AFL Dream Team 2008

I'd expect J Mac to play a fair bit this year - get the impression the coaches love him as an in-an-under-player.

I've seen a fair bit of interest for Priddis this year. Why? Do people think - no Judd, or Cousins, therefore Priddis improves in '08? Granted, his price went up last year, but that was mainly in the first half of the season when Judd was actually fit and playing in the midfield. Cousins only really played a handful of games so you'd almost ignore that.

Jacobs and Muston are now both gone for season who will take there place. Ive heard the little speedstar in C.Stokes will be one but who will be the other.

And now Jacobs is gone who will play CHB,FB for hawks they have Gilham and maybe Roughead could be penciled in for CHB.

thoughts!

I'd expect J Mac to play a fair bit this year - get the impression the coaches love him as an in-an-under-player.

I've seen a fair bit of interest for Priddis this year. Why? Do people think - no Judd, or Cousins, therefore Priddis improves in '08? Granted, his price went up last year, but that was mainly in the first half of the season when Judd was actually fit and playing in the midfield. Cousins only really played a handful of games so you'd almost ignore that.

His pre season scores have been good.

Jacobs and Muston are now both gone for season who will take there place. Ive heard the little speedstar in C.Stokes will be one but who will be the other.

And now Jacobs is gone who will play CHB,FB for hawks they have Gilham and maybe Roughead could be penciled in for CHB.

thoughts!

RT, how many matches did DJ play in 07?

How many points did we concede? The 4th least from memory.

Our defence is fine.

Brown, Gilham, Guerra
Ladson, Croad, Birchall

and... Dawson who is not that bad.

Priddis still scored well in the last half, every1 seems to be on him including me because he doesnt get tagged and also tags wont effect his playing style. Priddis showed he can lay plenty of tackles and take marks whilst winning 30+ posses. Kerr will cop major tag all year.

His pre season scores have been good.

Yep, agreed. But he won't improve simply because Eagles have lost their midfield - they didn't really have that for the second half of the sesaon anyway. I reckon he'll just be worth what you pay for him

RT, how many matches did DJ play in 07?

How many points did we concede? The 4th least from memory.

Our defence is fine.

Brown, Gilham, Guerra
Ladson, Croad, Birchall

and... Dawson who is not that bad.

good point
i would like to see Croad play as FF and JR play as CHB this year or rotate a few times is this a possabillity

Priddis got jackall game time last year. with judd and cousins gone, worsfold is forced to give priddis time in the middle for the majority of the time. unless he plans on relying on flogs like staker and unknowns in selwood and ebert.

Yep, agreed. But he won't improve simply because Eagles have lost their midfield - they didn't really have that for the second half of the sesaon anyway. I reckon he'll just be worth what you pay for him

Tell me how Priddis wont dominate.....
He will increase game time cos judd, and cus are gone.
He is in his 3rd year more expeirence than last year
Yes i agree he wont just improve cos judd and cus are gone
but he showed in his second year he is a geniune ball getter the fact that the guns are gone surely suggest he will get more time in the guts which means more disposals, more and more tackles
I reckon he will average 105+ if TOG increases

Priddis got jackall game time last year. with judd and cousins gone, worsfold is forced to give priddis in the middle for the majority of the time. unless he plans on relying on flogs like staker and unknowns in selwood and ebert.

very incorrect statment as PRIDDIS,JUDD,KERR were the starting 3 in trhe middle for the majority last year. How did Priddis avg 24 posses a game and thats with him getting 24 in 3 games. :confused::confused:

Tell me how Priddis wont dominate.....
He will increase game time cos judd, and cus are gone.
He is in his 3rd year more expeirence than last year
Yes i agree he wont just improve cos judd and cus are gone
but he showed in his second year he is a geniune ball getter the fact that the guns are gone surely suggest he will get more time in the guts which means more disposals, more and more tackles
I reckon he will average 105+ if TOG increases

why does everyone keep saying that judd and cousins will make a huge difference. cousins didnt come back til rd 14 last year and by that time judd had broken down already. both of them leaving is about the equivalent of one person leaving wen looking at how they played last year and wat they were capable of
not to mention chad fletcher didnt break back into the side around the time judd went down so it all evens out really

Priddis got jackall game time last year. with judd and cousins gone, worsfold is forced to give priddis time in the middle for the majority of the time. unless he plans on relying on flogs like staker and unknowns in selwood and ebert.

He's absolutely in for another good year. But Cousins barely played last year, and Judd was a cripple decoy in the forward line taking up a defender - that's why I think the no-Cousins-no-Judd argument is not the right one for picking Priddis

theres also the argument that judd and cousins gone now means more focus is on priddis so perhaps a tag? not to mention that the eagles lose judds ball winning ability, how many handball receives did he get from judd winning the ball

They've still got Kerr.. He'll cop the #1 tagger

85 minutes in nothing you idiot compared to other elite midfielders

It is past your Bed Time.

Go Away!

I tend to disagree.

Priddis was a burst style player last year, Worsfold would bring him on into the quarter and he would dominate in patches.

Having more time on ground may not actually improve his scores much, unless he has greatly improved his fitness to match it.

85 minutes is a fair chunk of the game.

I tend to disagree.

Priddis was a burst style player last year, Worsfold would bring him on into the quarter and he would dominate in patches.

Having more time on ground may not actually improve his scores much, unless he has greatly improved his fitness to match it.

85 minutes is a fair chunk of the game.

Not when you see Garry Ablett's 108 minutes.

why does everyone keep saying that judd and cousins will make a huge difference. cousins didnt come back til rd 14 last year and by that time judd had broken down already. both of them leaving is about the equivalent of one person leaving wen looking at how they played last year and wat they were capable of
not to mention chad fletcher didnt break back into the side around the time judd went down so it all evens out really

Those blokes leaving (mainly Judd) makes a differance because now Kerr will get the number 1 tag and that will leave Priddis to run and around dominating the midfield. Kerr did so well early on last year because he wasn't getting tagged as much. So the departure of Judd means more time and space for Priddis.

no its not. 100 minutes is standard for a player that averages what he does. an extra 15 minutes would be an extra 15 dream team points at least

Originally Posted by RAW TALENT
very incorrect statment as PRIDDIS,JUDD,KERR were the starting 3 in trhe middle for the majority last year. How did Priddis avg 24 posses a game and thats with him getting 24 in 3 games.

85 minutes in nothing you idiot compared to other elite midfielders

It is past your Bed Time.

Go Away!

Correct. Most of the top mids play between 100-110 mins per game.

no its not. 100 minutes is standard for a player that averages what he does. an extra 15 minutes would be an extra 15 dream team points at least

...that would be the argument if you're going to pick him, but I still reckon it's not the Cousins-Judd argument.

And he is in his 3rd year with more expeirence, ofcourse worsfold will give him more TOG this year after what he did last year, he is a genuine ball winner. If you look at the games when he brutally dominated, you'll find that Judd didn't have an impact which mean Priddis goes and gets his own footy and doesnt rely on brilliance around him