AFL Canberra

Ok the site has become slow again as no-one has or is willing to post hot goss from their ACT club. So I thought I would throw something out their to test the memories of some of you who have been around for a while. Looking for you to give me your best 22, in positions over the last 10 years. Years 98 - 07. I will put a list of players down for each zone, eg. forwards, backs, centres and you come up with your team. (We cant have 6 power forwards in the forward line, we need resting rovers and ruck rovers etc). Some players have played in and dominated in more than 1 zone so play them where you see best fit. I'm sure to miss some stars so you can add them in at your will, the list below is only a starting point. I would only say that a guy who has or did only play for a season or two should be ineligable. No swans players to be included either.

Forwards - Jason Watts (E), Jack Aziz (E), Ben Broad (B), Mark Armstrong (Q), James Kavanagh (A, Q), Michael Niesen (Q), Ben Aulich (B), Chris Smith (E,A), Scott Christie (WC, T), Brock Weston (B), Luke Ellis (Q).

Backs - Rene Ioppi (Q), Jon Elias (Q), Michael Goiser (Q), John Odwyer (Q), Paul Mclachlin (E), Jarrod Skidmore (E), Michael Gallagher (E), Eric Bowman (WC), Chris Davis (Q), Mick Carroll (T), Luke Jess (T), Stafford Cooper (T, A, E), Paul Raadts (B), Ken Merideth (B), Paul Grayling (A), Nathan Greatz (A), Roy Jaques (A, Q), Terry Okane (B)

Centres - Bill Neely (Q,A), Jay Kickett (T), Tim Steen (WC), Andrew Lieschke (Q), Ben Collins (E), Steve Mahar (B), Michael Horne (WC,E,B), Brett Knowles (A,B), Nathan Clarke (E), Daniel Jaques (WT, A, Q), Tony Bourke (E, A), Nathan McDonald (WT), Mitch Daniher (Q), Guy Cannon (E), Brett Matheson (B, Q), Steve Hazelman (B), Tony Wolski (Q), Steve Wilson (E), Guy Mertz (Q), David Jansen (WC, Q), Craig Lambert (B), Jason Gilbert (Q)

I have obviously missed many good players so feel free to add them in and please dont jump up and down if I missed someone who should definately be there (it is just a quick list I put together). I have also left out great players who were at the end of their careers as they would have made the decade before (eg, T Wynd, S Vizy etc), no-one has come up with the idea til now.

Go for it guys as this should generate controversial conversation...

Will give it a go, but didn't see much of the first 5 years of the decade so most players are more recent

F: Ellis Armstrong Forys
HF: Kickett Kavanagh C Smith
C: Pulford Neely N McDonald
HB: Grayling Cooper OKane
B: RJaques Raadts Collins

R: DJaques Knowles MDaniher

Unlucky: Jack Foster

Will give it a go, but didn't see much of the first 5 years of the decade so most players are more recent

B: R Jaques Raadst Collo
HB: TOK Cooper Ioppi
C: Snake Neely N Mcdonald
HF: Ellis Kav Aulich
F: Broad Armstrong Forys

R Mahar, Steve Haza, Knowles

Jack Foster Unlucky????:confused: Who are you kidding? I heard he was lucky to make the reserves team for the tigers last year... Let alone the best side of the decade. He's only 22 or something like that isn't he?

"Forwards - Jason Watts (E), Jack Aziz (E), Ben Broad (B), Mark Armstrong (Q), James Kavanagh (A, Q), Michael Niesen (Q), Ben Aulich (B), Chris Smith (E,A), Scott Christie (WC, T), Brock Weston (B), Luke Ellis (Q).

Backs - Rene Ioppi (Q), Jon Elias (Q), Michael Goiser (Q), John Odwyer (Q), Paul Mclachlin (E), Jarrod Skidmore (E), Michael Gallagher (E), Eric Bowman (WC), Chris Davis (Q), Mick Carroll (T), Luke Jess (T), Stafford Cooper (T, A, E), Paul Raadts (B), Ken Merideth (B), Paul Grayling (A), Nathan Greatz (A), Roy Jaques (A, Q), Terry Okane (B)

Centres - Bill Neely (Q,A), Jay Kickett (T), Tim Steen (WC), Andrew Lieschke (Q), Ben Collins (E), Steve Mahar (B), Michael Horne (WC,E,B), Brett Knowles (A,B), Nathan Clarke (E), Daniel Jaques (WT, A, Q), Tony Bourke (E, A), Nathan McDonald (WT), Mitch Daniher (Q), Guy Cannon (E), Brett Matheson (B, Q), Steve Hazelman (B), Tony Wolski (Q), Steve Wilson (E), Guy Mertz (Q), David Jansen (WC, Q), Craig Lambert (B), Jason Gilbert (Q)"

Here's mine as promised - most likely a lot of good players missing out though!

FWDS: Julian F'kas, Armstrong, Ellis
HFWD: Niesen, Kavanagh, Skuta
CENT: Gilbert, Neely, Gilbert
HBCK: Raadts, Goiser, R Jaques
BACK: Elias, Meredith, Ioppi
RUCK: D Jaques, Knowles, M Daniher
INTER: S Maher, Cooper, Steen, N Clarke

There are too many "unluckies" to name and most of this side is either still playing good footy or is still fresh in my mind. There are some players in this side that you would place in your side every time; even after only seeing a hand full of their games - Gilbert brothers were just plain scary - imagine Kenny Meredith in the same side as those two nut cases! :eek:

"Forwards - Jason Watts (E), Jack Aziz (E), Ben Broad (B), Mark Armstrong (Q), James Kavanagh (A, Q), Michael Niesen (Q), Ben Aulich (B), Chris Smith (E,A), Scott Christie (WC, T), Brock Weston (B), Luke Ellis (Q).

Centres - Bill Neely (Q,A), Jay Kickett (T), Tim Steen (WC), Andrew Lieschke (Q), Ben Collins (E), Steve Mahar (B), Michael Horne (WC,E,B), Brett Knowles (A,B), Nathan Clarke (E), Daniel Jaques (WT, A, Q), Tony Bourke (E, A), Nathan McDonald (WT), Mitch Daniher (Q), Guy Cannon (E), Brett Matheson (B, Q), Steve Hazelman (B), Tony Wolski (Q), Steve Wilson (E), Guy Mertz (Q), David Jansen (WC, Q), Craig Lambert (B), Jason Gilbert (Q)"

There are too many "unluckies" to name and most of this side is either still playing good footy or is still fresh in my mind. There are some players in this side that you would place in your side every time; even after only seeing a hand full of their games - Gilbert brothers were just plain scary - imagine Kenny Meredith in the same side as those two nut cases! :eek:

no offense because i think he is a good player, but how can you have m daniher over s haza? s haza a mulroony medalist, jezalenko medalist, all australian and 3 time premiership player.

Don't really know enough about players from earlier in the decade, but Luke Jess should be a definite surely - amazingly gutsy and fair player who captained his side from age of 20 odd, won a mulrooney, and didn't really have the benefit of playing in successful sides which meant he often got the best tagger etc.

Strong powerful side AFC1 but just wondering a few things.

Who is your back up ruckman if DJ goes down injured?
Outside of Disco, who are your crumbing forwards as 5 are marking players?
Who swaps with Mitch and Knowlesy when they need a rest?
Who picks up the opposition resting rover and ruck rover as your backman are all talls?

B: R Jaques Raadst Collo
HB: TOK Cooper Ioppi
C: Snake Neely N Mcdonald
HF: Ellis Kav Aulich
F: Broad Armstrong Forys

R Mahar, Steve Haza, Knowles

Another strong side BD33 - I can only assume you have a back up ruck on the pine?
Who are your crumbing forwards?
Who picks up the opposition resting rover and ruck rover?

This is to be a balanced side with basis covered for possible injuries, weather changes etc

no offense because i think he is a good player, but how can you have m daniher over s haza? s haza a mulroony medalist, jezalenko medalist, all australian and 3 time premiership player.

same could be said for your selection of Broad?? How well did he go in Finals?? The lad could play but did he deliver on the big stage during his short stint?

Ok the site has become slow again as no-one has or is willing to post hot goss from their ACT club. So I thought I would throw something out their to test the memories of some of you who have been around for a while. Looking for you to give me your best 22, in positions over the last 10 years. Years 98 - 07. I will put a list of players down for each zone, eg. forwards, backs, centres and you come up with your team. (We cant have 6 power forwards in the forward line, we need resting rovers and ruck rovers etc). Some players have played in and dominated in more than 1 zone so play them where you see best fit. I'm sure to miss some stars so you can add them in at your will, the list below is only a starting point. I would only say that a guy who has or did only play for a season or two should be ineligable. No swans players to be included either.

Forwards - Jason Watts (E), Jack Aziz (E), Ben Broad (B), Mark Armstrong (Q), James Kavanagh (A, Q), Michael Niesen (Q), Ben Aulich (B), Chris Smith (E,A), Scott Christie (WC, T), Brock Weston (B), Luke Ellis (Q).

Centres - Bill Neely (Q,A), Jay Kickett (T), Tim Steen (WC), Andrew Lieschke (Q), Ben Collins (E), Steve Mahar (B), Michael Horne (WC,E,B), Brett Knowles (A,B), Nathan Clarke (E), Daniel Jaques (WT, A, Q), Tony Bourke (E, A), Nathan McDonald (WT), Mitch Daniher (Q), Guy Cannon (E), Brett Matheson (B, Q), Steve Hazelman (B), Tony Wolski (Q), Steve Wilson (E), Guy Mertz (Q), David Jansen (WC, Q), Craig Lambert (B), Jason Gilbert (Q)

I have obviously missed many good players so feel free to add them in and please dont jump up and down if I missed someone who should definately be there (it is just a quick list I put together). I have also left out great players who were at the end of their careers as they would have made the decade before (eg, T Wynd, S Vizy etc), no-one has come up with the idea til now.

Go for it guys as this should generate controversial conversation...
B:Elias Gosier Okane
HB:Ioppi Cooper R Jaques
C: Cannon Neely Jas Gilbert
HF:Ellis Kavanagh Knowles
FF: Armstrong Niesen Wilson

R D Jaques Matheson Daniher

Inter: S Mahar, Jeff Gilbert, Hazelman Jess

There you go ABH, bloody tough task, wouldn't mind coaching them though LOL.

Wow - in nasty news which may SPOIL one clubs Christmas, it is heavily rumoured that a very recent former AFC football manager will be coming on board in a semi-official capacity. Doesn't bode too well for potential new recruits flocking to this club.

B:Elias Gosier Okane
HB:Ioppi Cooper R Jaques
C: Cannon Neely Jas Gilbert
HF:Ellis Kavanagh Knowles
FF: Armstrong Niesen Wilson

R D Jaques Matheson Daniher

Inter: S Mahar, Jeff Gilbert, Hazelman Jess

There you go ABH, bloody tough task, wouldn't mind coaching them though LOL.

Yeh good side One 4 and you covered all possible changes..nice work

Your remark on coaching the side is a valid one and it does pose the exact question....Who would coach the side.

Qbn people will scream the name James Dore while Belco will do the same for Denneman. Both have excellent records with 3 premierships on the trot. Tough call which requires an unbiased view me thinks.

Wow - in nasty news which may SPOIL one clubs Christmas, it is heavily rumoured that a very recent former AFC football manager will be coming on board in a semi-official capacity. Doesn't bode too well for potential new recruits flocking to this club.

Which bird is it Spoiler, Hawk or Magpie?

Your remark on coaching the side is a valid one and it does pose the exact question....Who would coach the side.

Qbn people will scream the name James Dore while Belco will do the same for Denneman. Both have excellent records with 3 premierships on the trot. Tough call which requires an unbiased view me thinks.

Yeah both Dore and Denneman were sharp operators but I reckon if you include the early 90's as well then you couldn't go passed Brian Quade. His knowledge of the game & it's mechanics were well before his time and I hear that his ability to inspire his team was legendary.

Never had the pleasure of being coached by Quadie as I came a year after he retired. He has given a few words of inspiration prior to GF's and he would have been great to play for.

My vote would obviously go to the "Slamming Dore" due to a few reasons. When he took over in 98 we had a mass exodus of around 37 players leave the club during that summer. We went to Campbelltown and had our pants pulled down in a trial then were beaten I think by the Creek in another trial. Things looked grim. He pulled about a dozen or so paid players aside and told them that they were the paid players and it was up to them to lead by example. We won our first 8 games. We then were belted by the Magpies at Qbn in the last round by 80 odd points. He picked us up and we went on to win the premiership.
In 99 we had a good side but Belco had revenge in mind. Come finals time the tigers were the walking wounded with several players carrying injuries that should have had them on the sidelines. We lost the 2nd Semi to Belco and had to do it the hard way. A week off is what we needed but not achieved. Somehow he picked us up and we got over the line in an epic of a GF.
In 2000 again we had to do it the hard way via the prelim but again the character of the man and his players got the job done.

Im sure a Belco person will give us the path of his club in 02,03 and 04 but from what I remember they were the best team in the comp by a fair margin during that time and it was a case of getting the GF monkey off the back for the flood gates to open. From memory I think they went thru that dynasty going into every GF without playing a Prelim. This of course is a great achievement but we will never no how they would have went doing it the hard way.

This is why "Dunny Dore" gets my vote apart from the fact I played under him.

Come on spoiler - fill us in!

how many country championships did James Dore winas a coach? denno won the chamnpionships and was named all australian coach. i think denno would be the coach for sure

I am biased towards Dore, but I believe Denno would get my vote on overall satistics.
I would go for Dore. I'm biased too but if you look at the quality of sides the premierships were won with. Belconnen during there era were far and away the best side. How many of Queanbeyans flags did queanbeyan start favourites in.