Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2023

Doubt they target Watson. They’ve got weightman and took Charlie clarke last year. I’d say they’d be hoping for mckercher or sanders
I think Twomey said it. I don’t really care, just repeating what I heard.

Why was Phillips dropped several times then?

If they’re already on the trade table, they’re clearly not that valuable.

Are you saying the 2020 draft is actually looking good? Because my original point is that the top 7 look poor so far. Only 1 player in the top 10 looks like a future star. Maybe Logan McDonald will get there too, but he hasn’t quite popped yet.
Because he’s still finding his way after missing 12 months of footy? As I said, but he played some really good game this year.

And as I said they’ve both been played out of position. Hollands was best on today for gc in the vfl granny.

And as I said again it’s because a lot of the top end are tall, takes longer to make an impact/ find your feet at afl level.
Jamarra, Thilthorpe and Mcdonald all look like they’ll be star talls for the next 10 years, all taken in the top 7.

Because he’s still finding his way after missing 12 months of footy? As I said, but he played some really good game this year.

And as I said they’ve both been played out of position. Hollands was best on today for gc in the vfl granny.

And as I said again it’s because a lot of the top end are tall, takes longer to make an impact/ find your feet at afl level.
Jamarra, Thilthorpe and Mcdonald all look like they’ll be star talls for the next 10 years, all taken in the top 7.
So Phillips wasn’t that good this year. Glad we agree.

Dow stars in the VFL, it’s a completely different level.

Jamarra is the only one out of the group that I reckon has shown enough to say he’ll be a star.

Well he was pretty good when he had 29 against the best team in the comp and 27 against us 🤣

Starring in a grand final is starring in a grand final. Dow is also 3 years older than Hollands

Thilthorpe and mcdonald have definitely shown enough to know that they’ll be stars. Now that buddy is out of the way, watch Mcdonald blossom.

Well he was pretty good when he had 29 against the best team in the comp and 27 against us 🤣

Starring in a grand final is starring in a grand final. Dow is also 3 years older than Hollands

Thilthorpe and mcdonald have definitely shown enough to know that they’ll be stars. Now that buddy is out of the way, watch Mcdonald blossom.
Yeah, I think this is my stop 😕

TAC finals have traditionally been where players really grab it by the balls and show out and barring Sanders I’m not sure any of them did.

Like I said, they showed their attributes for sure, but last year Sheezel in particular stood up and screamed pick me in the prelim and the gf and rammed his case home.
Most of the top 10 prospects where not playing so it was no real surprise there where no Sheezal type performances. Plus the top end has not been as highly regarded as last year.

any one had a crack at a mock post rumoured trades?

gonna assume the draft order =
1-WCE
2-NM
3-NM
4-Hawks
5-Dogs
6-Dees
7-GWS
8-Cats
9-Dons
w/ some GCS bids thrown in.

i really haven't watched/followed it enough this year.
ignoring bids & reading the ratings my uninformed predictions are;

1-WCE - Reid
2-NM - Curtin
3-NM - McKercher
4-Hawks - Duursma
5-Dogs - Sanders
6-Dees - Caddy
7-GWS - O'Sullivan (i wouldn't put a bid on Croft beyond GWS)
8-Cats - ?
9-Dons -

Most of the top 10 prospects where not playing so it was no real surprise there where no Sheezal type performances. Plus the top end has not been as highly regarded as last year.
is it a case of a group not as flash as recent drafts, or the story of Reid being #1 for so long that they're in his shadow?

or if you removed Reid, whilst there are tiers, it's a fairly flat distribution throughout? i.e. pick 4 isn't that far ahead of pick 17 that you'd give up valuable assets to trade up for them?

is it a case of a group not as flash as recent drafts, or the story of Reid being #1 for so long that they're in his shadow?

or if you removed Reid, whilst there are tiers, it's a fairly flat distribution throughout? i.e. pick 4 isn't that far ahead of pick 17 that you'd give up valuable assets to trade up for them?
To be blunt I just think they are not as good. Not to be confused with no good but last year there where certainly more considered absolute A grade. This year it is Reid and then the next few . My opinion of course.

Whellany one had a crack at a mock post rumoured trades?

1-WCE
2-NM
3-NM
4-Hawks
5-Dogs
6-Dees
7-GWS
8-Dons

1-WCE - Reid
2-NM - Curtin
3-NM - McKercher
4-Hawks - Duursma
5-Dogs - Sanders
6-Dees - Caddy
8-Dons - Watson right in range here.

any one had a crack at a mock post rumoured trades?

1-WCE
2-NM
3-NM
4-Hawks
5-Dogs
6-Dees
7-GWS
8-Dons

1-WCE - Reid
2-NM - Curtin
3-NM - McKercher
4-Hawks - Duursma
5-Dogs - Sanders
6-Dees - Caddy
8-Dons - Watson right in range here.
Where's Geelong pick before us?

To be blunt I just think they are not as good. Not to be confused with no good but last year there where certainly more considered absolute A grade. This year it is Reid and then the next few . My opinion of course.
You are correct in terms of afl readiness
reid, sanders and mckercher are the 3 most ready afl players.
I think taking tsatsas over humphrey or phillipou last year hurts us a little this year.
Darcy Wilson who I think is our most likely pick has a bit of sameness with Elijah.
Humphrey and Phillipou have the ability to play in the forward 50 which is a tougher commodity to find.
hindsight is a great thing.
funny Adrian dodoro story.
he turned up to sundays game with only 3 minutes to spare with nothing other than a team list and a pen.
no bag, no book, no binoculars no nothing.
i will not say the club but a recruiter who is well known from this club said loud enough for many other recruiters to hear- adrian has already checked out. It raised many chuckles. I found that moment both poignant and sad. i do not believe he ever truly did the work and was symbolic about why our once great club has declined so much.
if collingwood win the flag on Saturday they tie with Carlton and us on 16 flags. We are at pretty long odds to get to 17 before either of them at this stage. Goodness knows I hope I am incorrect.

I think taking tsatsas over humphrey or phillipou last year hurts us a little this year.
Darcy Wilson who I think is our most likely pick has a bit of sameness with Elijah.
Humphrey and Phillipou have the ability to play in the forward 50 which is a tougher commodity to find.
he turned up to sundays game with only 3 minutes to spare with nothing other than a team list and a pen.
i will not say the club but a recruiter who is well known from this club said loud enough for many other recruiters to hear- adrian has already checked out. It raised many chuckles. I found that moment both poignant and sad. i do not believe he ever truly did the work and was symbolic about why our once great club has declined so much.
if collingwood win the flag on Saturday they tie with Carlton and us on 16 flags. We are at pretty long odds to get to 17 before either of them at this stage. Goodness knows I hope I am incorrect.
was RFK there at least? :S

less inclined to be worried about Phillipou, but Humphrey v Tsatas will be an interesting watch in the coming years

was RFK there at least? :S

less inclined to be worried about Phillipou, but Humphrey v Tsatas will be an interesting watch in the coming years
I think we got the humphrey pick wrong.
I think the club went for the safest pick personally.
chargers b&f, Wesley boy, eastern suburbs boy.
bailey is a bit of a lad from Gippsland.
it happens more than you think and our club was in disarray last year.
a pick that lacked any controversy was what they were looking for and you have to acknowledge that.

i have my misgivings, but Tsatas is a kid, still making his way.

Absolutely mate and I am not potting the kid- i do think the other two would have been better for list balance but langford’s rise possibly lessened the need for phillipou though scott would love to be more flexible with Langford I suspect.
the point is there is sometimes a political backdrop to why a kid is taken and sometimes there is risk aversion that comes into play, especially if there is heat on the recruiter or football club.

Absolutely mate and I am not potting the kid- i do think the other two would have been better for list balance but langford’s rise possibly lessened the need for phillipou though scott would love to be more flexible with Langford I suspect.
the point is there is sometimes a political backdrop to why a kid is taken and sometimes there is risk aversion that comes into play, especially if there is heat on the recruiter or football club.
I was and still am pretty happy we didnt go with Phillipou. Don't see him playing much in the midfield and wouldn't want to use a pick 5 on a mid tall forward. Maybe he becomes the next Fritsch and we got it completely wrong. And given he went at pick 10 (I think it was), a few others overlooked him too. Tsatas vs Humphrey is more interesting. Lets see how both develop over next couple of years.

could be me, i don't see it with Phillipou

the top 6 from that draft look quality.
Tsatas' kicking aside, and ill give him a break given the lay off and coming into an AFL season late in the year, i can't remember a top 6 that showed so much so early.

Told you. He has bionic eyes 🙂

It happens a bit when clubs are going through tough times, they become very risk averse because there’s so much pressure to draft their way out of the hole they’re in and they can’t afford to get it wrong.

See - Essendon in 2016

It happens a bit when clubs are going through tough times, they become very risk averse because there’s so much pressure to draft their way out of the hole they’re in and they can’t afford to get it wrong.

See - Essendon in 2016
2020 too.
Those 3 picks were a shield for Brasher & Xavier after Daniher and Saad took off.
A bold club pays up for dunkley imo. A good list team does too imo.

Wonder if they’ll let them trade the future picks. If the future picks are open to review then surely they can’t trade picks that no one can be sure will exist in a year?

Recruiting AFL Draft Watch 2023