AFL Falling Crowd Numbers

Currently doing a budget. Again… no matter what I earn money just vanishes too easily, cost of living is the number one issue followed by state of the game then individual club positions, for us, it’s Hinkley.

It’s an amateur league in every sense. Watch some NBA, EPL or NFL and you see how professionally it’s presented across the globe. If you’re lucky enough to get to a live game it’s even more impressive.

The AFL in comparison looks and feels like a mid level brand selling itself at luxury prices.

Start by getting some non ex players presenting the game. They should be there for colour commentary only and then go from there.

Mark my words! When the TV revenues start to fall, wages throughout the industry will also start to fall and the league will go back to being semi-professional. It‘s just one of the effects of Covid-19.

We've had silly things like the 6-6-6 rule and Stand! and umpire dissent, so how about something silly like rewarding teams for scoring more? Might see blokes kicking 100 goals again. Might get more people watching/attending...

The Crows crowds in particular have vanished. For a club that thinks it has twice as many supporters as us their crowds have dropped dramatically. My Crows mate reckons its because of Covid and the fact they have so many older members who are simply staying home.

I haven't been to a game all year. I can not derive any pleasure from a Hinkley coached Port so come not to attend. The day hes sacked is the day I return

At the 6 minute mark of this game...

There had been 2 free kicks awarded. In 2022 at the 6minute mark there could be as many as 6 frees awarded.

In 1990 there was more long kicking, more high marking and more run on type football and more body contact.

Also, AFL games are too long. Most people on this forum have grown up with the game and probably don't agree but to the new and younger generation of fan, they don't have the same attachment or attention span as we do and 3 hours is just way too long.

The 16 minute quarters we had during the panny-d were absolutely perfect. Reduced the time commitment and also reduced the chances of boring blow out games.

I stuck this in the general thread. There are about 450,000 11+ game members of the 1.1million members. We know not all 11 gamers go to all games. We know venue members don't go to all games. If 100,000 of them have missed 3 of a possible 5 or 6 home games after Rd 10, then there is a bit more than half of the 569k down on 2019 season after Rd 10.

I have been comparing it to 2019, last non covid year, since about Rd 5, and its now over 500k behind 2019 in the thread in the Footy Industry board.

I said after Rd 5 if the trend continues thru winter as both years lots of similar big blockbuster games are programmed up to ANZAC Rd then the crowds will be down by 1.1m and back to 2003 and 2004 size total crowds of 5.8m and 5.9m when there were 16 teams.

I've added the crowd at Perth Stadium Freo game of 35,534 as per Austadiums crowd link.

Crowds
2019​
xxxCrowds
2022​
xxxxxAve decr
RoundTotalGamesAve.TOTRoundTotalGamesAve.TOTDIFFGMs/ game
1​
380159​
9​
42,240​
1​
362892​
9​
40,321​
9​
2​
344211​
9​
38,246​
2​
245861​
9​
27,318​
18​
3​
327829​
9​
36,425​
3​
321995​
9​
35,777​
27​
4​
327344​
9​
36,372​
4​
235794​
9​
26,199​
36​
5​
360736​
9​
40,082​
5​
285306​
9​
31,701​
45​
6​
360627​
9​
40,070​
6​
284714​
9​
31,635​
54​
7​
343119​
9​
38,124​
7​
270279​
9​
30,031​
63​
8​
266949​
9​
29,661​
8​
276408​
9​
30,712​
72​
9​
306281​
9​
34,031​
9​
228744​
9​
81​
10​
298856​
9​
33,206​
10​
234379​
9​
90​

SA and WA crowds have been particularly soft. Yes Perth had limited capacity at the start but their crowds haven't really recovered. West Coast being absolutely shit hasn't helped but also reckon they are more Covid averse due to living in a bubble for so long.
As I said before Crows crowds have been particularly soft. They couldn't crack 40k for the Showdown FFS and I reckon my mates theory about their elderly membership base staying away is true

Home and away crowds Gill says are up for these 4 club. 2019 first 2022 second. I assume he means home ground average crowds.

AFl average crowd game per game over first 10 rounds is down 6,330 over all 90 games.

Carlton .......................Home.....................................Away..................................Total
514030​
11​
46730​
354336​
11​
32212​
868366​
22​
39471​
282203​
6​
47034​
100366​
4​
25092​
382569​
10​
38257​

341846​
11​
31077​
445775​
11​
40525​
787621​
22​
35801​
184030​
6​
30672​
169051​
4​
42263​
353081​
10​
35308​

318652​
11​
28968​
400136​
11​
36376​
718788​
22​
32672​
198488​
5​
39698​
142582​
5​
28516​
341070​
10​
34107​

279415​
11​
25401​
358838​
11​
32622​
638253​
22​
29012​
129948​
5​
25990​
131967​
5​
26393​
261915​
10​
26192​

SA crowds Home only 2019 first
489656​
11​
44514​
197580​
6​
32930​

Port Adelaide
373449​
11​
33950​
Port Adelaide
111202​
4​
27801​

WA crowds Home only 2019 first
588638​
11​
53513​
169658​
5​
33932​

449855​
11​
40896​
134827​
4​
33707​

I use to watch every game ..

Now a days I'm lucky to watch one more apart from ours why would I go outta my way to attend a rigged competition would rather invest in my kids futures invest in their uni course's then pay out a lump sum to watch three yellow campaigners Rigg a game

Gave up my season tickets x 6 4 years ago. Main reason was there was no joy in going to Port games. Gameplan is and has been a chore to watch for a long time now. There is little to no excitement at a Port game. We constantly bend over in big games. Old mate Ken shrugs shoulders talks in endless cliches without actually saying anything shrugs shoulders. Basically disallusioned with my club.

Had an issue with my seats in the eastern stand. Had 6 seats with 4 in one row and 2 in next row in front. The reason we couldnt have 6 in a row - the 4 seats next to us were kept empty for game day tix, usually opposition supports. Seriously couldnt satisfy me, a long time, 11 game member over rando opposition supporters? Tried to change to mid level deck in the riverbank stand but every year was told their was no spot with 6 seats in a row.

My group of 8 or 10 attend 1 to 3 games a year and go big with corporate tix or pub crawls to make the day enjoyable. Quality over quantity.

Vic centric media, and competition annoys me but doesnt stop me attending games.

Rule changes, couldnt give a toss.

My poorly run, uninspired club that treats members like idiots is what has turned me off.

Personally i would like to see a bonus point for scoring over 100, as i cant see any other way coaches will play, or try to play, attacking footy.

Sent from my SM-J530Y using BigFooty.com mobile app

Also, AFL games are too long. Most people on this forum have grown up with the game and probably don't agree but to the new and younger generation of fan, they don't have the same attachment or attention span as we do and 3 hours is just way too long.

The 16 minute quarters we had during the panny-d were absolutely perfect. Reduced the time commitment and also reduced the chances of boring blow out games.
I'm absolutely on board with you here. If they're going to insist on keeping it at 20 minutes plus time on just keep the clock running, except for after goals. If the ball goes out of bounds or there's a stoppage in play it's on the umpires to just get the game moving as quickly as they can while the clock continues to run.

I've only been to 1 game this year and working night shift tomorrow I won't be at tomorrow's game either...

But even if I wasn't working don't think I would go anyways... Not as enjoyable as it once was... Feel more down these days then I did back when we were shit.

Sunday games I hate... I'm getting old (Sunday is rest day) and it's 2 hours to get to the game then 2 hours back...

AFL Falling Crowd Numbers