a treat, or in Victoria's case the heater and the coffee on flow.

Premiers: Saints/Port
League Medal: Powell (Saints)
Biggest Improver from 2010: Hawks
Most under-rated player: Matt Harth
Most over-rated player: Smith (Port)
Most loyal player in the league:
Toughest bloke in the league: Crane (Saints) this bloke is tough as a $2 steak
Biggest Sook in the league: Brent Craighead
Best Young talent: Man Child Everett
Best Coach: Not Viola.. having a go at blokes on the piss for not playing rep footy isn't a great image for the league

As for the crowds if they played juniors on Saturday morning and Netball on the same day, at the same venue you would get crowds like most other places in Aust do... however with juniors and netballers playing on different days the crowds will never be big.
Is Port the only venue with the potential to play netball though?

Where do u expect him 2 get his kicks? I'm sure his team defense is geared 2 forcing the ball wide and trying 2 create a turnover out near the boundary.. And when souths do force a turnover they want to get the ball in his hands because lets be honest they are thin on talent.. So do I expect him 2 kick it too himself? Or do u expect 1 of his hard working but ultimately average teammates 2 hit him up in a dangerous position when he is getting the most attention of any1 on his side? Or would u prefer him change the defensive principles and force opposition teams down the middle of the ground and have 40 goals a game so he can get a few kicks in dangerous positions?

Well seeing as though you're obviously a young fella, I'll take it easy. However showntell, just because a team plays wide doesn't mean you can't be damaging. Look, you make it out that I'm after the bloke, but I'm not. I simply stated a fact, and our football club doesn't rate him worthy of a tag, and neither do any others. that in itself tells you he just doesn't hurt you. Again, he is in his first year as coach, so let him develop in the role as player coach. He will soon figure out that he can't do it all on his own, and will become a better player for it. He needs to be a player, first and foremost, on the field, and have somone in place on the bench to coach. he can become involved as a coach during the breaks, but on field, you simply have to be a footballer.

Good subject to raise, some grounds just don't have adequate visitor/guest facilities. If you go to some grounds and want to have a beer, there is no room or it's just uninviting. I think involving kids at half time could go some way. Whether that involves mini footy games or some type of running competition that runs over a few rounds and culminating in a final. Something like this may get junior parents off their arse and get them to a senior game. Senior clubs could encourage junior parents more by either working closer with their junior club or offer some inducement to the parents. Having a function a couple of times during the season can help but you need someone to run them. I also believe that night games aren't necessarily the answer. If it's cold or the weather is crap, people won't go out to to a footy match. Likeminded clubs could get together and promote an annual stoush. I believe Port and Saints now have an annual match up that involves the two footy clubs playing off as well the respective netball teams. Souths and Norths on Anzac Day, Souths V Hakws for the Kris Seivers Memorial. And yes, it probably wouldn't hurt to see some TV ads run by AFL Cairns. Because lets face it, apart from the little ad in Friday's Cairns Post and some free to air ads on Sea FM there's that much else. Cazalys could be involved more then they are, they now run the bars and pokies in at least four of clubs in the league. I know the Richmond V Suns game will attract some attention but that is only once a year. The AFL Cairns League needs more positive advertising and possibly some more input from the Club Presidents when they hold their regular AFL Cairns Presidents meeting. Anyway, only food for thought.
:cool:

Premiers: Hawks
League Medal: Dwayne Bosen (Norths)
Most under-rated player: Dwayne Bosen
Most over-rated player: Glen Martin/ Lukas Ehlich
Most loyal player in the league: Gavin Miller
Toughest bloke in the league: Evan Hocking
Biggest Sook in the league: Glen Martin
Best Young talent: Norths have a lot of young talent. Doust and Brown from Port Douglas, Wardle.
Best Coach: Kane Richter

League Medal: Dwayne Bosen (Norths)
Most under-rated player: Dwayne Bosen
Most over-rated player: Glen Martin/ Lukas Ehlich
Most loyal player in the league: Gavin Miller
Toughest bloke in the league: Evan Hocking
Biggest Sook in the league: Glen Martin
Best Young talent: Norths have a lot of young talent. Doust and Brown from Port Douglas, Wardle.
Best Coach: Kane Richter

Hahaha!

Wooden Spooners: Cairns City Lions
League Medal: Powell from Saints
Most expensive team: Port Douglas
Most under-rated player: Gavin Miller
Most over-rated player: Chris Adams
Most loyal player in the league: Mick Markham & Matt Walsh
Toughest bloke in the league: Lukas Ellich and Gavin Miller
Biggest Sook in the league: Chris Jorgenson & Luke Bloom
Best Young talent: Jermaine Mungie - Wardle
Best Coach: Paul Griffith & James Coatsworth

C'mon
can we please move on
& stop continually picking on a player or coach for whatever reason,

Ok let's chat for whatever the merits for a short period , then we move on

the chappy here in question has been lamblasted continuously since he has been in Cairns from past players,old friends, enemies; & who knows who, without giving him a chance to change his spots---- if needed.

I really think some are jealous LOL :eek::eek::D:D:D:D:D

I couldn't care from who's club or not he is.

that's Tamba's spit for the day ;);););) cheers

Just saw a couple of sydney clubs have joined the NEAFL, Cairns has been mooted in the past, any possiblility of a team going into an expanded northern conference in the NEAFL

Who ever said that the biggest sooks in the league are the forum users must have been referring to tamba! tamba that's exactly the type of subject that this forum is here to discuss. I agree with the general thought that the fella and how he plays. Have your say, but don't sook about it.

As for WCL's question, didnt the Cairns AFL knock back the offer to field a team in the NEAFL?? Why has got me buggered but they did.

Who ever said that the biggest sooks in the league are the forum users must have been referring to tamba! tamba that's exactly the type of subject that this forum is here to discuss. I agree with the general thought that the fella and how he plays. Have your say, but don't sook about it.

As for WCL's question, didnt the Cairns AFL knock back the offer to field a team in the NEAFL?? Why has got me buggered but they did.

Read what I said get over him there are plenty of others if you like to look around

Reason AFL Cairns didn't join the NEAFL was

THEY CAN'T AFFORD IT, so will try to join in 2013-2014 maybe.

that's from the media interview the so called league Pres. Gary Young said, if you can call him that as Melissa really calls all the shots, he is a lame duck in name and a media try to be hog

Read what I said get over him there are plenty of others if you like to look around

Reason AFL Cairns didn't join the NEAFL was

THEY CAN'T AFFORD IT, so will try to join in 2013-2014 maybe.

that's from the media interview the so called league Pres. Gary Young said, if you can call him that as Melissa really calls all the shots, he is a lame duck in name and a media try to be hog
Not only can't they afford it, but didn't we just have 16 blokes pull out of the rep. side. Why would at team in a higher league be any different? At the end of the day, the lifestyle, weather and off field activities attract players here, not the chance to play football at a higher level. Might be helpful to a few talented juniors, but realistically, if they're serious about 'making it' they will be down south by the time they're 18 anyway.

We actually agree on something, though these days I think even if they do stay in Cairns they can make a good go of it. I know there was a few scouts down here the other week of football and will be down here again in a few weeks as well so it's getting easier for key players to be noticed.

Well FWIW I also AGREE Lukas is a gun

The problem with Cairns AFL trying to have a NEAFL team is that a lot of the top players have got jobs through their local club, or some other arrangement, as coaches or asst coaches. Others are on incentives.

How would the CAFL attract players to play in the NEAFL side if they're not the ones providing the incentives for the players to move and/or stay here? I don't see it being any different to the lack of interest in the rep squad.

The only way it could work is if CAFL sponsored the reigning premiers to be the CAFL representative side on behalf of the league each year. But this might be an unfair advantage to that side who would then be naturally attracting more players, sponsors and fans.

That is not the only way it could work, and that wouldn't work.

I don't think the CAFL alone is capable of producing enough talent to have a competitive NEAFL side.

BUT what about a FNQ NEAFL team based in Cairns? (including Mackay, Townsville, etc..)

That is not the only way it could work, and that wouldn't work.

I don't think the CAFL alone is capable of producing enough talent to have a competitive NEAFL side.

BUT what about a FNQ NEAFL team based in Cairns? (including Mackay, Townsville, etc..)

Still cannot see it working they wouldn't have the numbers to aid a side,then AFL Townsville would have a good case then to base them there, as for the distance, that was one of the reasons Kerry Boustead couldn't locate the Cowboy's NRL here plus the numbers.

It really would be one way to kill AFL Cairns , I hope I'm wrong I want to see a great standard here & for our Juniors to be looked at even more

Still cannot see it working they wouldn't have the numbers to aid a side,then AFL Townsville would have a good case then to base them there, as for the distance, that was one of the reasons Kerry Boustead couldn't locate the Cowboy's NRL here plus the numbers.

It really would be one way to kill AFL Cairns , I hope I'm wrong I want to see a great standard here & for our Juniors to be looked at even more

I can't believe how negative you all are about such a huge step forward for Australian Rules Football in Cairns! If you nit pick at the negatives and look for them, then you'll find them. Yet if you focus on the positives and see that the region NEEDS this for footy to improve up here, then it will work.

It will attract many young footballers that haven't made it in other more traditionally strong areas, give them another avenue to make it. The CAFL will need to pay footballers, as you do in such a competition, then the locals will grow to see this team as an acheivable goal then you're away. Don't forget there are only 22 in a team and the remaining that are not picked will filter down through the remaining clubs.

It can happen, should happen, and I have no doubt will happen! And I for one cannot wait!