AFL Cairns - 2012 Season

Can't see Saints getting beaten in the grand final. Good win to Norths ressies yesterday, even though it was by a head count. Smart move by team management, doesn't Galea know how to count? Was interesting to hear Darren Wall's tirade at 3/4 time break. Port had a comfortable lead but he was obviously still unhappy with the effort. Hawks played well against the Cutters. I think the Cutter boys can take a lot of positives away this year and build on their efforts. Didn't stay for the Norths/Saintsseniors game but obviously the Saints were too strong.

As for the Crathern, my young bloke is tipping Chris Jorgensen.o_O

Good win to Norths ressies plllllllllllllllllllease. Were outplayed for 4 qrts but for a Saints brainfade have made a grand final. Don't get me wrong you take advantage of these things if you can but to say it was a good win or that they deserve it like their coach said on the ground is just wrong. Will take alot for the Saints 2's to back up after last nights disapointment and probably see Port as favourites next week. Saints were great and gave Norths no chance in the seniors. To see Richter and Mueller ( who had 10 kicked on him) in Norths best is a joke. Hawks were very good against an up against it Souths. Chuchill up forward was very dangerous and will be a handfull next week. Can't see Norths coming back from a loss like that and think Hawks will get home easily.

It's a funny one to pick. Norths beat Hawks comfortably couple of weeks back, but Hawks weren't at full strength. But the embarrassing effort, or lack there of yesterday must scar the confidence.

Richter named best for Norths??? I felt he was outplayed and grossly out coached.

I'll tip Hawks in over time then Saints to break records in the Grand Final.

Good win to Norths ressies plllllllllllllllllllease. Were outplayed for 4 qrts but for a Saints brainfade have made a grand final. Don't get me wrong you take advantage of these things if you can but to say it was a good win or that they deserve it like their coach said on the ground is just wrong. Will take alot for the Saints 2's to back up after last nights disapointment and probably see Port as favourites next week. Saints were great and gave Norths no chance in the seniors. To see Richter and Mueller ( who had 10 kicked on him) in Norths best is a joke. Hawks were very good against an up against it Souths. Chuchill up forward was very dangerous and will be a handfull next week. Can't see Norths coming back from a loss like that and think Hawks will get home easily.
Not sure what the coach said on the field but he definitely didn't say they deserved to win in the rooms, boys didn't even sing the song (and fair enough) and everyone I spoke to could only speak of how poorly they had played. still as you say rules are rules and the lads only had good things to say about how well the Saints players handled the situation.
Seniors was amazing. Really looked like men against boys. Yes Mueller had an off day but I actually though Kane was one of our best over 4 quarters. Will be a really good test of character to see if we can bounce back this week, we flogged the Hawks a few weeks ago but they have the distinct advantage of playing finals at their home ground, so it will be very interesting.
Also must comment on the dismal crowd on the weekend. I know the races were on but it seems interest in this years result is pretty low and after Saturdays result i can see in a fortnights time being one of the smallest Gf crowds in years:thumbsdown:

Sants dominance has caused waned interest in this season given the result has been assured for a long time. As Max O'Halloran said in the paper, after last year they went to work right away to ensure they were stronger this year.

Interested to see the same article claimed that Hawks win was an upset! Given they were on top of the ladder all year and finished with the minor premiership, I think Hawks win was far from an upset. I think the Saints winning by so much in the 2nd semi was the upset. But there's the Saint arrogance again isn't it. No matter what any other club does or how good theyre going or even if they win the premiership, it's still a matter of it being an 'upset' that Saints didn't do better.

Well this year, IF Saints somehow miraculously lose with a team that would probably go close to winning the state league premiership, then it will be an upset.

Sants dominance has caused waned interest in this season given the result has been assured for a long time. As Max O'Halloran said in the paper, after last year they went to work right away to ensure they were stronger this year.

Interested to see the same article claimed that Hawks win was an upset! Given they were on top of the ladder all year and finished with the minor premiership, I think Hawks win was far from an upset. I think the Saints winning by so much in the 2nd semi was the upset. But there's the Saint arrogance again isn't it. No matter what any other club does or how good theyre going or even if they win the premiership, it's still a matter of it being an 'upset' that Saints didn't do better.

Well this year, IF Saints somehow miraculously lose with a team that would probably go close to winning the state league premiership, then it will be an upset.

Hear Hear.

Who will get the gongs for the GF from the men in Orange ?????

Very early days but don't say I missed the stir.

Any heads up on the coaches next year

who is staying ?? leaving ???? being recruited or looked at ????

Centrals for one will more than likely be on the look out, no offense to young Baden.

Lions will keep theirs no doubt !!

Souths from my view will keep Grant.

Port are they happy ??? a secretive bunch of fellows

Very early days but don't say I missed the stir.

Any heads up on the coaches next year

who is staying ?? leaving ???? being recruited or looked at ????

Centrals for one will more than likely be on the look out, no offense to young Baden.

Lions will keep theirs no doubt !!

Souths from my view will keep Grant.

Port are they happy ??? a secretive bunch of fellows

Word is Andy Viola is looking to coach again next year, wont be Port, Cooper staying on there from all reports. He would be a great fit at Centrals I think & will bring blokes with him to get them back on track. Baden did a great job under difficult circumstances, we all hope he gets his knee right & can concentrate on playing the footy he's capable off next season.
Jason Roe will be coaching the Lions, pre season plans have begun in earnest for a promising 2013.
With the growing lop-sided nature of the comp, perhaps the league should look at (player) points concessions? Similar to a draft situation, the teams from the bottom up are afforded more points the following season to allow them to strengthen. Just a thought to try to remedy the haves & the have nots.

Word is Andy Viola is looking to coach again next year, wont be Port, Cooper staying on there from all reports. He would be a great fit at Centrals I think & will bring blokes with him to get them back on track. Baden did a great job under difficult circumstances, we all hope he gets his knee right & can concentrate on playing the footy he's capable off next season.
Jason Roe will be coaching the Lions, pre season plans have begun in earnest for a promising 2013.
With the growing lop-sided nature of the comp, perhaps the league should look at (player) points concessions? Similar to a draft situation, the teams from the bottom up are afforded more points the following season to allow them to strengthen. Just a thought to try to remedy the haves & the have nots.

Has its merits for discussion,

The top teams to keep their current allocation, maybe the lower an extra say Five - Ten points ????
reducing down to normal, the higher the team on the ladder

Or am I too generous ????

can see the Cons, but also the advantage

Anyone---- any thoughts ?????

Not sure what the coach said on the field but he definitely didn't say they deserved to win in the rooms, boys didn't even sing the song (and fair enough) and everyone I spoke to could only speak of how poorly they had played. still as you say rules are rules and the lads only had good things to say about how well the Saints players handled the situation.
Seniors was amazing. Really looked like men against boys. Yes Mueller had an off day but I actually though Kane was one of our best over 4 quarters. Will be a really good test of character to see if we can bounce back this week, we flogged the Hawks a few weeks ago but they have the distinct advantage of playing finals at their home ground, so it will be very interesting.
Also must comment on the dismal crowd on the weekend. I know the races were on but it seems interest in this years result is pretty low and after Saturdays result i can see in a fortnights time being one of the smallest Gf crowds in years:thumbsdown:

Couldn't agree more... Saints and Tigers players both handled the situation well. The ball hadn't been bounced and the Saints bench was yelling out to the player to get off as he didnt read the board at three quarter time.
Rules are rules and Saints had to cop it even though they were the ones who picked up on the extra man.

The senior game went as most thought and I hope the Tigers can win this weekend and make the Gf as they are a club heading in the right direction playing young kids and building a club culture. Not just buying players mid year and flying them across from Darwin.

Has its merits for discussion,

The top teams to keep their current allocation, maybe the lower an extra say Five - Ten points ????
reducing down to normal, the higher the team on the ladder

Or am I too generous ????

can see the Cons, but also the advantage

Anyone---- any thoughts ?????

Clubs recruiting the right players and developing their juniors is what the focus should be on. Clubs need to introduce incentive based payments like Saints and Nths (guessing other do this to)... Less points wouldnt work as most of Saints new players come from country leagues in Vic and if these players attracted more points all teams would suffer not just the top sides.

An incentive system which encourages junior participation in seniors would be beneficial.

Something along the lines of for every 5 ex-juniors in the team you get a 2 point benefit or something similar to that. So you could have 15 ex-juniors and 7 high pointers, or work the system so a balance like that is acceptable.

A system that rewards juniors would be better than the current one which is punishment based (or a good addition to the system). Clubs would then go even further out of their way to foster juniors (though almost all of them already do that, it gives them a bit more reward for effort.)

I'm tipping Norths in a very close contest and Saints to bounce back in the reserves.

Lions, Souths and Norths would be the success stories of the year. CTB the only team headed backwards. Though Port dropped spots on the ladder due to key departures, they still had competitive teams (as shown by their reserves).

I think most people were tipping Saints to win (not just Saints supporters) last year, so that would make it an upset. Just like if Hawks beat Norths this week, despite finishing below them, it wouldn't be an upset.

Our Juniors should be 0 if they were developed by the revelant club, or moved in from interstate at an age lower than 18.

Any player of 3 yr standing in one club also should be also 0 points as to their loyalty, if they came from out of area.

Couldn't agree more... Saints and Tigers players both handled the situation well. The ball hadn't been bounced and the Saints bench was yelling out to the player to get off as he didnt read the board at three quarter time.
Rules are rules and Saints had to cop it even though they were the ones who picked up on the extra man.

The senior game went as most thought and I hope the Tigers can win this weekend and make the Gf as they are a club heading in the right direction playing young kids and building a club culture. Not just buying players mid year and flying them across from Darwin.

Thinly veiled swing there Dr. Maybe I should cry to the moderator of the site.

Saints have been known to bring in a few late season recruits. As well as the pre season binge.

I think this is a fantastic idea! Every year teams are allocated points based on their position in the ladder at previous season's end. I can't see a problem with it unless the bigger clubs are scared of the competition becoming more even.

I reckon Matt Walsh won't get the hard ball. He's a seagull. He has a sook every time the body is put on him.

Why attack individual people on here? Say it to them during the game whilst your playing.

2 great games this weekend, I hope weather nor injuries play no part in the results. Obviously gribble is already out which is a big loss and ellich will return. I'll tip Norths for that reason, but by the smallest or margins. If withers was 5 years younger he would carry hawks over the line, played with, against and saw him play is his prime, one of the best I have seen.

Going for saints in the seconds naturally, it should be a cracking game!

Careful Swaqqa you'll be dobbed in to teacher (site moderator)! The Saints guys have a habit of sooking at opinion if it's about individuals. Not sure why, as that's what I thought this site was for, opinion on all things football.

Hawks & Norths will hopefully be a good game, but on form I would have to say Hawks by a fair margin. But picking the winner will be nothing but a guess, a coin toss as both are inconsistent.

Did Ehlich not play last week? Why, is he injured?

Since he's a school teacher, Walshy would have plenty of kids willing to take an anonymous swipe.

He's the record holder for goals kicked in the league in a season and towards the end of his career. Don't think kids posting on BF will be at the top of his list of worries.

I think Saturday will be a great day of football!

Since he's a school teacher, Walshy would have plenty of kids willing to take an anonymous swipe.

He's the record holder for goals kicked in the league in a season and towards the end of his career. Don't think kids posting on BF will be at the top of his list of worries.

I think Saturday will be a great day of football!

No doubt Walshy wouldn't care about a school kid's opinion. And yes he's been good, but I still say he's a flat track bully. Breaking the record is a noble feat however he broke the record in the weakest year the competiton has fielded in some time.

Again I use North Cairns as the barometer. They haven't changed much at all, neither greatly improving nor falling away. This team finished 5th last season with 6 wins and this year finished 2nd on 13 wins. The average winning margin has been huge and any full forward in the land would kick big bags in that team in this competition.

Saints must know that the entire competition will be at the grand final waiting for them to fail. A lot of pressure given the team they have.

I reckon Matt Walsh won't get the hard ball. He's a seagull. He has a sook every time the body is put on him.

Swaqqa, what a ridiculous statement. Enough said.

Anyway, onto more important topics. Norths V Hawks - Going to be a cracker of a game. If I was a betting man, I would have Norths for a win under 25.

Some good undercurrents in the two games this weekend.

Ehlich and Norths against Martin and the Hawks. A young up-and-coming team vs a team stitched together mid-year. Powell's domination of the ruck will be what Norths have to overcome. They have two choices. Throw their best players, Richter, Ehlich and Tennick into the centre and try to win the clearances despite losing the taps. Or put enough pressure on the Hawks mids to make them hurry their kicks at clearances, then run the ball out of defence,but this also gives Powell a chance to drop back, which he's very good at, particularly at Cazalys.

In the reserves, Saints are looking to overcome last weeks' error, which would appear to be more of a mental hurdle than a physical one. Port are no pushovers in the reserves with the leading goalkicker by a long way, they're capable of anything on a good day.

Why attack individual people on here? Say it to them during the game whilst your playing.

2 great games this weekend, I hope weather nor injuries play no part in the results. Obviously gribble is already out which is a big loss and ellich will return. I'll tip Norths for that reason, but by the smallest or margins. If withers was 5 years younger he would carry hawks over the line, played with, against and saw him play is his prime, one of the best I have seen.

Going for saints in the seconds naturally, it should be a cracking game!

I would have to agree with you Grimey. As much as I dislike Saints I don't think putting shit on Walsh is warranted. I also fail to see how the guy is a 'Seagull'. Can someone please explain??

My kiss of death this week -

Hawks to beat Norths in a tight one
Port to get over Saints

I think the two games this week should be good contests.

;)

AFL Cairns - 2012 Season