AFL CAIRNS - Season 2013

People sometimes leave clubs because they know first hand the club isn't heading in the right direction. Particularly up here where there's not as long-term a connection, nor family connections for many players. Makes it easier to move clubs without worrying about coin. There are some people who will follow the coin wherever it is, Powell doesn't seem like one of them.

Souths are certainly headed in the right direction from last year, which means they are an attractive club to move to. Norths have the same appeal.

Saints weren't undefeated premiers, lost to Hawks, who still have a lot of good young players, just crying out for decent leadership, which means the loss of Powell would be even more than his large on-field influence.

Gill and Lewis are certainly big losses, but they were both only here for a year. Lions will still be continued improvers. While Lewis kicked a lot of their goals, they improved a lot in just about every area.

AGM at the club today
Penguin is back as President un-challenged
Two new Vice -Pres
Some new faces on the BIG Committee

Looking great for 2013

Two new people showed signs of coming on board as players

This year Tamba will be all about LOVE and understanding , well it is MY Male Menopause year LOL

Except for my umpires WHOM I always adore ;)

I see William Alick has gone back to the Tigers, Potts must have a grin from ear to ear to have this talented player back in the cub den. :D

Rumor going around that Fev will possibly come here for a game this year? Any truth to this? Driving past Fretwell last night pretty average numbers. How's the repair work coming along on the clubhouse Tamba? Ready for round 1?

Coming along alright i suppose--- the A/C ducts are in, well almost completed, painting started, outside deck head (roof) has been repaired.

Round One ---Nope

During season--- Nope

Gazaly's do not want to reopen they reckon they were losing money

I find that strange :cool: when 4 of us were running the bar a few yrs ago--- it was a small gold mine, even with our short opening hours. But then we were volunteers with no pay :(

Coming along alright i suppose--- the A/C ducts are in, well almost completed, painting started, outside deck head (roof) has been repaired.

Round One ---Nope

During season--- Nope

Gazaly's do not want to reopen they reckon they were losing money

I find that strange :cool: when 4 of us were running the bar a few yrs ago--- it was a small gold mine, even with our short opening hours. But then we were volunteers with no pay :(

What a bloody shame, did the police ever catch the kids who did it? If they did you guys should Auction them off to the highest bidder (funds going to your club) and turn them into slaves.

You didn't use that little gold mine to purchase Powells services did you? Is there anymore gold hidden under the lights at Fretwell?

People sometimes leave clubs because they know first hand the club isn't heading in the right direction. Particularly up here where there's not as long-term a connection, nor family connections for many players. Makes it easier to move clubs without worrying about coin. There are some people who will follow the coin wherever it is, Powell doesn't seem like one of them.

Souths are certainly headed in the right direction from last year, which means they are an attractive club to move to. Norths have the same appeal.

Saints weren't undefeated premiers, lost to Hawks, who still have a lot of good young players, just crying out for decent leadership, which means the loss of Powell would be even more than his large on-field influence.

Gill and Lewis are certainly big losses, but they were both only here for a year. Lions will still be continued improvers. While Lewis kicked a lot of their goals, they improved a lot in just about every area.
How many goals did lewis kick last year?

What a bloody shame, did the police ever catch the kids who did it? If they did you guys should Auction them off to the highest bidder (funds going to your club) and turn them into slaves.

You didn't use that little gold mine to purchase Powells services did you? Is there anymore gold hidden under the lights at Fretwell?

Answer --- A BIG YES --- three juveniles

from what I hear

but this is 3rd / 4th / 5th Hand------ the parents dobbed them in

How many goals did lewis kick last year?
Kicked 65 in the bottom team to finish third on the table behind a couple of pretty decent forwards who had silver service delivery to them all year in a lop sided comp. Ive no doubt with the bit of quality we have added to the on-ball dept this season he was capable of well over 100. Real shame he hasn't stayed, he was an awesom club man, coached our U14's & was very well liked by all at the club. By all accounts the club was hell bent on keeping him but it looks like he will be in Cats colours for Mooroopna in the GV 2013, a very good comp. Great to see the young leaders at our club standing up & coaching junior sides again this year. We are in good hands & will be pushing for finals this year.

Just having a look at the early season clearances and its looks like Alex Carter is on his way back to Hawks

Yes he's been down at Cazalys training. As for no President at Hawks I think some people should check their facts before commenting.

I see William Alick has gone back to the Tigers, Potts must have a grin from ear to ear to have this talented player back in the cub den. :D

Allick's best years are way past him, i would hope tigers are only paying him in Hungry Jacks award as giving him $$$ rather than a younger player would be going backwards....... Then again why recruit when you have a AFL Academy to recruit directly from???? I know i havent seen any of those academy players at anyone elses club training except tigers....... ;)

Yes he's been down at Cazalys training. As for no President at Hawks I think some people should check their facts before commenting.
Who is the president down there this year Flinstone? Did you give it any thought? The clearance board looks busy for Hawks, 12 outs & similar in's...

Allick's best years are way past him, i would hope tigers are only paying him in Hungry Jacks award as giving him $$$ rather than a younger player would be going backwards....... Then again why recruit when you have a AFL Academy to recruit directly from???? I know i havent seen any of those academy players at anyone elses club training except tigers....... ;)

He still runs rings around an awefull lot of players in Cairns,

so I would not be game to say best years are way past him just yet. o_O

Not much news on here... Nths and Port have a hit out at Cazlays Friday night, Saints have a intra club before that game.
Centrals have picked up a handy recruit in Luke Ednie. Best on ground in the Yarrawonga reserves flag last year. Will find plenty of the football and replace the loss of Matthews.
Lions have been busy to picking up a handy recruit from the Torquay tigers who lost the GF last year down south.
Any other recruiting news?? An ex VFL/SANFL player who is currently doing a trip around Aust should be in Cairns just in time to help Saints go back to back ;)... Boys have to make sure they are in the top 4 come september though first.
Luke Powell moving to Tassie is the latest rumour doing the rounds not sure how true this is though. Tamba have you heard this??

As for clubs sooking about Tigers getting all the AFL House kids... Maybe clubs need to be proactive and speak to AFL House and show what they can offer these kids. I'm sure the chance to play under a coach like Roe out at Cities who has been in the AFL system before would be inviting...

Not much news on here... Nths and Port have a hit out at Cazlays Friday night, Saints have a intra club before that game.
Centrals have picked up a handy recruit in Luke Ednie. Best on ground in the Yarrawonga reserves flag last year. Will find plenty of the football and replace the loss of Matthews.
Lions have been busy to picking up a handy recruit from the Torquay tigers who lost the GF last year down south.
Any other recruiting news?? An ex VFL/SANFL player who is currently doing a trip around Aust should be in Cairns just in time to help Saints go back to back ;)... Boys have to make sure they are in the top 4 come september though first.
Luke Powell moving to Tassie is the latest rumour doing the rounds not sure how true this is though. Tamba have you heard this??

As for clubs sooking about Tigers getting all the AFL House kids... Maybe clubs need to be proactive and speak to AFL House and show what they can offer these kids. I'm sure the chance to play under a coach like Roe out at Cities who has been in the AFL system before would be inviting...

Haven't heard that Doctor :confused:

Thought he was signed and sealed "Cutter" 2013 ;)
just awaiting transfer which should be through any time now as his obligations are payed up at Hawks.

I agree get off their bums and offer something to the future stars, take them under their wing and LOOK after them.

Well done Potsie for seeing into the future :D

From what I hear a good internal hit out last night at Fretty. A good thing to help remove the cobwebs from the joints.

This weekend we take on the Curra Swan from T'ville another great warm up before the pre-season commences, which will be hard knock for Souths as we are up against Saints and Norths.

any other hit outs before the season Gents / Ladies (politically correct, I am :rolleyes: )

As for clubs sooking about Tigers getting all the AFL House kids... Maybe clubs need to be proactive and speak to AFL House and show what they can offer these kids. I'm sure the chance to play under a coach like Roe out at Cities who has been in the AFL system before would be inviting...[/quote said:
Wake up to yourself, other clubs dont get a look in nor are they offered. The question has already been asked of Sean Hunter

Hey guys, we had a guy walk in last night at palmy, big fella said he had not played for a couple of years but said he played 7 years at saints ? Brett Jeffrey any feed back would be appreciated. I believe he has been boxing fairly regularly had a number of amateur fights? Ring any bells?

AFL CAIRNS - Season 2013