AFL Canberra

You are a very harsh critic 3GM, and a bit of a tosser. And Southampton are a bunch of girls a bit like you. I don't like you or your family, and I bet you go for Carlton too you wad of off jizz!
I heard that you play like a prissy girl on the footy field too.

Cheers for that Grub you Barellan Dog!:D

Any easier getting a kick in the SFL than up here?

So i was right! You were watching a differant game to the one that i was watching on Sunday at MDO. The bloke has won the league goal kicking for the last two years, not to mention the points that i raised before. They don't name people in the best if they weren't one of the best players. SIMPLE.

Maybe if you focussed on what happens on the field and understood it a bit more, you wouldn't be the 3rd Grade Maggy. Untill then, good luck to ya!;)

This not right. Some blind bloke at the bar must be picking the best out there. No probs with no.10.
BUT...how the hell did Hair no.41,yes Hair, get in the best players then,and first mentioned then. I think he was on Phillips who kicked 7, at one stage.No 15 was best and No. 23 played ok for Tigers.Grundy,Swans, took a heap of marks by the way. Doyle, Swans, got cheap kicks, mainly when 21 Jaques went off, and is too slow for AFL. How many chances has that bloke had? Had about 20 senior AFL games, if that, in 7 years.
Good stuff Ainslie,they will cause problems for sides 3 and 4 later on.

and congratulations to the following players picked in the rep squad
Queanbeyan
Danny Jaques
James Kananagh
Mitch Daniher
Mark Powell
Mark Armstrong
Andrew Lieshke
Roy Jaques

Eastlake
John Southern
Julian ****as
Aaron Rogers
Stafford Cooper
Leigh McMahon
Ben Collins
Jeremy Stiller
Dean Roulstone
Nathan Clarke (Coach)

Ainslie
Nick Paine
Billy Neely

Weston Creek
Clinton Mathis

Tuggeranong
Matt Ghiradello
Jake Myles
Peter Walsh
Troy Takenan
Craig Healey
Ben Cleaver

Belconnen
Steve Mahar
Brett Knowles
James Bennett
Scott Henning
Cameron Illett
Chris York
Josh Jennings
What about Westcome and Quade from Tigers?

This not right. Some blind bloke at the bar must be picking the best out there. No probs with no.10.
BUT...how the hell did Hair no.41,yes Hair, get in the best players then,and first mentioned then. I think he was on Phillips who kicked 7, at one stage.No 15 was best and No. 23 played ok for Tigers.Grundy,Swans, took a heap of marks by the way. Doyle, Swans, got cheap kicks, mainly when 21 Jaques went off, and is too slow for AFL. How many chances has that bloke had? Had about 20 senior AFL games, if that, in 7 years.
Good stuff Ainslie,they will cause problems for sides 3 and 4 later on.

The only thing for certain is that Qbn were embarrassed after about the 20 minute mark of the 2nd quarter. They lacked the pace to run with the swans and once D. Jaques, Ioppi and Irwin left the field they lacked the physical bodies.
They were poor and the swans were good.
End of story!!

Number 10 is James Kavanagh, i'm not sure whether u meant that he was great or got a bath, if you are suggesting he got a bath, you must have been watching another game on Sunday, he tore the swans apart, was the only QBN player that kicked mutiple goals and was named second best. Agreed QBN were woeful in the last qtr, i've said it before and i will say it again.... NO TEAM WILL GET WITH IN 6 GOALS OF THE SWANS!!!

ALL CANBERRA TEAMS ARE PLAYING FOR SECOND PLACE, it's unfotunate, but you can't compare full time professional footballers with part time amateurs.

This statement looks like it's going to be pretty much spot on.. unless the 1st's get about a dozen injuries around finals time.. I know it's been brought up before but i'm interested to know if people think that the swans in the actafl is a good thing looking forward into the future.. Yes they bring exposure to the league which is great and gives teams a chance to test themselves against professional footballers, play on the scg etc, but after how many premierships in a row are teams going to get sick of playing for 2nd.. i'm not saying get rid of them but Surely the league must look at putting some rules (not sure what) in place to bring them down a few levels so the belco's, tigers etc can go into a game knowing they have a chance of knocking the swans off..

Chopa23 - no one put anything in place when Ainslie won SIX in a row which inlcuded a couple of undefeated seasons, nor when Tigers and Belconn won three in a row each during the past eight years. The tide will turn, its just a matter of time even though it is frustrating for all concerned. :cool: The ability to run out a game is their big advantage as they train everyday and their fitness levels are more advanced, but given a few injuries, they will be back with the rest of the mob - or at least Eastlake and belco.

I know it's been brought up before but i'm interested to know if people think that the swans in the actafl is a good thing looking forward into the future..

The factors that make the Swans team are different from other teams .
They will always be a collection of players heading for the AFL .
Whereas other teams depend on a number of factors that are cyclical (demographics) or vary like sponsorships etc .

It is good having an association between Sydney and Canberra so I would see the solution as having two Sydney teams not one .

Chopa23 - no one put anything in place when Ainslie won SIX in a row which inlcuded a couple of undefeated seasons, nor when Tigers and Belconn won three in a row each during the past eight years. The tide will turn, its just a matter of time even though it is frustrating for all concerned. :cool: The ability to run out a game is their big advantage as they train everyday and their fitness levels are more advanced, but given a few injuries, they will be back with the rest of the mob - or at least Eastlake and belco.

yeah fair enough original.. good point.. Just thought i'd raise the issue.. I hope your right bout the swannies.. Lets just hope for actafl's sake that the swans lower there remarkable ability to decrease the recovery time of their players that would enable some of the act's teams to get over the the swans

The factors that make the Swans team are different from other teams .
They will always be a collection of players heading for the AFL .
Whereas other teams depend on a number of factors that are cyclical (demographics) or vary like sponsorships etc .

It is good having an association between Sydney and Canberra so I would see the solution as having two Sydney teams not one .

This is not a bad idea either cos... Although this may not be implemented straight away, if sydney ressies are looking like dominating for many years to come, this would be a good solution with the option of having half of the swans rostered players on one side and the other half on the other side.. the rest of the player's could be filled by rams players from both sydney and the act and even the riverina..

Great concept, but it wont happen, Logistical nightmare.

Twice the staff and all other resources required as well.

Reckon its a case of "don't lower the bridge but raise the river".
Hard as it will be we need to work on the standard of the local sides, just as teams did with Ainslie when they were very strong,so that we can get up or near the Swans standard. That will make it an even better comp.
Two Swans sides would cost them too much I suggest.They are pretty tight anyway and that is one of the reasons they came into the league, to save money.

Chopa23 - no one put anything in place when Ainslie won SIX in a row which inlcuded a couple of undefeated seasons, nor when Tigers and Belconn won three in a row each during the past eight years. The tide will turn, its just a matter of time even though it is frustrating for all concerned. :cool: The ability to run out a game is their big advantage as they train everyday and their fitness levels are more advanced, but given a few injuries, they will be back with the rest of the mob - or at least Eastlake and belco.[/quote]
still not keen to add the tigers to that list. One bad game doesn't make a season and good to see you writing them off. I guaruntee they will bounce back and hard. People seem to have a short memory. I can think back not that long ago whe n Belco gave the tigers a touch up in the final home and away round and the 2nd semi final people had written the tiges off before the grand final and they bounced back and beat Belco for the flag. I know that was a few years ago but what i'm saying is don;t write them off just yet they will be back.

Reckon its a case of "don't lower the bridge but raise the river".
Hard as it will be we need to work on the standard of the local sides, just as teams did with Ainslie when they were very strong,so that we can get up or near the Swans standard. That will make it an even better comp.
Two Swans sides would cost them too much I suggest.They are pretty tight anyway and that is one of the reasons they came into the league, to save money.

Sydney could manage support two teams, with a VFL style structure which could benefit the whole of the AFL Canberra competition as well.
Maybe East Coast Eagles and maybe City Swans or whotever- with both teams having set nominated AFL list players in there teams, and top up the rest of the teams with amateurs/semi pro's.
Basically Canberra teams are never going to compete with Swans for facilities, funding etc.. A structure like this could also allow more players to be noticed.
To sum up, the gap between the Swans, to Belco/Eastlake/(maybe Qbn) then to the rest is farcical and is not good for the overall reputation of AFL Canberra. The comp struggles to get any crowds and it is not going to win over any new supporters with s@#t games near every weekend.

WA and SA are more than happy with sending their players back into the WAFL and SANFL . And those (2nd tier) clubs are independent .
It would actually require less staff if the reserves were allotted to existing clubs .

Hey Boys, got a mate playing up there by the name of Steven Garing, think he plays for Tuggers. Anyone know how his going?

Its now time to write off the Tiger boys from across the border.

After all the hipe about new recruits etc, they are now in danger of losing 4th place in the four to Ainslie or Tuggers. Woudnt matter as Ainslie wont go any further than fourth anyway. Neither would Tuggers. So its just Swans, Magpies and Demons after only after just 6 rounds of footy.

Tigers lack foot spead and ability to clear the ball from the middle. :cool: Bye Bye Tigers.

After all the hipe about new recruits etc, they are now in danger of losing 4th place in the four to Ainslie or Tuggers. Woudnt matter as Ainslie wont go any further than fourth anyway. Neither would Tuggers. So its just Swans, Magpies and Demons after only after just 6 rounds of footy.

Tigers lack foot spead and ability to clear the ball from the middle. :cool: Bye Bye Tigers.

I reckon you might be right orginal. they were certainly talked up as premiership contenders early in the year but have failed to deliver. they seem to really lack any of the killer instinct that has been a trend throughout the club for a long time. Belconnen will roll the Tigers this weeknd easily.

Poor old Canberra wildcats have got the swans. i'm backing a 40 goal hiding this weeknd.

Could someone please tell me any information on Ian Gribbin from Queanbeyan please !? what type of player is he.....where he plays....is he any good !?
as i see he's got a transfer to the wbfl in sa/vic competition. Cheers

Tigers are struggling a bit but only 1/3 of the way through and in the 4 is ok seeing as they only just got pipped last week.
In 1987,yes just after the war,Ainslie only won 6 matches,scrapped into the 4 then beat a red hot Tigers outfit to win the flag.
Still plenty of ups and downs to go and not over till:eek: the fat back pocket player sings

Could someone please tell me any information on Ian Gribbin from Queanbeyan please !? what type of player is he.....where he plays....is he any good !?
as i see he's got a transfer to the wbfl in sa/vic competition. Cheers
I had the pleasure of coaching Gribbo, he may not be your most talented player but if want the ultimate team man, then this guy is the one for you. Can play anywhere, ask him to do a job and it will be done.