AFL CAIRNS - Season 2013

Now Ive heard it all.....more Saints dribble....

Centrals amalgamate with Lions..?!? ffs

Rickter made a fine speech after the dreamtime game, showing appreciation at his club being involved & humility in winning, something we rarely see from Saints. It did show quality & he has our respect.

As for cricket scores kicked against us, this is true but you have to play a plan that suits the cattle you have, unfortunately we lack several quality defenders & height across the park, a fact we need to address with our recruiting in 2014.

Now Ive heard it all.....more Saints dribble....

Centrals amalgamate with Lions..?!? ffs

Rickter made a fine speech after the dreamtime game, showing appreciation at his club being involved & humility in winning, something we rarely see from Saints. It did show quality & he has our respect.

As for cricket scores kicked against us, this is true but you have to play a plan that suits the cattle you have, unfortunately we lack several quality defenders & height across the park, a fact we need to address with our recruiting in 2014.

Wayne the Whinger is that you? Your hatred is putrid! Have another beer and relax buddy, haters are gonna hate and you my friend are the former...:mad::hearts::hearts::hearts:;)

Are you serious..? grow up & learn to read...
Are you serious...??? Blah blah Yes Wayne the whinger I am serious! Are you? I just think Umad?! Your continual insightful analysis of Cairns Saints is very entertaining!! Did someone from the club do something to you personally? Did the knock a beer out of your hand once or worse, buy the last roast roll ahead of you once at the canteen?

Please keep us all informed on this forum about saints arrogance because it is very entertaining!

Sending all my love.... Glen xoxo

When was the last time you ran out onto a field of wallaby shit? Nobody is worried about it during the games, but afterwards its all over you. Its disgusting.

Wrong. Look into the history of Watsons Oval for starters. Regardless, even if this was true how is this an excuse to allow kids to play on a field with poo everywhere?

Its a simple fence issue. Its not rocket science. Dont give me crap about multi-use etc.. just build a fence. The baseball fields dont have the problem. Why not you ask? BECAUSE THEY HAVE A FENCE. Yes old mate is doing a great service by going around and picking most of it up before the games, but he's not gonna do that forever, and he shouldnt have to.

See you signed up today, welcome to the forum, hopefully your next post is more insightful than just spouting off 'harden up m8' and calling people skirts.
The issue of fencing the entire oval and surrounds has been brought up many times and been discussed with AFL Cairns. The reason the entire area cannot be fenced is one to do with access and the zoning/classification of the precinct. There have also been gates put in around the perimeter of the fence that is there and people thleave these gates open which allows the wallabies access to the ground.
So until the zoning/classification of the area is changed, there wont be a fence going up all the way around the oval precinct anytime soon.
As for the lighting for night matches, what has been installed is the best the could be got for the money that was spent. No extra lights are able to be added to each tower as they wont take the extra weight. There is an issue with the positioning on the lights on the towers but to do this it is Centrals responsibiliyt not AFL Cairns. For the club to do this it would mean the hiring of a crane big enough to reach each tower, doing the work of an evening and having several people also contracted to do the job.The cost of doing this would be prohibitive and is something the club cannot afford.
As for people taking potshots at Saints, they should be happy people are talking about them whether it be in a positive or negative light. I was once told by a very wise man that if people are talking about you or making comments then you must be doing something right, if their not then you wonder what youare doing wrong or not doing.
All leagues around the country have at least one club they everyone doesn't like and most of these clubs wear it as a badge of honour. Collingwood are probably the biggest example of this.......

Are you serious...??? Blah blah Yes Wayne the whinger I am serious! Are you? I just think Umad?! Your continual insightful analysis of Cairns Saints is very entertaining!! Did someone from the club do something to you personally? Did the knock a beer out of your hand once or worse, buy the last roast roll ahead of you once at the canteen?

Please keep us all informed on this forum about saints arrogance because it is very entertaining!

Sending all my love.... Glen xoxo
Dear Glen. If you mean by "Wayne the whinger" our hard working president, you are very wrong. As I've said before, we are all entitled to our opinion. I'm not the only one across Cairns AFL who find your club selfish & arrogant at times & clearly not the only one on this forum. I wish I could find your comments entertaining but they are just childish & daft....

To Cairns City Lion, your needless vendetta and hate directed towards Saints is just sad. The manner with which you go about it, spruiking your own opinion as if it was gospel and 'everyone' agrees with you is getting old. I've cut and pasted some of your best work to illustrate the kind of jargon you carry on with- ' I'm not the only one across Cairns AFL who find your club selfish & arrogant' please elaborate.
- 'Now Ive heard it all.....more Saints dribble....' -are you saying the crap you carry on with isn't dribble?
- 'Rickter made a fine speech after the dreamtime game, showing appreciation at his club being involved & humility in winning, something we rarely see from Saints'- please elaborate, when do they not show humility in winning. I could see how you would be jealous, when half of your roster have probably not sung the team song.
- 'Yes, well said. Your club is always excellent in its support for the juniors & the wallaby problem is one that's surely outside your hard working volunteers control. Fancy "Lachrilly" having a winge, what a surprise..!!! it seems all is open slather for your negative comments but don't dare any of us criticise Saints.... ' How is building a bloody fence out of control of the club? And again, you don't speak for yourself, but have to mention 'any of us' like you speak for everyone. Your opinions are your own, keep them that way. I bet you were the kind of kid who got your big brother (or sister) to fight your battles for you. I know you're club is struggling, but nobody in here can help you.
- 'Gee...players showing disrespect to one of yours....you reap what you sow.... '- Are you serious?! You're vindicating players squirting a player with water as he's chaired off the ground?! Seriously?! There's a difference between showing respect for a club celebrating the achievements of a clubman, and the kind of disrespect shown towards the players at your club, because frankly, they're bloody useless.
- And before you jump up and down, I'm not a Saint, I haven't been to a game this year, or last. I just jump on this forum to keep up with the goings-on of the local comp, and would have the same opinion if you were bagging Norths, Hawks or any other club without any substance or reason behind your comments. It's bloody annoying logging on to read some toss bagging out someone else seemingly only out of jealousy. I can guarantee, constant sooking will not help turn around your perennial struggler of a club. End rant

To Cairns City Lion, your needless vendetta and hate directed towards Saints is just sad. The manner with which you go about it, spruiking your own opinion as if it was gospel and 'everyone' agrees with you is getting old. I've cut and pasted some of your best work to illustrate the kind of jargon you carry on with- ' I'm not the only one across Cairns AFL who find your club selfish & arrogant' please elaborate.
- 'Now Ive heard it all.....more Saints dribble....' -are you saying the crap you carry on with isn't dribble?
- 'Rickter made a fine speech after the dreamtime game, showing appreciation at his club being involved & humility in winning, something we rarely see from Saints'- please elaborate, when do they not show humility in winning. I could see how you would be jealous, when half of your roster have probably not sung the team song.
- 'Yes, well said. Your club is always excellent in its support for the juniors & the wallaby problem is one that's surely outside your hard working volunteers control. Fancy "Lachrilly" having a winge, what a surprise..!!! it seems all is open slather for your negative comments but don't dare any of us criticise Saints.... ' How is building a bloody fence out of control of the club? And again, you don't speak for yourself, but have to mention 'any of us' like you speak for everyone. Your opinions are your own, keep them that way. I bet you were the kind of kid who got your big brother (or sister) to fight your battles for you. I know you're club is struggling, but nobody in here can help you.
- 'Gee...players showing disrespect to one of yours....you reap what you sow.... '- Are you serious?! You're vindicating players squirting a player with water as he's chaired off the ground?! Seriously?! There's a difference between showing respect for a club celebrating the achievements of a clubman, and the kind of disrespect shown towards the players at your club, because frankly, they're bloody useless.
- And before you jump up and down, I'm not a Saint, I haven't been to a game this year, or last. I just jump on this forum to keep up with the goings-on of the local comp, and would have the same opinion if you were bagging Norths, Hawks or any other club without any substance or reason behind your comments. It's bloody annoying logging on to read some toss bagging out someone else seemingly only out of jealousy. I can guarantee, constant sooking will not help turn around your perennial struggler of a club. End rant

Hey RighteoThen, thanks for saying what many people on this forum think about Cairns City Lions continual whinging and negative comments regarding the League and Cairns Saints....I'm bloody sick of it also!

Got to Watson oval on weekend. Saw the Saints for the first time and I now believe that they are the team to best because whilst tigers have an tosser of Lucas Ellich calibre playing they will destruct. He should be rubbed out for at least 6 weeks and removed from the rep side. I also witnessed the disgraceful supporters of Norths telling a player who was coughing up blood on the boundary to shush up cause he was trying to watch the game. I disappointed to say I was actually talking to these morons before hand. A great result for the saints against the most disgusting team in the AFL Cairns and if my team can't win it then go Saints. Ellich your a peasant.

I also did witness this and look the guy can play footy but he is his own worst enemy and a walking contradiction. In the 3rd quarter he abused Tom Mooka for giving away a 50m penalty and being the role model leader he is, then cheap shots a tagger who is a regular 2nds player at the club who was towelling him up with a blow to the ribs when he was watching his team mate take a set shot sum 70m away. Ellich is a coward and whilst he has football ability he was easily the turning point in a close game. Looking back on the footage of the game, i am sure Kane and his coaches will see that as the turning point and what inspired Saints to run over a very hapless tigers with so many saints players watching from the sidelines. Tigers, with so many out, lack depth and lack discipline......... The pre ejaculation of form early in the season looks to be running out and the infection that is Ellich is slowly spreading around the tigers den that has been sprooking such a tight and happy club ' with only quality people in it' BAHAHAHHAHA

As for the supporters, put them all together and you get one set of teeth between them and enough brain cells to form a half a brain that would be used for doing up a pair of velcro sandals with colour coded picture instructions!

Agree with everything said about Ellich and the game on Saturday. Hopefully the camera did pick something up and he gets multiple weeks for it. Taking away his spot in the rep side is also the right call as we dont want a guy like that representing Cairns.

Ellich is a coward
The irony of anonymously calling someone a coward over the internet is hilarious. Why dont you come down to Watsons Tue or Thu and have a go at him yourself, even just drive bye and yell it out the window, thats better than posting it up online behind your silly alias. He'll be there working his ass off. Not being a tough guy but if you are gonna call a bloke a coward, be a man and say it to his face or just shut up.

As for the supporters, put them all together and you get one set of teeth between them and enough brain cells to form a half a brain that would be used for doing up a pair of velcro sandals with colour coded picture instructions!
Id say that you were talking about your own supporters here, but there were NONE there. Why is that? No wives to cheat on each other with this year? The only vocal supporter you had was moneybags martin who was busy as usual running his mouth FAR away from the footy. The only difference between him on the ground and off the ground is he gets closer to the footy when hes off the ground.

Not wanting one of the best midfielders in the comp in the rep side? Stay pleb and keep hatin.

The irony of anonymously calling someone a coward over the internet is hilarious. Why dont you come down to Watsons Tue or Thu and have a go at him yourself, even just drive bye and yell it out the window, thats better than posting it up online behind your silly alias. He'll be there working his arse off. Not being a tough guy but if you are gonna call a bloke a coward, be a man and say it to his face or just shut up.

Id say that you were talking about your own supporters here, but there were NONE there. Why is that? No wives to cheat on each other with this year? The only vocal supporter you had was moneybags martin who was busy as usual running his mouth FAR away from the footy. The only difference between him on the ground and off the ground is he gets closer to the footy when hes off the ground.

Not wanting one of the best midfielders in the comp in the rep side? Stay pleb and keep hatin.

Ouch thats a bit of low blow bringing wives into the chat! I noticed a couple were missing from the tiger den, moved onto green pastures i hear...... oh well, bit of bad luck hey ;) Saints supproters whils they can be biased wouldnt make rediculous comments towards an injured player if he was coughing up blood and really hurt from a really cheap shot by a real low life. There are limits and there are limits and that was really sad to see and hear from those people. They are not a reflection on the good work your club has done but still very poor form!

Money bags...... we dont pay players HadtoPost and hearing only some of the comments, i did think they were accurate as the player he was commenting on was probably wanted to hide under a rock, not because of his below average looks but his limited skill, pace and ability and i happened to see Ricter shaking his head a few times after his mistakes and loose defensive play. Al Macqueen was easily to good for that player so i thought based on your comments, perhaps we should have payed marto for those comments. Honesty is important i think and i think Ricter will be playing that guy at 1pm in future and probably good spot for him.

Look Ellich wont be figuring in the rep side, he will be suspended and if he does play, good luck to him but i assume he wont be eligible due to his cheap shot. A game i am sure he would be quick to move on from as two ressies players, really got under his skin and got easy possessions on him and he was ordinary for a so called rep player ;)

Really shocked about the Dogs over Souths........ Any reports anyone?

Well Mate, if you haven't been to a game this year, or last...your hardly qualified to comment are you. Rant dismissed.

I
Hey RighteoThen, thanks for saying what many people on this forum think about Cairns City Lions continual whinging and negative comments regarding the League and Cairns Saints....I'm bloody sick of it also!
Is that right? Im never negative about the league & Im entitled to my opinion about the Saints FC. Have a look at the incredible hateful comments put up about North Cairns by Saints on this forum over the past few days. You hypocrites....

wowee, haven't been here for a while but managed to get down to Watsons for a look on Saturday and wondered what would be said about the game. My thoughts for what they are worth. yes, Ehlich is a loose cannon, but he is a gun and the type of player that we need ON the field to take us to that next step. I hated him when he played for Hawks and I cringe when I see him carrying on now but he has never been any different and I will back Richter and co. to keep him somewhere near the straight and narrow. I didn't see the incident in question but the bloke did come off in a bit of pain so I guess we will see...
The pretty childish description of all North Cairns supporters is uneccessary and perhaps part of the reason of the hate directed at Saints. ( for the record, I am not a member of the 'lets hate saints club', every club here would love the sustained success they have enjoyed and this can only be done with dedicated people off the field). But, over they years I have heard many many unneccessary sprays coming from the direction of the Saints bar (and every other bar in the league for that matter). You guys are not immune to having a loud mouth idiot in your crowd from time to time.... It was actually a really good day down there, crowd was a bit smaller than expected but the ladies day was well attended and certainly helped the viewing.
I don't think you can write the tigers off after that game, both teams had players out and if it wasn't for poor kicking at goal, we probably could have snatched the chocolates. Its a classic case of a good loss to have.:cool:

Every club has a few supporters that make the others look bad at time to time. Im sure looking back those supporters will realize that what they said wasn't on and if it was a Norths player hurt that they wouldnt want things said either. Ellich might be a good player yes but what he does on the field could easily cost Norths a game (He gets sent off almost every game he plays against Saints). If he loses it in a GF then im sure Norths fans wont find nice things to say.

wowee, haven't been here for a while but managed to get down to Watsons for a look on Saturday and wondered what would be said about the game. My thoughts for what they are worth. yes, Ehlich is a loose cannon, but he is a gun and the type of player that we need ON the field to take us to that next step. I hated him when he played for Hawks and I cringe when I see him carrying on now but he has never been any different and I will back Richter and co. to keep him somewhere near the straight and narrow. I didn't see the incident in question but the bloke did come off in a bit of pain so I guess we will see...
The pretty childish description of all North Cairns supporters is uneccessary and perhaps part of the reason of the hate directed at Saints. ( for the record, I am not a member of the 'lets hate saints club', every club here would love the sustained success they have enjoyed and this can only be done with dedicated people off the field). But, over they years I have heard many many unneccessary sprays coming from the direction of the Saints bar (and every other bar in the league for that matter). You guys are not immune to having a loud mouth idiot in your crowd from time to time.... It was actually a really good day down there, crowd was a bit smaller than expected but the ladies day was well attended and certainly helped the viewing.
I don't think you can write the tigers off after that game, both teams had players out and if it wasn't for poor kicking at goal, we probably could have snatched the chocolates. Its a classic case of a good loss to have.:cool:

Well said Watsons. Pretty low incident but from what was said, the umpires didnt see it........

"The pretty childish description of all North Cairns supporters is uneccessary and perhaps part of the reason of the hate directed at Saints. ( for the record, I am not a member of the 'lets hate saints club', every club here would love the sustained success they have enjoyed and this can only be done with dedicated people off the field). But, over they years I have heard many many unneccessary sprays coming from the direction of the Saints bar (and every other bar in the league for that matter). You guys are not immune to having a loud mouth idiot in your crowd from time to time...."

Well said Watsons. This is what I have been trying to say but have been attacked, maybe your turn of phrase is better. I have never seen a player singled out for such hate as this from the Saints supporters on this forum & certainly never have done this personally. "Let he without sin cast the first stone".... I have been accused as jealous & hateful, of course we are jealous but hateful NO! The last few posts directed at Norths are hateful.
I have mentioned on this forum before that we are all very envious of the results Saints FC have achieved, no doubt about that & I quite rightly congratulated Saints FC on the debut of their first home grown junior. This was a huge event for Saints & after the game several Lions people went out of their way to congratulate Jack & his parents. He played well.
But the way they have gone about many things over the years have left a sour taste at times, that's my opinion & Im not concerned who agrees or not.
On another matter, very sad to see Ben Hallas resign as junior co-ordinator. He was a breath of fresh air in that job, was really pro-active, incredibly helpful & supportive of junior footy & just a really nice bloke. Im not sure why he left (does anybody know?) but he will certainly be missed by us.

Ouch thats a bit of low blow bringing wives into the chat! I noticed a couple were missing from the tiger den, moved onto green pastures i hear...... oh well, bit of bad luck hey ;) Saints supproters whils they can be biased wouldnt make rediculous comments towards an injured player if he was coughing up blood and really hurt from a really cheap shot by a real low life. There are limits and there are limits and that was really sad to see and hear from those people. They are not a reflection on the good work your club has done but still very poor form!

Money bags...... we dont pay players HadtoPost and hearing only some of the comments, i did think they were accurate as the player he was commenting on was probably wanted to hide under a rock, not because of his below average looks but his limited skill, pace and ability and i happened to see Ricter shaking his head a few times after his mistakes and loose defensive play. Al Macqueen was easily to good for that player so i thought based on your comments, perhaps we should have payed marto for those comments. Honesty is important i think and i think Ricter will be playing that guy at 1pm in future and probably good spot for him.

Look Ellich wont be figuring in the rep side, he will be suspended and if he does play, good luck to him but i assume he wont be eligible due to his cheap shot. A game i am sure he would be quick to move on from as two ressies players, really got under his skin and got easy possessions on him and he was ordinary for a so called rep player ;)

Really shocked about the Dogs over Souths........ Any reports anyone?

"The pretty childish description of all North Cairns supporters is uneccessary and perhaps part of the reason of the hate directed at Saints. ( for the record, I am not a member of the 'lets hate saints club', every club here would love the sustained success they have enjoyed and this can only be done with dedicated people off the field). But, over they years I have heard many many unneccessary sprays coming from the direction of the Saints bar (and every other bar in the league for that matter). You guys are not immune to having a loud mouth idiot in your crowd from time to time...."

Well said Watsons. This is what I have been trying to say but have been attacked, maybe your turn of phrase is better. I have never seen a player singled out for such hate as this from the Saints supporters on this forum & certainly never have done this personally. "Let he without sin cast the first stone".... I have been accused as jealous & hateful, of course we are jealous but hateful NO! The last few posts directed at Norths are hateful.
I have mentioned on this forum before that we are all very envious of the results Saints FC have achieved, no doubt about that & I quite rightly congratulated Saints FC on the debut of their first home grown junior. This was a huge event for Saints & after the game several Lions people went out of their way to congratulate Jack & his parents. He played well.
But the way they have gone about many things over the years have left a sour taste at times, that's my opinion & Im not concerned who agrees or not.
On another matter, very sad to see Ben Hallas resign as junior co-ordinator. He was a breath of fresh air in that job, was really pro-active, incredibly helpful & supportive of junior footy & just a really nice bloke. Im not sure why he left (does anybody know?) but he will certainly be missed by us.

With Ben being a qualified teacher, he has left the job at CAFL to take up a teaching position (somewhere in Cairns but not sure where). I know I've been a part of it, but let's get over this rubbish of bagging other clubs/supporters etc and start talking footy!!! 2 of the games look pretty straight forward this weekend, Saints over Souths, Crocs over Hawks, so I think the game of the round from a 'close encounter' perspective would be the Lions V Bulldogs game. I'm hoping that the Lions can post their first win this weekend - a good bunch of blokes out there that should get better as the year goes on.

OK, well said & I'm up for that, we all love footy & sometimes it all spills over into spite. Ive been just as guilty but like you say, lets try to keep it positive & about footy from now on.
I agree with selections. Saints fresh from very good win (I thought Norths would solidly beat them but you just cant count them out) will account for Souths. Crocs should beat Hawks but you can never count Hawks out. Lions hopefully over Centrals but gee TB play hard for their coach & their team mates, they have good spirit & had a great win last week. Losing becomes a habit & we are getting sick of "kicking the dog" after another close game we have thrown away. Hopefully a monkey off our back & hopefully a full strength team. Fingers crossed.

OK, well said & I'm up for that, we all love footy & sometimes it all spills over into spite. Ive been just as guilty but like you say, lets try to keep it positive & about footy from now on.
I agree with selections. Saints fresh from very good win (I thought Norths would solidly beat them but you just cant count them out) will account for Souths. Crocs should beat Hawks but you can never count Hawks out. Lions hopefully over Centrals but gee TB play hard for their coach & their team mates, they have good spirit & had a great win last week. Losing becomes a habit & we are getting sick of "kicking the dog" after another close game we have thrown away. Hopefully a monkey off our back & hopefully a full strength team. Fingers crossed.

We all love footy and obvious from Saturday's game few of the supporters on here were quite upset over what took place and understandley so as it was something that no one wants to see happen in any game. Hopefully something is done about it by the league.

Sadly the great wins by Saints, Centrals and Hawks have been overshadowed by this individual who continually bring the game of AFL in Cairns down with his actions.

Anyways on to this weeks games...
tips - Port, Saints and Dogs.
First two should be straigth forward unless Hawks can fly in half a side again to take it right up to Port.
Saints should have a new player in the Black, White and Red strip this weekend and account for Souths easily as they continue to get players back into the Senior side.
Dogs vs Lions will be interesting and could go either way. When Lions apply pressure over the whole ground and play accounatble football they can match anyone however I'm tipping the Dogs under Seymour to get the points in a close one.

AFL CAIRNS - Season 2013