AFL LIVE PASS - WHAT A JOKE!

hey guys, I've just moved and can't get the Internet here which ruined my plan for the international pass..

atm I'm using the 2 month free trial for the live pass which imo is working pretty well on a 3G network with 4 out of 5 bars on my iPhone 5.

problem is that I have to sit right near a window or go outside to get those 4 bars as inside I only get 2-3 (bloody double brick house).

because I can't get the Internet and beacuse live pass is unmetered for telstra this is my only way of watching the footy.. what's the best way to get it on my tv? would love to be able to sit my phone on the window sill and watch it on my tv.

do these HDMI adapters work? any issues? how much?

any info would be appreciated

Tough one. This is a bit of mucking around and would cost you another telstra 3g service but would work so long as you can set a modem up near this window? Get a modem/router you can plug a usb modem in to (like Netcomm 16wv I have but I'm sure there's way better out now). Buy a telstra mobile broadband usb modem and set it up and then set the modem up to source internet from it. Then simply access the wifi from your phone and plug an adapter from it into the TV to mirror the screen (works for Android and most cost under $10 but make sure you get the right one for your phone).

hey guys, I've just moved and can't get the Internet here which ruined my plan for the international pass..

atm I'm using the 2 month free trial for the live pass which imo is working pretty well on a 3G network with 4 out of 5 bars on my iPhone 5.

problem is that I have to sit right near a window or go outside to get those 4 bars as inside I only get 2-3 (bloody double brick house).

You can get boosters for the 3G signal.

Tough one. This is a bit of mucking around and would cost you another telstra 3g service but would work so long as you can set a modem up near this window? Get a modem/router you can plug a usb modem in to (like Netcomm 16wv I have but I'm sure there's way better out now). Buy a telstra mobile broadband usb modem and set it up and then set the modem up to source internet from it. Then simply access the wifi from your phone and plug an adapter from it into the TV to mirror the screen (works for Android and most cost under $10 but make sure you get the right one for your phone).
why can't I just plug the adapter from my phone (while it sits next to the window) into my tv? the tv is in front of a window..

it sorta seems u have over complicated it a lil bit or I'm just not following lol

What sorcery is this?
Would like to think the 'paywall' you get from clicking the "Watch Replay" link on the AFL home page is an accident, but it probably isn't. The Smart Replay service (full game replay 12 hours after game completion) still exists, it's just not accessed through the same link.

Spent 20 minutes trying to guide my wife through getting the Carlton v Essendon match up through smart replay from outside the study door because I didn't want to see the scores when I discovered this. Was pretty frustrating.

On a side note, for BigPond customers, I can recommend the T-Box as an alternative between the AFL live pass and buying Foxtel. If you sign up for Foxtel on T-Box with the sports package, you get a similar base package to Foxtel and all the same footy channels. It costs half the price of Foxtel but you get what you pay for - you can't record Fox channels and the stream is scaled-down from HD. Still very watchable and if money is tight, it's a good option.

Yeah but streaming takes bandwidth obviously. This is why Foxtel is still a better option for most people before NBN kicks in. If I wanted all the games watched I'd never use streaming. I don't at the moment care but in time I'll relish also having the IQ to record and playback later.

This is the pitfall of streaming no one talks about and some may not even understand it completely. You don't want to be using up to half the household bandwidth speed on one stream normally coming OTA or via cable/satelite. Getting t-box doesn't magically increase your lines bandwidth capability. It is only what it always was. Same with netflix and other services like presto and the iinet one. They don't ever "addon" to your adsl2+ internet in terms of speed.

why can't I just plug the adapter from my phone (while it sits next to the window) into my tv? the tv is in front of a window..

it sorta seems u have over complicated it a lil bit or I'm just not following lol

All good you can definitely do that no worries I just thought you were trying to avoid having to have the phone near this window the whole time. If you can handle it and the TV is there then go for it will work well.

Yeah but streaming takes bandwidth obviously. This is why Foxtel is still a better option for most people before NBN kicks in. If I wanted all the games watched I'd never use streaming. I don't at the moment care but in time I'll relish also having the IQ to record and playback later.

This is the pitfall of streaming no one talks about and some may not even understand it completely. You don't want to be using up to half the household bandwidth speed on one stream normally coming OTA or via cable/satelite. Getting t-box doesn't magically increase your lines bandwidth capability. It is only what it always was. Same with netflix and other services like presto and the iinet one. They don't ever "addon" to your adsl2+ internet in terms of speed.
As I said, it isn't suitable for everyone. I have cable internet with good bandwidth (what a lot of people could expect as bottom-end level NBN) and until June, it's just my wife and I. So no bandwidth issues at all. She often watches foxtel while I can be playing a game online and I won't notice. It's horses for courses.

All good you can definitely do that no worries I just thought you were trying to avoid having to have the phone near this window the whole time. If you can handle it and the TV is there then go for it will work well.
ah k thanks mate.. will buy one today and report back!

Can anyone with the watchafl pass comment on how the 1280 x 720 resolution actually looks on a big screen tv - 65"+

Does it actually look like a clean HD 720p stream?

Can anyone with the watchafl pass comment on how the 1280 x 720 resolution actually looks on a big screen tv - 65"+

As an international user, I take the feed and HDMI out of my MAC to my 46 inch tv.

It looks great DEPENDING the wireless stream is good. As it slows the quality drops - however the highest KBS speed ( 3064 kbs) for quality as depicted in their streaming settings is very very good.

Not sure it is 720p but it would be close IMO.

Go Catters

40 inch tv and I have a full hd tablet but it looks like normal tv at best. Expect 2 or 3 times during the game the stream will stop although it was much better this week.

You seem a bit more clued up on this sort of stuff than so when using chromecast to stream from phone to tv (afl livepass unmetered) does the actual streaming use data or bandwith or are they the same thing??

P.s using telstra nbn

AFL LIVE PASS - WHAT A JOKE!